Keen to see what the future may hold!

191011121315»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭El Director

Weds 8th Sept

swim session

warm up 300m pull

(4x50m) x 3 descending

Cool Down 300 pill

No watch, not about the number at this stage now anyway, pacing felt good.

Run

1k easy

2k at 3:44/k pace

1k easy

6 x 30sez MAX - 2 min RT

Distances covered ranged between 180m - 205m

Feeling a little stressed. My front wheel buckled at DCT, only got sorted this evening. My trisuit came with no logo's on them, got them on today but it is to arrive by post tomorrow morning :o so a little worried as I am flying at 2.
    Found two holes in my trisuit too, got them fixed yesterday. So packing the bike now, prefer to take the stress hit today so that tomorrow will be stress free.

Not going to train tomorrow at all, the traveling is enough and I feel tired :rolleyes:

Bringing laptop so this may not be my last post before the race. So excited now, cannot wait. I actually hope to post my race report after the race on Sunday afternoon if I get time. :)

PS Great lift to hear of Ben Shaw's and Conor Murphy's success in Budapest in the World Aquathon already this week!!

Well didn't get around to this when I thought I might, I'm sure none of you are surprised!

Thursday 9th

Had a half day in school but to be honest I was only there in body. My trisuit was supposed to be in my hands this morning, but as there would be nobody at the house to sign for it I got myself to the sorting office as soon as they were open 7am. Alas no sign of it. Rang the printing company in Athlone and they said they posted it at 1pm on Weds....but by regular post. I told them to register post it. Anyway. long story short......I flew Thurs afternoon without the kit, my sister located it the next morning in the sorting office and got it to the airport where Simon Moore met her and he brought it to Budapest. Address and name were wrong on the package. So thanks to An Post, my sister, Simon and Amanda Mannix!

Friday 10th

Up early and assembled my bike. Cycled down to register where I met my mate PB. It was lashing down, and it did not stop for two days :( Almost had a bad crash on the bike in the city, my carbon brake pads do not work well in the wet! I was lucky. Cancelled the planned meet and spin with Bambatta (too dangerous) and went for a run with 60m strides thrown in instead. Got 3 sets of gear soaked wet, horrible day and felt very sorry for the GF.

At 4.30 I went for a practice swim on the course. Straight away I just thought my stroke felt really good, felt at home in the water. Actually took a taxi to the swim location in an attempt to stay dry, 3k from the race centre the taxi had a puncture-had to run the rest of the way with a big bag on my back. Wet on the outside, dripping with sweat on the inside (not nice getting back into those clothes after the swim). At that stage I was beyond caring.

Saturday 11th

Got up to go to the sprint race, but one look out the window and it was back to bed. No way was I getting wet today! So back to bed and watched the event on the laptop, well the finishing line cam anyway. You could also view live splits, sorry nomadic I was there but I was supporting you from my hotel room :rolleyes: No training today, just too wet and the work was done now anyway. So racked my bike at 5, taxi back and after being ripped off by the driver I forgot my beloved iPhone :( Between buckled wheels, holes in my wetsuit, trisuit going missing and the phone...i was having a horrible week of bad luck. Myself and PB were not the best company at dinner that night. Both of us just wanted to get started, we were ready and fed up waiting.

Sunday 12th Race Day - Report

As I woke at 4ish-am (3hrs sleep) I felt I was turning the corner regarding the bad luck. I set my GF's alarm but forgot that it was on home time, just lucky i woke at 4:13, really lucky! I like to eat 3 hours before the hooter goes. It was pitch dark outside but it was dry....no rain....:) At last.

Transition was lit by floodlight and busy with final prep. It was so wet in transition, I got lots of funny looks and yanks commenting "wow that guy has the right idea...." as they glanced down at the plastic bags over my shoes. Didn't want them to get wet as they were my 'dancing shoes' :cool:

As I was readying my area the sun came up, just seemed to creep up and it was bright all of a sudden. Then into the trisuit and a quick warm up consisting of barefoot sprints. I didn't notice that I was nervous or anything, even in the holding area where I met Bambatta. We were then called to the pontoon were we sat for 3 min. I had to go all the way down to the left most part of it, I was second last on that side-not were I really had intended but feck it.

Swim

"On your marks....BANG" just like Athlone. Not as rough as in Ire. Felt I was being left behind by everybody at first but I just kept going and concentrating on a high cadence with long strokes. It was pretty much uneventful and getting out of the water a glance at my watch says 24:xx :eek: I can't believe it, usually a 27/28 min man. I got a few good drafts which helped I guess.

Time 24:57 - 83rd out of 107

T1 Long enough, in and out 2:19.

Bike

What fun I had on this course :D Completely flat, this suited the likes of me, no hills where strong climbers can pull away. Really I was thinking that this is a "time trialist" wet dream. Kept a nice cadence and never rode so aggressively, right over the tri bars and on the tip of the seat. Almost went flying over the bars when I hit a bump that wasn't marked, so so lucky, I just grabbed the shifters before I went flying. Had a battle with an Italian all the way on the bike. He was strong and at one stage we had words and a laugh. He left me behind on the run. It was annoying that it was 5k short, no excuses for this at a world champs....plus I just wanted to keep going on the bike as I was enjoying it so much. 38.9km/h average speed.

Time 54:21 - 62nd out of 107

T2 Did well here, 2:20.

Run

It was a lovely flat 10k, but I really found the going tough. Passed many, a lot of them had M25 on their calves so at least I knew I was picking off competitors in my own category. It was so nice to run in the historic city with all the beautiful buildings and crossing the 200 year old Chain Bridge 3 times. I was really suffering for the last 3k but the support all around the course for the Irish was unreal! Just as I was crossing the bridge for the second time my head started to dropped when a bunch of Irish lads burst into "Ole, ole, ole..." really picked me up. My GF and PB's GF were terrific, they were everywhere giving us support. With 600m left or so I tried my hardest to catch some more on the run, I was spent. Then onto the blue shoot and I saw my GF with a tri color. I grabbed it and I just filled up with pride. Before I knew it I was sprinting with "Ole, ole..." ringing in my ears.

Time 41:57 - 83rd out of 107

Overall 2:05:54 76th out of 107 in AG, 412/961 overall

I was relieved and just so happy that things on the day clicked. It was a little emotional actually after all the bad luck and injuries and stuff. I feel it was my best race of the year and it needed to be as the standard was very very high.

DCT was a pb for me, 2:25:xx, so this was a new pb....however it cannot really be counted. It's such a pitty. Still I have to be happy, making a 7/8 min adjustment for the 5k means that I still would have an 11 min or so pb.

We had some night at the closing cermony, it was great craic. Conor Murphy getting the loudest cheer of the night. Monday night we went on until 5am, the journey home was so depressing but got home eventually at 12am, up for work at 7.

So thats it....almost, still Blacksod to do (I want 6 NS races this year so last chance). Thanks again to all for the best wishes....actually the last message I got on my phone was from P Gibbo....thanks P, lost the phone before I could reply.

Nice to meet the boardies too, Nomadic for the first time, hope he is feeling better after his unfortunate sickness. I have a good pic with Bambatta/Shotgun/Myself and a huge Irish flag too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Class stuff. That was a fantastic race. Congrats, great times there and a great overall time.
    Sounds like there was some apres tri!!!
    PS Do they not sell umbrellas in Budapest? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Really enjoyed that El D, brilliant performance and sounds it was a great experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Delighted that everything went well for you on the day. You've had a tough time with injuries so that makes your result all the more impressive. Well done! :cool:

I hope you're going to upload that picture. Sounds like a good one. :cool:

Best of luck in Blacksod. I hear it's a good race. What's the plan after that? A few weeks off before starting back in to it again?

I will upload the pic alright if the lads don't mind. My plans after Blacksod are roughly as follows: no biking or swiming for 4-6 weeks; concentrate on building up the left hammer/calves; then it's the cross country season for the winter; back to bike/swim in mid/late Oct.

Forgot to say how great and exciting it was to watch the mens elite race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Great race and report, I really enjoyed reading it
    pgibbo wrote: »
    You've had a tough time with injuries so that makes your result all the more impressive

+1 a huge amount of your training was interupted this summer
    Get Blacksod out of the way take a well deserved rest and then you've all winter to get ready and train smart for another bash at it next year

Are you planning to do many road races this winter?

Answered above in cross post

Friday 17th Sept

So I reluctantly ventured out after school today for my first session (training) since the race on Sunday. After such a brill weekend in Budapest I was left feeling a little depressed :( Glad to say I feel a raise in my mood today. Never been so un-motivated for a race in my life than tomorrow's Blacksod. I will be glad when it is done and I can rest up a bit. Will be leaving Dublin at 6 so it will be 11ish before I get there, then straight to bed.

I must remember though that I did prioritise the National Series this year and tomorrow will be my 6th race (best 6 being counted, so I need this one), this is the last NS of the season and if I can sort my head out I should be in for a good placing, a strong finish to the season and a top 10 spot in my AG in the rankings, was aiming for top 20 this year. So I am telling myself - "job not done just yet, still a lot to play for, one final push....." Either way season number two will be done this time tomorrow.

Swim

Warm Up 300m
    Drills single arm; finger tip; kick
    50m Descend 4 - 1
    100m Descend 3 - 1
    Cool Down 300m

Run

4k with 1k pick up
    6 x 100m strides.

Best of luck for your last race of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Macanri wrote: »
    Best of luck for your last race of the season.

I entertained a thought about doing it too just to get a top 5 but NS was not a priority at all so I'd be defeating much needed rest. Cool to see some of my Club mates winning their AG though and I hope Bambaata can hold onto his top spot after the cracking season he had!

Best of luck for the race El D but I'd recommend just sauntering through it and enjoying the season end. You will get the top 10 even if you stroll so have fun mate! That would be more than good enough for Beijing next year if that was on your mind.

Hope it goes well and enjoy the relief of down time afterwards :)

After a 5 hour drive from Dublin to Blacksod I was shattered Friday night. Got registered at 11pm and was out for the count as soon as my heavy head hit the pillow.

The next morning I woke and, still low on motivation, I was hoping for at least a pleasant day. Peering out through the curtains I was not pleased to say the least to see heavy, heavy rain, thick mist/fog and to hear the howling wind, it was enough to make me fall back down on my cosy leaba. After 5 mins I just dragged myself up, reminding myself why I came here.

I didn't have any wet gear so my clothes got soaked through while setting up in transition. At least I had a change of clothes for after. So this mornings warm up consisted of the car heater.

Race Report - Swim

At least it was snug in my wetsuit, water temp too was a nice 16 degree and for once being in the water was so much nicer than being out. It was one of the more busier swim starts of the year! Plenty of fist and heels, but I actually found this good for feet hopping which I did to great effect to the first bouy. After that I found open water and only a couple of feet for the last 800m. The swim must have been short but none the less this was a second strong (by my standars) swim with a decent stroke through out.

Swim Time - 22:33 Pos 48/250

T1 in and out in 1:24

Bike

Horrible day on the bike. I just put the head down and that was almost fatal! I didn't realise we had a left turn so soon and what followed almost broke my already fragile mental state. It was 1,500m of a steep climb, I just wasn't with it mentally, I saw two girls walking up it and I seriously thought I would be joining them. I felt my hamstring cramp, I was now in a bad place. The fast downhill section that followed didn't help either, I felt nervous and jittery and just sat up and kept pulling on the brakes. Between the climb and downhill section I must have lost 15 places! Usually the bike is where I gain places. Anyway once back on the main road I had a little chat with my self, it went something like...'stop being such a pu$$y....shut up complaining and stop crying like a baby!" It seemed to do the trick and soon enough I was pulling back all those places and more. You know you are in for a tough return leg when you see Conor Murphy and Joe Lynch grimacing as they take on the strong head wind and heavy rain. Indeed it was tough but I actually really got motoring and felt I was getting stronger. I knew I must have been doing well when with 10k to go on the 44k course I noticed the next person ahead of me was 300-350m ahead of me and the person ahead of him was a similar distance. I was happy just to keep my cadence up and try and hold back for the tough run. But with 3k to go I caught both of them and pushed onto T2.

Bike Time - 1:17:10 Pos 24th/250

T2 Second time this season in these conditions that my bike slipped out of my hand and went crashing, I jusped over it and had to go back pick it up along with my two shoes that became un-clipped. 1:06.

Run

After a 400m flat section we had a 2k uphill struggle. Here I passed 3 and a Sligo Tri dude took me. I stuck to him like glue however. He was getting a little annoyed I think as he signaled me to pass him. I ran my own race though and stayed behind untill I got myself together for a final push. This commenced on the beach sectiion with 5.5k left to run. I just felt good and went by the Sligo Tri dude and took a few more places. Noticed a mate of mine only 5 places behind me at the turn around, I held him off though which is good as he is a strong runner. Into the final section of tri 2010 then and I still had plenty of places to fight for. I spotted Aoife Lynch up ahead and she was running pretty strong. After another k and 2/3 people I was behind her, I didn't think I would get her though. With 2k left I noticed I was definately catching her, I had convinced myself that staying behind her would be nothing to be ashamed about because the girl is a star and fierce competitor. But I did get by her and she gave me some encouraging words, great athlete. I then got one more place, I was at an almost all out sprint for the downhill section and actually enjoying it. Then at the bottom we took a right turn and there was the Tri Ire arch, nearly there. The person ahead was too far ahead so it was time for a quick glance over the shoulder. No one there....so I thought! I heard the crowd (despite the weather it was a well supported event) getting excited, I looked again and there was a fully bearded, hairy man sprinting his heart out :eek: (I swear he must have came down from the mountains and joined in the later part of the race! So nothing was going to be easy today...the way it should be. But I was prepared to let my season end like this, so a short 15m burst was enough to hold him off. A tough run and for sure it's been my running that has suffered the most from the injury, not surprising really.

Run Time 45:15 - Pos 36th/250

Over All 2:27:26 - Pos 20/250, 19th individual

So strong finish to the season once I shook out of it. Looking forward now to downtime. Thanks MCOS for the advice and I actually did start out that way but the competitor in me always seems to come through and I actually ended up loving this race! :) Fair play to all in Kilmore, on such a horrible morning all involved deserve a huge amount of respect, I can't fault the race at all.

One brave lady in the 40-45 group took 2:10 on the bike and 1:30 on the run, in those conditions, to me, that is more impressive than Conor Murphy's 2hr02min winning time. Everybody was gathered around transition and cheered and cheered her in off the bike and out onto her run. The smile on her face, from ear to ear, said it all about this terrific sport and the people involved in it. :)

So I have decided to kill the log at this point. Tomorrow I will write a summary as my final post just to tidy things up.

Aw man sorry to hear you're going to murder the log:)

Great report and great racing, fair play for getting the head downa nd giving it socks in those conditions. Also glad to hear you held off Grizzly Adams at the finish line. :)

LOL, the image of a sprint finish with a Yeti is pricless! Well done El D, despite the illness and injury you have had a great season. Yeah as Macrani hinted at , maybe don't kill the log but preserve it in salt. I look back on my log from last year and both smile and cringe. Its a vital learning tool. Have a good time off. Looking forward to seeing all the 2011 logs popping up over the near future ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

So this mornings warm up consisted of the car heater.

Ive always heard good things about this event ... til now ;) just kidding chief - great race, great season and a hell of a report. It cant have been easy travelling that distance for a race at the very tail end of your busy season.

Your progress has been fantastic over the course of the season and your account of it has been stunningly honest. Chapeau and enjoy your break ... at the Galway half marathon ... seriously ... grab a week at least ;)

Aw man sorry to hear you're going to murder the log:)

Great report and great racing, fair play for getting the head downa nd giving it socks in those conditions. Also glad to hear you held off Grizzly Adams at the finish line. :)

Thanks Mac, he certainly wasn't your typical triathlete but fair play to him too! Haven't meet you yet dude but your support on here has been terrific, you have a great outlook and positive attitude!
    LOL, the image of a sprint finish with a Yeti is pricless! Well done El D, despite the illness and injury you have had a great season. Yeah as Macrani hinted at , maybe don't kill the log but preserve it in salt. I look back on my log from last year and both smile and cringe. Its a vital learning tool. Have a good time off. Looking forward to seeing all the 2011 logs popping up over the near future ;)

Thanks MCOS, your input has been invaluable as has everybodies. I actually didn't mean 'kill' it really, I just meant I would stop logging for a while, until Jan perhaps. Although I still have training objectives to meet, mostly running, I will concentrate on them from Oct to Dec and post in the relative event logs. So how do you preserve the log?? Does it just sink to last page? Maybe I can just pick it up in Jan and continue it or is it better to start fresh again for 2011. Sorry, it was my first log.
    interested wrote: »
    Ive always heard good things about this event ... til now ;) just kidding chief - great race, great season and a hell of a report. It cant have been easy travelling that distance for a race at the very tail end of your busy season.

Your progress has been fantastic over the course of the season and your account of it has been stunningly honest. Chapeau and enjoy your break ... at the Galway half marathon ... seriously ... grab a week at least ;)

Thanks Interested and your words mean a lot, also looking forward to learning a thing or two from you in the pool ;) I actually decided to leave the Galway Half, too much negativity surrounding it and I don't want to rush one of my major aims of the season (my last remaining one) a sub 90 min half marathon. It seems Waterford half is where I will attempt that in Dec.

So at the weekend I will write up a detailed summary of the log, important imo to say what I have learned, what's worked, whats not etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Murraythree

(interval sesions made available to me by delboy on boards, let me know if anyone wants it, i'm sure he won't mind me spreading the wealth)

Really enjoyed your log and well done on a fantastic season. Just wondering if you wouldn't mind posting the link for the interval turbo session please. Continued success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Enjoyed you log Director well done. Knowing the amount of tris the two of us enter I will see you in a good few next year ;)

El D, I plan on going sub 90 in Waterford too. So we may meet yet. Don't forget to give us a shout closer the time.

Really enjoyed your log and well done on a fantastic season. Just wondering if you wouldn't mind posting the link for the interval turbo session please. Continued success.

Hey there murray, sorry for delay in reply. Thanks very much and ya thats no problem. It's a word doc so PM me your e mail and I'll ping it off to you. It's very useful and helped me BIG become more efficient on the bike. My pedal stroke and cadence improved so much.
    catweazle wrote: »
    Enjoyed you log Director well done. Knowing the amount of tris the two of us enter I will see you in a good few next year ;)

LOL, ya Cat true but as I saw you comment this week I will "tri" and be more disiplined/picky with the racesw I choose next year. But I still love the racing part of triathlon and I will be training hard this winter to race so I will only cutting it by 15% or so. My summer would be very boring without races and places to go!
    El D, I plan on going sub 90 in Waterford too. So we may meet yet. Don't forget to give us a shout closer the time.

Cool Mac, I hear it's a flat half. With you doing 93 min off the bike and me doing 93 in March in Larne we really should not have a problem. It's one I really want because next year i'd love dare I say....a sub 80min! I remember a running mate of mine saying he would expect to do that for a half and thought WOW. Well now my sights are on that too.

This week I have done nothing in the line of training. Played a very enjoyable game of 5 a side yesterday, that is all :)

Well done in Wetsod, I mean Blacksod. You should talk to yourself more often! :D Murphy is an animal. He was 8 minutes ahead of Mairtin Grealish who finished 3rd. Savage stuff.

Are you enjoying the downtime?

You have my email address. Will you send me on those turbo sessions if you don't mind? Cheers.

Well done in Wetsod, I mean Blacksod. You should talk to yourself more often! :D Murphy is an animal. He was 8 minutes ahead of Mairtin Grealish who finished 3rd. Savage stuff.

Are you enjoying the downtime?

You have my email address. Will you send me on those turbo sessions if you don't mind? Cheers.

No worries P, sent them onto you. Enjoying the downtime thanks. That visit to the physio in August gave me an interesting insight to my injury woe's, so I am back to him now on Wednesday and he is giving me a strength building programme for my left leg for 6-8 weeks. Thought I might as well start now.....want to make sure I've two strong legs for next season ;)

Haven't had a chance to do a summary of the log yet, I believe this deserves plenty of reflection time in fairness. So this weekend I hope.

The Log

Well I have finally got around to writing up my summary. A very important part of the log IMO. This was my first log, indeed it was the first time I self trained for anything as I was a soccer/basketball man up till 18 mionths ago.
    I found the advive, encouragement, crictal analysis, friendship and craic her on the log invaluable. Indeed when people ask me for advice as they start their tri journey I tell them the 3 three things I found most beneficial were, a turbo trainer/friel’s bible/a training log on boards. So overall I loved keeping the log, it held me accountable in a way and I will be doing it again for sure, it has turned out to be a great source of information too. I also loved reading others reports.

The Season Overall

Well the season overall went very well. I had a decent winters training and that base fitness got me through some races as I was returning from illness/injury. I found this time last season that my biggest limiter was my endurance, particularly muscle endurance. Did this improve over this year? Yes for sure. My other limiter was my mental strength, did this improve? Yes, actually I now think I could list it as a massive asset. What lead to this big change? IMO it was the early morning starts during the winter, when most were tucked up in bed I was getting out in the cold and dark at 5:30am. Also the mountain running during the winter.
    Results wise I had 1 top 10 finish, 2 top 20, 1 top 25 overall and also 3 top ten AG finishes in NS races. This is huge improvement and I can still see loads of room for improvement, better than that I know where and how that improvement can be made.
    My biking proved to be my best discipline this year, swimminng my weakest. Deligted that this year instead of going backwards on the run I was passing much more than were passing me. My preperation for each race really improved, I now have a well established routine before races.
    I must say that I learnt that I was most happy when racing, I mean I actually enjoyed it, sometimes during a race I found myself actually smiling ☺

My Goals/Objectives

Right here were my Goals as set in January:

1) Obtain 650 points-Top 20 in Age Groups
    2) Finish in the top 30% in Hell of the West 2010
    3) Finish in the top 30% in the Euro Champs Age Group

When I got a World Champ place I also added:

4) Finish in the Top 50% in the World Champs Age Group

So, here is how I did….

1) Goal obtained. Sort of. I obtained 626 points and came 10th in the NS. So missed the 650 points I wanted but I based my goal on last years calculation of point. They changed that this year, if it was based on last years system I would have made it. Getting top 10 in my AG means that this goal was met.

2) Goal obtained. Finished 68th out of 550, top 12%. The year before I was 459th out of 580, bottom 20%. So needless to say this was very very satisfying ☺

3) Goal obtained. Finished 69th out of 260, top 26%.

4) Goal Obtained. Finished 413th out of 965, top 43%.

Ok the training objectives as of Jan 2010:

Here are my Training Objectives:

1) Do a 20k TT in under 32 mins
    2) Feel stronger climbing hills by May
    3) Run a 90 min half marathon
    4) Run a 45 min 10k in a triathlon

So here is how I did….

1) Did this in the Euro Champs in Athlone ☺
    2) I most certainly did.
    3) Not yet, 92min 35sec in Larne in March, the plan was always to do this in the later part of the year. Roll on Waterford Half in 7/8 weeks.
    4) Did this first in Kilkee and a few times more throughout the season.

I then did something silly. As I was ticking off the objectives I started adding more and more. Needless to say I haven’t meet any of those new ones. I should be happy and stick, otherwise I’ll never satisfy all objectives. So those new ones will form part of my objectives for 2011.

Progression

Swim My swim improved quite a bit this year. Especially towards the end of the season. I think this was because I introduced lots of drill sessions and different types of session when I was injured and couldn’t bike/run. My pool TT for 1500m came down from 29min xxsec to 26min xxsec.

Bike My bike performance baffled me in a way. It was my strongest discipline, in the top 10-5% on a regular basis. This is weird as my millage is very low compared to others. I felt very comfotable on the bike this year, almost effortless at times. Really worked on cadence and I comfortably hold 90+rpm. Still I feel there is more room for improvement.

Run This was my weakest discipline last year, this year it was my most improved. With consistant hard work my running really came on. Since my achilles injury in August however it hasn’t been the same but I am currently working on it. Last year it really felt at times like I was going backwards, not this year, it was common that only 1 or 2 would pass me and indeed none in some races.

Best Races/Worst Races

Best My best was Kilkee or Budapest. If I had to pick one then it would have to be Budapest. My fav however was actually Mullaghmore.

Worst Athy or DCT. Both races were my first after injury/illness, cramping coming out of the water and then through out the rest of the race made it difficult. Athy being the worst and least fav because of the rediculous run course.

Lessons Learned

Where to begin!
    a) need to keep myself healthy, I now feel I have that figured out. Started a ‘steps do you take to keep healthy’ thread and stated what I now do there.
    b) Need to race a bit less especially cming up to A races. Racing too much meant I kept missing my LSR’s and my long bike sessions. I also noticed how fresh I was in Budapest because of the injury 8 weeks prior. I know lads that did Groomsport HIM, DCT and Lough Key in the 3 weeks leading up to Budapest. All 3 did not perform to their usual standard where as I felt so fresh and lively. So lesson learned without having to go through the process
    c) When preparing for an A race try to keep off your feet as much as possible in the lead up.
    d) Keep listening to others. People advived me here and I listened and took it on board.
    e) Trust your training plan. Even during the winter/base period where you don’t have races to gauge your progress and even if you do you may be tired from training through them.
    f) Consistant training is the key.
    g) Rest is just as important as key sessions.

Between Now And Next Log

Well between now and Jan I will….

• Run with my club and compete in the winter league and XC races.
    • One LSR per week
    • Run off the bike once/twice a week, nothing major just to get the body used to it

• 2/3 turbo sessions, nice and easy 1-1.5 hour sessions

• One 70k+ spin on relatively flat roads.

• 3 early morning swims per week with club

• Consistency the key here

• I think having interested joining the group will help me get out of bed in the morning…you can be hard on me for missing sessions dude that way I will do it less and less!

Ok before I sign off a couple of last questions

1) Should I start a new log in Jan or just continue this one?
    2) If I start a new will this one always be here to refer to?
    3) Any advice on what I should do in my turbo sessions between now and Jan? I’m thinking no interval work just concentrate on nice high cadence (90-110rpm)

Thanks again to all for ye’re help. Excuse my spelling, I’m tired and rushing. Had a busy day with Cathrina Mckiernan and the Chi/pose running course.

Good summary - and a great year for you - it's a real shame you were out injured for that stretch a few weeks back.
    Excuse my spelling, I’m tired and rushing.
    I remember I was trying to be smart/funny and pulling you up on your spelling on your first post here. I'm not the best speller myself Didn't notice any above so 10 out of 10 there boss.:p

Are you going to continue with the separate coaches/clubs for each discipline this year?

3) Any advice on what I should do in my turbo sessions between now and Jan? I’m thinking no interval work just concentrate on nice high cadence (90-110rpm)

1. Totally up to you. Some like to start a new season on a clean sheet, others like to keep it all together.
    2. AFAIK, This log will always be available for you to refer to.
    3. No, sorry no advice here - except throw it out the window and get out in the cold and HTFU:D:p From reading others here (MCOS) keeping cadence high whilst keeping HR below a certain level would be the way to go - totally stand to be corrected on this - not a turbo owner.

See you in Waterford.

Thanks again to all for ye’re help. Excuse my spelling, I’m tired and rushing. Had a busy day with Cathrina Mckiernan and the Chi/pose running course.

Well done on your breakthrough season. Some very good results there. No doubt they will be even better if you stay injury free next season.

1. Totally up to you I'd imagine
    2. No idea
    3. Not a clue but I'd be interested to hear other peoples opinions

I bet you're glad I answered them! :D

What did you think of the Chi Running course? I'm not sure Catherina would be happy to hear you calling it a Chi/Pose running course....;)

Well done on a great season despite illness and injury El Director. Yep those 8 weeks 'rest' definitely had you firing on all cyclinders for the AG Worlds. You seem to have learned lots too. No need to change things too drastically for next year and mind the achilles man. To throw 2c at your questions

1) up to you mate. some of the mega logs (KC et al) have still got their old log names even. I'm sure Woddle would chnge the name of it for you if you wanted to keep it and yet freshen it up. I chose a new log as I had completely different goals.
    2)Yes. I often dip back into my previous 2 logs.
    3) If you are getting out for a long spin at the weekend 1-2 midweek turbos is loads. About 40-60 mins each. All lower zone stuff unless you want to blast out of the blocks for duathlons. All depends on the A goal. If its Galway then you have loads and loads of time so build your base. Test your FTP output. Do some single legs drills and high gear work. Hi cadence drills. I did plenty of that stuff last winter and it definitely added to my bike. Personally I'm on a mission but it involves sticking regimentaly to base for the next 20 weeks. I'll do one short steady turbo with a short run off and another more specific. 90rpm and maintaining Z2 even ef I ghave to spin the granny ring. I'll throw on teh bigger gear for some progressive FTP reps but at 75-80%. Loads of time to do 90% reps in the spring.

Cheers lads for all that!
    Are you going to continue with the separate coaches/clubs for each discipline this year?

1. Totally up to you. Some like to start a new season on a clean sheet, others like to keep it all together.
    2. AFAIK, This log will always be available for you to refer to.
    3. No, sorry no advice here - except throw it out the window and get out in the cold and HTFU:D:p From reading others here (MCOS) keeping cadence high whilst keeping HR below a certain level would be the way to go - totally stand to be corrected on this - not a turbo owner.

See you in Waterford.

I am going to stick with the seperate clubs/coaches Mac. Maybe a coach would be a better idea but I can't really afford that. A tri club? Well I have been thinking about it, and I don't really know what to do. I would rarely ever be able to make group training sessions so it would only be for the gear and stuff. My running/swimming sessions suit now so I think I will stick with that. I plan to do most of my cycling myself, sticking with Swords for the summer league and perhaps sportives.

See you in Waterford man.

What did you think of the Chi Running course? I'm not sure Catherina would be happy to hear you calling it a Chi/Pose running course....;)

Breakthrough season P? :o I think not but thank you! I really enjoyed the course P, made sense and I really intend making a go of it i.e practice the drills. Ya maybe Cathrina wouldn't be happy but I'm just not into the chi thing...I just want to run faster and I hope this 'pose' helps. A lovely down to earth girl she is too :)

1) up to you mate. some of the mega logs (KC et al) have still got their old log names even. I'm sure Woddle would chnge the name of it for you if you wanted to keep it and yet freshen it up. I chose a new log as I had completely different goals.
    2)Yes. I often dip back into my previous 2 logs.
    3) If you are getting out for a long spin at the weekend 1-2 midweek turbos is loads. About 40-60 mins each. All lower zone stuff unless you want to blast out of the blocks for duathlons. All depends on the A goal. If its Galway then you have loads and loads of time so build your base. Test your FTP output. Do some single legs drills and high gear work. Hi cadence drills. I did plenty of that stuff last winter and it definitely added to my bike. Personally I'm on a mission but it involves sticking regimentaly to base for the next 20 weeks. I'll do one short steady turbo with a short run off and another more specific. 90rpm and maintaining Z2 even ef I ghave to spin the granny ring. I'll throw on teh bigger gear for some progressive FTP reps but at 75-80%. Loads of time to do 90% reps in the spring.

Thanks MCOS, great stuff as usual and just what I wanted and I know others appreciate it too. Mac was spot on too, and thats the kind of stuff I plan doing. I have 7.5 weeks now until christmas and I plan an MCOS style 60 min turbo session to attain my FTP on the Weds just before christmas Day, maybe come May I will even test it again :o Not concerned about duathlons at all, only use them as a tool, training through them.

I will have two A races as of this year. One in June and one in September. Pretty sure already what ones they are.

Thanks very much again lads, take care and happy training :cool: