Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

How does one define a scumbag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Des Carter wrote: »
    I never said you weren't. Why am I a dip sh!t? :confused::confused::confused::confused:
    Because your rounding everyone up as a farmers apparently who is writing a description of an opinion they have. So were farmers and by the way theres not a field or tractor any where near my area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,907 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

All of these things combined...

Useless.
    Lazy.
    Never worked.
    No car.
    Spits a lot.
    Swears a lot.
    Hardman walk when with other scummer friends.
    No hardman walk when alone.
    Only ever wears tracksuit bottoms & a football top.
    Annoying nasal knacker voice.
    Still lives with mam.
    Always in betting shop.
    Only ever drinks dutch gold.
    Zero Life goals.
    Play 5 a side 3 days a week.
    New nike runners every 3 months.
    New liverpool jersey every 6 months.
    New child every 9 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

maxxie wrote: »
    ewww

Well please state were you from ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

curlzy wrote: »
    To me clothes doesn't make a scumbag, be it tracksuits, pyjamas, hoopy earrings etc, to me that doesn't equal being a scumbag at all. I think it may equal coming from a disadvantaged area but, to me anyway, being poor doesn't make you a scumbag.

To me a scumbag is:
    Someone who uses violence against people.
    Someone who abuses animals.
    Someone who steals.
    Someone who enjoys hurting or terrorising the elderly.

Those are my definitions of a scumbag.

I try not to judge people based on their clothes because I've had an inner city tracksuit wearing "scumbag" come to my rescue when I was being mugged, on another occasion I lost my purse and again it was a tracksuit wearer who gave me the money to get the bus home.

On the flip side all the suitwearing politicans in the Dail would be closer to my definition of scumbag than any other group.

I totally agree with you but because you wear a tracksuit does not mean your from a disadvantaged area, some tracksuits out there are upwards of €40+ ive seen mates pay *stupidly upwards of €50-60 for a shirt ( Casual Saturday night type ) with a logo/certain makers name on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Gerry Asstrix

Be honest, I have good job, would say Im verly well educated and intelligent , never been in any trouble with the law, and live a quiet life in a stable family environment.

But have to confess, in most of my free time I would wear an Adidas or Nike tracksuit and would be lost without my Air Max.
    I love my oldskool dance music and drive an Integra.

I probably fit the scumbag bracket , but sure Im happy in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Sykk wrote: »
    So.. There are plenty of ways people can judge another to mark them in that category..

Tracksuits for one! I myself can get away with wearing one, coming or going to the gym, or when I'm just out generally.. Probably because I don't have the "Staaaaaaaaaary budh" accent or strut about me..

Spitting.. When I see someone spitting I get an instant dislike to them..

Drinking cans on the road... It's something I've often done if on a way to a house party or something but when I see someone doing it.. I can't shake the feeling that they're just going nowhere in life! :P

So, how would you stick someone in that category?

Any self-righteous snob who sneers at something that, while unsavoury, is rather trivial, i.e. spitting and who thinks he's better than those from the poorer sectors of society who wear certain clothes, don't speak with a polished accent and drink cans of beer outside.

I used to drink cans of beer in the street. Still do from time to time in the Summer, at the park, at festivals, etc. I have a flat Dublin accent and was raised on "da Nort-soide". I also have a rather impressive collection of trainers.
    I'm also a double degree-educated (TCD) engineer who works for multple prestigous European companies. I have property in Holland and Africa and I collect books and international beers and I speak 3 languages.

Am I a scumbag.....budh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Clothes don't make the scumbag, a scummy, anti social attitude does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Gerry Asstrix

THFC wrote: »
    Anyone who lives in North Dublin.... :pac:

Castleknock, Malahide, Portmarnock, Lusk, Rush, Clontarf, Howth, Sutton, Glasnevin, Drumcondra etc

Yeah alot of scumbags out that way lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

Because your rounding everyone up as a farmers apparently who is writing a description of an opinion they have. So were farmers and by the way theres not a field or tractor any where near my area.

I was saying farmers (or at least the ones that I know) dress the same as scumbags (except with wellies instead of runners) thats all. chill out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Any self-righteous snob who sneers at something that, while unsavoury, is rather trivial, i.e. spitting and who thinks he's better than those from the poorer sectors of society who wear certain clothes, don't speak with a polished accent and drink cans of beer outside.

I used to drink cans of beer in the street. Still do from time to time in the Summer, at the park, at festivals, etc. I have a flat Dublin accent and was raised on "da Nort-soide". I also have a rather impressive collection of trainers.
    I'm also a double degree-educated (TCD) engineer who works for multple prestigous European companies. I have property in Holland and Africa and I collect books and international beers and I speak 3 languages.

Yes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Des Carter wrote: »
    I never said you weren't. Why am I a dip sh!t? :confused::confused::confused::confused:

I think I can help, just some basic spelling issues have led to this fracas. The poster misspelled sheep dip. I'm from etc. etc. and we don't have any sheep dip.

(To non agricultural people, a sheep dip is essentially a public bathing facility for sheep)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭h8scobes

eh well they live in areas like ballymun and tallagh and they wear hats pointed up and matching tracksuits, like they wear le coq sportif. they stick socks into runners as well. they have greasy hair and eyes are close together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

You mistake poor education with being a scumbag.. I'd also consider a lot of bankers who give themselves a bonus upward of a normal persons annual wages - a scumbag.. So, my answer is probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

haha!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

... I can't shake the feeling that they're just going nowhere in life! :P ...
    Bu' dey are goin' somewear bud, dey're goin' to rob yer bleedin' gaff.
    ... So, how would you stick someone in that category?
    ++1 with the general observations about attire above.

They generally congregate in packs of four or more, having shaven scabby heads on them, and that wasted / junkie / anorexic look.

Clothing is always adorned with either Manchester United (spits), Asenal (spits again) or Glasgow Celtic (spits again and again) insignia or colours.

Speech is normally some bastardised version of terms overheard on Eastenders or the X Factor (missing Dermot O'Leary's Yolaisms), localised to the Blanch, Drimnagh or Ballyer (-mun or -fermot). For example :
    Original : I went dahn the pub
    Scumbagese : I wuz down the bleedin' boozer las' nigh'.

Original : I was well pleased
    Scumbagese : I wuz bleedin' well bleedin' plee-azed
    A grammatical no-no for most people is to avoid splitting infinitives; a standard affectation in scumbag speech is to split (words) infinitely, for example :
    Normal speech : You'd be surprised.
    Scumbagese : Yous'd be sur-f***en-priazed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 xcatiex

hi all im from an area that is not so pleasent where ppl wear tracksuits that doesnt make them scumbags.. its the likes of people who steal purses start fights and generally are menaces... i know plenty of well to do people who would tear the clothes off your back just cos there well dressed they can still be scum:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Well please state were you from ha

Tallaght rite warr ya sayin :)

Im only havin a giraffe. My granny lives in ballyfermot, god help her :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Castleknock, Malahide, Portmarnock, Lusk, Rush, Clontarf, Howth, Sutton, Glasnevin, Drumcondra etc

Yeah alot of scumbags out that way lol

Too right there is! Rush and lusk, towns founded by knackers not alowed beyond the walls of Dublin! heads on them!
    The rest seem well to do but I just see them as scum with a different perfume and huge hair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭johnnyjb

You really really need to get a life and a pair of balls, serious.

Tracksuits for one! I myself can get away with wearing one, coming or going to the gym, or when I'm just out generally.. Probably because I don't have the "Staaaaaaaaaary budh" accent or strut about me..

Spitting.. When I see someone spitting I get an instant dislike to them..

The reason why you feel intimidated by people who do this is cause you think your sh/t dont stink but your next statement below proves your a hypocrite
    Drinking cans on the road... It's something I've often done if on a way to a house party or something but when I see someone doing it.. I can't shake the feeling that they're just going nowhere in life! :P

The internet has created a new class of society who likes to brandish people in trackies a scumbag from the comfort of their pc or device GROW UP:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

johnnyjb wrote: »
    You really really need to get a life and a pair of balls, serious.

The reason why you feel intimidated by people who do this is cause you think your sh/t dont stink but your next statement below proves your a hypocrite

The internet has created a new class of society who likes to brandish people in trackies a scumbag from the comfort of their pc or device GROW UP:mad:
    Haha, 2 martial arts here chief, a few scumbags don't intimidate me so you can jump off the geek behind the PC stereotype wagon.

As for the hypocritical statement, re-read it. I know what I said and I meant it as you saw it.... Derp.

Nerdrage more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

It is hard to define the word, but it is basically used to describe someone so disgraceful that they are seen as the lowest form of life. "Worthlessness", "waste of skin", "dirt". "Nothing". Far worse than most other insults, where the victim is often just referred to as genetalia. The fact that "scum" is a non-swear, and seen as perfectly acceptable English, makes it even more demeaning and offensive.

If you are condemned as a "****" or a "****tard", then you are simply being attacked with cliché profanity, used spontaneously and with no particular venom or thought. "Scum", however, is usually only used in exclusive conditions where it is the only word for the job, and makes the victim feel like the lowest of the low.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

might i say to everyone speaking negatively to get the fúck over yourselves..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

White runners, noisey cars, Burberry, hard chaws

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Yes :D

Cheers, budh!
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

Be honest, I have good job, would say Im verly well educated and intelligent , never been in any trouble with the law, and live a quiet life in a stable family environment.

But have to confess, in most of my free time I would wear an Adidas or Nike tracksuit and would be lost without my Air Max.
    I love my oldskool dance music and drive an Integra.

I probably fit the scumbag bracket , but sure Im happy in it

NOW THATS WHAT IM TALKIN BOUT!!!!! :D:D:D

You mistake poor education with being a scumbag.. I'd also consider a lot of bankers who give themselves a bonus upward of a normal persons annual wages - a scumbag.. So, my answer is probably

I'm not a banker and do not award myself bonuses. Where does your "probably" come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Absolutely Ginormus jangly gold hooped ear rings often gives it away on the girls. That and muffins hanging out of belly tops that they grew out off a decade ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

So you think that people should only be able to say what they think about people who won't attack them for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

A scumbag is not judged by their preferred attire but by their circumstance.

Allow me to explain...

My uncle-in-law was on an overnight bus from Sao Paulo to Salvador just three weeks ago when the bus came to an abrupt stop. Being Brazilian himself, it mattered not a jot that he heard this kind of news daily on the television because when a real gun was pushed into his face and money demanded, he like the rest of us, died a little inside. I can only imaine the traumatic experience he went through - although he swears he will only travel by air from now on.

But this kind of notority is wide spread in countries right throughout the world and on an hourly basis. However, these less fortunate criminals have an excuse for their crimes - they live in a capitalist society where obtaining employment can be more difficult than finding a pot of gold in the rainbow. They are who they are in order to survive - the system gives them little options for a properous life.

However, lets compare these animalistic individuals who know no better to those from our shores. If John Doe from Finglas (sorry for the generalisation), cant find work or even refuses to find an occupation, he is safe in the knowledge that his socialist government will send him a nice little paypacket for his weekly needs in the form of 200Euro. Now, we are dealing for all intents and purposes with Euros, not Brazilian Reais, not U.S Dollars or any African currencies...we are talking about one of the strongest monies of value on Earth. But what can John Doe obtain with his 800Euro a month gift....

John can purchase his groceries to see his family eats extremely well, he can buy, cash up front of course, an iPod, fulfill his Sky and Broadband subscription, a nice wardrobe full of great shirts for his weekly night on the town, alcohol included of course, a home cinema system and perhaps a second car - you know, who doesnt have a second car...oh, and if John has no money left for his bills, then no problem, hell also get rent allowance so John is assured hell never sleep on the street.

Now that we understand Johns circumstances, can we legitimetly compare it to other nations criminals....no, of course we cant, but John chooses to live a lifestyle of dirt. Others are not so lucky. If John so wished, he has free education and free healthcare. John is lucky to have all these great things at his fingertips as an Irish citizen.

Now, back to the original question.

A scumbag for me are those wannabee, self-proclaimed hard men who choose not to live their life to the full potential within a equal system of benefit and allowance. A scumbag is a pathetic Irish citizen whos life is so meaningless because they have not taken advantage of the advantages given to them.

And dont embarrass yourself lads - compared to the favellas of South America - youre nothing more than pussycats so I hope you dwell in your own piss and **** because your life will amount to nothing - its not cool to act hard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

... cause you think your sh/t dont stink ...
    Most people who have English as their first language would type "because" and "doesn't" in place of the words I have bolded above.
    ... proves your a hypocrite ...
    The grammatically correct colloquialism there is "you're"
    ... The internet has created a new class of society who likes to brandish people in trackies a scumbag from the comfort of their pc or device ...
    You need "which" instead of "who" above.

"To brandish" means to wave or shake about, for example "He brandished the sword / hurley / iron-bar over his head in a threatening manner". It would be against health and safety rules (and the law) to brandish people.

I think you might mean "as scumbags" rather than "a scumbag".
    ... GROW UP:mad:
    Good advice maybe you should heed it or at least post in English above primary school level.