Keen to see what the future may hold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭El Director

pgibbo wrote: »
    Good stuff. Always nice to learn a few neew recipes! :cool:

Have you tried aqua-running? I know a few people that have done it when injured and they swear by it? Something different to the core and swimming perhaps.

I assumes the Streets is out for you this weekend.

Ya and tomorrow's Formula 1 Duathlon too. Was really looking forward to the SoG but that's life. I will be there to cheer ye on anyways ;)

Aquarunning mmmm..... Never thought of that. Perhaps nearer the end of the week I will give it a shot, good thinking Gibbo!

Swim session No 1 of 50 Tri Specific Swimming Workouts

Workout #1
    WARM UP: 6x100’s Free 25 K/25 Drill/50 Free DPS Drills: #1,2) Single Arm Free, 3,4) ¾
    Catchup, 5,6) Fist Drill
    MAIN: 2x(3x200) Free: Maintain Pace
    #1 Cruise +:10
    #2 Cruise +:05
    #3 Cruise
    KICK: 8X50’s (no board, fins ok) Descend 1-4, 5-8
    BREATH CONTROL: 300 Free, bi-lat breathe
    WARM DOWN: 150 Choice

Total 2,650m

DPS Distance per stroke,maximise
    Cruise +10 my 200m time +10 sec rest

First Set of 200

1) 3:35 off 4min
    2) 3:47 off 3:55
    3) 4:06

Second Set of 200

1) 3:51 off 4min
    2) 4:00 off 3:55
    3) 4:06

Kick Descending 1 - 4

1) 1:05
    2) 0:58
    3) 0:54
    4) 0:52

Kick Descending 5 - 8

5) 1:05
    6) 0:59
    7) 0:54
    8) 0:51

Well despite being a member of the NAC for a couple of months now this was only my 3rd 50m pool session. It takes a bit of getting used to it would seem as I actually struggled with my 200's. At least I got the kick pacing perfect. My form and technique I am very happy with.

Anybody interested in those swimming sessions just PM me.

Phsyio Appointment

Well this visit gave me a very interesting insight. My physio is excellent, he is really thorough and he has done triathlons himself. Upon examination he basically straight away noticed that I once tore my cruciate ligament (13 years ago in a Connaught Cup soccer match). This he said had never really healed and was amazed that I played soccer for 12 years after the injury. Basically my left knee hyper extends quite a bit, this means there is a fair bit of 'give' in it, it's kind of 'wobbly' if you will.

This all means that my left side is weaker than the right. He did some tests on both and it became so obvious the my left glute, hamstring and calf were considerably weaker than my right glute, hamstring and calf. He reckoned it flared up on the 100k, hilly bike ride because my hamstring fatigued eventually and tried calling on my calf to do some work. The calf, being a relatively small muscle, soon fatigued too and put strain on my achilles. Makes sense to me now.

He even measured the circumference of both calves, my right is 1.5cm bigger. So in the long term I have to start a strength programme on my left side only, some serious catching up to do. Thats if the old injury permits me to build it, if it doesn't it may mean surgery, but only a small chance of this.

In the medium/immediate term, no biking for a week or next weekend. Stretching the calf and swimming and, to my surprise, he reckons running should be fine.

So tomorrow morning I will try a run. So all in all I am happy. The achilles has always been a problem, now during the off season I will sort it out. I am now thinking of, as hard as it may be, stepping away from the half ireman :(
    I would be disappointed, but because of all these missed races I am now more focused than ever on Budapest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Interesting post ElD. Good stuff to know and a very productive visit to the physio!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Good to hear you can do some running now. Sounds like it was a very worthwhile visit.
    Where you in the NAC yesterday morning (Wed) in the 4th or 5th lane, in a black hat and black goggles? I was there from around 7-7:45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Glad to hear you are getting sorted. I ve the exact same weakness - all down my left side. Have had multiple hamstring tears, groin tears, problem with my left achilles also. always on that side. Its mad how everything is connected even years later

6k Z2 Run

Took it nice and easy this morning and felt fine...at first. Alas, I was reduced to a walk with 1.5k to go. Pretty devastating having to walk home to be honest. The achilles just got progressively worse.

So phone call to my phsyio and he says I will have to take a two week run and bike break to give it a chance. Swimming is fine and he suggested some cross training in the gym to keep fitness levels up in the mean time. I really have lost fitness, it's four weeks since Athlone and I've damn all done and I was tapering for two weeks before that. So 6 weeks with little or no intense training has left me feeling unfit at least.

So 5 and a half weeks out for Budapest I need a plan, a new plan. After watching the A - Team film at the weekend I know the importance of a plan. Also after watching the new Karate Kid film, not as good as the first but still the message is there: Don't give up. Not my style anyway. So after two weeks I will have 3 and a half to prepare, provided the achilles heals, I know this can be done.

The plan in the meantime is simple enough. Two sessions per day:

1) Swim - will use my coaches sessions and the tri specific sessions I have
    2) Gym - twice a week - Back to AA strength phase (to keep power up for the bike especially) followed by my stretch and core exercises.
    - three times a week - rowing machine/gym bikes/cross trainers for 20 mins each, provided these do not hurt the achilles, followed by my stretch and core exercises.

Felt a bit down earlier but the new plan has focused me again. Was meant to do an open water session this eve but just don't feel like it so taking the evening off and will start new programme tomorrow.

I did learn a lot about myself yesterday and it's a positive thing that I now know what to do to fix this recurring problem for me. Also the physio said my case was so interesting he would like to present it to junior physio's!

Just going to answer ye're PM's nw re the swim sessions and the physio. Also thanks for the support and interest guys :)

Macanri wrote: »
    Good to hear you can do some running now. Sounds like it was a very worthwhile visit.
    Where you in the NAC yesterday morning (Wed) in the 4th or 5th lane, in a black hat and black goggles? I was there from around 7-7:45.

Thats right dude! I have a big beard now too! Will be there again tomorrow, say hello next time and we can have a race! :cool:

LOL, yea will do.
    I can't imagine how frustrating the achilles injury must be for you, but fair play to you, you have a good attitude towards it and are going to make the best of a bad situation.

I have been doing a bit of research and remember reading this article

http://www.trainingbible.com/joesblog/2007/01/cleat-position.html

Very interesting and could be the answer to my achilles/calf problem. It could also bring about fresher running calves and more power while on the bike. Has anyone any thoughts on it?

Going to put this one to the wider boards personal and see what they think also so you can answer there perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Sorry to hear that the achilles gave you jip on the run. At least you have a plan to focus on now to get you over the next 2 weeks.

Maybe you should try and simulate the midfoot cleat position by just cycling in runners on the flat to see how it feels?

pgibbo wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that the achilles gave you jip on the run. At least you have a plan to focus on now to get you over the next 2 weeks.

Maybe you should try and simulate the midfoot cleat position by just cycling in runners on the flat to see how it feels?

Thats a great idea P, thanks. I will give that a go.

Swim Session NAC 0th Aug

Workout #2

WARM UP: 300 done as: Every 3rd length Kick, 200 every 2nd length Drill, 100 Swim, build
    MAIN: 4x100 1x50
    3x100 2x50
    2x100 3x50
    1x100 4x50
    100’s: @ cruise +:15, Descend 1-4; 50’s: Free @ cruise- fast finish
    BREATH CONTROL: 400 Breathe every 3-5-7-3 strokes by 100
    WARM DOWN: 300m Free, Finger Tip Drag every second length.

1) 100m 1:49
    2) 100m 1:52
    3) 100m 1:54
    4) 100m 1:52
    5) 50m 0:54

1) 100m 1:47
    3) 100m 1:52
    4) 50m 0:51
    5) 50m 0:54

1) 100m 1:47
    3) 50m 0:50
    4) 50m 0:53
    5) 50m 0:52

1) 100m 1:50
    2) 50m 0:55
    3) 50m 0:51
    4) 50m 0:56
    5) 50m 0:52

Tried descending the 50's but it was a bit all over the place :rolleyes: but really enjoyed the session. It doesn't help when you have Bjorn Ludick in the lane next to you, it all looks why to easy for that lad, so smooth and swift.

Gym Session

20 min cross trainer
    20 min bike
    20 min row machine

(all terribly boring!)

Followed by core workout.

Well as ye know my prep for The worlds hasn't been perfect. But then again neither was Athlone and I did well. This time it's different however, this is an injury and it is lasting longer than pneumonia. Well thats what ye already know.
    Here's what ye don't.

Since last Friday I have done nothing until today, here's why.
    Fri Night - drinking from 9 to 4:30am
    Sat Night - drinking from 7 to 2am
    Sun - too hungover for any thing
    Mon - no motivation

When I drink by the way my diet is sh!t. It doesn't end there however. I committed to two days/nights of drinking months back for a good mates 30th (always giving out that I don't go out drinking anymore) so I said I will do this Thurs and Fri, can't back out now.

So I am not helping myself am I? After Friday night I am putting a ban on the alcohol. I pray that next Monday I can get through an easy 30k on the bike.

Todays Sessions 10th Aug

Workout #3
    WARM UP: 200 Free
    4x(4x25, :10 Rest btw each 25)
    Set #1- Kick
    #2,3- Drill, choice - I choose Single arm and Finger tip drills
    #4- Swim, Build
    MAIN: 3x(4x100’s, 4x25’s)
    100’s: Free @ Cruise +:05
    25’s: Free @ Cruise +:10 Descend 1 - 4
    Cool Down 100 Free

Main Set Times

100's
    1) 1:47
    2) 1:41
    3) 1:41
    4) 1:40

25's
    1) 0:24
    2) 0:25
    3) 0:23
    4) 0:22

100's
    1) 1:37
    2) 1:38
    3) 1:39
    4) 1:41

25's
    1) 0:25
    2) 0:24
    3) 0:23
    4) 0:22

100's
    1) 1:39
    2) 1:40
    3) 1:43
    4) 1:47

25's
    1) 0:26
    2) 0:25
    3) 0:24
    4) 0:21

Really was not looking forward to this session but to my surprise I actually enjoyed it :) Next time I need to bring down that 100 OFF times to 1:50.

Again my pacing in the 25's were spot on so another positive.

Gym Session

20 min cross trainer
    20 min bike
    20 min row machine

Followed by core workout.

Weds 11th Aug

Workout #4
    WARM UP: 400, every 4th length Backstroke
    DRILL: 2x350’s Free
    #1- 25 Kick/25 Swim/25 Kick/50 Swim/25Kick/75 Swim/25 Kick/100 Swim
    #2- 25 Fist/25 Swim/25 Fist/50 Swim/25 Fist/75 Swim/25 Fist/100 Swim
    MAIN: 3x[(4x50’s) + (4x100’s)]
    50’s: @ Cruise + :05:
    1st time through DPS
    2nd time through work on stroke timing
    3rd time through Fast turns
    100’s #1 @ Cruise +:05
    #2 @ Cruise-:05
    #3 @ Cruise
    KICK: 8x50’s
    #1-3: Kick/Free by 25
    #4: Swim Free or Backstroke
    #5-8 Easy Free or Backstroke
    WARM DOWN: 100 Easy
    TOTAL: 3400

Haven't time to put in the actual times of my main set. Felt like a brick in the pool today for some reason, still got through it. Think I will sub another drill in instead of Fist one anymore. Don't see the point of it apart from clubbering other swimmers and that just isn't me, I would prefer to be an assertive swimmer instead.

Strength Maintenance Session

followed by

Core Session

Well got out of that two day bender thank god and completely resting up now until Monday. No swimming or core work, want to give the achilles every chance. I was feeling something in the calf when pushing off in the pool so not going to chance it.

Testing the injury on Monday, easy 20/30k on the bike, if that goes ok then 3/4k run on Tues. Iwill then have 3 and a half weeks prep for Budapest, I will use the rest of the week as base and then it will be all about speed and power right up until the Thurs I fly out. Obviously I won't need a long taper, my taper will start on that Thursday. If all this goes according to plan then I still believe I can hit my previously stated targets, usually on the day of important races I find something extra so I will be counting on that.

If on the other hand things don't work out next week then it might be time to call a spade a spade. It will be very disappointing and I'm trying not to think of that but I have to be realistic at the same time. Next post will be my report on how I got on on the trial spin, please keep those fingers crossed :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Fingers crossed for you El D!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

I don't give advice much... as I have very little to back it up but. It takes at least 2 weeks to see the benefits of a hard training session. I thinking doing hard sessions up to a few days before an A race would have a negative affect.

The 2/3 weeks lead up to an A race should be about maintaining as much fitness as possible while building form. You will lose fitness but its about managing the loss and minimizing it to get the best form/fitness mix.

Thanks mloc, I agree with what you are saying, it is true but in normal circumstances. Since Athlone (5 and a half weeks ago) I have not been able to do much training, my overall fitness has dropped considerably so I think I will be safe enough. For me it isn't about perfect/ideal prep (no choice here obviously), at this stage I just want to be on the start line on the morning of the 12 of Sept.

at this stage I just want to be on the start line on the morning of the 12 of Sept.

You will be, keep the faith man!

Easy Bike

Distance 34.5km; Time 1hr11min54sec; Cadence Ave 93

Didn't feel any niggle in the calf or achilles. Thank God. I plan a Z1/Z2 4k jog this evening so I know i'm not out of the woods yet. I am not going to get carried away yet. I still won't allow myself to dream/visualise about Budapest (the disappointment would be too crushing :() But this is the first positive in 4 weeks for me, so right now I am happy :)

Heading home to the west now, nobody at home so it might just provide me with the relaxed environment I need to recover.

Distance 4.5k; Time 23 min

Well this didn't goes as well. The achilles started to hurt after 3.5k, it wasn't killing me but it was getting worse. So I will leave the running for a couple of days.

I have decided that I am going to go to Budapest, either way, I mean its paid for and all so I may as well. Noticed that for next years Euro AG's the top 15 in the national series will be getting the offers (depending application). So it's not just the rest of this season up in the air as I have only done 3 NS races thus far.

Anyway no point worrying about it, most important to get the injury right first.

Well this didn't goes as well. The achilles started to hurt after 3.5k, it wasn't killing me but it was getting worse. So I will leave the running for a couple of days.

I have decided that I am going to go to Budapest, either way, I mean its paid for and all so I may as well. Noticed that for next years Euro AG's the top 15 in the national series will be getting the offers (depending application). So it's not just the rest of this season up in the air as I have only done 3 NS races thus far.

Anyway no point worrying about it, most important to get the injury right first.

Yeah just rest it a while longer dude. I was going to go for a light jog tonight but decided on one more day of rest on it and see how I fare with a jog tomorrow. Def the right decision to go to Budapest man. It will be a good trip and even if you can't push the run you can just enjoy the race because you deserve to be there.

I noticed too that its more relaxed to make the AG team next year. Top 15 for Euros and top 10 in the NS for worlds. Maybe more boardsies representing in 2011! I only have 3 races scored too as I wasn't bothered about the NS, they have yet to add one and DCT will make 5. I'll have a think about it after Budapest and if I feel like doing it all again I'll slot in to a late season NS race. All depends on what I line up for 2011 Goals.

TI have fixed up the website properly at last. Took long enough but hopefully the have a good techie head administering it.

Easy Bike

Distance 34.5km; Time 1hr11min54sec; Cadence Ave 93

Didn't feel any niggle in the calf or achilles. Thank God. I plan a Z1/Z2 4k jog this evening so I know i'm not out of the woods yet. I am not going to get carried away yet. I still won't allow myself to dream/visualise about Budapest (the disappointment would be too crushing :() But this is the first positive in 4 weeks for me, so right now I am happy :)

Heading home to the west now, nobody at home so it might just provide me with the relaxed environment I need to recover.

I was glad to hear that^^:), but sorry to hear that >>:(

Hope it clears up for you soon. An unlucky season for you injury and sicknesswise.

Thurs 19th Aug

Distance 35k; Time 1hr05min; HR Zone 2.9z ; Speed Ave/Max (km/h) 30.4/61;

Straped up the achilles for this one and although my legs felt heavy and sluggish I didn't feel any problems with the achilles. So much so I actually forgot about it during the cycle (two days ago on the cycle it was all I could think about!). So I am happy enough with it on the bike. Later this evening I will try another slow, easy 4k run and see where I am. Perhaps the strapping helped, I also have compression calf guards now too and (upon Interested's advice) I soak my foot in Epsom Salts. I am actually feeling some relief from this for some reason.

I have put on about 4kg over the last few weeks, this was mainly due to a loss in motivation. I really could have kept up the swimming but didn't. I think when your in this position it is very difficult. I cannot even visualise/daydream about Budapest because I don't know if I will be fit. This makes prep so difficult and it is hard to keep spirits up, but I am coming around to the fact now that I will be far from 100% (who ever is really?) and I am coming up with ways that just might allow me to finish out the season (basically get me over the next 4 weeks).

I am going to stock up on Nurofen Plus, to be used before and after races and I am going to strap up the achilles, well thats it basically so far. Thanks to all you boardsies, if I didn't have this log to put my thoughts down I'd crack up!! I try to not complain to family,GF,friends too much as people don't want to hear someone moan all the time, thanks again :)

Easy 4k

Ankle strapped, Pace was 4:30/km and didn't feel any niggle :) think I might have turned the corner at last. Still I'm going to ease back in, no point in bursting myself now for Budapest, I will be glad just to get back racing again.

So a swim session and an easy 8/7k tomorrow.

Cool, good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Nice one, easy does it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Great news. Nothing daft now! :D

Busy day meant I struggled to get anything in today. Also decided an 8k run would be just too much yet and I am probably best run every other day, just to be careful.

Only had 30 mins so here it is:

Warm Up 200m

Drill Finger Drag 100m
    Drill Single Arm 100m

TT 750m Time 13:47;

I just wanted to see how far off I am where I want to be. It's actually not that bad and I can take some comfort from it.

I actually feel a weight lifted off my shoulders since I decided that there is no point killing myself now for Buda. I am really just looking forward t participating and I am already putting plans in place for next year. I am planning for big things next year and actually looking forward to winter training. I'm mad by the way :o

Saturday 21st Aug

FIrst brick session since Donegal, 4 weeks ago. Again legs felt heavy and fitness is very low. I wanted to push it a bit more, just to see how the old achilles is. So I wasn't really holding back too much, a little but not much.

40k Bike

Distance 40; Time 1hr14min51sec; Heart Rate Zone Ave/Max 3.0z/4.5z; Speed Ave/Max(km/h) 32.2/55.5;

The first 20k was into a very strong head wind and was a challenge, the out and back course is very much 'up and down'.

4k Run

Distance 4k; Time 17:19; HR Zone Ave 4.5z;

Well this was a test of my strapped up achilles and still no niggle :) so I think now I can come up with some sort of 3 week plan to take me up to Buda.

Tomorrow was supposed to be my first Half Ironman. Alas I won't be there :( There is always next year however, thats the beauty of life :)