Irish drivers are the worst drivers in europe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Argue all you want but irish drivers are the worst. When im driving on the m50 i see people speeding in and out in lanes not only putting himself at risk but other drivers also.We especially cant drive on bank holiday weekends what the hell is wrong with everyone that they cant stick to a feckin speed limit . I was driving on the m50 and some absolute gob****e sped past me and in the wet i might add apparently we dont beleive in braking distance either , but on the exit i was taking we met at the lights again and me syicking to the limit we got there at the same time therefore there is no point. Are we that stupid as a nation that we disregard our own personal safety and put other peoples loved ones at risk? :mad:

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/world-news/italians-named-europes-worst-drivers_100210958.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

Italian and Portuguese drivers are by far worse. The Portuguese seem to think zebra crossings and road signs are there for the laugh,I'd hate to see them driving in bad weather too, nerve wracking stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 246 ✭✭SuperStarHoney

Got driven around Krakow in a Trabant (old communist car) on a tour one time and I've never been so frightened in my ENTIRE life.

Driving here is a walk in the park in comparison..................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Argue all you want but irish drivers are the worst. When im driving on the m50 i see people speeding in and out in lanes not only putting himself at risk but other drivers also.We especially cant drive on bank holiday weekends what the hell is wrong with everyone that they cant stick to a feckin speed limit . I was driving on the m50 and some absolute gob****e sped past me and in the wet i might add apparently we dont beleive in braking distance either , but on the exit i was taking we met at the lights again and me syicking to the limit we got there at the same time therefore there is no point. Are we that stupid as a nation that we disregard our own personal safety and put other peoples loved ones at risk? :mad:

I don't think Irish drivers are the worst per se. But I would say that there is a higher percentage of inconsiderate, dangerous bastards on the Irish roads than in other countries.
    Remember we are immature when it comes to our drinking habits in comparison to our European cousins. The same goes with our road habits. I've seen some psychopathic episodes in Paris and Italy as well though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I have yeah but i can say that irish drivers are the worst, Spain are pretty bad too but i think the death toll on irish roads is ridiculous

You realise the death toll has fallen hugely in each of the last two years right? And compared to the figures of 600-odd in the 70s in particular, when there were also far fewer cars and drivers on the roads.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0519/breaking57.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Other countries have worse roads but we have the worst drivers

dear god the stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

Irish people are no good at driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Irish drivers are far from the worst, but they definitely are the doziest.

In most other countries where drivers can be classified as "bad" it is because they are overly aggressive ...in Ireland half the driving population is asleep and/or clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

peasant wrote: »
    Irish drivers are far from the worst, but they definitely are the doziest.

After seeing some fcuking dozy twat driving on the m6 yesterday at 6pm,while it was quite busy, with his full beams on, oblivious to the fact and to every car and truck flashing at him for miles, i think you might be right! Nearly fcuking blinded me when i over took him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

jester77 wrote: »
    LOL, as bad as they are I've seen much worse in other countries. The craziest I can remember was taking a Polish taxi, he got impatient, drove up onto the footpath and continued a few hundred meters before cutting in again. Made good progress!
    At least he didn't overcharge his customer - good, reliable service for the dark times of the credit crunch ;)

I'm not gonna point who's worst or who's best, but could anyone please enlighten me what is the bloody reason to slow down to 2 km/h, blocking all the traffic and as result getting people (and cars) boiling just because there is as dramatically dangerous maneuver to be made as a ... turn left? Safety (or rather wrong understanding of what one thinks is "safety") is not an excuse to drive like a retard, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,845 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I've driven in most European countries, the States, Australia, NZ and Argentina.

I have to say Italians are no where near as bad as people here make them out to be. They are crazy yes - but most are very skillfull and all have a fairly good understanding of what they are at, they just choose to ignore the law there.

I feel much safer on the road there than here mainly because there is such a shockingly low undestanding from Irish drivers of what they are doing, no one seems to know what lane they should be in, when they should indicate, who has right of way at junction. Coupl this with terrible judegement of the amount of road they need for their car, the length of time it will take them to pull out, taking 20 mins to pull away from lights and its no wonder we are seeing carnage on our roads.

btw - suicide kills more than double the amount of people per year here, there is no campaign from the govt. about this because there is no revenue generation from this, also by villifying the car in almost every way they can justify increased taxes on them :rolleyes: pricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭vincentdunne

Anyone try crossing the street on a pedestrian crossing in Spain - for thrill-seekers only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I don't know about the worst, but the majority of drivers I see here don't know how to use roundabouts, they either don't indicate or indicate incorrectly :mad:

Also speed limits are ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭XBOX employee

OPENROAD wrote: »
    I don't know about the worst, but the majority of drivers I see here don't know how to use roundabouts, they either don't indicate or indicate incorrectly :mad:

Also speed limits are ignored.

We deffo need more speed camera as soon as anyone sees one they slow down straight away, they're everwhere in England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Best driver prize goes to Germany. No surprise with best cars and best roads and still some with no speed limits! :)

Irish skills are pretty good and certainly well above average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

I thought there was going to be some sort of article with statistics and what not but there wasn't.

OP you need to get out more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

It's like you've never even watched The italian Job. Those fellas were crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

You only have to witness the amount of f*cktards driving around my local town at 5pm on a wet winter's evening with no f*ckin' lights on to realise that the OP isn't far off the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Irish drivers aren't that bad! We are pretty good at need for speed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭hit_it_strong

You're the worst driver in Europe.

I know because I've watched everyone in Europe drive and you are definitely the worst.

HA! I love the logic...

It sounds like the original poster isn't very well traveled. In Italy I've been rammed intentionally on the autostrada. After visiting almost every European I've been in (about 10) driving at home seems like a walk in the park.

Wertz wrote: »
    You only have to witness the amount of f*cktards driving around my local town at 5pm on a wet winter's evening with no f*ckin' lights on to realise that the OP isn't far off the mark.

I'd still rather drive Dublin than Rome. It wouldn't be a close decision either. Not that we are paragons of driving skill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

We deffo need more speed camera as soon as anyone sees one they slow down straight away, they're everwhere in England

They are getting rid of them in England because they dont work.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭XBOX employee

HA! I love the logic...

It sounds like the original poster isn't very well traveled. In Italy I've been rammed intentionally on the autostrada. After visiting almost every European I've been in (about 10) driving at home seems like a walk in the park.

Ireland England Austria Italy Spain Portugal US (not europe i know b4 u freaks that care about puntuation and intense detail) Hungary Egypt ( I know not europe again, freaks) Cyprus Holland

You're a very angry man.:o

Looking for the statistic but its somewhere in this region

Deaths in Ireland with Speed listed as the primary factor 89%

Deaths in Europe with Speed listed as the primary factor 9%

Strange* how we are so different over here.....

*Also handy the Insurance companies charge us for our differences

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

In Malta sole ownership of the road is granted in the hire purchase agreement.

In Greece its not unusual to see three or four children clinging to a moped being driven by a drunk without a helmet.

In Sicily people dont use traffic lanes..they come to a halt on congested dust tracks,vehicles snarled up facing every which way and alight from thier cars,screaming and banging on the roofs of other cars.

Ireland is almost a pleasure to drive in by comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

M5 wrote: »
    Looking for the statistic but its somewhere in this region

Deaths in Ireland with Speed listed as the primary factor 89%

Deaths in Europe with Speed listed as the primary factor 9%

Strange* how we are so different over here.....

What options were there to choose from?
    - speed
    - other

Caliden wrote: »
    What options were there to choose from?
    - speed
    - other

I think its the easiest option TBH and I wonder just how much "investigation" goes into determining the route cause?

Check the blood alcohol, Thats grand,
    Must be speed so.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

In their own eyes, they are not only world class drivers a la Schumacher, but they also look really sophisticated behind the wheel of their PRIDE AND JOY , their raison d'etre, their car.Worship the mechanical god that is your car.Watch Top Gear like a religion.Care deeply about cars.Buy cars.Buy ones you don't need.Look cool.Drive amazing.Flippin deadly.

Boy racer culture has seeped into the nations bloodstream.Once the exclusive preserve of knackers in Civics with spoilers, we now have boy racers from the scoby classes right up to the ,"off the rack suit",corporate fluffer with golf club membership, cheeseball in a BMW.

If it was only their ilk who lost their lives in their Weekend Death-Slam carnage horrorshows I'd think they were hilarious but I've lost 1 family member and a close friend to them so I wish them nothing but the very worst.If I passed one of them at a crash, I wouldn't even take my phone out to call them an ambulance.

In their own eyes, they are not only world class drivers a la Schumacher, but they also look really sophisticated behind the wheel of their PRIDE AND JOY , their raison d'etre, their car.Worship the mechanical god that is your car.Watch Top Gear like a religion.Care deeply about cars.Buy cars.Buy ones you don't need.Look cool.Drive amazing.Flippin deadly.

Boy racer culture has seeped into the nations bloodstream.Once the exclusive preserve of knackers in Civics with spoilers, we now have boy racers from the scoby classes right up to the ,"off the rack suit",corporate fluffer with golf club membership, cheeseball in a BMW.

If it was only their ilk who lost their lives in their Weekend Death-Slam carnage horrorshows I'd think they were hilarious but I've lost 1 family member and a close friend to them so I wish them nothing but the very worst.If I passed one of them at a crash, I wouldn't even take my phone out to call them an ambulance.

All opinion, no facts

waste of keystrokes