Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Sexual Harassment.... eh, YEAH of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Her voice is very annoying

i watched it with the sound off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I wouldnt bother her.

Not my type, i like mine with a brain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

There is a certain kind of hypocrisy that is necessary for you to believe that your defence of this "reporter's" behavior is in fact a feminist one.
    Where the hell did I say that? I don't even consider feminism that relevant in the western world any more. She said the locker-room frat boy carry-on made her feel uncomfortable and embarrassed (now if it had been, for instance, a cheerleader who had an understanding with the lads and pretty much revelled in that kind of attention, cool, but this woman was working as a reporter) and she was told "Well you shouldn't dress that way" including the dumb-ass comment from the Fox TV guy. She can dress how she likes and she can expect admiring looks, compliments, the odd harmless bawdy comment maybe from guys who know her (it would be unreasonable for her to object to any of the above) but her attire does not make it ok for lads to act in a boorish, idiotic way that isn't pleasant for her, no matter how much she likes looking sexy.
    The only ones who maintain this is a feminist issue are some guys posting to this thread, and guys who'd flip I bet if a woman said some guys can't help themselves and lose control and behave like a dog in heat when a woman displays some flesh... yet funnily enough, they're pretty much saying that very thing here.
    It seems as if you jump to this "reporter's" defence simply because you do believe she is being harassed.
    It's a pity it has to be repeated ad nauseum, but the whole point of the report was: she said it made her uncomfortable. If this was just some feminazi coming along and saying "Down with sexism!" like in the Simpsons Duff ad (:D) when the woman herself was absolutely fine with it, I'd be of the same view as the "Lighten tfu, feminazi" contingent (although without resorting to the "ugly fat dyke" bla bla comments some guys feel the need to constantly resort to which just cheapens their argument and makes them come across as extremely bitter themselves).
    Some very lazy people who couldn't be bothered reading my posts, or are just slow, or are just dicks (money's on the latter) decided I'm a woman who's anti strip-club, anti topless pictures, anti stuff like the Hunky Dorys ad so gleefully threw out/wanked... sorry, thanked the insults (including some who arrogantly think they're "mature") which is just extremely laughable - I've been on the receiving end of objections then on the Ladies' Lounge for defending these things :pac:. But that's not what it's about at all. It's about the woman feeling uncomfortable because of it. Essentially my opinion is: attention, compliments, admiring glances, even harmless bawdy comments are fine (they're great really :pac:) but just keep them somewhat toned down and don't resort to losing your decorum and dignity and behaving like a ****ing ape.
    men defending their right to treat her like a whore (I am not insinuating that this is correct or that people should do this)
    Ya kinda are... that seems to be the whole crux of this argument. Ok you're not explicitly saying it's all right, but you do seem to be saying she'd bring it on herself.

It's not even anything to do with gender/sex anyway, in my opinion, it's just basic manners: if a person walks down the street wearing OTT clothes of any kind - e.g. a quilt and curtains, they need to put up and shut up if they get looks (with no harm intended) but they don't deserve to be yelled and jeered at.

Btw, I don't think she was sexually harassed - just treated with a lack of manners, but in a context where it's apparently ok, according to some, to treat people with a lack of manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 uwala

Dudess your feminazi rants are making me uncomfortable. We have the right to come here and not be harassed with boorish feminazi chimpanzee-style rants. Honestly, I'd expect a bit of maturity, it's just basic manners. Some women should just cop on, and grow up, and stop behaving like gibbons or orang-utans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

uwala wrote: »
    Dudess your feminazi rants are making me uncomfortable. We have the right to come here and not be harassed with boorish feminazi chimpanzee-style rants. Honestly, I'd expect a bit of maturity, it's just basic manners. Some women should just cop on, and grow up, and stop behaving like gibbons or orang-utans.

Uncalled for.

*picks flea from fur*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

What's a chimpanzee-style rant?

While I mightn't agree with every point Dudess made, she seems to have debated in a reasonable way, dealing specifically with quoted points in a mannerly manner, unlike your own baseless insulting rhetoric.

She hardly needs anyone to defend her but you'll probably only view her reply through the same feminazi lenses you seem to be wearing, if she even bothers replying to the crap you've just posted.

Classic feminazi reversal. "We did nothing wrong, it's all the mens fault"

So its ok for Dudess to rant about men "behaving like ******* apes", yet if men defend themselves from male-bashing (which is rampant through the media nowadays) they are spouting "baseless insulting rhetoric". Calling men "apes" isn't insulting? Oh wait a woman said it, that's ok, they can say whatever they like. Men, on the other hand, can't say anything.

It might surprise you to know that, taxonomically speaking, homosapiens are classified as apes.

So yes, men are apes. Women too, to be equitable about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Dr. Zeus

Dude get a grip...

You are letting yourself down badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Dr. Zeus wrote: »
    Dude get a grip...

Then watch this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Its things like this that makes us relise that we were wrong to give women rights!

Picking little bits to focus on and ignoring a whole load of other stuff that doesn't suit your poorly made disingenuous point really doesn't make for very effective discussion. Any "feminazism" by me is all in your head, as you demonstrated so well in your first attack. I didn't "rant about men behaving like ****ing apes" or indeed call men (implying all men) apes - I said a woman can be made to feel uncomfortable if certain men behave like ****ing apes towards her. Anyone can be made to feel uncomfortable if anyone behaves like a ****ing ape towards them ("ape" in the colloquial sense, as in boorish - not the literal sense, don't know whether semantics and pedantry are necessary).
    Yes I agree wholeheartedly there is rampant male-bashing in the media, and have made that point here several times. I don't see any men defending themselves here from male-bashing though, just sticking the boot into women for imagined male-bashing - and definitely enjoying it too, despite pretending it upsets them.
    I also think if a man wants to express the view that men get treated like sh1t in a lot of situations, it's possible for him to do so without nasty digs at women... yet the latter has been done here numerous times and it just takes from what could be some very good arguments/points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Re-read my post - note the "SOME MEN" part.

POT - KETTLE.

Wow, when all else fails resort to the diet coke ad. One product that had an ad campaign (probably thought of by men) in the 1990s. You might have noticed that the Diet Coke ads now feature annoying little puppets. Hunky Dory's on the other hand.... :rolleyes:

Pookah wrote: »
    It might surprise you to know that, taxonomically speaking, homosapiens are classified as apes.

So yes, men are apes. Women too, to be equitable about it.

Fascinating. *yawn*
    Are you a white knight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭trebor28

so a tv station has an opening for a sports reporter.

they hold auditions for it and get 200 people, 150 men and 50 women.

most of the men know what they are talking about but might not be suited to their wants.
    most of the women arent suited cause they havent got as much knowledge of sport as some of the men.
    but one who happens to be an absolute hotties does know a bit about he game.
    so they make an executive decision and seeing as it will be mostly men watching the programme they decide to go with the hottie.

they encourage her to wear revealing clothes for obvious reasons and send her out to all these sporting events.
    at one event she gets abit too much attention from one sports team and makes a comment about how over the top it was.

her bosses decide this will be a great piece of free advertising and decide to run with it, and here we are.

does any of the above sound slightly plausible??

Fascinating. *yawn*
    Are you a white knight?

Found a new target to troll?

Poisoned dwarf much, are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

It is shocking the lack of maturity that shows it's ugly side when contributors to a different viewpoint on a thread happen to be articulate women .

Liah and Dudess. Respect. :)

You just want your hole! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Just to throw in my 2c. I am so sick of the way women are heckled and derided as feminists the minute someone tries to give a female point of view. I can't believe the attitudes of some men in this thread - in particular one poster who several times said that the reporter in question was 'asking' to be harrassed because how dare she wear those tight little tops for the sole reason of teasing men. I'm really shocked and appalled by the way some men think and their views on women.

Women should be allowed wear what they like without being harassed and catcalled and whistled at. Believe it or not, most women (I believe) dress to please their own sense of identity, not for the sole purpose of getting attention from men.

Why are some male posters trying to say that if a women dresses provocatively men can do away with manners and personal responsibility? I fail to see how me wearing a low cut dress gives you an invitation to leer and make suggestive remarks to me. What if I like how I look in the dress? When did it become about everyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Kimia wrote: »
    When did it become about everyone else?

When you're broadcasting to thousands, like the interviewer perhaps....

mikom wrote: »
    When you're broadcasting to thousands, like the interviewer perhaps....

But that doesn't make sense. If we take your point, that means that women should just get dressed but then stay at home and never interact with anyone for fear of 'teasing' some poor helpless man. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Although i fcuking hate the JETS and would love to have them all arrested for rape before the game on Sunday before my beloved Patriots, i'll have to defend them to a degree.

This 'reporter' dresses and acts like a slut to further her career, then cries "pity me" when she gets treated as such.

At media day at last year's superbowl (this is where bunch or reporters are throwing into a room and have to basically fight to each other to interview players) she wore a top where he tits were practically hanging out and tight jeans. She could have worn a suit like most of the reporters there (male and female), she could have got interviews based on a having reputation of being a good interviewer and writer where players would be glad to talk to her in a professional manner but she isn't a reputable NFL reporter because she whores herself out for attention and interviews.

There are many female journalists in the NFL and some who are stunners but the majority of them are professionals who dress and carry themselves appropriately and wouldnt use sexuality to get further in their careers. Im not saying these women dont suffer from sexual harrasment from time to time but they certainly don't go out looking for it like in this instance.

Women should be allowed wear what they like without being harassed and catcalled and whistled at. Believe it or not, most women (I believe) dress to please their own sense of identity, not for the sole purpose of getting attention from men.

I fail to see how me wearing a low cut dress gives you an invitation to leer and make suggestive remarks to me. What if I like how I look in the dress? When did it become about everyone else?

well answer this then!

do you get all dolled up with your low cut dress make up on, high heels, fancy underwear, etc and then go sit on the couch on your own for the evening watching tv??

i doubt it somehow.

But the problem is that this 'reporter' does. She dresses like that to get interviews off the NFL players.

She is not a well known reporter, she doesnt write any NFL articles for any big news papers or websites.

trebor28 wrote: »
    well answer this then!

do you get all dolled up with your low cut dress make up on, high heels, fancy underwear, etc and then go sit on the couch on your own for the evening watching tv??

i doubt it somehow.

What if I do? Since when is it any of your business what I wear?

Also i would like to add the TV company she works for TV Azteca and her know exactly what theyre doing, they previously sent a reporter to the 2008 Super Bowl media day in a wedding dress and had her propose to Tom Brady.

TBH she is a kick in the teeth to women journalists and women right's in general.

I don't know about this particular reporter, but the point I'm trying to make (and I think the other female posters were trying to make) is that in general, women should be able to wear whatever they like without men assuming that because of the way a woman's dressed, they can assume that she's easy/a slut/whore etc. Come on. Why do some guys assume that women are dressing for them?

Some guy earlier was going on and on about how you could nearly see the reporter's nipples and wasn't she an awful slut!, jaysus he must have had the fecking thing on pause, start, pause, pause, start. That's just taking the piss like.

What if I do? Since when is it any of your business what I wear?

its none of my business.

i was just making the point that its unlikely you will put on your glad rags to sit in front of the tv and then wear some comfort clothes out on a night out, because as you said yourself "you like how you look in the dress".

if you were happy in the way you look in the dress, then you wouldnt need to wear it out in public! you could wear any oul thing.

anyway hazys seems to have this whole issue down.
    she is whoring herself out there and is happy to do so.

this is all just a publicity stunt as i had eluded to in an earlier post.

trebor28 wrote: »

if you were happy in the way you look in the dress, then you wouldnt need to wear it out in public! you could wear any oul thing.

:confused::confused: Yes but if I'm happy with how I look in the dress, that doesn't necessarily mean I am also happy to stay inside and watch tv. Perhaps I want to go out and about too? Wearing my nice dress and feeling happy with how I look?

And if I do go out and about, or whatever, why do some men think that because I'm out and about wearing a low cut dress, that I'm doing it for them?