Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Medical & How long have you been waiting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭eru123

hopefully! thanks for the positivity, hope ya get a call soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

no bother pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

It'll be a year in January since my BR form was sent back. I've forgotten all about it now and I don't think I'll hear anything before the new year the way things are going.

funkyflea wrote: »
    It'll be a year in January since my BR form was sent back. I've forgotten all about it now and I don't think I'll hear anything before the new year the way things are going.

I've been waiting since march 2009 i could of done life for murder and got out and i still wouldn't hear a whisper.
    You just need to sit tight and wait till they call or e mail you unfortunatly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭DavidH82

I've been waiting since march 2009 i could of done life for murder and got out and i still wouldn't hear a whisper.
    You just need to sit tight and wait till they call or e mail you unfortunatly

I have been waiting almost as long. I heard that there is a big backlog of files waiting for the Commisioner to make a decision. Now I don't know exactly what that means but it would account for some of the delay.

DavidH82 wrote: »
    I have been waiting almost as long. I heard that there is a big backlog of files waiting for the Commisioner to make a decision. Now I don't know exactly what that means but it would account for some of the delay.

I understand that but the say were we stand on the matter afte all it has been a rediculous amount of time i mean if there so telling the public they need more public support and on telling people to join the reserve or full time force top contrubute surely they need a better way of getting things true.

When was your exam in all i could of done it same time as you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭DavidH82

I understand that but the say were we stand on the matter afte all it has been a rediculous amount of time i mean if there so telling the public they need more public support and on telling people to join the reserve or full time force top contrubute surely they need a better way of getting things true.

When was your exam in all i could of done it same time as you?

I did my exam in May 09 so a little after you I think. It's frustrating alright but at this point you have to be close to getting the call. There is still every chance you will make the November intake.

DavidH82 wrote: »
    I did my exam in May 09 so a little after you I think. It's frustrating alright but at this point you have to be close to getting the call. There is still every chance you will make the November intake.

I don't know I've lost hope in it really :( two lads i went to college with had the same problems with full time force back before the recruitment ban announced one is now in the prison service and the other is in the army.

I think the recruitment is probably the same way the civil defence is run like depending on the county your in you have a high advantage of getting if that particular coutny doesn't have a high level of applications as the stations usually have to train you in there rather a high rate of applications coming from another county were the stations are jammed with trainees like i don't know just a thought i know the CD is run like that though.

I was talking to a man in the Garda hq this morning and he said the november intake is the weekend after next and there is another intake it december. plenty of time to make it before the end of the year lads!

eru123 wrote: »
    I was talking to a man in the Garda hq this morning and he said the november intake is the weekend after next and there is another intake it december. plenty of time to make it before the end of the year lads!

Ah but if your waiting as long as we have you begin to get use to whatever is been said and basically taking the seen is believing kinda approach.

Did you have your medical in all??

ya i get ya, gotta keep the faith though!! ya i had the medical this morning. i passed:):) there was about 8 others there as well. have to wait for another email regarding the intake. the waiting game starts again!

Ah well done
    what was it like?

Cheers, was sound. went in and got a pass card from reception and down to the medical building then. Filled another medical form in and soon after the nurse took my blood pressure, height, weight, bmi, body fat, did the hearing test, exhaled into this thing to measure lung capacity, she looked in my mouth and took a urine sample from me. Waited another while and chatted to few people that were there. Good to see a few faces that are in the same boat as yourself!
    Upstairs to the doctor then. Looked into the machine to test vision (left eye, right eye then both eyes), laterial vision and for colourblindness.
    Finally i had to touch my toes while standing, took off my top and had my chest listened to while breathing in and out, got checked for a hernia (he reached downstairs and he asked me to cough!), made sure both liathróidí were there and asked me what i do to keep fit and sin é!:)
    Was talking to a lad that had applied in nov 08 and was only getting a medical now. Reminded me of yourself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Cheers, was sound. went in and got a pass card from reception and down to the medical building then. Filled another medical form in and soon after the nurse took my blood pressure, height, weight, bmi, body fat, did the hearing test, exhaled into this thing to measure lung capacity and took a urine sample. Waited another while and chatted to few people that were there. Good to see a few faces that are in the same boat as yourself!
    Upstairs to the doctor then. Looked into the machine to test vision (left eye, right eye then both eyes), laterial vision and colourblindness.
    Finally i had to touch my toes while standing, took off my top and had my chest listened to while breathing in and out, got checked for a hernia (he reached downstairs and he asked me to cough!), made sure both liathróidí were there and asked me what i do to keep fit and sin é!:)
    Was talking to a lad that had applied in nov 08 and was only getting a medical now. Reminded me of yourself!!

Well done eru123 :). Thanks for sharing your good news and for informing people of what briefly happens at the medical. I appreciate that.

Cheers, was sound. went in and got a pass card from reception and down to the medical building then. Filled another medical form in and soon after the nurse took my blood pressure, height, weight, bmi, body fat, did the hearing test, exhaled into this thing to measure lung capacity and took a urine sample. Waited another while and chatted to few people that were there. Good to see a few faces that are in the same boat as yourself!
    Upstairs to the doctor then. Looked into the machine to test vision (left eye, right eye then both eyes), laterial vision and colourblindness.

Haha if that was me i'd be out on the gargle getting el loco with me mates :D
    Cheers for the information sounds like all is going well for you ha were still in the waiting room ha
    before you no it you be chasing some skanger bangers haha
    Well done again i'd the familia is chuffed ha

Haha if that was me i'd be out on the gargle getting el loco with me mates :D
    Cheers for the information sounds like all is going well for you ha were still in the waiting room ha
    before you no it you be chasing some skanger bangers haha
    Well done again i'd the familia is chuffed ha

haha that'll have to be done alright!!:D
    ya im a happy camper at the minute. haha hopefully, gotta get a date for templemore first though!

haha that'll have to be done alright!!:D
    ya im a happy camper at the minute. haha hopefully, gotta get a date for templemore first though!

When are you due to get the date for.
    Some people are saying there is a good pub across the road from there but i wouldn't drink there the night of you training grad day!

think sometime in december, i'll try find out. ya pollys i hear..wouldnt wanna make a show a myself!! ha! might get kicked out before i even get in!!:eek:

What happens in pollys stays in pollys just dont sleep there ha.

How many of you's are heading down did they mention an amount or anything

ha definitely! gave them a call this morning. There is an intake today and the next intake is for the 3rd December. 40 will be taken in for December. she said the offers are sent out, in order of preference, 4 weeks in advance so thats early November. the next intake is probably going to be in February but thats not confirmed yet.

And have you been told when your heading down shoud be brilliant

no not yet, i'll find out in a few weeks if im in that batch. ya should be good, never thought it'd be around so quick. gotta read up about phase 1 now! (for once im not complainin about havin work to do, ha!)

Haha its something different and you like thats why your not ha
    Are you a college graduate or working because it it fits in perfect if your more in college i noticed????

Haha its something different and you like thats why your not ha
    Are you a college graduate or working because it it fits in perfect if your more in college i noticed????

Mod Note: These posts have absolutely NO relevance to this thread! This will be the only warning I will issue on this thread before I WILL issue warnings or infractions for not following moderator instructions. Their is no need to comment on moderator actions either. Thanks. Back on-topic please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Mc Jakester

Just passed Medical, :) Any body that needs step by step info, Ask...!! Feb here I come...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 collw2

Congrats on the medical, good to hear a bit of positivity.

I have been waiting about 6 mounths now since i handed in the Br form! last I heard my background clearance was all done! that was about 8 weeks ago.

Just passed Medical, :) Any body that needs step by step info, Ask...!! Feb here I come...
    Congrats good to hear its going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 DubDan

I had a chat with the super in may of this year but handed my BR form in last october. Have rang HR and they said its just my uncle in Englands clearence thats holding it up the thing i tried to explain was my uncle died a month ago. Has any one else had one persons basckground hold everything up.

Ah well done man! I've just looked at the intro thread and see you applied in Feb '09, that's some waiting game you've played, delighted for you :D

You want to run through the process from the day you were there for the medical? I'm sure it's the same for everyone but considering the stages for meetings etc happen differently for some candidates, if you could outline what happened for you on the day of the medical it would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭dentalnurse

I think were both in sh?t creek aye ha

Unfortunately :-( so let's talk about the medical. What do they do exactly??