M50 Tailgating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

I've been on an empty m50 with a truck being tailgated by a moron. The truck pulled in to force the guy to go it alone!
    That's an appropriate response. Not blinding and killing them.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

fluffer wrote: »
    I've been on an empty m50 with a truck being tailgated by a moron. The truck pulled in to force the guy to go it alone!
    That's an appropriate response. Not blinding and killing them.
    Where did he pull in? You can't stop on a motorway nor can you use the hard shoulder.

(runs and waits for the anti-middle lane hogger brigade to take over :D)

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

He didnt stop. He pulled into the inner lane from the middle lane and slowed to a crawl until the idiot f*cked off.

• Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Max_Damage wrote: »
    I have a towbar on my car. The damage will be worse for them than it is for me! :D

Plus a bumper for an Escort can be got in a scrapyard cheap enough!
    A towbar for max damage... how ironic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

I've seen two people come right up behind me and stay there planted on the back of the trailer until through the camera's.What do you do in such a case,I know what I'd like to do but that cant be done.It's easier to forget about it and pray you see them mangled in the barrier up the road in a single vehicle accident.

Drop to 1st gear and watch him **** his toggs!!!! No Brake lights .. no warning .. He damages your trailer ... you inadvertantly get whiplash :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac: ... He hasnt a leg to stand on rear impact :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Drop to 1st gear and watch him **** his toggs!!!! No Brake lights .. no warning .. He damages your trailer ... you inadvertantly get whiplash :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac: ... He hasnt a leg to stand on rear impact :pac::pac::pac::pac:

And you haven't a gearbox to move the car with :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

i saw a guy a while back with a silver audi pulled over by an unmarked squad and the guard just pointing to his plates...the feckin car was gleaming and i mean gleaming but his plates had about 2 inches of dirt on them ..no way the toll camera would have read them...talkin about shooting yourself in the foot by washing the rest of the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Of course then there's the whole issue of those sprays that apparently make the plates unreadable - were all the rage for a while. Maybe they only worked on the radar machines tho'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Before the barrier free there was a toll charge for motorbikes but under the new system cameras take the shot on the front of the vehicle which left bikes exempt. Didn't really matter a whole lot as far as revenue is concerned as the percentage of bikes would be fairly small. Chap I know who's a biker didn't realise this (only shortly after the barriers were removed) and thought he was a great lad for passing through the camera area on his rear wheel so he wouldn't have to pay the fee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭SC024

I brake for tailgaters.

I don't know, Maybe my logic is flawed but to me, If someone is sitting up your arse moving at 80//100 or 120Kph and you decide to hit the brakes?

Answer me one question please? Have you been feeling depressed lately?

Cause to do something like that you've got to be either A. Suicidal or B. suffering from an extreme lack of intellegience coupled with a significant lack of a sense of self preservation? A fu*king bull would have more sense

One way or the other I recommend you see a shrink asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭SC024

jock101 wrote: »
    Second that!

Also put in a massive claim for personal injury!;) That will teach them!

This... coming from the lad who's convinced speed cameras are the solution to the worlds ills?

You could do with a trip to the doctor to...

SC024 wrote: »
    I don't know, Maybe my logic is flawed but to me, If someone is sitting up your arse moving at 80//100 or 120Kph and you decide to hit the brakes?

Cause to do something like that you've got to be either A. Suicidal or B. suffering from an extreme lack of intellegience coupled with a significant lack of a sense of self preservation? A fu*king bull would have more sense

I think the joke went straight over your head buddy.
    This... coming from the lad who's convinced speed cameras are the solution to the worlds ills?

You could do with a trip to the doctor to...

What's with the abuse of other members...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

fluffer wrote: »
    He didnt stop. He pulled into the inner lane from the middle lane and slowed to a crawl until the idiot f*cked off.

A friend of my Brother drives trucks for a living, apparently the trailer brake on his doesn't activate the brake lights, so he gives 'a dose of trailer brake' to tailgators.
    Wouldn't reccomend it, but I wouldn't blame him either as its really distracting.

Spotted this hitch cover, nice..

hcc11568_1000.jpg

$13 Maybe a group buy would be in order - http://www.etrailer.com/p-HCC11568.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭sk8board

as a daily commuter I see this every time I happen to be going through the toll at the same time as a truck.

If theres a truck, theres a tailgater.

I reckon thats why the garda traffic superintendent was on the radio; heard the interview, I reckon its getting so common they believe someone is about to get creamed into the bumper of an artic.

just this week saw a goon in a gold '10 megane (reg looked no more than a month old I reckon) doing it; looked like a family car. He could afford the 20k ish to buy the car, but risks the car and perhaps his life for €2. the guy in front of me in my lane made a w**ker gesture as they passed side by side. yer man had his invisible blinkers on.

Darwinian theory says one of these brainiacs will remove themselves from the gene pool any day now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 mark82

I have a towbar on my car. The damage will be worse for them than it is for me! :D

Plus a bumper for an Escort can be got in a scrapyard cheap enough!

A reply like "I brake" would mean that you either a)place a low value on your life or it b)suggests a low IQ which would also explain the reason for only being able to afford a sh!tty escort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

sk8board wrote: »
    ... yer man had his invisible blinkers on. ...

Oh God, don't get me started... have we had a thread on those in the motors forum before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭johnos1984

What's with the abuse of other members...?

It would take too long to explain so don't ask ;) but if you wish to know just look up any recent thread on speed cameras

johnos1984 wrote: »
    It would take too long to explain so don't ask ;) but if you wish to know just look up any recent thread on speed cameras

I'm sure you've been here long enough to know I'm a regular here.

I know about jock...

It's the 'other abuse' I asked about by some new user :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭johnos1984

It's the 'other abuse' I asked about by some new user :P

Apologies I didn't notice that...........I'm just in from the local after having a dose of Vitamin G if that excuses me..... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭bongi69

Provided it's clear to do so, and wouldn't adveresely affect any other roaduser besides the twat up my ar$e, I'd do one of three things:

1: About 100 meters before the camera, drop to 4th and floor it, creating a big enough gap for the fecker to get tolled.

2: Using exact timing and showing no intention, switch lanes at the very last second. Again, the eejit will get tolled. (While I'm aware you should signal when changing lanes, I think I could live with myself afterwards :D)

3: If I spotted the reg, I would commit it to memory and ring eflow as soon as I had arrived at my destination. Report the incident, provide the reg, and tell them they could look at the shot of my car to prove it. Then the brainiac can be tolled. wouldn't pay it (cause he would think he was great and got away), and then get a letter in the post demanding double payment :D

I'll admit though, my solutions are more for a car. I can't see an artic being able to build up a gap before the tailgater realised what was going on, or be able to switch lanes quickly

bongi69 wrote: »
    Provided it's clear to do so, and wouldn't adveresely affect any other roaduser besides the twat up my ar$e, I'd do one of three things:

1: About 100 meters before the camera, drop to 4th and floor it, creating a big enough gap for the fecker to get tolled.

2: Using exact timing and showing no intention, switch lanes at the very last second. Again, the eejit will get tolled. (While I'm aware you should signal when changing lanes, I think I could live with myself afterwards :D)

3: If I spotted the reg, I would commit it to memory and ring eflow as soon as I had arrived at my destination. Report the incident, provide the reg, and tell them they could look at the shot of my car to prove it. Then the brainiac can be tolled. wouldn't pay it (cause he would think he was great and got away), and then get a letter in the post demanding double payment :D

I don't remember a truck being able to accelerate away suddenly :P

Yeah, I edited my post when I realised that, hence why it would more be for a car :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

bongi69 wrote: »

I'll admit though, my solutions are more for a car. I can't see an artic being able to build up a gap before the tailgater realised what was going on, or be able to switch lanes quickly

That's all fine, but a truck can't just accelerate away....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I have a mate who is convinced that if your driving with the middle of your car on the white line, you can't get done.

He drives like that for about half a mile before the toll, fubbing moron

sesna wrote: »
    That's all fine, but a truck can't just accelerate away....

Hence the last paragraph of my post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,293 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Nah, he was just suffering from a sense of humour, it'll pass.

You'll catch it some day, terrible affliction so it is. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Stekelly wrote: »
    Surely having cameras catchign rear plates aswell as front is the simplest solution?

exactly. Many ways to skin a cat.

I wonder do they lose enough money to make it worth their while? I bet you if they were losing tens of thousands on this they'd have the new cameras installed in a flash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,426 ✭✭✭testicle

I brake for tailgaters.

That's officially Dangerous Driving. I hope you're locked up, and they throw away the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭sk8board

testicle wrote: »
    That's officially Dangerous Driving. I hope you're locked up, and they throw away the key.

i don't think it matters if you brake or not to be honest; when you see how stupidly dangerous this stunt is in person, as perhaps you already have, you'll see that it really doesn't matter if someone brakes or not, there simply must be an accident soon and that will stop most guys doing it; some always will of course.

its such an opportunistic stunt too; you need a very strategically placed Artic to arrive, right on que as you approach the toll (one without a tailgater already in tow!).
    most guys who do it probably only get a chance 1 in 4 times passing through the toll, so they are already paying much of what they owe.

beggers belief really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

testicle wrote: »
    As opposed to tailgating, which is not?