Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Treyarch 'gimping' quick scoping...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Well looking at videos of sniping in BO so far QS'ing doesn't seem totally removed, but it doesn't seem as easy as in MW2, so i'm happy enough with that.

Granted it didn't annoy me in the first place, the only gripe i have with the latest COD series is rockets and noobtubes. Back in COD:UO it was fine because of the tanks and what not, but now it's just plain annoying. But what can you do, people will always find ways to use annoying tactics. Now hopefully dedicated servers will allow mod tools so i can play on servers where such tom-foolery isn't allowed :)

the people that are unreal with sniper rifles (grizz), will still be unreal with sniper rifles imo. They will just find a way ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Hold on, your changing your argument now

Before it was that the 'community' had to be in agreement otherwise Treyarch wouldn't have changed, and now your saying Treyarch are some sort of experts and whatever they feel is wrong they will remove?

Which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Tallon wrote: »
    Being the owner of a company, you can do that.

Or, it could be that the majority of developers felt the same as yourself, and wanted QS removed.

The point is, there is absoulutely no proof that the 'community' agreed to this. In fact, every single video I have watched in the past couple of weeks has been discussing it and how retarded a decision it is

Largely by people who QS, no?

Well no actually I watched a lot of different commentators, however, if the answer was yes, then it would prove my point that the qs community is bigger than people think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

You guys can quickscope all you's want in Black Ops.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OB4Zz17Wzd4

Hold on, your changing your argument now

Before it was that the 'community' had to be in agreement otherwise Treyarch wouldn't have changed, and now your saying Treyarch are some sort of experts and whatever they feel is wrong they will remove?

Which is it?

you said they took out quickscoping because of vids on youtube. That these vids made the the snipers look overpowered.

I said the people at treyarch weren't that stupid as to believe the vids.

I said that Josh whatever his name is didn't make the decision himself, the developers would have made the decision together.

I assume they have a patch lined up for release...
    although the fact that hutch hit one person in about 6 shots speaks for itself, those bloody power knife yokes look silly too
    Liam O wrote: »
    OK, let me put it this way, without saying that it's 'like doing this, that and the other etc.' tell me what is cheap about QSing?
    nobody has given a valid argument for this yet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OB4Zz17Wzd4

I may be wrong but I think that video was out before your man's comments.

but like I said, the lads that were really good at it will still be able to do it

you said they took out quickscoping because of vids on youtube. That these vids made the the snipers look overpowered.

I said the people at treyarch weren't that stupid as to believe the vids.

I said that Josh whatever his name is didn't make the decision himself, the developers would have made the decision together.

Appologies mate, I thought post 107 was yours

please ignore my last comment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

Thats the point, i'm not!

Seems from the poll that you are.

(You cant count fence sitters seeing as they havent decied, in an election you cannot count non votes simply because they dont care. They could come down ether way, since they could decide ether way if only given the two options... its a non vote)

Also you cant honestly belive the developers would not just omit a "way of playing" (term used very loosly) if the majority wanted it. They are here to make money... you do that by giving what the majorty wants and even by the small slice of gamers on boards the majorty wants QS gone. So its is. Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I assume they have a patch lined up for release...
    although the fact that hutch hit one person in about 6 shots speaks for itself, those bloody power knife yokes look silly too

I believe it's that the aim assist does the aiming for you, and then all you have to do is pull the trigger on your OHK rifle before you have even properly aimed at your target.

hightower1 wrote: »
    Seems from the poll that you are.

(You cant count fence sitters seeing as they havent decied, in an election you cannot count non votes simply because they dont care. They could come down ether way, since they could decide ether way if only given the two options... its a non vote)

Also you cant honestly belive the developers would not just omit a "way of playing" (term used very loosly) if the majority wanted it. They are here to make money... you do that by giving what the majorty wants and even by the small slice of gamers on boards the majorty wants QS gone. So its is. Move on.

Of course you can count the people who have (notice how I have highlighted the word) voted.

A simple question has been asked, do you want something removed from the game...

Currently,
    16 people have said yes
    10 have said no
    12 have said they dont mind / it doesnt bother them that its left in or not.

That means, without doubt, that people who want QS removed is not in fact in the majority!

In fairness though, with noobtubing and now quickscoping done away with, I'm sure some other critical design 'flaw' will be discovered and will have everybody up in arms untill it's removed from COD8.

lol, I hope they remove that stupid ADS... I hate when people don't hip-fire :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

In fairness though, with noobtubing and now quickscoping done away with, I'm sure some other critical design 'flaw' will be discovered and will have everybody up in arms untill it's removed from COD8.

Guns will be removed next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

tell me what is cheap about QSing?

As far as I know, it's an exploit of the aim-assist system (on consoles). So if its an exploit then by definition it's cheap.

The aim-assist helps you centre your target in the crosshairs, and when you tap the scope-in button, you instantly go from hipfire accuracy to scoped-in accuracy. They're both hitscan, but I think the hipfire one has a cone-of-fire which means it randomly picks a spot in the cone and then does the hitscan. Whereas scoped-in just does a hitscan dead-centre.

Its pretty easy to fix, you just wait longer before switching over to the scoped-in accuracy model. You can still quickscope, meaning if you want you can fire before you're fully scoped in, but you have the hipfire accuracy which means you'll miss more often than not.

Currently,
    16 people have said yes
    10 have said no
    12 have said they dont mind / it doesnt bother them that its left in or not.

That means, without doubt, that people who want QS removed is not in fact in the majority!

What are you smoking? If you look at the figures the majority figure there says that the highest number of people want it gone, the second highest dont know / care, the least amount of people are the ones who actually want it.

So to use your own turn of phrase ... the MINORITY of voters actually want it in the game.

I don't smoke, and you really don't get it.

The argument is that more people want it removed than left in, if that was the case, then why are more people either not bothered or want it left in?

Had Shammy only given two choices, ye two wouldn't be having this argument

I think we should have a new poll ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Paparazzo wrote: »

Well one of the game modes only allows you to use the crossbow, tomahawk, knife and ballistic knife so you may be right, this could just be a test-case for the next COD :D

But thats the point, it doesn't have to be yes or no

There is no ultimatum here, we're trying to establish if removing QS was justified by Treyarch and the reasoning being
    'QS are in the minority and more people would like it gone than to leave it'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

True , but this isnt life changing now is it :confused:

I put in the 3 rd option in the pole* for the simple reason , that it was my view, it doesnt bother me and i really couldnt care whether it was included or not.
    Since there are 3 options , going by the way it is now there is no majority.

While the option with the most votes is that they "do not want qsing" its still not the majority of all voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Shammy wrote: »
    True , but this isnt life changing now is it :confused:

I put in the 3 rd option in the pole* for the simple reason , that it was my view, it doesnt bother me and i really couldnt care whether it was included or not.
    Since there are 3 options , going by the way it is now there is no majority.

While the option with the most votes is that they "do not want qsing" its still not the majority of all voters.

I voted "don't care" as well but would vote to keep it in if a gun was put to my head. I think democracy has spoken and it should not be gimped. If only the 40 odd of us who voted were consulted on everything the world would be a better place :)

Paparazzo wrote: »

Thank god.

I was starting to get sick of everyone shooting me while I was trying to arm the bomb...it made the game too impossible.

it made the game too impossible.

And un-realistic

There is no ultimatum here, we're trying to establish if removing QS was justified by Treyarch and the reasoning being

What it came down to... and if you use the poll here as an example was that in the case of leaving it in vs leaving it out... more wanted it out. The rest didnt care ether way to you have to negate that and go with the black and white "who wants and who doesnt want it" and we can see from the poll here and treyarchs decision that more wanted it left out than in. Treyarch wanted it out themselves.

It is as simple as....

Out: Treyarch / majority of players

In: Some players

Other: the rest.

Seeing as you cant just sit back and flip a coin based on the "I dont care" players on the decision to leave it i or out you have to go with what people want and dont want and not include the others.

You cant pick a president based on election results including those who dont vote you can only base the choice on people who vote one way or another.

The VOTING majority speaks and no more cock smoking.... sorry... "quick scoping" and what makes it better is that the last night a LOT of people are doing it presumably trying to get the last of it in before black ops... and they all suck! Nothing better than shot: fail.. shot: fail.... SHOT!.... FAIL!!!!! lol..... SPAZ! Messaged one of them the other night with "Sniper...fail" and how typical I get a reply..."wot eva m8" lol... typical cock smoker / quick scoper.

INIT!!!! lol

Since you've decided to bring out the cock smoker argument, I guess were done here

It was nice having a debate with adults, but alas, it proved to much for yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Seeing as you cant just sit back and flip a coin based on the "I dont care" players on the decision to leave it i or out you have to go with what people want and dont want and not include the others.

You cant pick a president based on election results including those who dont vote you can only base the choice on people who vote one way or another.

Of course you can , its not an election, its a poll, and if i had to answer if i wanted it in or not i would say yes , just like another poster who voted the 3rd option. The debate was that someone said the majority wanted rid of quick -scoping , the poll shows here on boards so far that that is not the case.
    The VOTING majority speaks and no more cock smoking.... sorry... "quick scoping" and what makes it better is that the last night a LOT of people are doing it presumably trying to get the last of it in before black ops... and they all suck! Nothing better than shot: fail.. shot: fail.... SHOT!.... FAIL!!!!! lol..... SPAZ! Messaged one of them the other night with "Sniper...fail" and how typical I get a reply..."wot eva m8" lol... typical cock smoker / quick scoper.

INIT!!!! lol
    If it was a majority then it would be over 50% , last time i checked thats what constituted a majority.
    So you got some handy kills last night , i wouldnt be complaining , i'd be laughing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Deep breaths lads, deep breaths, it's only a game :) Less of the cock-smoke talk too please :)

But it IS the point. What else would they do...
    Sit around discussing if they want to bring things into , leave them in or remove things from the game. So they all sit in a meeting room.....

"Ehhh quick scoping, should we vote on this?"
    "All for leaving it it tick here, all for taking it out tick here"
    "All who dont know tick here"

"Great its decided then... We dont know"

So what do they do in this case? Do they leave it in or take it out? You have to ether code for it or not you cant just say "I dont know if I care" and see what happens?! Thats why you can count the fence sitters cause treyarch didnt have the option to count them!

They had to make a concious decision to leave it in or not there was no option for "I dont know" when making the game so how in the name of god can we make assumptions comparing what boards users wanted against what they wanted when there is an entire section called "I dont know" ... an option which simply was not there for treyarch.

Clearly the majorty wanted it gone and so it is! Get the f**k over it already. If anyone doesnt like it keep playing MW2 and leave black ops to the rest of us. Jesus :eek: