Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

k_mac wrote: »
    The €20 you spend on a taxi, nightclub entry, booze etc on a night out.

I hate to break it to you but I neither have the time nor the income to do any of that, I can count the number of pints I've had since the beginning of the semester quite easily on one hand, a grand total of 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

neil_18_ wrote: »
    I was there. The trouble started after i left. There was a great turn out, and really great atmosphere.

And for the record it was the culchies drinking. Didn't see any dubliners drinking.

Too busy injecting Heroin, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

We are young, heartache to heartache we stand
    No promises, no demands
    Love Is A Battlefield
    We are strong, no one can tell us we're wrong
    Searchin' our hearts for so long, both of us knowing
    Love Is A Battlefield

hehehe......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

Talk about shooting yourselves in the foot. The government will have no issue whatsoever hiking students fees up because they looked like a bunch of morons today, p1ssed on beer by lunchtime, singing old football songs and chants (and not even properly), launching cans at government buildings, forcing businesses to close up shop for the afternoon. I can't imagine much empathy for their plight after this.

Very badly organised protest. Students Unions have a lot to answer for.

Remarkable, the number of iphones and designer hoodies in those videos. Guess we'll be seeing less of them next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

This is post of the day.

In their oversized 4x4s that they can barely control.:mad:

*Awaits misogynist accusations*

Misogynist accusations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

nommm wrote: »
    You're forgeting that some of us don't even have the cash to go to nightclubs etc. ;) Some people don't have all their exspenses paid for by mammy and daddy.

I had the same problem in college. I got a job. It really helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

neil_18_ wrote: »
    The only people i saw drinking at the march were culchies. I know cause i heard their accents. It was like they made a day out of their trip to dublin.

:) Your ignorance make's me happy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

irish_goat wrote: »
    In fairness, you'd not want your wain walking through Dublin today.

There were paedos, bullies, mad-dogs, thieves and scumbags back in the 70's and 80's too. The bigger kids watched out for the smaller ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Xavi6 wrote: »
    So you have zero social life currently and won't do for the duration of your course?

Does your college not provide you with internet? Few quid saved right there.

I have a social life alright but i cant afford for that to revolve around drink. And yes there is wifi on campus but I dont live on campus, my sh1tty hovel in the north inner city suits the budget better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nommm

So you have zero social life currently and won't do for the duration of your course?

Does your college not provide you with internet? Few quid saved right there.
    Because not having to pay for the internet is going to help you save enough money to put yourself through college?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

Disarray on the streets, disarray on the markets (bonds interest rate up to another record high 7.45%) and disarray in the Dail.

This government has to go. Get them out out out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

What extra twenty quid is that? The one that goes towards putting a roof over my head or the one that gets the groceries? Or is it the one that goes towards my 60e textbooks? The internet access I require to access course material? My ESB bill? Heating? Clothing?

Give me a break with the idiotic comments about students with infinite amounts of disposable income buying infinite quantities of dutch to drink in their infinite down-time.

Do what everyone else does when they can't afford something

work for it, get a loan for it, or do without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

It's sad to see what started as a legitmate protest be discredited due to the actions of the minority of people at the protest.

true, the gardai should be ashamed of themselves

Because not having to pay for the internet is going to help you save enough money to put yourself through college?

it's a start!!

5e a week, now all you need is 15, amazing isn't it?

k_mac wrote: »
    I had the same problem in college. I got a job. It really helped.

A job paying mininum wage won't provide for full college fees, bills, text books, rent etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I have a social life alright but i cant afford for that to revolve around drink. And yes there is wifi on campus but I dont live on campus, my sh1tty hovel in the north inner city suits the budget better.

Answer for everything.

So if it did come in what would you do? Drop out or fond the extra twenty from your social life or other means?

ntlbell wrote: »
    it's a start!!

5e a week, now all you need is 15, amazing isn't it?
    Maybe I can give up food, heat and electricity while I'm at it. :rolleyes:

Nice to see those who where born with a silver spoon in their mouth give their opinions.

It's amzing that you can find all the answers that involve you not paying for it. but can't find one poxy soloution to fidning the money.

what are they teaching in these fricking colleges.

get creative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Meanwhile, the Socialist Workers Party has accused gardaí of assaulting some of their members.

Good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

Meanwhile, the Socialist Workers Party has accused gardaí of assaulting some of their members.

Good

Not an assault. A public service.

Nice to see those who where born with a silver spoon in their mouth give their opinions.

I put myself through college through my own hard work, not a penny from the goverment not a penny from the tax payer not a penny from mammy and daddy.

christ all mighty if this is the future of our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

No silver spoon here. Had to go through private college due to not getting enough points to do my course. Worked two jobs to pay the 3500 a year without so much as wandering near the Dail.

ntlbell wrote: »
    Do what everyone else does when they can't afford something

work for it, get a loan for it, or do without.

Work for it? It's very hard to get a job at the moment.

Loan? I don't know any bank that gives loans out to people who are unemplooyed and whose family are on the brink of bankruptcy.

Do without? That's hardly going to get us the 'skilled' work force we need to help get the country back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Silver?

lol you know you're poor when you aspire to a silver spoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I agree with that tbh having seen it first hand. Won't happen in Ireland now at this stage though.
    No silver spoon here. Had to go through private college due to not getting enough points to do my course. Worked two jobs to pay the 3500 a year without so much as wandering near the Dail.

Working for something you want, I see now why you left. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Stuffy

flyton5 wrote: »
    In bed sleeping off a hangover? At least they're missing lectures...
    You'd think they were off to Italia 90...can't take them seriously.
    If he can twitter he can walk somewhere quiet...the tit.
    I hope the guards gave them a good hiding. Throwing cans is fucking stupid and I'd like to see someone get caught for it. Fast forward a few years when they have a degree and a criminal record and can't get an interview because of it. Assholes...

You need to go out and get a bird/guy (whatever your into)

Muppet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

"Durka durka, entitlement, durka durka, its not fair"

You're not entitled to jack shít. You're only entitled to third level education if you can afford whatever the state charges for it. Some people have this crazy notion that third level education is a right. It's not.

Loan? I don't know any bank that gives loans out to people who are unemplooyed and whose family are on the brink of bankruptcy.

Do without? That's hardly going to get us the 'skilled' work force we need to help get the country back on track.

and a gang of wow is me help me i cant think for myself studnets are going to get us out of this mess?

give me a break and get off your arse and stop looking for excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

Get off your arse and look. You heard from someone that it's hard to get a job these days and didnt bother looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I prefered this thread when it was about chocolate. :(