Irish drivers are the worst drivers in europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Enough of the women driver jibes, it's getting real tiresome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭XBOX employee

Snakeblood wrote: »
    You're a very angry man.:o

Haha im not really im very frustrated with Irish drivers but im mostly sick of people who point out spelling mistakes as if they have a degree in english and feel the need to point it out in order to feel good about themselves. Also people people who think they are Geography aces

In their own eyes, they are not only world class drivers a la Schumacher, but they also look really sophisticated behind the wheel of their PRIDE AND JOY , their raison d'etre, their car.Worship the mechanical god that is your car.Watch Top Gear like a religion.Care deeply about cars.Buy cars.Buy ones you don't need.Look cool.Drive amazing.Flippin deadly.

Boy racer culture has seeped into the nations bloodstream.Once the exclusive preserve of knackers in Civics with spoilers, we now have boy racers from the scoby classes right up to the ,"off the rack suit",corporate fluffer with golf club membership, cheeseball in a BMW.

If it was only their ilk who lost their lives in their Weekend Death-Slam carnage horrorshows I'd think they were hilarious but I've lost 1 family member and a close friend to them so I wish them nothing but the very worst.If I passed one of them at a crash, I wouldn't even take my phone out to call them an ambulance.

Spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Keith186

In their own eyes, they are not only world class drivers a la Schumacher, but they also look really sophisticated behind the wheel of their PRIDE AND JOY , their raison d'etre, their car.Worship the mechanical god that is your car.Watch Top Gear like a religion.Care deeply about cars.Buy cars.Buy ones you don't need.Look cool.Drive amazing.Flippin deadly.

Boy racer culture has seeped into the nations bloodstream.Once the exclusive preserve of knackers in Civics with spoilers, we now have boy racers from the scoby classes right up to the ,"off the rack suit",corporate fluffer with golf club membership, cheeseball in a BMW.

If it was only their ilk who lost their lives in their Weekend Death-Slam carnage horrorshows I'd think they were hilarious but I've lost 1 family member and a close friend to them so I wish them nothing but the very worst.If I passed one of them at a crash, I wouldn't even take my phone out to call them an ambulance.

Waffling ****e talk here ^^^
    Xbox employee there are some bad drivers, there are some good drivers. End of. Were not the worst. Were not the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

M5 wrote: »
    All opinion, no facts

waste of keystrokes

Twinge!Are you a real M or is that just a sticker?

Keith186 wrote: »
    Xbox employee there are some bad drivers, there are some good drivers. End of. Were not the worst. Were not the best.

Irish people are immature when it comes to cars.They have a lingering peasant mentality whereby they see cars as a hallmark of class and power.And they like to make a scene in their status symbols by accessorising them and driving them at dangerous speeds in public places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Twinge!Are you a real M or is that just a sticker?

Not currently driving an M, Was at the times I created this account... Yes a real one!

Before you ask: 10 years driving, 0 penalty points, 0 accidents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

A bit harsh tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

I live in Spain and I fear for my life every day crossing the road... They don't care for lanes, or red lights here! Shocking drivers everywhere, always see people driving while talking on their phone. Irish drivers make everyone here look like they shouldn't be allowed to look at a car, let alone drive.

Typical Irish mentality, "the worst ever!" without even considering any other possibility of anything bad elsewhere in the world.

Keith186 wrote: »

Thats true like im not gonna argue with that, alot of people seem to be missing the point, its way to easy to get a license here and any sap can get behind the wheel of a car (follow jokes) and the laws are a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

Whatever about comparisons to other countries, Irish drivers definitely have an issue with speed limits, speed consistency and lane awareness.

Irish motorway driving is particularly poor.

hondasam wrote: »
    A bit harsh tbh.

It seems to have irritated a few people with car brands in their user names!All I'm saying,(harshly) is that a car is a car generally speaking.It's not a Ferrari or Bugatti and if it is, take it to the track.Those things aren't for everyday public road use.
    Why do so many guys think that they are outstanding drivers anyway.Most of you would spin a real race car out on the grid let alone put in a respectable lap.It must be Walter Mitty syndrome or otherwise these guys would all be driving pro.

It's just a car.It's not you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

It seems to have irritated a few people with car brands in their user names!All I'm saying,(harshly) is that a car is a car generally speaking.It's not a Ferrari or Bugatti and if it is, take it to the track.Those things aren't for everyday public road use.
    Why do so many guys think that they are outstanding drivers anyway.Most of you would spin a real race car out on the grid let alone put in a respectable lap.It must be Walter Mitty syndrome or otherwise these guys would all be driving pro.

I am female and drive an audi, I assure you Im not a girl racer. I get how you feel and can relate to it from personal experience but I would never wish death on anyone and would not pass a crash site regardless of who was in it and not dial 999.

Whats that they say about generalisations?

Irish drivers, ppl with car usernames, men all in the space of a couple of posts.

Besides i guess you could apply your vast generalisations to any country's male drivers, which brings me back to the original point.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

mloc wrote: »
    Whatever about comparisons to other countries, Irish drivers definitely have an issue with speed limits, speed consistency and lane awareness.

Irish motorway driving is particularly poor.

It's seriously good compared to parts of the United States. Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina etc. Driving on highways there is seriously terrifying, Ireland is really safe in comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ever been to Rome OP

They are lunatics over there.

Scooter riders out in shirts and shorts, you don't see that in Ireland. Ok, I understand the hot temperatures but yeah, most/most wear jackets and full face helmets in Ireland.

The drivers are crazy in Rome , horns blaring constantly, all very macho and agressive

It's pretty laid back in Ireland in comparison

edit:
    peasant wrote: »
    Irish drivers are far from the worst, but they definitely are the doziest.

In most other countries where drivers can be classified as "bad" it is because they are overly aggressive ...in Ireland half the driving population is asleep and/or clueless.

This explains my view pretty well. ^^^

It's seriously good compared to parts of the United States. Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina etc. Driving on highways there is seriously terrifying, Ireland is really safe in comparison.

Brutal compared with Germany though, but as I said in an earlier post we are not taught how to drive on Dual carriage ways or motorways. Its only the ppl who are vaguely interested who learn the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

M5 wrote: »
    Brutal compared with Germany though, but as I said in an earlier post we are not taught how to drive on Dual carriage ways or motorways. Its only the ppl who are vaguely interested who learn the rules.

I agree with you but our motorways and dual carriageways are statistically far safer than our rural roads as regards fatalities. While the actual basics of driving isn't great on motorways we do seem to have very few serious crashes on them fortunately. If there's anywhere were serious work needs to be done on driver education its on rural backroads rather than motorways.

Absolutely, the plan is to cover the entire motorway network with speed cameras, strange eh!

The issue is inappropriate speed, speed in its self is not dangerous. In Germany the speed limits change with the conditions to appropriate levels

Could our driving be better? hell yeah! are we the worst in Europe? Dont be silly!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Asians - Chinese etc, seem to be the worst drivers IMO. One nearly killed me today on my bike, and it's happened numerous times on Parnell st where they frequent. A lot of people would agree with me on this, might be something to do with the mayhem and traffic where they learned to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

BraziliaN wrote: »
    Asians - Chinese etc, seem to be the worst drivers IMO. One nearly killed me today on my bike, and it's happened numerous times on Parnell st where they frequent. A lot of people would agree with me on this, might be something to do with the mayhem and traffic where they learned to drive.

I was in New delhi India for a month, my god the chaos on the roads & the footpaths is unbelievable and watch out for the elephants & sacred cows :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Driving is way easier on a motorway compared to a backroad. No hidden turns, no hidden onroads, signposts and lighting everywhere, room to manouevre (generally speaking).

Backroads with idiots going 60mph because they 'know' them are lethal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

Thats true like im not gonna argue with that, alot of people seem to be missing the point, its way to easy to get a license here and any sap can get behind the wheel of a car (follow jokes) and the laws are a joke

I think it's a past issue moreso than upcoming drivers. I have been learning for a year and a bit now and am awaiting my test. I have had off road tuition, and about 30 lessons on top of that, because I did not want to get 4 lessons and drive like an idiot forever after that. It is not easy to get a licence, any more. I think there are a lot of people driving who got a licence when it was easier, who still don't obey road markings and signs, speed limits and there are also the just plain rude drivers - the same kind of person who bangs into you on the street will cut you off or beep at you, even though they see you are a learner, and they forget that once they were too.

I have experienced some very bad mannered drivers out there, and a lot of people seem to turn into Jeremy Clarkson when they get behind a wheel the way they criticise other drivers. If everyone took more notice of their own driving they wouldn't have to swear and shout at other cars.

I doubt it's exclusive to Ireland, but I do agree with you that Irish drivers need to pay more attention to indicating on roundabouts, and in general taking more care of their fellow drivers on the road, it's only manners to let people out and it costs about 3 seconds of your precious life!

I think people who took the test more than 10 years ago should do refresher courses because we had different roads before that. How come for every other skill you have to refresh but once you get a licence you're allowed drive anywhere for the remainder of your life without ever showing you are keeping up your skills?

EDIT: Please also will the impatient ones stop beeping at learners and give us all a break :)

Driving up north yesterday on a back road, driving behind a tractor grand not gonna over take him because im on a back road and the visibility was so bad 2 cars behind me and some absolute sap overtakes all 4 of us. What the hell!? thats a driver on the road we could do without. One of the most annoying things is people driving behind you with their full beams on complete ignorance and stupidity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Driving up north yesterday on a back road, driving behind a tractor grand not gonna over take him because im on a back road and the visibility was so bad 2 cars behind me and some absolute sap overtakes all 4 of us. What the hell!? thats a driver on the road we could do without. One of the most annoying things is people driving behind you with their full beams on complete ignorance and stupidity

Did you or any of the other two cars behind you leave a suitable gap for any faster following traffic to overtake into? No?
    Then you're the sh*t driver (or one of them) in this situation.

Wertz wrote: »
    Did you or any of the other two cars behind you leave a suitable gap for any faster following traffic to overtake into? No?
    Then you're the sh*t driver (or one of them) in this situation.

Dont ask a question if you ASSUME you know the answer
    On a back road! Terrible visibility, wet 2 seconds of space between me and the tractor cant speak for the other drivers . How you can say that any of us were the bad drivers is beyond me .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Dont ask a question if you ASSUME you know the answer
    On a back road! Terrible visibility, wet 2 seconds of space between me and the tractor cant speak for the other drivers . How you can say that any of us were the bad drivers is beyond me .

I don't care what road you were on and poor visibility is even more of a reason to leave a gap for following cars to overtake into (not a braking distance gap for your own car) if you weren't going to pass the tractor yourself...
    Once again, you are the bad driver in this situation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

realies wrote: »
    I was in New delhi India for a month, my god the chaos on the roads & the footpaths is unbelievable and watch out for the elephants & sacred cows :eek:
    Hey man, it's just like so uncool driving out there. I was involved in a very bad accident when my karma ran over someone's dogma. It was like majorly terminal, man, ya know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 LolNoob

OP you sound like someone who is new to driving. The standard of driving here is pretty poor but it's a lot better than many other places. Sure, our women drivers may not be able to park or drive too well at all, but at least they're not doing so dangerously. In a lot in other countries they are.

The elderly here are terrible drivers, really really terrible drivers, but they're not dangerous. In fact, the only really dangerous drivers here are the young lads who've very little driving experience, couldn't tell a good driver from a bad driver, can't judge a road at all, yet insist they're "deadly" at driving.

We've lots of small issues with driving, especially the dense bastards who haven't figured out how to use a roundabout properly, but the only lethal issue is the young people who've little idea what they're doing.

We're certainly a lot safer than a lot of the Eastern European drivers on our roads, nevermind their own. Not the Polish either, as they've a decent driving test system, but some of the other ones.

LolNoob wrote: »
    the only really dangerous drivers here are the young lads who've very little driving experience, couldn't tell a good driver from a bad driver, can't judge a road at all, yet insist they're "deadly" at driving.

There are a lot of them though.I was a bit immature as a young driver myself and once avoided causing massive carnage by a hair's breadth.It would have made national headlines.It put me right.Many young fellas aren't as fortunate as I was.My life changed for the better that day, theirs ended and some took a few more people with them.

There should at least be an advanced driving course requirement for drivers of 'weapons'.If your car can do 0-60 in less than x seconds or has a top speed of x mph, you either have it limited or acquire advanced driving qualifications.

I remember when Ferrari brought out the F-40, there was a claim that a psychiatric evaluation was a prerequisite for purchasing a new one.I don't know how true that is but it kind of makes sense.