If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Keen to see what the future may hold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Tues Morn - 24th Aug

After a rest day on Sunday, still easing back, and no time yesterday to train, I got back to it today. I did the DCT course, did the 5 laps, using the 2nd and 4th laps as a c.8k TT.

Warm Up 19.5k

2nd lap TT Distance 8.5k; Time 16:23; Ave speed 31km/h;

4th lap TT Distance 8.5k; Time 16:24; Ave speed 31km/h;

Cool Down 14k

Just some points on the course for anyone not familiar with it.
    - Road surface is 85% good, few rough parts but pretty good overall.
    - Today the surface was greasy in parts, if its a wet day some corners will be very dicey, Budapest athletes be aware :cool:
    - Strong cross wind going up Chesterfield Ave
    - Strong head wind on the Furze Road (small gears - spin)
    - Leaves/acorns beginning to fall, some acorns are big and the leaves can make it slippy
    - Great speed can be got up on the Upper Glen Road, with a 100 degree left turn (lap 1-4, lap 5 a right turn out of park). Careful here for obvious reasons also there is a pothole here just where you don't want it :rolleyes:
    - Racing lines very important on this course.

I really enjoyed this morns session, achillies still holding up. I must say I like the course. My times are not what they were in June but to be expected.

So back to the running club this evening, they are doing LSR (1 hour) at the moment in prep for cross country season. I will join the 8/9min/mile group. This really is the test of the achilles, if I can come through this then I can be more confident about the future :)

Tues Eve - 24th Aug

LSR - prep time for XC season, perfect session for me to re-introduce myself to the club running scene. Here is the session:

Distance 10.85k; Time 57:33; Pace Ave 5:18min/km; Ave HR (% of Max) 70%;

Very encouraging that I was able to last the hour. I did feel something, not the achilles but surely conected, outside of shin on same side. But it was fine, not perfect, should be able to hold a 5min/k pace for Sunday, I hope.

Something that I noticed this morning, the cold. Leafs falling, really cold, this evening too. Kinda depressing but I actually like the Autumn/Winter time so it ain't all that bad :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Great stuff, glad to hear your injury is coming round, just remember to ease back into it. I wouldn't be going mad on Sunday, save what you have for Budapest.
    I was just think that about the shorter days closing in and the thought of getting up for work and coming home from work in the dark made me appreciate what bit of light we have lef in the evenings now. The only good thing about the long winter evenings is a big warm real fire!

Weds Morn - 25th Aug

Was meant to do a swim session this morning and Core and Stretch in the afternoon. Decided to swap the sessions around as my calves were quite stiff this morning. Core and Stretch session felt good. Swim session this afternoon, finally I am beginning to feel momentum, so important to me as it builds confidence.

Swim Session - Weds Morn 25th Aug

Workout #5
    Endurance
    WARM UP: 300 FS
    DRILL: 3x100’s, 4x75’s, 5x50’s Rest= :10
    100:’s: Breathe on weak side on odd lengths
    75’s: Middle 25 Single Arm drill
    50’s: Build
    MAIN
    600+500+400+300+200+100 @ Cruise + :10
    Take :10 rest before last 100 of swim
    Last 100 is FAST. Everything else is easy/moderate pace.
    WARM DOWN: 100 Easy
    TOTAL: 3350

Needed a long session in the pool today so this was a good session. Although feeling sluggish.

Weds Evening - Stretch and Core

Bike Session - Thurs Morn 26th Aug

3 Laps of DCT bike course, one at tempo;

Distance 8.5k; Time 15:10; Ave Speed 33.5km/h; A minute better than Tuesdays session, wind direction had changed and it was lovely and dry.

6 X 45 Sec Max 1:15 min RT

1) 507m
    2) 468m
    3) 565m
    4) 419m
    5) 555m
    6) 433m

No. 2,4,6 against head wind.

Good session this morning, really beginning to feel more confident with my biking again. Beautiful morning.

Thurs Evening Rested up, legs feeling it, was going to rest tomorrow evening but decided I needed it this evening instead.

Swim Session - Friday Morning

Workout #9
    WARM UP: 300 FS
    6x75’s Kick/Drill/Swim @ :10 Rest
    MAIN: 3x(150 @ Cruise + :10, 100 @ Cruise + :10, 2x75 @ Cruise + :10, 2x50’s @ Cruise + :10)
    KICK: 200 Easy/Fast by 25
    BREATH CONTROL: 6x25’s Bilat
    WARM DOWN: 150 Easy
    TOTAL: 2750

Still feeling sluggish. Tomorrow (Sat) it's to the 40 foot for a dip, haven't had an OW dip since July Bray Aquathon.

Run Session - Friday Evening

DCT course (or what I thought was it) 10k, middle 4k at tempo. Ran at 90% for the 4k, pace was 3:55/km, no way I could hold this for a stand alone 10k never mind off the bike. Still good to see the achilles held up.

Week Review

Good week. Any week that wasn't effected by the injury is a good one in my book :) Legs feeling heavy and they feel like I've done a fair bit of training after 5 weeks of no training ;)

So today I will do an OW at the 40 foot easy and reg for tomorrows race. I am really looking forward to the race, I will ease into it in the swim, go hard enough on the bike and jog the run. The thing I love about tri is the race itself. Racing, to me, is more important than times or positions that is just secondary to me. I love racing and that comes first, this might explain the amount of races I do. The past 6 week has really brought this home to me.

Sat Afternoon - 28th Aug

About 1500m of OW swim. First 800 or so was grand but the rough, choppy waters made it very very difficult getting back to the tower. Goggles leaking like mad, annoying :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

All the best for the morning. A nice fast brick session is just what you need.

Well it was nice to be back racing I must say. It was however the worst morning I had as regards prep and I'm not going into that here - no need to go through that again.

Swim

So I was pretty agitated getting into the water, not ideal. Once my face hit the water though I seemed to relax a bit, then I heard MCOS calling me (don't know how he knew me with my swim 'mask' on) I told him I'd be tucking in behind him for a lift......who was I kidding? :o Anyway off we go and I found the going rougher than normal, probably because this year I have been good at ploughing away for the first 200m before settling into a nice pace but today I didn't get away, probably due to the loss of fitness and being race rusty. But it didn't go that bad I don't think. That was until I was getting out and both hammers cramped on me (Athy all over again I thought :rolleyes:)

Swim Time - 28:17 (don't know can't find rankings per discipline, anyone know?)

T1 Very poor, had to stretch out the hammers

T1 Time 1:58

Bike

Cramping as I tried to get my foot in the shoes, horrible but managed it without having to stop. The bike conditions were just like Tuesday morning. First lap wasn't great but started getting into it on lap 2 when the rain came. Had to ease off in lap 2 and 3 just to be safe but but the power down on 4 and 5. Nice course IMO.

Bike Time - 1:13:31

T2 Better T this time 1:15

Run

Well I did say I would take it easy on the run. But in the heat of comp I just couldn't hold back much so just ran by feel. Two people past me and I picked off a good few, although you wouldn't know who's in your wave so I assumed everybody was :cool: Delighted with my run considering the achilles, so maybe a sub 40 in Budapest is on dare I say ;)

Run Time - 40:58

Overall Time 2:25:57 - 94 out of 440 (top 21%) 25th or so in AG

I found it tough going today and I know I can do better and next year I will be looking to take 10 min off that at least. Meet MCOS after and he is in great shape altogether, didn't see the other lads but by all accounts they did mighty! Fair play to Piranha club for hosting such a well organised event.

O and today was an Olympic PB by 4 min for me so I got to be happy overall :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Well done on today - cant complain with a pb!

Nice one. Great time for the run. What achilles!

Thanks guys :)

Looking at my split rankings today I can't help but feel a little disappointed with my bike split. My rank was 117/440, top 26%, this year I have been top 12/13% regularly. But on the plus side I am pleasantly surprised with my run rank, 77/440 (18%), just considering the achilles problem. I was 127/440 (29%) for the swim, a little down but not much. Must remember the top top quality field present though.

Forgot to mention that yesterday when I got home I noticed that my front wheel wasn't spinning freely. I could hear a rhythmic sound during the bike section and thought I'd investigate. Of course this should have been done before the race but as I said my prep yesterday morning did not go to plan. Basically I spun the wheel which should spin freely obviously but it came to a complete stop every time. This leads me to believe that the wheel is bulging in one particular part :mad: Could this be possible anyone? They are deep section carbon wheels. Must sort this of course as it doesn't help with efficiency on the bike.

The Outlook for Budapest

On the 3rd of Aug I posted this....
    Tues 3rd Aug
    ......Just feel the need to reassess, 6 weeks from Budapest were do I stand?

Well my goals were:

Swim 26 min
    Cycle 63 min
    Run 42 min

Total 2hr 15min (incl trans) is this still a possibility? Actually I think yes, it is. So long as I get a clear run of 4 weeks at least......

So where do I stand now? Well I didn't (won't) get my four weeks but here is what I think now 13 days out....

Swim 27 min
    Cycle 67 min
    Run 39 min

Total 1hr 16min (incl 3min T time). Well I still believe I can pull this off actually. Even though yesterday was a PB for me and that was 2hr 25min, I just know it's in me and I will be going for it.

Monday 30th Aug - Recovery Swim

Warm Up 200m Easy

150 x 4 50 kick/50 swim/50 drill

50 descending 4 to 1 x 4 Pacing was the name of the game here, went well

1) 56s
    2) 54s
    3) 52s
    4) 47s

1) 57s
    2) 55s
    3) 52s
    4) 48s

1) 56s
    2) 55s
    3) 53s
    4) 46s

Total 1,400m

Feeling very stiff today, protein drink recovery tights all day. Looking forward to tomorrows training :)

Tues 31st Aug

I will miss these early morning spins on a Tues/Thurs, beautiful this morning.

I was going to do 3 x 5k TT's but the garmin bat died so no data, I just did a fartlek session with known landmarks. Good session, legs still feel heavy but I will rest them next week for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Well done in DCT. Great result considering all the time off with the injury. Must be a real confidence booster. Way to go :cool:

pgibbo wrote: »
    Well done in DCT. Great result considering all the time off with the injury. Must be a real confidence booster. Way to go :cool:

Thanks P, it has boosted my confidence alright but......I am glad to have Lough Key this Sunday just to sharpen up as I am still feeling rusty.

Tuesday Evening 31st Aug

8.2 miles with the club. Went with the elite group as I hope to be running in their group during the winter. It was supposed to be a 7 min mile pace but the lads tore off at 6 min mile pace, leaving me dropped for the last 5 miles. I stuck it out to the end at 7 min mile pace, it was tough but I thought I'd use this session as a mental toughness test. Stuck in there and actually started to reel the lads in towards the end. This was a tough session but I stuck it out, I will ease back next week for sure.

Wed 1st Sept

Body very stiff and sore, I have upped the training quite sharply recently so my body is still adapting. I therefore stayed in bed this morning, decided last night I'd scrap the planned tempo run. Did my planned swim session in the afternoon.

Swim Session

Workout #11

WARM UP: 300 Free, breathing Bilaterally

12x50’s (1-9 fins on)
    #1-3 Kick on your Side
    #4-6 single arm
    #7-9 Free, breathe every 3rd stroke
    #10-12 Descend Rest=:10

Descend 50's: 1) :54 (1:48/100)
    2) :49 (1:38/100)
    3) :43 (1:26/100)

MAIN:

1x100-Fast 1x300-Easy
    1x200-Fast 1x200-Easy
    1x300-Fast 1x100-Easy
    1x400-Easy

100 Fast-1:35 (1:35/100)
    200 Fast-3:19 (1:39/100)
    300 Fast-5:11 (1:43/100)

KICK/SWIM: 6x50’s Rest=:10 Kick: Hard Swim: Easy
    WARM DOWN: 100 Easy
    TOTAL: 2900

Finally beginning to feel like myself in the water again. I suppose for next year I should be looking to hold 1:30/100 for 750 and 1:35/100 for 1500m, roughly speaking.

Got free tickets to Guns n' Roses so off to that now :) no drinking though :rolleyes: Rock On :cool:

Myself and Macanri are going for an OW dip at the bull wall on friday evening if your interested?

nomadic wrote: »
    Myself and Macanri are going for an OW dip at the bull wall on friday evening if your interested?

Thanks dude, I would love to but I'm helping some students with math olympiad (geeks :o) Friday evening. Thanks again.

Damn axl rose last night! What a waste of time, meant I slept in this morning as I was wrecked.

Thurs 2nd Sept - Tempo Run

3k Easy 5min/k

3k Tempo 11:36; 3:53/k

3k Easy 5min/k

Was running at my best for the tempo, 95% HR. Can't help but feel a little depressed looking at those numbers. I know i shouldn't but I do. Just when compared with my running earlier this year, patients patients......it is what it is I guess.

GnR were disappointing I hear. Good to see them all the same.

Re the running - If you were told a few weeks ago that you were going to be recovered enough to do that run in that time, I'm sure you would have been glad to hear it. So basically in perspective thats not a bad run at all. I think on the day you will do better with your determination to give it your all, and the buzz that goes with the race. Chin up man, you're doing well.

Macanri wrote: »
    GnR were disappointing I hear. Good to see them all the same.

Re the running - If you were told a few weeks ago that you were going to be recovered enough to do that run in that time, I'm sure you would have been glad to hear it. So basically in perspective thats not a bad run at all. I think on the day you will do better with your determination to give it your all, and the buzz that goes with the race. Chin up man, you're doing well.

Ya you're right MAc thanks. I know I should be more appreciative of what I can do.

Friday 3rd Sept Rest Day Today

Decided this was needed, I have really gone from doing nothing to doing double training days and my legs are feeling it especially my ankles which feel like glass. Two short sharp sessions tomorrow on the bike and run, might even do the Lough Key course.

Sat 4th Sept

Did a nice/interesting session today, I might call upon this session again sometime, really enjoyed it and mixed it up a bit!

Brick

Bike

Warm UP 6k

8 x 45sec Max Intervals (1:45 RT)

1) 470m (37.5km/h)
    2) 540m (43.6km/h)
    3) 490m (39.4km/h)
    4) 420m (33.2km/h)
    5) 350m (28.3km/h)
    6) 340m (27.2km/h)
    7) 490m (39.8km/h)
    8) 540m (42.9km/h) ....7.3km altogether

1k Easy

5k TT Time 7:46; Speed Ave 38.6km/h; HR Ave/Max 148/158;

Cool Down 7.5k .........26.8k

Run

1.5k Easy

6 x 30sec Max (2:00 RT)

1) 150m (3:15/k)
    2) 180m (2:47/k)
    3) 180m (2:48/k)
    4) 180m (2:51/k)
    5) 180m (2:49/k)
    6) 180m (2:47/k)

1.5k Easy

So tomorrow starts the 'B Race Series' (Boyle/Budapest/Blacksod). Hoping tomorrow will just give me some confidence and sharpen me up. Then from Monday I will taper. Anything I do will be short and sharp, alot like today.

Sun 5th Sept

Nice to have a tri just 30 min from my home place for a change. What beautiful settings in Forest Park, I couldn't get over it. Meet Catweazle before the race, he was racked beside me, he always seems to be in great form, smiling from ear to ear :D Also had the pleasure of meeting P Gibbo for the first time, briefly but still nice to meet you P. I also saw a girl in a boards singlet out sprint some guy in the finish straight, fair play to her she dug seriously deep!
    The quads were hurting from yesterdays session, so that did concern me.

Swim Well the lake was as calm as you like. I did something I have never done before, I don't know why cos it's not that I forgot or anything-spit in my googles and wash them, so as not to let them fog. Just didn't do it and paid for it. Every 50-70m I had to stop, lift the googles and sight :rolleyes: silly, silly boy. I wouldn't mind but my stroke was feeling great.

Time 14:35; Rank 96/300

T1 Frustrated and a bit angry at myself seeing 14:xx, I didn't waste much time in T1, got out in 53 sec.

Bike I was like a bull on the bike but had to pull on the reins straight away, a few tricky, greasy corners saw some lads bounce off the tarmac, looked sore I can tell you :eek: Anyway got into a groove, I knew there were a lot to catch so with little regard to the run I put the head down and went hard. Passed loads. Very disappointing to see the amount of drafting, too many not making the effort to go solo. This was a tough little bike course, 23.5k in distance, with a few tough drags. Found great speed on the down hill sections and flats. With 3k to go I passed my mate, he passed me again shortly and shouted to me that I was doing to much work and I had a trail of bikers hitching a ride with me, sure enough when I looked back there was about 10! No worries, I didn't care at that point. Eased back for the last 2k. On the final bend I almost planted myself into a tree, had to unclip and straighten up.
    Time 41:22; Rank 17/300;

T2 Made a decision here, which in hindsight may not have been the best. My insole in my left shoe (my bad achilles side) was all crumpled up inside. I should have taken the extra 10-20sec to flatten it but I just fvcked it out :eek: Time 49 sec

Run This left me with no cushion for my lefty, felt every stone :( Plus I was now uneven, my right foot was about a half inch higher, this was putting some strain on the achilles on my left. Anyway, I perhaps did overcook the bike a bit, I was breathing heavily for the first k, a steep 200m section didn't help, quads really sore now. Just kept a really nice high cadence and picked a good few off in the run, 10 or so I'd say. Usually strong in the last k I started to fade this time but nobody got me.
    Time 20:00; Rank 49/300;

Overall Time 1:17:58; Rank 32/300;

A good workout and I am happy. Noble won but Conor Murphy right up his
    hol€. Actually a high quality field, I wasn't expecting that. I feel that if everything went well I could have done it 2 min quicker, but that doesn't matter next week does (this time next week....beer on the banks of the Danube mmmm :cool:)

So really going to ease back this week, I will keep sessions short, my quads need rest. My front wheel will have to be looked out, there is a slight bulge in the carbon part :confused: Right now I am bathing my achilles in epsom salts and hot water (thanks interested for advice, it does seem to work), so fingers crossed on that front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Thats a fast transition, I saw you just hitting your bike area as I was coming around the corner so I knew I went well in the swim, however when I came back around you had gone.

Great bike time you had there, that was a tough route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Another encouraging performance before Budapest. Well done. Savage bike split. Hope the achilles is alright today. Nice meeting you yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

All the best for Budapest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I also saw a girl in a boards singlet out sprint some guy in the finish straight, fair play to her she dug seriously deep!
    Congrats on a great placing. Well done. The deep-digger is probably seres (also has a training log here).
    Best of luck at the weekend, and enjoy the well-earned beer afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Hope the achilles holds up, all the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Very best in Budapest.

+1 with Kenny with the achilles. I know what a **** it is.

El D, You have had a very unfortunate year with the neumonia, and the injuries. But you have solidered on where others would have thrown in the towel. I hope all goes well for you in Budapest. Enjoy the experience and the beers with the lads after it all. I wish I was going - if only for the beers!!! Have a good one mate!

Guys ye're well wishes and support is so well appreciated I have to say that. Thanks.

Monday Afternoon 8/9/10 - Swim Session

Warm Up 300m with pull (saving quads)

10x50m 1-3 side kick with fins
    4-6 Single arm drill with fins
    7-10 - 50's descending (0:53/0:51/0:47/0:44)

100 race pace 1:39
    100 easy
    200 race pace 3:32
    100 easy
    300 race pace 5:27

200 cool down

Tues Morn 7/9/10 - Bike Interval Session

Warm Up 10k spinning

8x45 MAX

1) 420m
    2) 440m
    3) 470m
    4) 440m
    5) 490m
    6) 480m
    7) 500m
    8) 480m........7.3k

Cool Down 6k

So as I stated previously I am doing short sharp sessions this week and will continue right up to Thurs morn before flying on Thurs afternoon.

Achilles is feeling fine thank god but I still feel it's weak, but it will hold out I hope :rolleyes: