Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mw2 How do I get started online?

• 10-08-2010 03:54PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭

So I've finally got around to starting online, and fear I've left it way too late. This is my first time playing any COD, so I'm still getting used to the controls, and tactics etc., but I'm just getting slaughtered online. I've it to a level 4, everyone else seems to be up in the 50-70 area! :eek: How am I meant to improve if I cant even get started?

Is there private beginners group matches or anything to help me learn how to get started? I still don't know which weapons are best, and my aim is crap. Most i've managed is 3 kills in a row, and i'm fairly sure two of those were accidents from mashing the keys in panic :( :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Keep playing, I was fairly late to the multiplayer party as well, game came out last November and it was March before I started playing online. Be prepared to get annhilated most games but do persevere, I was ready to not play anymore a few times, but once you start levelling up and unlocking the good guns and perks it gets brilliant. some newbie tips:

1. stick with your team, dont go lonewolfing it when you dont know the maps, if you watch where your teammates are try hanging around nearby to pick off anyone they might miss.

2. play some private games with just yourself in the match, its a great way to explore the maps and learn the nooks and crannies,and to practice aiming at stuff, getting a feel for the recoil on the guns etc. If you set up a private match then go into match preferences and set Spectator mode to Free, you can fly around the map at the beginning before you pick your class, its dead handy for getting a birdseye view of the area and seeing where alleys and paths lead.

3. Camp, its frowned upon, but newbies can get away with it, just find an area and defend it, let your teammates worry about running and gunning.

4. Practice, practice, practice. its a hard slog at the beginning, but once you start finding techniques that work its hugely rewarding (and very frustrating :P)

5. youtube is your friend, watch guys like Chris Smoove or Sandy Ravage, who are pretty much professional COD players, you can learn a lot from watching their techniques, Ravage especially, the man is a legend.

The matchmaking system is very unfair, you think its bad playing against guys who are level 50 and up, once you hit level 70 you can enter Prestige mode, that means you get all your weapons and perks set back to level 1, and go around again. theres 10 prestige levels overall, I', just about to hit my fifth so by that measuring I'm at level 350 :P and I still consider myself a newbie compared to some guys...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭raze

There's no rank-based matchmaking, so basically you're going to get raped for quite a while.
    You can add me (PSN: see_fore), can show you spots on the maps, do a few 1v1s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Randy Shafter

Hey Zuroph. When i started playing online at first i got slaughtered by everyone! The best bit of advice i can give you is just keep playing no matter how much of a beating you are taking. The more you play the better you'll become with weapons and tactics. You might even come up with tactics of your own! With regards to playing against people of the same rank, if you know anyone who is in the same boat as yourself you could have private matches with just them. That way everyone is on a level playing field. Just dont boost! :D

If you want to get an idea of each map layout i suggest playing a private match on your own. You'll be able to get a feel for each map without people shooting at you.

Weapon wise, you can't go wrong with the m4. Good rate of fire and automatic. The FAMAS is more accurate but thats a 3 round burst weapon. So just keep at it and you'll be on your way in no time!
    P.s. Mercenary team deathmatch usually has a mix of newbies and experienced players. You may find that helpful.

Most of the boardsies are online the majority of nights, my psn is Krudler89, jump into a few games with us and we'll show you the ropes :D do you have a headset, they're not essential but handy, we do have messing around games sometimes as well so they're handy as you can practice without having it affect public matches, I can be something for you to aim at if you like :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

any bluetooth headset for a phone will work wont it? in which case i've one plugged in to charge. I'll add a few names there so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭ronanc15

Im absolutely sh1t at first person shooter games and COD is no exception to this but its still great craic online, stick with it and you'll defo enjoy it!!

PSN: ronanc15

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Krudler basically covered everything but I'll just my take on it anyway.
    • I always suggest to new players to go into private matches and just have a look around in domination. Just stroll around the A, B and C flags and get familiarized with certain features/points in the map. This what I've doing since COD2! :P

Knowing the routes to go and not to go(ie: majority of the time avoid the middle and stick to the outskirts).

After you have a general outline for most maps I recommend Sam and his vids regarding maps, some very good pointers, there are quite a lot of videos to watch but again I very much recommend them -

• Guns.. well since you won't have many unlocked. I recommend the Famas or UMP with the Spas shotgun as your secondary. You really cannot go much wrong with those tbf.
    • Radar. Don't have your eyes focused entirely on radar, but have a quick glance every now and again especially when you hear gun fire close by + see red dots on the screen.
    • Don't run around sprinting like some headless chicken if possible. Take your time, walk around the corners and expect more often than not an enemy is nearby or coming in your direction.
      Lastly, try and not take it too seriously . If you stick with it and learn from your mistakes(suggest watching the killcams if you are continually dying, I know I still do despite not dying a lot) you'll be grand.

Ever need someone to play with and if I'm on MW2, invite us for a game or two. PSN is in my sig :)

Look just use the SPAS shotgun, you have it on the Grenadier class from lvl1, its awesome, me and others swear by it :D

raze wrote: »
    There's no rank-based matchmaking, so basically you're going to get raped for quite a while.
    You can add me (PSN: see_fore), can show you spots on the maps, do a few 1v1s.

sorry no mic yet, but im learning !!! cheers for advice so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,130 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Zuroph add me there will ya...I'm DJKendo from Irish Poker Boards ;)

OasisOrBlur is my PSN name :)

Once you get the layout of the maps its becomes great fun, none of them are particularly gigantic so getting around them isnt hard, have fun with it though, but be prepared to die, a lot :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

krudler wrote: »
    Once you get the layout of the maps its becomes great fun, none of them are particularly gigantic so getting around them isnt hard, have fun with it though, but be prepared to die, a lot :D

Shh. Don't tell him about Fuel, let him find out himself ;)

So raze has seen me in action, I'm shockin bad. How is everyone else aim so much better, am I doing something wrong?! I seem to be spraying bullets everywhere while everyone else is on target.

zuroph wrote: »
    So raze has seen me in action, I'm shockin bad. How is everyone else aim so much better, am I doing something wrong?! I seem to be spraying bullets everywhere while everyone else is on target.

Takes practice really. Try aiming your gun before you turn around the corner that way you might lessen the disadvantage you have over other players who've been playing this game for months (and cod in general for years maybe).

is it just a case of l1 to roughly aim, and side step around corners?

burst firing is the way to go, dont just hold down the fire button, hold it, release it, hold it again, you'll get the hang of it, also when you're running try to aim you crosshairs at where enemies may be, theres no point running down a corridor looking at a side wall, know where the entrances are, and going around corners a stun grenade or flashbang will let you know if someones waiting for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Even i was ****e when i first started MW2, and i've been playing fps games since quakeworld(PC -> console takes time too!). Just takes a bit of practice and learning the maps, MW2 isnt that bad with the whole level thing, as you get some decent guns from the get go, i'd recommend getting the UMP and using the siliencer once you unlock it, then just play slowly, camping round corners etc..

krudler wrote: »
    burst firing is the way to go, dont just hold down the fire button, hold it, release it, hold it again, you'll get the hang of it, also when you're running try to aim you crosshairs at where enemies may be, theres no point running down a corridor looking at a side wall, know where the entrances are, and going around corners a stun grenade or flashbang will let you know if someones waiting for you.

Spray and pray !! Thats why i use the extended mags on the AK !! Full map spraying.

even with my terrible play today i do feel a bit of an improvement, and am trying to use the deathstreaks to my advantage too to copycat steal some goodies.

also, how do you send messages to other users while in the game lobby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

even with my terrible play today i do feel a bit of an improvement, and am trying to use the deathstreaks to my advantage too to copycat steal some goodies.

Little by little! Don't entirely focus on the deathstreaks it'll be almost as if you're dying in purpose to achieve streaks!

I'd reccomend playing single player and spec ops too. Then you'll get a feel for what it's like to encounter the enemy, raise the gun, sight him and fire. Obviously the amount of damage the other can take in online will be different but it'll give you a feel for the game.

Also, stick to a gun you like - get to know them. Get to know the maps. Take your time in games.

When you're starting out you'll die quite a bit, it's natural. You'll know after several more weeks if you'll like it properly. If not, don't play it, you'll only fustrate yourself and the game will become immensely unenjoyable.

To message the users - highlight the name, press Y to view their gamercard (Y on the xbox - not sure of PS) and you should be able to send a message.

Press the centre ps button, go to the far right menu, creat message.

Choose "Enter Online ID", write in the name of the person you want to message, type your "WTF hax" or whatever, haha.

Akward I know but that's the only way it works afaik. That or invest in a mic and tell them a message during the game, or after if you're against them.Mics are half the fun, mid-game banter and tactical callouts in objective games.

will the bluetooth headset for the mobile be adequate, or should i get one with a longer reach mic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭rampantglory

i got turtle beach p21's headset surround sound over headphones and quality mic!!
    im in a few clans over 30's only lol
    add me on psn (pm me for psn name) and i can help level you up
    as to camping to score points i never do it i dont think its the best way to score, i stopped on prestige 9 level 70 run n gun all the way

most importantly enjoy the games dont get wound up --- and its the winning that counts
    good luck fella

Running and gunning as a noobie will just end in him getting really frustrated, slow paced style of play suits beginners alot more.

i started as a newb and always run n gunned got killed a few times but killed others more i understand where ure coming from magill but it come down to a difference of gaming style and opinion just up to the player !!!!

yeah I'm guessing a dedicated headset would make sense, hear the little clues to stuff in the game

Magill wrote: »
    Spray and pray !! Thats why i use the extended mags on the AK !! Full map spraying.

camping ??? lol
    gotta agree with the ump n silencer unreal weapon outpowers most assualt rifles!!

zuroph ---yeah I'm guessing a dedicated headset would make sense, hear the little clues to stuff in the game
    ya you wouldnt belive how many times i hear ppl "sneaking" up behind me etc great help!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

Aiming just takes a bit of time. Even now whenever I use a gun I haven't used in a while my aim does be shocking for a while. Also use cover as much as you can, running around in the open is a gonna get you killed a lot.

Just keep at it and you will improve and the most important thing as mentioned already is to have fun.

Add me if you want, PSN in sig.

uav is the best and most underated killstreak ALWAYS have it equipped !!!!

that should have been my one and only piece of advice