Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns N' Roses - Irish Date Announced!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

not a gnr fan, much, so not getting into the should I or shouldn't I have bought a ticket. One of my friends really wanted to go; I went with her. End of. There are a bunch of other things I could have been doing.

gig could have been great. It wasn't and the responsibility for that lies with the band who showed up 90 minutes late. I'll get more value out of the shenanigans than I did out of the actual gig because to be frank, it's not like the gig actually compensated for its running late.

Talk about Axl being a "Diva Queen", what do you expect when your near 90 minutes late showing up on stage, he's lucky it was only plastic bottles. He ruined the night for the fans, now I know why Slash doesn't get on with him.

What will he stick up on his Twitter this time :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Wasn't there tonight, but I wouldn't say that the wait was the big problem, more the general understanding that Irish gig crowds have that a show in the Point usually ends at 11pm, or 11.30pm at the latest. If a band aren't coming on stage until 10.30pm, then there's got to be the belief among the crowd that they're going to get a short show.

All it would have taken was an MCD representative to come out before the band and say that there's no curfew.

Yeah, everyone was saying that afterwards.

Even when they did come back out, there was no announcement, people were still streaming out.

I would say loads of people got in for free that was outside as they had hundreds running back in when they came back on stage.

I got a text off someone who said they were half turned back from the city centre when they got word they were back on stage.

As I said above though, Axl could have said a few words to the crowd himself, just to let people know they would get a full set.

People all around me were going mad before they even came on stage, saying they had been ripped off as they were about to get a 40 minute gig.

The videos are up now, so you can all hear the atmosphere for yourselves.

I'm more pissed off about Pearl Jam now, as they clearly wanted to play more songs after 11.10pm and were not let :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Wasn't there tonight, but I wouldn't say that the wait was the big problem, more the general understanding that Irish gig crowds have that a show in the Point usually ends at 11pm, or 11.30pm at the latest. If a band aren't coming on stage until 10.30pm, then there's got to be the belief among the crowd that they're going to get a short show.

All it would have taken was an MCD representative to come out before the band and say that there's no curfew.

Sorry. No dice. Gig starts and ends on time. If they are not going to show their sorry asses on stage until 10.30 I want to know about it on my ticket. That's 3 hours of my life that I could actually have been at another gig...and would probably at this stage have preferred to be at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

The novelty factor aside, and DJ Ashba, this gig was wholly unsatisfactory. In fact, i would suggest that the Irish crowd acted in a rather restrained manner under the circumstances, not that I condone the assault of band members with missiles.

I knew something was up during the support act. They were hopelessly bad, and I expected their set to finish rapidly. However, they seemed to play on for an absolute age, using the same few chords over and over again. The lead singer kept pontificating about life and brownosing musical luminaries in a manner which could only be viewed as a stalling tactic given the band they were supporting. Their set went on for an hour and twenty minuites, which is beyond strange for a support act, which had little or none of it's fanbase in the arena.

Subsequently, we were left kicking our heels for over an hour after Danko Jones had left. It became clear that the crowd was becoming restless after a lighthearted mexican wave gave way to boos and whistles from the crowd. At 10.20pm it was anybody's guess whether GNR were going to show up. Contrary to reports the gig opened in a blistering fashion, evne though Axl looked slightly narked at the attempts of a rodie to rig him up. The eponomous track from their 2008 Album set the ball rolling, before launching into Welcome To The Jungle. However, just before the song could get underway, two separate missiles grazed Axl Rose. At that point he warned the crowd, which should have been the end of the matter. "It's so Easy" and "Mr Brownstone" followed, before the third missile was hurled, which prompted Axl's departure.

When the houselights went on twenty minuites after the band's premature departure, it seemed that it was over, and fans began edging towards the exits. However, after another ten minuites of waiting, the houselights went down. The band returned. In reality, the band returned, Rose went through the motions. He butchered "You Could Be Mine" on purpose, while songs like "Live and Let Die", "Sweet Child O Mine", and "Knockin on Heaven's Door" were a feigned attempt at interest at best, and a downright attempt at sabotage at worst. DJ Ashba, and Bumblefoot tried to entertain the crowd with little solos, but most of the crowd was too tired and had lost interest. I was blown away with how mundane a reaction Rose got to some GNR classics, and indeed some of the more useful new stuff. The crowd were fed up at that stage and wanted to go home.

The final song of the night was Paradise City, which was greeted with ticker-tape and fireworks, as had been the case in the comparitively successful concert in June 2006. Rose finished the song, and walked off. He didnt acknowledge the crowd once after he departed, and the band never lined up for a "curtain call".

As I have said, on the basis of novelty, the gig itself was worth attending. It was the stuff you only heard of in legends, and that Rose had almost left that stuff behind with Slash, Duff, and Matt in the mid 1990s. Unfortunatly, when you are in the shoes of an attendee, who is unfortunate enough to show up on a night that a fan wishes to act the cock, and Axl Rose has no interest in being there, then you are in for a late, frustrating, and sorry concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

halenger wrote: »
    ...the Luas finishes at 23:30.
    Last one leaves The Point at 00.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

het-field you just summed the whole ****in night up great post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Just back after driving down and back up to Donegal from an absolute disgrace. Standing around for an hour as roadies fluted around on stage doing nothing. Losing his way during Welcome to the Jungle and then storming off.

I was never told he would return to the stage, bar was closed, house lights came on and I left, in fact, thousands had also left. Not one public announcement and everyone standing around looking at each other not knowing if we should go or not.

As Danko Jones said at the end of his set, "Wait until you see Guns n Roses...they're going to blow your mind, you'll feel like you've been fisted!"

I have been, I just wish I took the advice of the warning posts in this thread earlier in the week.

A disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

They had a better shot in Sao Paulo a few months back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

What bothers me is Axl's hired musicians

Have they no fcukin Pride? Can they not see the way Axl is treating his fans night after night by coming on stage late, disrespecting money paying fans?

And yet they CONTINUE to stand up for the little weasel on Twitter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 bobgob

Had a feeling he was going to do something like this, feel sorry for anyone who had to come any distance to see this gob****e. Dont know how MCD are fixed contractually but he should have to pay back every penny he took from last night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Newstalk now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Poly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

my earlier comments in this thread now seem vindicated, glad i didnt go...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

What a complete and utter twat. Good luck getting your money back you'll need it with MCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

RonMexico wrote: »
    The amount of assumption and complete bull**** in this thread posted by people who were not at Reading or Leeds and who are not going to this gig is SAD.

FAIL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Was at this shambles last night.
    We waited around for 5 mins after they left the stage.
    Then we stood in the "secure" smoking area, nearest to the Luas stop.
    After about 5 mins there the security people took down the fencing making the entrances to the arena a free for all basically.
    There is no way any joe soap would have been stopped from wandering in for Part 2.
    So we hung on for 10 mins to see was the crowd told to move on, any announcements etc. Nobody said anything outside to indicate it wasn't over, i.e. Guards/Security.

We left at around 11:15-11:20 or so, seemingly just before they came back on.
    I don't expect MCD to offer a refund going on their past record but will never spend a penny again where Axl Rose is concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,490 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

a very say day for true GNR fans, I feel for the younger kids who were seeing GNR for the first time last night, OK, despite them being a tribute band etc it's just not right.

I'd say the reason why Axl came back on stage last night was to cover his ass contractually and MCD won't be giving any refunds either in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

funniest thing i saw were the ppl outside selling t shirts at 2 for 5 euro at 11:15,
    a couple of hours later when the gig proper finished they were back up to 10 euro each..lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,490 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

funniest thing i saw were the ppl outside selling t shirts at 2 for 5 euro at 11:15,
    a couple of hours later when the gig proper finished they were back up to 10 euro each..lol

class, capitalism of the highest order, some lil kid sees himself as the next Bill Cullen :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Anyone who paid with their credit card should file a chargeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I'd say the reason why Axl came back on stage last night was to cover his ass contractually and MCD won't be giving any refunds either in my opinion.

BULL****!

They need to issue refunds, 1am is TOO LATE for a gig to be going on until, especially when doors opened at 6.30pm and there was only one support act

AND WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT ABOUT - Danko Jones played 1 hour and 20 minutes, what the ****? What support band plays that long unless there is a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,718 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

RasTa wrote: »
    Anyone who paid with their credit card should file a chargeback.

I was thinking that myself. Unfortunately for this one my girlfriend bought them with cash at a Ticketmaster kiosk. Bah. The one feckin time!

Have a feeling that if we take it up with Ticketmaster they'll just shrug it off with a 'you'll have to contact MCD directly'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

BULL****!

They need to issue refunds, 1am is TOO LATE for a gig to be going on until, especially when doors opened at 6.30pm and there was only one support act

AND WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT ABOUT - Danko Jones played 1 hour and 20 minutes, what the ****? What support band plays that long unless there is a problem

there was a problem, axl was gonna be late, they knew that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

they have to refund

axel saying to thousands of people
    one more plastic bottle and 'you' end the gig

that is too tempting an offer for some young lad with a few beers on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Issue refunds? Why? The gig went ahead even though people had to wait a bit. Anyone who thought they wouldn't have to wait deserved what they got. Axl Rose was better than I had expected. I enjoyed the gig for what it was. Did people expect it to be like a G n' R gig from 20 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

Effects wrote: »
    Issue refunds? Why? The gig went ahead even though people had to wait a bit. Anyone who thought they wouldn't have to wait deserved what they got. Axl Rose was better than I had expected. I enjoyed the gig for what it was. Did people expect it to be like a G n' R gig from 20 years ago?

becuase we were told by staff the gig was over, house lights went on (i.e. Gig is over), he walked off ans said goodnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Effects - People will wait once it's given an acknowledgement of why they had too. Sure people will say ah but that's Axl,

Would you put up with this if you where going to the hospital for the birth of your child and told ok we'll be with you in 5 mins and have to wait for another 85 without anyone talking to you. Or a more realistic scenario.

You're in a restraunt order your food which should take 15 - 20 mins. Would you be happy it arrived and was lukewarm after 90 mins?

A service was not provided. If i had decided to go last night, my last bus home would have been at half 11. I have no where to stay in Dublin and would be fúcked for work today.

What about people who travel up from Cork, Donegal, Galway. Who are assuming that the concert is over at 11 or 11.10. They have that planned out for the drive home.

What about people who are tight for cash and thought last night would be a nice release we are in a recession.

€75 is a lot for a ticket and most people wouldn't have gone on there own to the gig either. Then to be told at 10.50 by stewards and security the gig was over and to go home.

That in my mind deserves a full refund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

becuase we were told by staff the gig was over, house lights went on (i.e. Gig is over), he walked off ans said goodnight.
    I doubt you were told by staff it was over. Didn't you hear either of the two announcements saying to hold on that the issue was being dealt with? The people who left have no one to blame but themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Effects wrote: »

Are you serious? Axl Rose says goodnight, house lights come on and some people are told it's over and to go home. You really think that they do not deserve a refund?

Nobody would expect a show from 20 years ago. They should however be treated with some respect by what is turning into a washed up has been.