If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Once more from the top...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭runrabbit

Tuesday: cross-training in the gym

Wednesday: was supposed to be 3 easy miles, but felt so exhausted that I just pottered around for a mile and gave up. Went for a long walk with a friend instead. Don't know what the hell has happened my body

Thursday + Friday: Rest and pre-hydration

Saturday: Actually felt okay about the 10-mile race, I felt I had done everything right, I'd covered the distance (and more) before and I felt I would do all my training justice.

I was wrong. The heat killed me, and by mile 2 I was finding it hard. By mile 2 of the 5-mile race I was practically dancing with happiness/excitement! I was aiming for sub-90, my pace-keeping (looking back) was cat. I wanted to build up a few spare seconds for the hilly miles but I probably went out too fast. Mentally I fell apart at mile 2. I was finding it so tough that I knew the sub-90 was going to be a struggle and from then on it all fell apart. Kept a decent pace up for the first 5 miles, but hated every one of them. I was absolutely freezing, my arms were in goosebumps. But my head felt overheated :confused: Around mile 6 I had to walk a bit for some dry retching, then I turned my watch off at mile 7. That actually felt like some of the pressure was lifted from me, I just told myself "it's a training run now, just finish it". I kept going okay over the first of the hills, then the last 2 miles were pure hell, with lots of walking. Finished just under 95 minutes, and given the brutal last 4 miles I think that means the first 5-6 were too fast.

I was absolutely gutted. I've done 10 miles faster in training, and over a tougher, hillier course. I've never before walked during a run. My body and my mind really let me down on the day when it really mattered. Tobe honest, they've been letting me down the last week or so too, everything really fell apart. I felt similar in my 8-mile run last Saturday, but managed to keep going.

I'm not sure where to go from here in terms of training for the half, I'm obviously doing something very wrong. All I know is that I couldn't face another race like that.

On holidays now for a week - I'm packing some gear but I'm not sure if I'll use it.

Time to get back to the log...

Sunday 23rd/ Monday 24th - rest and travelling!

Tuesday 25th - 5 undulating miles, not great but not too bad either. Followed by a 12-mile hike.

Wednesday 26th - rest

Thursday 27th - 3 miles

Friday -Sunday - nothing :(

Monday 30th - had planned a LSR but the fear set in (after the disasterous 10-mile race) so eventually went out for 4 miles around 8pm. It actually went grand!

Tuesday 31st - a tired and slow 13.1 miles, not a confidence-building run; it was 8 minutes slower than a much hillier run 3 weeks ago so I don't seem to have got my mojo back yet! But it will be my last run at that distance until the big day on 18th September!

So it's all go for the half marathon now, and I'm roped in to do a novice cross-country race 2 weeks after it. Not sure what kind of training to do for it as my time will be very limited!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

I'd say your body could be tired, a good taper now might work wonders for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

Fair dues for getting the miles in on Hols. From recent experience I know how tough that is:p.

Emer911 wrote: »
    Fair dues for getting the miles in on Hols. From recent experience I know how tough that is:p.

Thanks Emer, unfortunately I wasn't away anywhere sunny, just in the UK, so didn't have any temperature problems! There is no way in hell I'd manage it somewhere hot!

Wednesday: Cross-training session in the gym, which was surprisingly enjoyable!

Thursday: Session with the club. I really enjoyed it - my legs felt fresh and I even got some speed-work in! Think I covered approx 5 miles

Friday: Rest day

Saturday: 10 miles. My aim for the day was that I'd run it, enjoy it, and no stopping. After 4.5 miles my plan fell apart when I wiped away a drip from my nose and discovered a massive nose bleed. All I had to clean myself was my t-shirt but I was only 0.5miles from my parent's house so I ran down there to clean myself up. Needless to say I had to stop for the chat and to reassure my Mam that I wasn't going to bleed to death or keel over! So my run was very much split in two; for the second half I got soaked to the skin and I was feeling weary and hungry by the time I got home!

Plenty of cross-training this week also in the form of painting and decorating, so getting a nice upper-body work-out!

So that's pretty much the last of the long runs til the half marathon, will probably do 8 miles or so next weekend. I can't believe how quickly it's coming up!

Jeepers I'd slipped down to the bottom of page 5 - I need to update this more often!

Sunday: Spent all day painting and decorating but hit the gym for a short while too

Monday: I'm ashamed to say the rain put me off my planned run

Tuesday: A serious pilates session, followed by 30 minutes cross-training in the gym

Wednesday: 5k race. My only aim was to enjoy myself, and I'm glad to say that I did! I didn't push myself too hard, and still had a lot left in the tank at the end, so I probably could have pushed on a bit harder in the last km. But it's all part of the learning process!

Thursday: The legs were only very slightly tired, went for a chatty run in the park with some others 4.74 miles, 45.41mins

Friday: nothing :(

Saturday: Last LSR before the half marathon! I wanted to push myself today, and thankfully it went well. I tried a new route, which was a lot hillier then I had planned, but I managed to keep the pace up. It was hot and I was out of water an hour into my run, so I'll have to plan my hydration strategy for next week. I also brought lucozade sport jelly beans with me for the first time, I had 5 of them at 45 minutes and again at 75minutes - I'm not sure if they did anything for me but I'll stick a few into my pocket for next week! They're a distraction anyway! 9 miles in 84:31

I think sub-2 hours is beyond me for next week but sub-2:05 should be achievable if I'm sensible. I'm going to start out with the 2-hour pacers anyway and see how I get on!

Sunday: The legs felt a little tired but headed out for a planned 3 mile slow run. Ran into a friend during it and ended up doing 4 miles instead; 4.08 miles, 40:21

Monday: Strength training in the gym

Tuesday: Pilates, followed by 4 miles in the park (38:40). I started well but the wind was unreal, it was very slow progress running into it! Looking at my route on the garmin is funny as normally doing laps like that I follow the exact same course and it looks like 1 line going around the map, but tonight you can differentiate each line and it looks very scraggly! I must have been blown off course a fair bit!

Only 1 more run before the half marathon on Saturday. I'm feeling okay about it, my main aim now is to avoid illness until after the race! A number of my colleagues are coughing and sneezing with a horrible cold/flu and I'm being very anti-social and keeping to myself these days!

Well true to my log title I feel like I am starting from the beginning again!

My half marathon ended in disaster after 12.2 miles (covered in 1:50:39 - I finally plugged in my garmin!) when I fainted. I'd put in the training and covered the distance before but unfortunately couldn't make it on the day.

I haven't done anything since then except mope and nurse my bruised self. The original post-half plan was to concentrate on getting a bit of speed built up - in the absence of any other plans I think I'll stick with that! Otherwise I'll never move myself again as I'm totally demotivated.

So I'll start this week - does anyone have any tips or plans they can direct me to? I'll probably do some XCs/5k/10k races over the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Glad to see you back runrabbit! Best of luck with the plans :)

Welcome back! It's gotta be hard after your day with the Half! Scary stuff!!
    Good to hear you're feeling better.

Well I'm back - sort of! Still very sore on my lower back where I must've hit it when I fell but hopefully the bruising will heal up over the next week or so.

Monday: Strength training in the gym

Tuesday: Pilates. Then a 4-mile run with a mini-hill session (which really hurt the back). It felt pretty okay, especially after my 2 attempted sessions last week which were short, slow, and still felt impossible. My body must have needed the break. 4 miles in 37:32, including 4 small hill repeats.

I'm back on the concrete now for the winter, which sucks. It's too dark for the park :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Just catching up on your log and it's great to see you're back. Good luck with the comeback and hope the back is ok.

Totally agree with you about the concrete, hate it. All my fav routes are out the window for the winter.

Thanks Shazkea - my back is fine now!

Jeepers I've really got out of the habit of keeping this up to date! I also haven't plugged in my Garmin since last week so I'll try to remember what I did!

Wednesday: Cross training in the gym
    Thursday: I think I did just under 5 miles, tried to keep with someone a bit pacier than me for the first couple of miles and then dropped back to a more comfortable pace for the rest of it!
    Friday: A couple of hours dragging bags around a shopping centre :o
    Saturday: 6 miles, and very enjoyable it was too. I tried to keep it nice and slow and it felt quite easy
    Sunday: Novice XC - 3k, plus a bit of a warm-up/cool-down. I achieved my main aim which was "not coming last" but I wasn't far off it either. I need some speed! I'm being coaxed into the intermediates next weekend and if I give in it is pretty much inevitable that I will come last, so not sure if I should go it since it won't be good for the confidence!
    Monday: Life got in the way. Sometimes you just have to let it. So nothing.

So I'm still no further in my plan for getting faster, have been picking a few brains and have a 5mile goal race for Jan 2011 so hopefully I'll get a plan of some sort over the next week. If anyone has any tips I'd be grateful

2 weeks since my last update :o

Well it's been interesting anyway - life decided to heap a whole pile of crap on me and something had to give - and that was exercise, sleep, and eating meals. So I've survived the last couple of weeks on sweets, crisps, and a couple of hours sleep a night. I'm a few pounds heavier now (up nearly half a stone since the half marathon :eek:), but I'm determined that this will be the week that normality returns to my life. I'm heading out for a little jog tonight - I'll be taking it easy enough at the moment as I'm still not getting much in the line of sleep.

Sigh... I'm out of the habit of keeping this log up to date. I hadn't plugged my garmin in for ages either until tonight! Anyway, I've been running buts and pieces but have missed a few sessions and was generally lacking any motivation as I wasn't aiming for anything. But I've a new aim now (thanks RubyK!) and a plan and I'm rearing to go again. Had a great run on Sunday followed by watching the marathon on Monday so I'm inspired and ready to go!

No point in going back over the past few weeks so:

Wednesday 27/10/10: 40min tempo run. 4.5miles, 40 minutes. Haven't quite got the hang of the gradual pace increase/decrease but I got up to 5k pace for a decent few minutes in the middle so that's the main thing I guess??!

Thursday 28/10/2010: Nowt, was at a training course all evening

Friday 29/10/2010: 8.12 miles, 1:20:48. Headed out after a long day at work (7am-7pm) in case I didn't get a chance for a long run over the weekend. Even though I had a big lunch and a decent snack before I left work I still started feeling hungry after 4 miles or so, and was starving by the end! I kept plugging away but slowed significantly on the tougher hills, and found it hard to get any pace going again. I also miscalculated my route (dropped a 1 somewhere) so had to add on an extra mile of running up and down the same road. Overall not ideal, but glad to get it done! It's the furthest I've run since the Dublin half! :eek:

Saturday 30/10/2010: Got out for a brisk 30 minute walk, better than nothing I suppose

Sunday 31/10/2010: 4 mile pace run, 35 minutes. I actually went faster than I needed to (was aiming for 9-minute miles) but the route was as flat as a pancake so I needed to push myself.

Plan for this coming week:
    Mon: Strength + cross
    Tue: 8 x 400m at 5k pace
    Wed: 3mile run + strength
    Thur: 5 mile run
    Fri: Rest
    Sat: 9 mile run
    Sun: 4 mile pace (Sat and Sun may be reversed)

Monday 1/11/2010: 20 minutes cross-training in the gym, and a few weights

Tuesday 2/11/2010: Pilates, followed by 8x400m @ 5k pace. The run wasn't great - the driving wind and rain made the pacing difficult. I didn't do much of a warm up or cool down either (was hoping to get an extra couple of miles in) as I was eager to get out of the wind. So I covered just over 5k in the end. An unsatisfying run but job done anyway!

My new gear arrived from startfitness.co.uk! There was terrible pressure on my washing machine to keep my 2 pairs of long tights and 2 long-sleeved tops clean so I treated myself to 2 pairs of tights and 3 new tops! :o

The tights fit great - one pair of adidas (always go up a size in adidas, tops and bottoms, as they are quite tight fitting), and one pair of nike (normal size is fine/generous). I got one nike top which is lovely and 2 of the cheapest I could find on the site - one is "more mile" which I think is an own-brand and it is nice. The other was Ronhill which is really ugly. It looks like it was designed with Brian O'Driscoll in mind - huge shoulders and upper arms and very "boxy". I'd say they just downsized the mens sizes and didn't design them for women at all.

Ah well, 4/5 isn't bad when buying online and I'll still wear the ugly top out - I might keep it for the dark nights! I'm delighted with myself now as all were picked up quite cheaply (there always seems to be something on sale on that website).

That is all from me - just thought I'd post in case any of my fellow runners were feeling like a shopping spree! Haven't been out yet tonight - just letting the dinner settle!

Wednesday 03/11/2010: Plan was 3m run + strength. This was a new one for me - a way to get an extra run in the week without losing out on a gym session. The plan was to run the long way (approx 2.5 miles) to the gym, do a strength session, then run the short way (1 mile) home. Starting out my legs felt so tired, but after a few minutes I started to get into it. I arrived at the gym nicely warmed up, and did a short enough strength and core session. Then it was back out - any my legs did not want to start moving again! They were actually in pain for the first 20 seconds or so! However it was actually my quickest mile back, it's downhill at least! Total 3.76miles, 36.48 minutes.

Thursday 04/11/2010: Plan was a 5 mile run. I managed to get out with the club tonight so it ended up being a bit pacier than I had planned for, so I reckon I got 3.5 miles at least at half-marathon pace with a slow warm-up and cool down. With that in mind I think I'm going to change sundays run to just a 4 mile at a slower pace, since I'll probably be tired after my LSR anyway. Total for a windy Thursday night: 5.88miles in 55:21

Friday 05/11/2010: Rest day! Woo!

Not the best weekend running-wise, but onwards and upwards...

Saturday 06/11/2010: The weather was better than expected, so I headed out early for my LSR. I stocked up my new hydration belt with 200ml of dioralyte and 200ml of lucozade sport lite as per doctors orders, and carried a 500ml bottle of water. It all felt very heavy, I can't imagine carrying all that in a race. My ankle was also twinging so I was feeling sorry for myself after only a mile! It was one of those runs where I just wanted it to be over. I even took a couple of breaks which I hate doing - I felt so exhausted. I tried to get some of the drinks into me, but felt sick shortly after taking some of the salty drinks and ended up throwing out a lot of it - so will have to keep working on that. Overall 10miles in 1:39:20. Not a happy run

Sunday 07/11/2010: This run was even worse. I felt sick and my ankle was worse. Went out anyway to see if a run would cure me - 3 slow miles and it didn't help at all :(

I'm not going to write out the plan for the week yet as I'm unsure about what to do with me ankle, a couple of days rest might be sensible...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Fair dues to you runrabbit, you stuck it out! That's good going.

Hope the ankle is just one of those niggley things that disappears as quick as it appears :)

Hey RunRabbit. Good to see you're back at it. Pity about the weekend. It'll probably just take you time a practice with the drinks. I find it hard to take sports drinks while I'm running too - they're usually OK before, and sometimes after, but they're just hard going on the run (so to speak).
    Keep at it, it'll come good eventually. At least you have some nice new gear to try out... :p

RubyK wrote: »
    Hope the ankle is just one of those niggley things that disappears as quick as it appears :)

Thanks, the ankle is still a bit niggly but doesn't seem to get any worse. It's sore when I first start running and then disappears. It's also sore when walking downstairs - but apart from that it's fine :confused:
    Emer911 wrote: »
    It'll probably just take you time a practice with the drinks. I find it hard to take sports drinks while I'm running too - they're usually OK before, and sometimes after, but they're just hard going on the run (so to speak).
    Keep at it, it'll come good eventually. At least you have some nice new gear to try out... :p

Thanks you've just convinced me to give the drinks another go this weekend! I was seriously thinking of giving up on the idea - talk about no patience!

Plan for the week:
    Tue: 40min tempo
    Sat: 10 mile run
    Sun: 5 mile pace

Monday 08/11/2010: 1 hour pilates. Not really according to plan but I'm working away next week so I was catching up on a class in advance

Tuesday 09/11/2010: Another hour of pilates. Then I hit the gym for my tempo session on the treadmill. I HATE the treadmill and I must be the only person around that finds it harder than the roads. It must be psychological but I find it so difficult! Anyway, controlling the speed for the tempo kept me a bit distracted, and I watched xpose too. I've never seen that show before, generally being on my way home from work when it's on. I'm not missing much. Some eejit flirting with Jon Bon Jovi followed by a 10-minute segment on false eyelashes! Unfortunately you don't get a choice on what to watch in the gym as the TVs are on the wall in front and are controlled centrally.

I digress - the end result was 6.89km in 40 minutes and I was glad to get it done. I will continue to avoid the gym except in extreme weather like last night - hailstones and gale-force winds are not a good combination!

Wednesday 10/11/2010: Run to and from the gym, as per last week. It seemed so unappealing when I was heading out the door but it was actually fine this week. Legs were sore starting up again on the way home but that eased quickly. 3.75miles, 35:52mins

Thursday 11/11/2010: Same club run as last week, if a little windier! It was pretty pacey in general so I think it counts for my 5m pace run due for Sunday. The first mile was 6 seconds above pace, but the next 4 were about 25 seconds below. The last mile was slower - uphill and into the wind! Overall 6.08miles, 54:40 minutes

Friday 12/11/2010: Rest!

It was nice to meet BeepBeep67 yesterday evening even if I missed parts of what he was saying thanks to the wind!

Saturday 13/11/2010: I was up and out the door at 8.30am for my LSR. I forced myself to take this one slow and try to enjoy it, and the result was that it went much better than last week. I felt very comfortable up until the last 2 miles, when I felt really low on energy. I'm going to try to take some carbs on board next week. On the plus side I managed to get a full dose of dioralyte into me which was better than last week! I went on quite a hilly route (see attached) but am feeling fine now, I also took 2 nurofen last night and my ankle seems to be cured :confused:

Overall I'm happy enough with that. 12 miles, 1:59:34

I need to go pack my case now as I'm heading away for work tomorrow for a few days. I'm hoping to get out in the morning though and then my next few runs will be done in the hotel gym - not looking forward to it at all...

Sunday 14/11/2010: 5 miles, can't remember how long it took but it went well!

Plan for the week:
    Tue: 9 x 400m @ 5k pace
    Sat: 12 mile run
    Sun: 5 mile pace

I was away until late last night working long hours so the start of the week was never going to go well

Monday 15/11/2010: Got out for a slow 4 miles with a colleague, which was great after a long day in meetings

Tuesday 16/11/2010: Got up early to try to complete my intervals on the hotel treadmill; it was flippin disasterous as I couldn't understand the buttons or onscreen instructions as I don't speak flemish and it kept going into cool-down mode. Also there was only 1 treadmill and a couple of people waiting, so I reckon I got around 5 intervals in and then I gave it up to the next person in the queue. I spent around 15 minutes on the exercise bike then. In the evening I went out for another little run with the same colleague, we were under time pressure so only managed 2.5miles

Wednesday 17/11/2010: Nothing. Didn't have the energy to get to the gym in the morning and it was close to midnight when I got home alst night. But it's back to normality from today!

So after a great weeks training last week this felt like a poor start. Also I ate such an amount of rubbishy food that I need a good detox - the diet starts today!

Thursday 18/11/2010: I really wasn't feeling up to this one - the first mile was hard going as my legs felt sore and tired. However from there it actually went well - until my strange diet from the previous few days caught up with me and I had to make a hasty retreat home. But 5 pace miles done so was delighted! 5 miles 45:35

Friday 19/11/2010: Rest!

Saturday 20/11/2010: LSR day! Up early again and headed out the same route as last week. I was feeling okay up until 4 miles, when I suddenly felt very light-headed. I stopped, had some water and dioralyte, removed a layer of clothing and went onwards. I managed to keep going but I wasn't quite "with it". I sipped some lucozade sport and even ate some jelly beans and I think they really helped, as I didn't fade much more. Was shattered when I got home after 14 miles (!) and my sick stomach hit again so I spent the rest of the day doing very little. 14miles 2:18:50

Sunday 21/11/2010: I couldn't get out for my morning run as I had guests staying, and then I had to spend a couple of hours marshalling a xc and I was frozen by the end. When I got home the last thing I felt like doing was heading back out but the OH was still out hiking and I had little else to be doing so I forced myself out. I think it was a bad move as my legs were wrecked and didn't loosen out at all, plus I developed a strain at the back of my knee. So I cut it short and hopped into a bath. Feeling sore and sorry for myself and well in need of a rest tomorrow. 4 miles approx 40ish minutes

So the weeks training wasn't quite perfect but hopefully next week will be better (assuming all injuries clear up)!

Plan for the week:
    Tue: 45min tempo
    Wed: 5 mile pace
    Thur: Rest
    Fri: LSR (10 miles I reckon)
    Sat: 3mile run + strength
    Sun: 5 mile run

Firstly I'll start by saying I'm not too confident about this week. My legs are constantly sore and tired these days and I'm starting to think I might benefit from an extra day rest/cross training today. I'm torn - one half of me thinks it would be sensible, the other half says "stop being a wuss and get out there!".

Monday 22/11/2010: I got a short strength session in, my cross-training was painting the house!

Tuesday 23/11/2010: Pilates, and a 43 minute tempo session. Still not getting HHs gradual increase and decrease but I got a few quicker minutes so it will have to do!

Aaah things are not going well! I took an unplanned rest on Wednesday in the hope of giving my legs a new lease of life and got up and out early yesterday for a "catch-up" 5-miler. I could only manage 3 slow miles, my legs were aching. Then yesterday evening it felt like my hip/pelvis (SI) was on it's way out again and I was once again walking like someone who was 9 months pregnant. Combined with the tightness behind my knee it sent me into a panic and I was texting the physio for an appointment today, did loads of stretches, then 2 nurofen and off to bed.

This morning I don't seem to have much pain in my legs but a bit of shoulder pain has appeared - I've been getting that for years and while uncomfortable I know it will only last a day or two.

SO I'm not sure where to go from here. I feel I'm on the brink of an injury for some reason - training was going great too :( I have a 5k next weekend, a half marathon (maybe) the weekend after, and another 5k the following week. The worst thing that could happen at the moment is that my SI joint gets locked up again, the second worst is that my hamstring goes. Or maybe a brand new injury, who knows! But on the other hand with only 2 weeks to my second attempt at a half marathon it's not a great time to let the training slip...

Wednesday 24/11/2010: Nowt

Thursday 25/11/2010: 3 slow and painful miles

Today: ??? not sure what to do...

Friday 26/11/2010: nothing. Had a physio session so I'm off running for a little while :(

Saturday 27/11/2010: 1 hour on the elliptical-trainer. Boring!

Sunday 28/11/2010: 30 minutes on the elliptical-trainer.

I need a plan for the week but haven't figured one out yet. The snow means a return to gentle running towards the end of the week may be hampered!