Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

Moonbaby wrote: »
    How so?
    I like international peeps! Fun job.

I'm a mentor, so basically just try make the transition from different places easier! We're the person they ask about where to get a mobile etc, less formal than the college, but more formal than their friend.
    It's good!
    Jim wrote: »
    Mostly they have to pay $50,000 :pac:
    Boston University is $60,060!!!!!
    Just came home from my debs... I'd post pictures but meh.
    I'd forgotten how weird foundation feels on your skin. Even if I really like this foundation.

I had like 3 drinks and my extra lightweight boyfriend, who's normally dying (of sleepiness!) after a couple of drinks, had loaaaads of whiskey. I lost count. And he didn't even get tipsy. Weird night! But fun ^^
    I got free hugs and 'well done's for having an older boyfriend. That was very very weird....

Sorry for not posting much lately. It's a mixture of not feeling like it and being a bit busy. Though I do a bit of lurking hehe

Also, I never realised how much importance my school gives to people that get into Trinity College. It's a little embarrassing. And I don't like being a first year again!!!! But I must say that I've met some awesome people this week. :) All guys though, because girls seem to stick together and aren't all that approachable.

Is that just me, or do other girls find it harder to approach girls for a random friendly chat?

Sleepy........

Life's fun =]

You should put some pics up soon!!! Aww, glad you had a good night all the same though!
    What do your school do for students who get accepted into Trinity?? I'm intrigued!
    I've found that with approaching groups of girls, it does feel very tense! Just bite the bullet! :D
    Yup, damn sucks that does:( I've seen young lads die well before their time before.
    That's so sad. It's so unfair, they always take the good people.
    That was an AWESOME show thanks for the reminder! Looooved it for some strange reason:)
    I want it to be back on the telly!!! It's amazing how what kids watch changes! Those programs were so simple and amazing, but now if the show doesn't have some sort of sci-fi alien and magical super powers and skills, it's pointless. Give me a cardboard box and a whole day, could do wonders! it was a shop, a house, a jungle...we had imagination!!! /grumble :pac:
    Sounds fun that haha, we had 3 coach loads of Erasmus students doing the tour of Carlow a few days ago hehe:pac:

Bazinga! :D

Trinity's a good place though, they should be happy indeed:) And I've noticed that if two girls approached two other girls it wouldnt be weird, or one approaching one...but 1v2 etc it looks like it.
    Don't you be scaring the erasmus students! Sure you're practically an erasmus student coming down from the big schmoke!
    Good to see other people think the way I do!
    Week 2 of college done, lectures have began in full and the stuff is looking like it'll be pretty tough for the first 6 months anyway...I've found Cell Biology/Cell Microbiology tougher than thought, Anatomy is alright though...and I can't even apply for exemptions which sucks, was told there's no point as alot of what I learned already is superceded by what I will learn soon:(
    Keep the head down, you'll be grand! smart Head on them shoulders there *pats on back for being a smarty pants!!!* It's all fun and games, just get the balance right!
    Oh and had first training session with college hurling team...all senior/county players apart from me, a junior...it was fun :P
    I went to the college camogie team, I lasted one session. I ran away scared...they sprinted for an hour and called it a "light session"!!

If anyone is around Liffey Valley tomorrow, there's a big fundraising day for the Marie Keating Foundation on all day in Marks and Spencers. There's a team of M&S staff cycling from Belfast to Cork in aid of the charity! I'm cycling for a half hour at 4, loads of staff are all doing half hour stints...the cycling team are coming into the store too! Should be a good day!!

Need to go get some sleep now though!!!

Night!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

kellief wrote: »
    You should put some pics up soon!!! Aww, glad you had a good night all the same though!
    What do your school do for students who get accepted into Trinity?? I'm intrigued!
    I've found that with approaching groups of girls, it does feel very tense! Just bite the bullet! :D

Oh, nothing specific. It's just that some of them, such as the deputy/acting principal, get a bit over excited and it's very embarrassing. She went to trinity herself and tried to pushed me into putting that as my first choice on the CAO the last time I went to see her, so that might explain it. I never told her that if NUIM had my course I'd definitely be there just because it's closest to home! (Incidentally, that last meeting I had with her years ago, she called me in because she thought I wasn't putting enough of an effort in the LC and had a very careless attitude that the teachers were picking up on. >_>)
    My maths teacher was so happy about me doing engineering. She probably realises that she was a massive influence in that decision. I love that teacher ^^

I hope you managed to raise a lot of money for charity today. I was meant to be around Liffey Valley today, but I sorta forgot/overslept so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

Boards.ie got a mention at the Vegetarian Society of Ireland's AGM today. They mentioned that they were invited to the BBQ and enjoyed meeting everyone :) It was nice to hear the mention. Was anyone else from boards there in disguise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Also, I never realised how much importance my school gives to people that get into Trinity College. It's a little embarrassing. And I don't like being a first year again!!!! But I must say that I've met some awesome people this week. :) All guys though, because girls seem to stick together and aren't all that approachable.

Is that just me, or do other girls find it harder to approach girls for a random friendly chat?

You've already started college?
    When I started college it was a bit like that, for ages there was always a row of girls in lectures, I don't know if that was just the girls sticking together or everyone being a bit like that when they're younger. Definitely took longer to get to know the girls although now that I think of it, the first person I met when I started was a girl who was also a twin, we soon got over the fact that we were both twins and straight though :P

Possibly! I wanna see this one on the big screen too:D

If I'd known earlier I would have picked up a ticket for you, just got mine earlier today.
    Week 2 of college done, lectures have began in full and the stuff is looking like it'll be pretty tough for the first 6 months anyway...I've found Cell Biology/Cell Microbiology tougher than thought, Anatomy is alright though...and I can't even apply for exemptions which sucks, was told there's no point as alot of what I learned already is superceded by what I will learn soon:(

Oh and had first training session with college hurling team...all senior/county players apart from me, a junior...it was fun :P

Hopefully there's an element of continuous assessment, it's a good idea to keep up with that or so I hear :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

So bored....

Done nothing since I got back from London, not even shopping. Been all **** dinners for the last week. Meant to go out today but got talking to a friend on Skype and missed the shops. Burger, chips and Star Trek tonight.

Ah sure, I might have some onion rings as well. **** IT RIGHT?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

yes I have had a lot of them with sweet chili sauce recently, go for it!

Just sit down to the hottest person you can see first day of college and ask them to a ball like I did heh

Got the restaurant voucher for jaipur from boards deals, got terminator ticket, got soup to put on mmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Just sit down to the hottest person you can see first day of college and ask them to a ball like I did heh

suffocation > dead girls don't say no

amirite?

--LOS-- wrote: »
    You've already started college?
    When I started college it was a bit like that, for ages there was always a row of girls in lectures, I don't know if that was just the girls sticking together or everyone being a bit like that when they're younger. Definitely took longer to get to know the girls although now that I think of it, the first person I met when I started was a girl who was also a twin, we soon got over the fact that we were both twins and straight though :P

Nah, freshers' week starts tomorrow. I was doing that chemistry course thing (which was nowhere near as bad as I thought it'd be, I must say) and after a while I realised that I kept meeting guys. And I didn't meet a single girl, because they were fewer than guys and they all stuck together.
    Absurdum wrote: »
    suffocation > dead girls don't say no

amirite?

:mad:

At least you should use a more humane killing method.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

true true

greatest video ever made

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I think it's more humane if you use pen0r, so I'm all ethically sound etc

Nah, freshers' week starts tomorrow. I was doing that chemistry course thing (which was nowhere near as bad as I thought it'd be, I must say) and after a while I realised that I kept meeting guys. And I didn't meet a single girl, because they were fewer than guys and they all stuck together.

It'll probably be like that for most of college, it's an unfortunate aspect of male dominant courses *sigh*

*whistle whistle*

Link broken

/run

<_<

--LOS-- wrote: »
    It'll probably be like that for most of college, it's an unfortunate aspect of male dominant courses *sigh*

I'm not complaining :)

Link broken

/run

<_<

link fixed.

--_--

Wrong link ---_---

I will sue you so hard --LOS--

You can only make your eyes so flat.

Mine are laser eyes!

Squintalicious.

I HAS RYE BREAD. Courtesy of Blazing Salads. When I was knelt down putting my purchases in my bag I was accosted by the TCD Veggie Soc. They surrounded me and ate free pizza samples.

pity i was too busy this year to interact with them /sleeeps in more

I HAS RYE BREAD. Courtesy of Blazing Salads. When I was knelt down putting my purchases in my bag I was accosted by the TCD Veggie Soc. They surrounded me and ate free pizza samples.

Oh, is that society up and running in TCD? I had heard some things, but not much. I am interested :) I had a quick google there but didn't find them.

Pretty sure it was TCD. It seemed to be one of the members showing some freshers around. What deals they can get with their trinity card etc.

As far as I know there's no official TCD veggie society. None that I can see in my freshers' pack anyway. Or no stand to be seen today. Though I could ofc be wrong. =/

Well, I just emailed the central societies committee at Trinity to ask, so I'll find out for sure soon enough! I have heard mention of the Trinity society from a couple of people, but nothing solid. I know that the student societies at UCD and Maynooth are up and running and I wouldn't be surprised if TCD are on the edge of recognition if they are acting in an 'unofficial' capacity at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Sooooooo tired :(

sooooo awake after walking home '_'

I didn't notice any extended bit in Terminator :confused:

Hope you got your bus ok Feu!

ciaran explained all the extended bits to me, memory on him!

sooo sleepy after the walk home, zzzzzz

I thought I remembered that film well though, unless it's the extended version I'd seen before.

Wish I was sleepy, start explaining there :P

s'plain later when i forget most and am not tired.

things like chip changing in head, arm being taken off etc
    /lazy

w/e

/lazy