Well done Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Just because everyone is shouting "peaceful protest" that does not make it peaceful...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Great bit of work. The self restraint shown was top class. Nothing wrong with a few heads getting cracked every now and then. I also recognize some of the "students", definitely some ex lags in the mix. There was one thing that baffled me though, the young lad near the end in the traffic corp jacket must have been the supers son in on work experience or something and just stuck on a jacket, the lad isn't an asses roar near 5ft tall:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

One corcern i would have from watching the video is that some members seem to be very much detached (away from other officers) at the protest.
    Not ideal really as there was potential for things to get very nasty.

Hopefully lessons can be learnt from this, Uniformed members really need to pull out of there when missiles start being thrown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

Agree with everyone there!
    Someone was talking about the horses.....

Garda on bike at 1:00 make up your mind - is it S8 of the Criminal Justice Act or Public Order Act. Oh dear, Templemore 101 basics

Same Garda calling for van has to look up for street address plate. Templemore 102 - know your area

Should AGS be endorsing certain brands? Looks like a Lucozade Sport bottle attached to his bike at 3.35

Rawhead wrote: »

Nothing wrong with a few heads getting cracked every now and then.

And that kind of comment just plays into the hands of those who think AGS were heavy handed
    CB19Kevo wrote: »

One corcern i would have from watching the video is that some members seem to be very much detached (away from other officers) at the protest.
    Not ideal really as there was potential for things to get very nasty.

Lots of units looked detached. Uniformed Gardai surrounded by protestors. Mounted unit in an island of protestors.

Bad footage on RTE News tonight for AGS. Memories of Robocop flooding back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

It's the criminal justice (public order) act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭source

dfbemt wrote: »
    Garda on bike at 1:00 make up your mind - is it S8 of the Criminal Justice Act or Public Order Act. Oh dear, Templemore 101 basics

Same Garda calling for van has to look up for street address plate. Templemore 102 - know your area

Should AGS be endorsing certain brands? Looks like a Lucozade Sport bottle attached to his bike at 3.35

S8 Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994, he said it right.

Looking at address plate, probably called into a district he didn't know for a large public order incident, As such didn't know the area and had to look at the plate.

If you believe that Gardai shouldn't be endorsing certain brands you can lobby the Garda management to make water bottles personal issue, otherwise it'll be whatever water bottle the Garda can get their hands on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Keeps a garda going 33% longer especially in the last 15 minutes of a shift :D

If thats endorsing a product they should de-badge all cars if he cant be seen with a waterbottle :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

And that kind of comment just plays into the hands of those who think AGS were heavy handed

Lots of units looked detached. Uniformed Gardai surrounded by protestors. Mounted unit in an island of protestors.

Bad footage on RTE News tonight for AGS. Memories of Robocop flooding back.

Endorsing a Brand . . . .LMFAO . . . . .:rolleyes: . . . . .some post!!!!

. . . .the students got the jump on the Police in London today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Is this post a serious reply or...?

If not it is the most ridiculous post I have ever read in this forum.

So you know every street, avenue, close, terrace, estate name in your area? And you don't get thirsty??:eek:

Firefighters really are the biz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Daisy!

God I'm glad I wasn't in town that day, I felt sorry for the woman and her daughter and God knows how many more got caught up in it that day. Huge admiration for the force. Amazing to see the horses, trained so well. What scumbags some of those students were, they've done themselves no favours!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,766 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

This is what would have ended up occurring if the Gardai had not acted when they did and in the way they did.

Clashes at student fee protest

I bet those protesters will try and claim they were being peaceful too. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

It is called the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act. Nice FAIL there on your attemp to make the Garda look bad. You look a right *SNIP* now :p

Maybe you should go educate yourself on the 101 basics

Sorry to go off topic here a little (though still somewhat related);

Has anyone heard anything about today's protest? Checking around a few forums but haven't heard a word mentioned. :confused::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Sorry to go off topic here a little (though still somewhat related);

Has anyone heard anything about today's protest? Checking around a few forums but haven't heard a word mentioned. :confused::(

Maybe it clashed with Home and Away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭pah

dfbemt, you come across as a bit of a know it all, when in fact it has been shown to the contrary that you are not.

You haven't been to Templemore so you don't know what's done when,

Maybe the bike member was brought in from another district or just transferred in a couple of weeks ago, you seem so eager to point out the apparent failings as you see them, just wondering why that is? Genuinely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Who was filming the original clip and he subsequent clip of the chase?

Whoever it was seems to have had an access all areas pass, even filming from behind the lines AGS had formed.

Is it one of the guards filiming it possibly?

I think a fair bit of footage was filmed from behind AGS.

I reckon they didn't really care if photographers/videographers were running around the place, so long as they didn't actually get in the way of AGS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Mr Magners wrote: »
    Is it one of the guards filiming it possibly?

Garda footage is retained for evidence and is not released to the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Watching the OP's video makes me want to drop out of college and join the Gardai... I'm sick of listening to eejits go on about the march like they were arrested and anally probed for 13 years.

Fair play to Gardai and they handled it well i thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

Watching the OP's video makes me want to drop out of college and join the Gardai... I'm sick of listening to eejits go on about the march like they were arrested and anally probed for 13 years.

Fair play to Gardai and they handled it well i thought.

Videos like these make me want to join the Gardaí too (which i will). They need all the help they can get especially in the times we are in. They are very rarely appreciated or thanked.

People may slag the Gardaí. I think they do a stand up job. :)