Irish Taxi Driver stickers

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭jordan..

he is just guaranteeing he will rip you off :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Plebs

and img tags don't work here plebby

Well spotted. Hey, shouldn't you be playing with your online world of warcraft "friends"?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Never played that, ul. In fact, that link leads to nowhere.

Ok. I'm really happy about that. Evidently, you're easily entertained.

2qtbvch.jpg

was waiting for you to search here, poor effort my man, good birthday present that. Ever use one yourself? Wanna?

was waiting for you to search here, poor effort my man. Ever use one yourself?

I'm sure they come in handy when devising battle strategies with your "friends".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Plebs wrote: »
    I'm sure they come in handy when devising battle strategies with your "friends".

Well, at least he has friends.

You're making me wish I had real friends now sexy, but you already played that card.
    http://images.encyclopediadramatica.com/images/thumb/f/f2/Trollface_More_HD.png/400px-Trollface_More_HD.png

Well, at least he has friends.

30 something campers from D6W are highly sought after these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Cmdr Keen wrote: »
    So yeh, just got a cab home there and there was a big sticker on the side saying 'Irish Taxi Driver'... I only noticed it getting out of the taxi. Had I seen it before getting in, I would have gotten a different cab. Somebody told me they'ld seen it before on other cabs also... :confused:

So you got in a taxi had no complaint about the service your driver provided but you would not get his cab again because he put a sticker up in his car declaring himself as an Irish taxi driver and you only got in the car in the first place because you hadn’t noticed it?

What did he do that was so wrong that you wouldn’t get in his cab again? The sticker may be his way of trying to gain an advantage on others that are not Irish or don’t put up a sticker but as it is now a competitive market for taxis I don’t see why you should hold this against him. He’s not stopping you getting into someone’s taxi who is not from Ireland all he is doing is letting you know that he is Irish. If someone chooses to use his taxi ahead of another because of this that is their choice not his. He’s just trying to earn a living like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

As for the querys about taking the 3rd or 4th car in the taxi rank, how would you feel if you were in a que and you were next and the cashier says to the person behind you that they're next??

Miffed to say the least, taxi drivers are the same as any business in a downturn all trying to keep thier heads above water.

To those who wanted the 3rd or 4th taxi in the que what was the reason why you wanted that perticular taxi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I Was VB wrote: »
    As for the querys about taking the 3rd or 4th car in the taxi rank, how would you feel if you were in a que and you were next and the cashier says to the person behind you that they're next??

Miffed to say the least, taxi drivers are the same as any business in a downturn all trying to keep thier heads above water.

To those who wanted the 3rd or 4th taxi in the que what was the reason why you wanted that perticular taxi?

Would assume it is the choice of car.

car/price/laziness/whatever excuse they have. Walking to rank yesterday, guy pulls up and asks if I need a taxi, willingness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I'm guessing that the customer would prefer take a newer,safer and more comfortable car instead of an ould beat up 15 year old Corolla. Makes sense to me, harsh but true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,604 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I don't like getting taxis because the price, but I would prefer an Irish driver. Any time I've had an Irish driver it's usually always an interesting conversation on the journey home.

I'm guessing that the customer would prefer take a newer,safer and more comfortable car instead of an ould beat up 15 year old Corolla. Makes sense to me, harsh but true.

Assumptions are the mother of all feck ups. I want answers to why the people chose to take the 3rd or 4th car back from the people who chose too, as customers can be peculiar at times.

I've never got chosen over by a newer car or a better marque, the only times its happend is when there is more than 4 people looking for a taxi then the job goes to a van or people carrier who would also get passed over if there is a car behind and people not wanting to get into a converted builders van.

Assumptions are the mother of all feck ups. I want answers to why the people chose to take the 3rd or 4th car back from the people who chose too, as customers can be peculiar at times.

I've never got chosen over by a newer car or a better marque, the only times its happend is when there is more than 4 people looking for a taxi then the job goes to a van or people carrier who would also get passed over if there is a car behind and people not wanting to get into a converted builders van.

I have wanted to do it, but after I saw someone else attempt it once, have chosen not to as it led to a row on the rank, with the second driver i.e. the car the person went to arguing that he had to take the first car.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    I have wanted to do it, but after I saw someone else attempt it once, have chosen not to as it led to a row on the rank, with the second driver i.e. the car the person went to arguing that he had to take the first car.

Why did you want to take the second car?

The one Time I really wanted to take the second car was a long time ago, but the first car was quite cramped as I said it was probably ten years ago. I drive myself now so the only time I would be on a rank is at the Airport.

Have to say that is why I like the London system whereby you have a standard black car, which are extremely comfortable, that said cars have improved here in recent years from what I see.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    The one Time I really wanted to take the second car was a long time ago, but the first car was quite cramped as I said it was probably ten years ago. I drive myself now so the only time I would be on a rank is at the Airport.

Have to say that is why I like the London system whereby you have a standard black car, which are extremely comfortable, that said cars have improved here in recent years from what I see.

Personally I wouldnt have a issue with that, i'd like to think that most other taxi drivers wouldnt either. If a person came to me with 2.4 kids, luggage and i was in somthing like a Almera and there was a bigger car behind me i wouldnt have a issue with it.

But somthing like a person not wanting to travel in the 1st car because they dont like the colour is madness (and yes i have seen it happen)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

i'd rather not get a taxi with a sticker like that either.
    i've often had women at a taxi rank advise me not to get into a taxi with a black driver because they rip you off and other such cack, as if they are giving me some friendly tips instead of being complete racists.
    to me, a sticker like that just echoes the sentiment that "irish" taxi drivers are somehow superior to non-irish taxi drivers, and i'd rather not support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I drive a taxi myself, but on a night out I do make a point of skipping the first car if it's a piece of crap...I keep my car in good nick so I think others should do likewise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Personally I wouldnt have a issue with that, i'd like to think that most other taxi drivers wouldnt either. If a person came to me with 2.4 kids, luggage and i was in somthing like a Almera and there was a bigger car behind me i wouldnt have a issue with it.

But somthing like a person not wanting to travel in the 1st car because they dont like the colour is madness (and yes i have seen it happen)

Exactly when you are in a taxi, it is just a taxi, you can pay extra for Silver Service taxi or if you have a lot of luggage and friends you either get a maxi taxi or two taxis. A taxi is a taxi and so long as it is safe and roadworthy then I am not too fussy if it is an E-class or a VW Passat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭D.McC

I do & quite regularly. Generally I'll tell the first taxi driver that I want a fixed rate fare, ask him how much it will be, then ask the next driver if he can beat the price.

By the time I've asked the 3rd or 4th driver, the price has come down, sometimes by €10-15 depending on where I'm going.

I look at it this way - you can take me to my destination at a rate which I find acceptable or you can sit on the rank for another hour or two, twiddling your thumbs & listening to Joe Duffy.

You pompous arrogant snob! Your attitude sickens me. :mad::mad:

How big and righteous you must have felt by having these people sell their services to the lowest bidder.

Perhaps if you hadn’t purchased an over priced house in suburbia and used free and easy credit to fill said house with the trappings of wealth, in an effort to impress neighbours, friends and colleagues you might have the means to pay the service provider what the regulator has already deemed to be a fair and reasonable price.

If the other hand your attempt to reduce the cost of your journey wasn’t just to satisfy some perverted power trip, and money is a difficulty for you, then perhaps you should consider the bus.

On the issue of the ‘Irish Taxi Driver’ sticker, the driver of the car displaying such a sticker might well be a racist, but the person choosing this taxi over another because of the sticker is a racist.

One last thing, just because you can choose the taxi you get into, doesn’t mean you have too.I wonder how many of you would mine someone skipping ahead after you’ve had to wait your turn in a queue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Cmdr Keen wrote: »
    So yeh, just got a cab home there and there was a big sticker on the side saying 'Irish Taxi Driver'... I only noticed it getting out of the taxi. Had I seen it before getting in, I would have gotten a different cab. Somebody told me they'ld seen it before on other cabs also... :confused:
    Well i'd have said fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Stinicker wrote: »
    Exactly when you are in a taxi, it is just a taxi, you can pay extra for Silver Service taxi or if you have a lot of luggage and friends you either get a maxi taxi or two taxis. A taxi is a taxi and so long as it is safe and roadworthy then I am not too fussy if it is an E-class or a VW Passat

But the two examples you've given are excellent cars.

All the same, they are a lot of battered 1995 and older Toyota Carinas out there and that just is not good enough.
    The car is the drivers product, if they can't or won't invest then I can get somebody better especially for a long run like to the airport for me

I look forward to the day when this new 9 year limit comes in to take these off the road.
    The rule will not solve everything but it's a good initiative

And I have skipped the first car in the rank if it's one of these said battered Toyotas.
    Do 15 year old cars even have modern safety features and undergo the same testing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

The best ever was Supervalu. Big banner outside the door "Support Irish jobs". Not 1 person working there was Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Do 15 year old cars even have modern safety features and undergo the same testing?

Just get in the damn taxi regardless of what type of car it is. If I'm abducted in a taxi the last thing I'm going to worry about is wether the taxi driver is Irish or if the car has a roll cage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

I do & quite regularly. Generally I'll tell the first taxi driver that I want a fixed rate fare, ask him how much it will be, then ask the next driver if he can beat the price.

By the time I've asked the 3rd or 4th driver, the price has come down, sometimes by €10-15 depending on where I'm going.

Do you execute a written waiver agreement on each occasion you do this with the driver?

Because if you dont, you are enticing the taxi driver into breaking the law and putting his livelihood in danger? You are also breaching the law yourself.

Or are you telling porkies?