Just how bad is it?

• 15-10-2010 07:57PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20

As an outsider I'd like to know: Just how bad is the Irish economy at the moment?

Is it improving or getting worse?

I looked on the Independant website and there doesnt seem to be too many articles about it so does that mean things are OK?

How is the average Joe travelling? Do people have jobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

It's bad.

450k people are unemployed.
    Even those who are employed, many of them are working reduced hours/days.

Levels of personal debt are very high.
    Personal debt levels, corporate debt levels and sovereign debt levels, are all far too high.

The value of assets used to procure loans (where applicable), are dropping.

In December 2010, our government will announce the first of 4 austerity budgets to tackle the massive sovereign debt.
    Disposable income will decrease substantially if taxes are increased further, this further reducing domestic spending.

Anecdotally, there is evidence that emigration is increasing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 U R Soul

and is there any bright horizon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭ArraMusha

Its bad bad bad..

The government are trying to put a good face on it but with unemployment at 450k+ and everyone knowing that the property boom was based on nothing but talk and speculation, the country is going only one way...down down down
    Anyone out of school is emigrating....and fair play to them...why pay for others gambling debts....that's only for goons

And goons is all that's left ...goons that should be out on the streets.....they'll be out yet....the final ball sqeeze is coming..:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,246 ✭✭✭✭Sand

A lot of it is perspective based.

The Irish state is bleeding about 18 billion per year between revenue and spending. The deficit this year will be in the region of 30%, perhaps a record in a developed, peace time economy. We have anchored the Irish states creditworthiness to a series of casino banks - we are essentially playing Russian roulette with a loan/property portfolio that is incredibly toxic. Rather than simply accepting the losses on that portfolio up front, the Irish state has decided to leave it hanging, like the sword of Damocles over the Irish economy for a decade, hindering investment and confidence. A similar line has been taken to the fiscal crisis - despite the myth abroad that the Irish have cut sooner and faster than anyone, most of the hard decisions have been avoided. Again, fear of inevitably higher taxes and pay cuts hang over the Irish economy. This kicking the can down the road exercise is hailed as the "smart" approach.

The "leadership" of the political, civil servants, trade unions, media is appalling. In the midst of an fiscal disaster, the main opposition party, Labour, can campaign on the line that they will not cut spending, nor raise taxes, will boost public sector wages, nor touch "middle Ireland" and face little or no serious challenge. Our former Taoiseach can publically announce in a national interview that he appointed men to state boards because they were his friends and face no criticism. Our current Taoiseach has such deep rooted contempt for the state and its people that he can feel it acceptable to address the country whilst hung-over. Their government (We cant really call it "ours" can we?) refuses to hold elections for open seats in the legistlature. When a man took a case to force the government to hold elections for open seats (not a general election), the state is fighting the case against, using taxpayer money to prevent taxpayers having the ability to elect representitives. We have a finance minister whose most defining characteristic is being inevitably and without fail wrong, who doesnt even bother to read reports. It goes without saying, this man is viewed as perhaps the best and brightest of the Irish leadership. Thats not to say we dont have patriots and statesmen, but they are held in utter contempt by those in power: they dont even disguise the sneers.

About a third of Irish men under the age of 25 are unemployed with little in the way of transferable skills that doesnt involve a shovel or wheelbarrow. Young families in their 20s and 30s have seen a massive transfer of wealth from themselves and their families to people in their 50s and 60s, funded via immense mortgages. Our public service and leadership are under-qualified and over politicised, with a deep contempt and fear of enterprise. Trade unionist parasites were invited into the "Social Partnership" carve up of the taxpayers, whilst employers and wealth generators like Michael O'Leary are routinely despised and demonised. The establishment have dug in their feet to protect their patch - while prices have fallen throughout the Irish economy, prices relating to services provided by the state have risen. Parasites want their blood, regardless of the health of the host. Unlike medieval nobility, who enjoyed a similar position on the back of the serfs, they have no sense of noblesse oblige - instead they feel a great deal of entitlement.

Irish economic policy is essentially a modern day cargo cult. Primitive tribes clear the jungle to create rough runways to encourage the great iron birds to land on their long lost isle. However, whilst mountains are moved for FDI, little is done to encourage domestic entrepreneurship. Other than that is some glossy brochures about the "smart economy" which is a load of nonsense. Whenever Irish economic policy is discussed, never is it proposed that perhaps the Irish state simply ought to make Ireland the best place in the world to start and run a company and then leave the rest to entrepreneurs.

Best case scenario, the state is bankrupted under the weight of the banks losses and the fiscal crisis. Ireland is already locked out of the bond markets. We face the losses, we move on and start growing again.

Worst case scenario, we get a Japanese style depression of deflation, over-saving and underspending with zombie banks and influential parasites feeding on what remains of the productive Irish economy.

However, on the other hand, Im still in a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 U R Soul

Beautifully put Sand. Thank you.

I read in a paper here last week that Ireland is still rated hihly as a plcae to live. Number 4 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,246 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Ireland is still a fine place to live in many ways. But whereas Americans take the risk that any idiot can become President, we assume the certainty that some ****ing eejit will always be Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭rumour

Sand....two excellent contributions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

I usually look past all the BS from both sides and look at the unemployment numbers. 455,000 on the dole = very bad to me.

U R Soul wrote: »
    and is there any bright horizon?

That's a difficult question to answer.

Economically, there is little or no light at the end of the medium term tunnel
    (1-5 years).
    Our political leaders are hellbent on transferring the private liabilities incurred by Irish banks on to the taxpayers of this State.
    Coupled with the annual €20 billion budget deficit, taxes will have to be increased and public services will be cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Scarab80

Mister men wrote: »
    I usually look past all the BS from both sides and look at the unemployment numbers. 455,000 on the dole = very bad to me.

The live register does not measure unemployment, the national household survey does. 264,600 unemployed.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0805/breaking19.html

The number of people seeking employment assistance from the State continued to rise in July, with the Live Register jumping by 8,500 during the month and the unemployment rate rising to 13.7 per cent, its highest in 16 years.

The Central Statistics Office said the adjusted Live Register rose to 452,500 last month, with a net figure of about 1,700 more people signing on each week.
    This brings the unadjusted increase in the year to July to 34,403, a rise of 8 per cent. This compares with the increase of 9 per cent, or 37,420, recorded in June.

The Live Register includes part-time workers, and seasonal and casual workers entitled to jobseekers benefit or allowance.
    Minister for Social Protection Eamon O'Cuiv defended the unemployment figure - which has more than doubled over the last two years - saying it would reverse in the Autumn.

“The Government is very concerned at the difficulties households are facing because of unemployment and the creation of new jobs is our top priority,” he said.
    Tánaiste Mary Coughlan moved to ease the jobs crisis for young people by adding an additional €12 million to the Labour Market Activation Fund.

Ms Coughlan said the cash injection will support education and training programmes for at least 5,000 additional unemployed people and will bring the total number of participant places supported by the fund to over 11,000 this year.
    “We put the Activation Fund in place to stimulate innovation in the provision of training and activation measures for jobseekers seeking to up-skill and get back into work,” she said.
    Casual and part-time workers made up about 16.9 per cent of the total Live Register in July, accounting for 79,072. A year earlier, this figure was only 16.1 per cent, with 69,553 casual and part-time worker signing on.
    The rise in the Live Register was reflected across the occupational groups, with the largest percentage increase in the professional group, which saw a 12.3 per cent increase. It was a similar story in the six months to July 2010, when the professional category rose by 22.8 per cent.

The number of people claiming jobseekers' benefit was 2.5 per cent higher during the month, with 149,728 on the Live Register. Applications for jobseekers' allowance rose 3.2 per cent to 291,594.

Those seeking jobseekers' benefit fell by 47,260, or 24 per cent, in the year to July 2010, but job seekers allowance applications and other registrants rose by 32.9 per cent, or 72,131, and 59.7 per cent, or 9,532, respectively

More women than men were added to the register during July, with an additional 3,900 males and 4,600 females signing on.
    NCB economist Brian Devine said the figures were discouraging.

"Not only is the headline data not encouraging neither is the flow data," he said. "Although not seasonally adjusted, which likely biases the numbers upward, the inflow data reveal that the new signings on to the Live Register has risen to its highest level since January 2010. New signings on totaled 60,187 versus an outflow of 46,245 for a seasonally unadjusted increase of 13,942. The inflow in January was 64,765."
    Ibec said the rise in the numbers signing on reflected ongoing weakness in the domestic economy.

IBEC senior economist Fergal O'Brien said the second quarter of the year had been disappointing for the labour market. "The latest increase in the Live Register highlight the tough trading conditions that firms operating in the domestic sector continue to face," he said.

"The scale of the domestic economy, in money terms, is down by one quarter since the start of the recession and there are not yet solid signs of recovery."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭shivs

If you are, (as you state, in your OP, 'an outsider'), I seriously would consider if you would like to stay.....But, for me having huge family committments here and having spent 14 years living in various countries abroad, it was time to give 'home' a chance.
    Home isn't where l left in 1995....and not in a positive way.

Here has become hard and cold....this can only be attributed to money distributed by banks and the politicians (still in power and running our country), who failed to care. They had their FF/Builders Tent at the Galway Races-vuglar! People were lying in hallways of hospitals.....

So, I love my country (my children would consider themselves Irish) and we instill all that is good about Ireland (the people),but we are all being walked-over

But, I don't know how to go about making a change? How does that happen?I absolutely refuse to listen to the 'die-hards' on my doorstep....am so fed up:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

I'd like to consider myself an optimist but there comes a time when you need to look at the facts and figures & forget all the spin. The situation is grave & serious right now. All thats happened before now has just been the build up to whats going to happen- the big crash. Its only a matter of days or weeks right now, not months. There has been veiled warnings from politicians..the normally blindly arrogant Cowen agreeing to a national consensus & calling it ''not normal times'', Lenihan calling the banking crisis figures ''disastarous''. These are not phrases these guys were using all along. You need to listen to what these guys say, not how they say it. I dont have deposits or investments in Irish Institutions but anyone who has needs to take their money out as soon as possible because when the big disaster happens before you know about it will be too late..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭shivs

Fentdog84 wrote: »
    I'd like to consider myself an optimist but there comes a time when you need to look at the facts and figures & forget all the spin. The situation is grave & serious right now. All thats happened before now has just been the build up to whats going to happen- the big crash. Its only a matter of days or weeks right now, not months. There has been veiled warnings from politicians..the normally blindly arrogant Cowen agreeing to a national consensus & calling it ''not normal times'', Lenihan calling the banking crisis figures ''disastarous''. These are not phrases these guys were using all along. You need to listen to what these guys say, not how they say it. I dont have deposits or investments in Irish Institutions but anyone who has needs to take their money out as soon as possible because when the big disaster happens before you know about it will be too late..

Completely agree with you Fentdog84. So sorry for people caught up in this situation-lifetimes of saving demolished etc. The guys you are referring to knew about this crash long before we were privy to any crash crisis. With all respect, the country is down the toilet. FF have screwed up on so, so many levels - D Drumm in Mass.- why wasn't there some money recouped from him when the opportunity arose-these guys seem to have access to the best lawyers to find loopholes.............so why can't lawyers perform to find a loophole-we're paying for nothing through the hse, anyway.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

The government take great pride in telling us we have borrowed enough to limp on until next year, at which point we may be forced to dip into the EU stabilization fund, so I don't think anything will happen in the days / weeks ahead apart from having to read more nonsense from government ministers about how we all have to take the pain in the budget. I think the language Cowen/Lenihan are using is a deliberate attempt to instill fear into the electorate thus making it easier to impose draconian cuts in decembers budget. I also seriously doubt the ECB would allow retail depositors in any EU country to be burned in the event of a banking meltdown, but you never know. I do agree we are in a very very serious situation, and things will have to come to a head one way or the other eventually, we must deal with both our public and private debt problem if we are to have a functioning economy again, lets hope it doesn't come to total armagedon and social chaos but we are in an extraordinary situation so anything is possible. I don't think anybody is claiming to know how things are going to turn out but lets keep our fingers crossed :)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

If everyone tried to pull their money out of the banks in the morning, the money would not be there as most of it is already lent out to people in negative equity etc. This govt are paying young people with degrees etc to leave the country yet do they realise that long term wise if they do that there will not be enough Taxpayers left in the country to support the system & people with pensions who are living longer. In good times the prices were up and the Govt decided to raise taxes, now they need to raise taxes again to get out of the recession but the people cant afford it. Everything this Govt has done for the past 5-6 years has been hare brained & everything they have done since the recession started has been equally so. We need them out.
    I'm not joking about the imminent crash. The average person dosent realise the extent of the **** we are in and its not reported properly in the news. The politicians etc knew about this all along some would argue they even set it up(personally I dont think thats true, they just were stupid or greedy). But they all have exit strategies, sound(free) financial advice and money invested elsewhere etc so its not going to hurt them like the average Joe, so they are not really that worried at the end of the day.
    I would advise anyone to move their money out of Irish banks, if not the whole lot but at least put some aside in case of emergency happening into Rabo, Paypal or yes even under the matress . Uk nationwide is offering 3.3% at present on deposit and looks the safest UK bank. Stay safe. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Scarab80 wrote: »
    The live register does not measure unemployment, the national household survey does. 264,600 unemployed.

What is the difference in the two numbers made up of?
    Part time workers? Long term unemployed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

I've heard so much about "draconian cuts" etc but I havn't heard much about actual figures people are expecting. What impact do people here think the average man and woman can expect over the next 4 budgets for a start and then throughout the course of the decade? I have a few simple* questions I'd like people's opinions on.

Is there any risk of people with savings in an Irish bank losing their money?

How much do you expect welfare to be cut by? If I get €208(iirc) p/w now, what can I expect after this and the next few budgets?

If for example I earn €400 p/w before tax working 40hrs, how much more tax could I expect to pay after the next few budgets?

What exactly are the government hoping to achieve over the next 4 years?

How long do you think it will really take to get back to "normality"?

Sorry if I'm hi-jacking the thread but my knowledge of the economy is limited, as I'm sure it is with a lot of people reading these threads just trying to figure out WTF is going on and just how far we are up shit creek.

*I don't mean they are simple questions to answer nor do I expect easy answers, they are simple in the sense that I know sweet feck all on the subject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Essien wrote: »
    I've heard so much about "draconian cuts" etc but I havn't heard much about actual figures people are expecting. What impact do people here think the average man and woman can expect over the next 4 budgets for a start and then throughout the course of the decade? I have a few simple* questions I'd like people's opinions on.

Is there any risk of people with savings in an Irish bank losing their money?

How much do you expect welfare to be cut by? If I get €208(iirc) p/w now, what can I expect after this and the next few budgets?

If for example I earn €400 p/w before tax working 40hrs, how much more tax could I expect to pay after the next few budgets?

What exactly are the government hoping to achieve over the next 4 years?

How long do you think it will really take to get back to "normality"?

Sorry if I'm hi-jacking the thread but my knowledge of the economy is limited, as I'm sure it is with a lot of people reading these threads just trying to figure out WTF is going on and just how far we are up shit creek.

*I don't mean they are simple questions to answer nor do I expect easy answers, they are simple in the sense that I know sweet feck all on the subject
    I don't think the labour tax rates will go up much, expect water rates and a property tax however in the next few years, taking anywhere up to 1500-3000 euro out off the average family. VAT may also rise, the PRSI ceiling will be gone (only affects high earners), dole and pensions will certainly have to be cut unfortunately but we can only guess by how much, I would guess by 10% although many would argue that is not enough. There probably isn't a huge amount more they can do except pray to the heavens for recovery and growth and reduce the cost of the public service, a task made very hard indeed by the CP deal, this deal may well be reneged upon, as it makes less and less sense with every passing day. There is enormous waste throughout the system, while other critical areas remain underfunded but there doesn't seem to be any appetite for any meaningful change. I think the current government just wants to see out its term without the house of cards coming down on top of them, happily leaving a FG / Labour coalition to do the real dirty work. And like I stated before, I think money in Irish banks is relatively safe, not because the banks are solvent, but because the EU won't allow small retail depositors to lose all their savings, I could of course be wrong on this so by all means move your money abroad :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Scarab80

The-Rigger wrote: »
    What is the difference in the two numbers made up of?
    Part time workers? Long term unemployed?

Part time, seasonal and casual workers I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭rumour

mickeyk wrote: »
    I think the current government just wants to see out its term without the house of cards coming down on top of them, happily leaving a FG / Labour coalition to do the real dirty work.

Yes as stated in another post. The scale of cuts in the next 4 years.
    Expenditure 48bn
    Income 30bn

Approx 16bn has to come out of expenditure. Thats a knife to one third of the size of government here. applied universally:
    • dole -33%
    • benefits -33%
    • salaries -33%
    These are savage, we could always up tax to soften the blow but putting up tax means the 30bn becomes at risk if that happens the cuts only need to be bigger. The markets are watching. This is the simple equation they see.
    mickeyk wrote: »
    the EU won't allow small retail depositors to lose all their savings, I could of course be wrong on this so by all means move your money abroad :o
    I'd love to think they have my interests at heart but that would be like believeing our politicians are responsibly representing us. Where did that get us, don't make the same mistake twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

As with many things, just how bad it is right now is very relative. Things seem pretty hard for many people but you must remember that we came into this from the most prosperous time in the history of our nation. Granted, alot of it was totally false but it gave people a taste of wealth that, in all likely hood, most of them will never know again. So in light of this, times seem quite alot harder than they really are.

However, if I was able to go back in time to the 50s and meet my grandmother in her teens, I'm sure she would consider us alot better off than the average joe back then. Thus, we should be thankful for what we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Things are not bad at all. There are many good things happening which will put the country back on a sustainable path.
    Export manufacturing sector is investing and rehiring.
    Good quality employees can be hired at fair not extortinate pay levels.
    Farmers and the food industry are investing again. Lads who left the land for the bright lights of construction, have come back and are breathing life into the farms and rural villages again.
    Wages are falling and will continue to do so in real terms for at least another 3 to 5 years. Competiveness has gained traction, and we will be on top of that league in a few years.
    The dizzy expectations of people in general, going back a few years have been replaced by good old fashioned, I will buy it when I have worked and saved enough for it.
    In my local village 7 shops businesses closed between March 2008 and September 2009.
    Since April 2010 4 new businesses have opened and seem to be doing ok.

I hear all the doom gloom talk about high unemployment. Yes it is high, BUT, no small percentage are on the dole and also working:pac: There is plenty work, but the state insists on making it too easy to stay home watching Dathi O Shea on the goggle box.

It's a good time to invest in this country, if you have the capital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭Shelflife

How bad is it? im in business for over 20 years and ive never seen it so bad.

we seem to be in a state of paralysis, people are afraid to invest, afraid to spend and those that have a good idea cant get capital.

The govt talk about making hard decisions but havent made any hard decisions, they have reacted to events but havent grasped the nettle as regards the economy. they have hidden behind constitutional mumbo jumbo so as to avoid cutting pensions, judges pay etc.

we have situations where people are getting so much on the dole that it takes them out of the market for all of the service industry jobs, why would someone work a 40 hr week to get moreor less the same as they would on the dole.

they need to just wield the axe tell people that we no longer have the money to pay high dole, high public sector wages , cut the ministers pensions until they are of pensionalble age and cut out all waste.

this wont be done because they simple dont have the balls to do it and that is why we are in the hole we are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

Well, we're seen as one of the riskiest countries ON THE PLANET to lend to, right up there with Pakistan, Greece, Ukraine.

http://ftalphaville.ft.com/blog/2010/10/13/368016/ireland-portugal-join-sovereign-risk-elite/

This is, of course, by outsiders looking in. I wouldn't have said we were this bad, but know we are in a very bad place. I think though, these lads know more than we ever will. Why? Because our government has to talk to them and keep them in the loop, and they can't be fooled easily. We only hear lies and bullsht, and accept it, every single time.

We only ever hear from our sht-head leader when he's announcing 10 new call centre jobs as part of the "smart economy" project. I think we would have more respect for him if he actually turned up when 100+people are laid off, offering support, giving words of encouragement. You know why he doesn't? He's a fecking USELESS, CLUELESS, COWARD, who has somehow managed to keep his job despite being exposed as such two yaers ago. I honestly believe he spends every day wondering how long he can hang on and how come he hasn't been outsted yet.

Sorry if a bit off-topic, but it kind of shows just how bad we are, op:mad::mad::mad:

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Things are not bad at all. There are many good things happening which will put the country back on a sustainable path.
    Farmers and the food industry are investing again. Lads who left the land for the bright lights of construction, have come back and are breathing life into the farms and rural villages again.
    Wages are falling and will continue to do so in real terms for at least another 3 to 5 years. Competiveness has gained traction, and we will be on top of that league in a few years.
    The dizzy expectations of people in general, going back a few years have been replaced by good old fashioned, I will buy it when I have worked and saved enough for it.
    In my local village 7 shops businesses closed between March 2008 and September 2009.

I hear all the doom gloom talk about high unemployment. Yes it is high, BUT, no small percentage are on the dole and also working:pac: There is plenty work, but the state insists on making it too easy to stay home watching Dathi O Shea on the goggle box.

Just quoting this post because I know no one else will. This forum is great, in that it can give some insight into the country and some posters have good perspective on things, but almost every thread I read on here has so much scaremongering and "end of the world" themed posts, it's just refreshing to see a worthwhile, positive comment.

Ah sure, back to the ould doom and gloom now, I suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

Just quoting this post because I know no one else will. This forum is great, in that it can give some insight into the country and some posters have good perspective on things, but almost every thread I read on here has so much scaremongering and "end of the world" themed posts, it's just refreshing to see a worthwhile, positive comment.

Ah sure, back to the ould doom and gloom now, I suppose...

Yeah there are some positives, but why should it happen that the nation is bankrupted..that means lower quality of life, education, health services etc and higher taxes making it more difficult to run business. Have costs dropped for businesses, where? Are young educated people able to find employment (outside of IT), where?

Also there seems to be no justice system in operation i.e. punishment of blatant corruption and fraud. Ah but sure the grass is green and it's better than the 50s when Ireland was third world shambles...sucker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

Tora Bora wrote: »

Obviously you are not in business. I feel the mick is taken out of me. I am paying taxes so we can pay our over inflated HSE workers, doctors here earn €150 in the UK it is €90, etc. Also, paying an extortionate number of TD's wages, drivers, garda, expenses. Highest paid in Europe.

I am sick to the stomach. I don't see any return for my taxes. For every €3 we spend on the PS it actually costs us €5. When the French and German people realise they are keeping Irelands ministers and PS in employment they will not stand for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Got every single penny i have out of the Irish banking system months ago. There is going to be a lot of very pissed off people when they realise the bank guarantee is worthless in the next few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

femur61 wrote: »
    Obviously you are not in business. I feel the mick is taken out of me. I am paying taxes so we can pay our over inflated HSE workers, doctors here earn €150 in the UK it is €90, etc. Also, paying an extortionate number of TD's wages, drivers, garda, expenses. Highest paid in Europe.

I am sick to the stomach. I don't see any return for my taxes. For every €3 we spend on the PS it actually costs us €5. When the French and German people realise they are keeping Irelands ministers and PS in employment they will not stand for it.[/QUOTE

I'm a business manager.60 employees. The boom time put the prospects of sustainably growing our export business in a choking headlock. Hard to find employees at a pay rate that was competitive internationally. Hard to find employees, with good work ethic. This problem is now resolved. We have successfully restructured our cost base to increase our international competitiveness.

The global crisis, hurt us badly, and we cut back operations very severely. However we are now employing again and we getting back on our feet.

I have no doubt, barring a global double dip, we will employ more people within two years than we did before the crash. I have no doubt we will also be more profitable and sustainable.

T