Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Magee to defend EBU title in Dublin, September 11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Solid card. Magee should do a job on yer man and it would be great for irish boxing if Kiko looked impressive. His last high profile win was against Dunne and id like to see more of the same. It would provide the high profile name, title and fight that the likes of Casey, Hyland or Frampton need to become household names. Although they mightnt be the only super bantams interested! :D

Looking forward to seeing long-fitzgerald and how well the cubans get on. Garcia looled very average in Limerick last i seen him but i know he hads bags of potential and would like to see him looking like fulfilling it.
    Fitzpatrick and Prunty round off a not to be missed show. Should Prunty get by Durable Johnny this weekend he should look to position himself for an Irish title eliminator with a decent win in the stadium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

Since this is a Brian Peters bill why the hell is Andy Murray not on it???

I know he's had 4 fights this year but against 3 bums and the Fagan fight only lasted 5 rounds and Andy had an easy night of it at that, never really been pushed by Fagan.

Keeping him active even against second rate fighters is better than being out of the ring anyway.

jimjo wrote: »
    Since this is a Brian Peters bill why the hell is Andy Murray not on it???

I know he's had 4 fights this year but against 3 bums and the Fagan fight only lasted 5 rounds and Andy had an easy night of it at that, never really been pushed by Fagan.

Keeping him active even against second rate fighters is better than being out of the ring anyway.

He may have a card lined up with Murray headlining or high up the card soon. If he was to add him they'd have to find an opponent willing to fight for sandwiches as the stadium only holds 2,000 people and there are quite a few respectable names / rated fighters on the card already. I'd rather see Peters invest in better opposition for the cubans than Put on a competitve spar involving Murray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Martinez / Martirosyean is an interesting fight. Magee's opponent doesn't look great, he has lost to Stieglitz, Braehmer and Sylvester twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

Has the makes of a very fun nights boxing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 taaffe

In fairness I dont think that Kiko had much of a teast against Dunne ... He spent more time warming up than he did in the ring

taaffe wrote: »
    In fairness I dont think that Kiko had much of a teast against Dunne ... He spent more time warming up than he did in the ring

In fairness though a lot of fighters spend more time warming up than they do in the ring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

whoa dodgy link brother!! i thought macklin was out of birmingham :eek:

makl wrote: »
    whoa dodgy link brother!! i thought macklin was out of birmingham :eek:

should be sorted now! ;)

http://brianpeterspromotions.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=206&Itemid=31

Running Order for Saturday's Hunky Dorys Fight Night - First fight at 5:40:
    (1) Acosta V Chacin
    (2) Barrett V Ziausys
    (3) Garcia V Cruz
    (4) Hyland V DaLuz
    (5) Martinez V Martirosyan
    (6) Fitzgerald V Long
    (7) Fitzpatrick V Radziszewski
    (8) Magee V Aramian
    (Swing Bout) Prunty V Malek SUBJECT TO CHANGE

Looks to be a good night.
    Hopefully Kiko will win in style tonight to keep his mystique he has with the general Irish public, a fight with Casey, Hyland (or is that Hyland, Casey :P ... careful now) or even poonswat could be on the cards.

Magee is looking for world honours so will be out to impress tonight as he defends the prestigious EBU belt.

Fitzgerald-Long for the formers Irish title will be a cracker if the first two bouts are anything to go by.

The cubans and Hyland are in against journeyman opposition. While the script is pick up the win, the trick is to do it and look goo earning a few highlights on RTE. Same applies for Coleman Barret who is calling out the likes of Rogie and McBride.

Brendan Fitzgerald debuts against Mariusz Radziszewski who is no stanger to Irish shores after going 4 with Paddy McDonagh in Cork. The pole is no world beater by any means but round 1 will the 27th in his career whereas Fitz takes to the pro ring for the first time. Keep an eye on this talented prospect.

In the swing bout Gavin Prunty looks to send a message to his Irish welterweight rivals as he takes on Arek Malek. A fighter who has shared the ring with Carl Johanson, Steffy Bull, Nigel Wright, Colin Lynes, Neil Sinky Sinclair and Gianluca Branco. Has he won any of them? No, but will no doubt have picked up a few tricks on the way that he will use in his attempt to out a much needed W on his ledger.

Details, photos and quotes from the weigh in

http://boxing-ireland.com/20100911_magee_aramian_weigh_in_58.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Details, photos and quotes from the weigh in

http://boxing-ireland.com/20100911_magee_aramian_weigh_in_58.html
    Wiilie to get a shot against Martinez (provided Martinez wins tonight) ahead of Hyland.:D:D:D:D
    Yeaaaaaaaahhhhh!!!!!!!!!
    That has to be in Limerick!!!!!!!
    Feckin excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Kiko / Arsen is imo the pick of all of tonights fights, two good fighters that will give hell to win the European title. Jason Booth / Steve Molitor could be good aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Can't wait to see some boxing tonight !!! Enjoyed reading your piece on the site sligo, very good.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Magee completely on top.. Won every round... hard to see what tactics the other lad is using? seems way out of his league..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

****e coverage as usual. I won't name names, as I know this is a pretty public site. I love Bernard Dunne's input - he tells it like it is.

I have no idea how the Armenian got that fight, shocking excuse for a boxer. I would like to have seen Magee use the jab with more intent and put his body into his punches more. He can only beat what is put in front of him I suppose. He should go for a world title while the big boys are occupied with the Super 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Hopefully he'll get a shot at Sartison next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,888 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Well well, another Hunky Dory's con job. That main event was a sham. That guy was nothing but a punch bag. Magee did what he had to, but these ****ing disgraceful mismatches really are pathetic.

If Magee had a punch, that guy would have lasted 10 seconds.

BTW, I was watching this in a pub with no volume. What was the commentary from Dave and Jimmy like? The usual bollox hype?

I did enjoy the Kiko fight. Where would anyone pay to see Kiko, though?
    Dublin is a handy pay day for these types of shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

They were saying Aramian was World class:pac:

Ah no they weren't, but let's just say you were as well off with the volume on mute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,471 ✭✭✭megadodge

I did enjoy the Kiko fight. Where would anyone pay to see Kiko, though?

I'm not sure what you mean by that? Seriously.

If you're saying Kiko is not the sort of fighter you'd pay to see I'm surprised. I think he's an excellent fighter to watch as he gives it his all, he's a hard puncher and can be take it as well. His fights are usually guranteed action.

The clips RTE showed looked very good to me.

Fitzgerald-Long was fight of the night imo. Should have been given more rte time but i suppose they building up Kiko vs Casey / Hyland. Casey is the likely candidate, he was practically in the ring before the final bell was rang :D congratulating Kiko. That'll be a big night in Limerick.

Wouldnt it be great if Magee got his world title shot in Belfast or Dublin, what a night that would be. He could only beat what was in front of him in the stadium but its a pity he didnt get a proper stoppage as Sartison would need more convincing to stay on his stool.

In brief:
    Acosta kept his 100% stoppage record, Garcia put on a display. Debutant Brendan Fitzpatrick gave a great account of himself forcing a stoppage in the second. Coleman Barret worked on improving his game as he picked up a decision. Paul Hyland beat the slick Robert Daluz over 8 and Gavin Prunty topped the night off with one of his best performances yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,888 ✭✭✭✭walshb

megadodge wrote: »
    I'm not sure what you mean by that? Seriously.

If you're saying Kiko is not the sort of fighter you'd pay to see I'm surprised. I think he's an excellent fighter to watch as he gives it his all, he's a hard puncher and can be take it as well. His fights are usually guranteed action.

The clips RTE showed looked very good to me.

I just think that Kiko is a the typical ten a penny fighter. There must be hundreds of Kiko's all over Mexico and Thailand and these places. Good little scrapper, no doubt, but real real typical. His fight the other night was good, but like I said, I doubt anywhere else would pay for to watch a Kiko
    Martinez. He's juts a guy who throws punches. End of! Casey is similar, but from what I have seen of
    Casey, he is that bit more appealing, at least to me.

walshb wrote: »
    I just think that Kiko is a the typical ten a penny fighter. There must be hundreds of Kiko's all over Mexico and Thailand and these places. Good little scrapper, no doubt, but real real typical. His fight the other night was good, but like I said, I doubt anywhere else would pay for to watch a Kiko
    Martinez. He's juts a guy who throws punches. End of! Casey is similar, but from what I have seen of
    Casey, he is that bit more appealing, at least to me.

I agree that there is nothing outstanding about Kiko. He is a good fighter who can bang and got lucky one night. However because his style is very basic and even primitive at times I think it makes for great fights, there is no magic footwork, confusing angles or spoiling. He comes out of the corner to punch the other guy in the head and will procees to do so until the last bell or he is horizontal.
    Himself and BIG BANG!!! will make for an excellent match up, I see a whole lot of in fighting. Casey got to where he is the hard way and hasnt been pampered as a pro.