hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

corkdave wrote: »
    If your system can't play it, just enter cowen drunk on youtube.

got it.

this is the classic storm in a tea cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

got it.

At least change your username when defending him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

Brian is a world wide figure

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/09/14/brian-cowen-irish-premier_n_716025.html

DUBLIN — Prime Minister Brian Cowen is resisting calls for an early election in Ireland amid fears about the nation's debt troubles – and his own ability to steer the country through the crisis.

Cowen was repeatedly accused by politicians and commentators on Irish radio Tuesday of being drunk or hung over after he gave a croaky interview to state radio. He often offered vague, semi-coherent answers to questions on Ireland's battle to save its banks and reverse its deficit.

Asked by a reporter about speculation he was struggling from the aftereffects of late-night drinking, Cowen replied curtly, "That's ridiculous."

Cowen's Fianna Fail party has a shaky parliamentary majority. His government faces re-election by 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

got it.

More a storm in a pint glass tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i used to go to work confrences when i was working in springrove, how i even managed to open my eyes the following day was an achievement so i can understand how cowen felt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I do believe he was either hung over or he was just a bit rough maybe a bit sicklely or might be coming down with a cold or something or lacked energy or something. Don't think he was drunk otherwise his speech been very slurred and incomprehensible. Blame the media. Poor Biffo.

i used to go to work confrences when i was working in springrove, how i even managed to open my eyes the following day was an achievement so i can understand how cowen felt

Anybody who has actually been to conferences will understand that they always end up in late night drinking sessions, why would it be any different for politicians.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Anybody who has actually been to conferences will understand that they always end up in late night drinking sessions, why would it be any different for politicians.
    Their not.
    They just do it better, big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

just listening to it on TV3 news, he sounded no different to me to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

tv3 news - cowen : "this is a new low in irish politics"

hes right there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

irish-stew wrote: »
    just listening to it on TV3 news, he sounded no different to me to be honest

mmm he seemed ok a bit off form maybe but listen to his interview on the morning show on radio, you get it on RTE.ie you get a clearer idea how he sounded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

mmm he seemed ok a bit off form maybe but listen to his interview on the morning show on radio, you get it on RTE.ie you get a clearer idea how he sounded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Debthree

A few pints, a bit hungover so what? Its not like he has the power to nuke the planet or anything or is going to be making any earth shattering decisions right at this moment. He is entitled to blow off a little steam and get plastered if he wants to.

Are your (and the many posters who thanked you) standards really that low? He can get drunk in the privacy of his own home, not when he's talking to the nation. Saying it doesn't matter cause he's not making earth shattering decisions at the moment is quite a slippery slope. Lots of people have had earth shattering changes thrust upon them of late, what with lay-offs, homelessness, emigration, HSE cutbacks - they should NEVER EVER have to listen to their 'leader' showing such complete utter disrespect for them and their situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Jesus,under the story on Google news it says "all 407 news articles*»"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Just listened to the interview. Probably knocked off around 4. What an embarrassment to the country.

Find all the sore throat, sinus explanations pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭mysons

Cowen does not drink pints it's Brandy and other people's smokes all the way with him.
    The country is in the shít and FF go on the Píss for two days to sort it out.
    Well done on making WORLD news Cowen but for all the wrong reasons.

At least if the country faced a sovereign debt crisis at 3.30am, as was commonly speculated upon during the Bruton/Kenny leadership battle, Cowen would be easy to find in the nearest pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

This is just f*cking typical of our attitude towards Irish politics. Of all the sh*t Fianna Fail has put our country through over the last 10 years +, the media & public kick up a frenzy over a storm in a f*cking teacup.

This is a nothing issue. To me he didn't sound any more pissed than he normally does & if someone is gonna be hung out to dry over something, then this is a f*cking stupid reason for doing it.

I wouldn't be surprised if this, more than any other reason, becomes a public outcry for an election... never mind the governments' dirty hands in the property boom & bust, NAMA, the bank bailouts, their failure to deliver any real response to the jobs crisis, their failure to control public expenses, the unions or the public service... yep, let's call an election because someone had a bit too much to drink the night before.

Allegedly.

If ever there was a time for Ireland to grow the f*ck up, it is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

sesna wrote: »
    What an embarrassment to the country.
    The only thing embarassing here is the over reaction by the media and general public. He was a little hungover, so fcuking what.

mysons wrote: »
    Cowen does not drink pints it's Brandy and other people's smokes all the way with him.

Carlsberg last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

No session like a recession

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

The only thing embarassing here is the over reaction by the media and general public. He was a little hungover, so fcuking what.

so what exactly . get over yourselves !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

The man's entitled to have a drink. Right he was hungover, but who can honestly say they have never once drank a little too much when they are working the next day?

I love the phrase "lead by example"

**** off - if you want someone to lead by example vote for the dalai lama

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Just listened to the interview - he sounded really wasted. Probably knocked off around 4. What an embarrassment to the country.

Find all the sore throat, sinus explanations pathetic.

:rolleyes: are you serious? have you actually listened to the interview?

i found feck al difference between it and how he normally speaks.

aDeener wrote: »
    :rolleyes: are you serious? have you actually listened to the interview?

i found feck al difference between it and how he normally speaks.

Slurring away, incoherent answers, mixing up Good Friday and Croke Park Agreement - then giggling over his mistake. Yeah I listened to it, are you sure you did ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭furtzy

If it gets rid of them then its fine by me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Slurring away, incoherent answers, mixing up Good Friday and Croke Park Agreement - then giggling over his mistake. Yeah I listened to it, are you sure you did ?

He didnt "mix up" the good friday and croke park agreements.

It was a slip, he corrected himself before he even finished saying "good friday"

snyper wrote: »
    I love the phrase "lead by example"

**** off - if you want someone to lead by example vote for the dalai lama

Its this kind of gob$hite attitude that has the country where it is, and has FF in power so long. Part of being Irish I suppose.

The man's entitled to have a drink. Right he was hungover, but who can honestly say they have never once drank a little too much when they are working the next day?

I can tell you if I knew I was gonna be on the radio in the morning speaking to 400,00 + listeners, then I'd make a judgement call to take it easy that night.
    It makes me wonder how many other things he misjudged.

He didnt "mix up" the good friday and croke park agreements.

It was a slip, he corrected himself before he even finished saying "good friday"

Yeah he mixed them up, then corrected himself. That's to be expected when youre cognitively impaired.