If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Keen to see what the future may hold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

No prob Mac only too glad to be of help!

Well with 8 weeks to go (sounds familiar) here is my plan. I will train by feel mostly and listen to the body so these are I guess more guidelines than anything else. But first I've identified what I need to do in each discipline:

Bike

1)Hill Interval - Just to develop some more power, for 3 weeks, doing the figure of 8 circuit I posted a few weeks back, 3 laps to start build to 5

2) Speed Sessions - To replace hill sessions in 3 weeks

3) 1 or 2 long cycles - Thurs morn with Swords group, Sat/Sun on TT Bike

4) Tempo Session - 5k TT, to replace Thurs morning group ride after Groomsport. Start with one 5k TT build to 3 x 5k in one session.

Run

1) LSR - Starting at around 1 hour building to 90 min.

2) Speed/Track Session

3) Tempo Run - Going to experiment here, I would love to run 3:30 km's up to 5k first, 8k then and maybe in a year or so 10k! So what I purpose to do is-start at 1k at 3:30, if I can do that then move up to 1.5k until I make that then 2k etc.... Maybe a little primitive but gonna give it a go anyway :rolleyes:

Swims

3 coached sessions and 1 OW

Week 1 (this week)

Mon - Long run (didn't happen)

Tues - Hill Intervals

Weds - Swim session
    - Aquathlon

Thurs - Long group ride
    - Run

Fri - Hungover :o head to Donegal for training weekend

Sat - 3k sea swim/100k bike/20 min run

Sun - Sea swim/climb mount errigal

Week 2

Mon - Swim coached
    - LSR

Tues - Hill Intervals
    - Tempo run

Weds - Swim coached
    - Swords race

Thurs - Group cycle
    - Run speed session

Fri - Swim coached
    - OW swim

Sat - Lough Neagh Olympic Tri (NS) (B)

Week 3

Mon - Coached Swim
    - LSR

Tues - Hill Intervals
    - Tempo Run

Weds - Coached Swim
    - Duathlon

Thurs - Group ride
    - Run speed session

Fri - Coached swim
    - OW

Sat - Streets of Galway 8k

Week 4

Mon - Coached swim
    - LSR

Tues - Cycle speed session
    - Tempo run

Wed - Coached swim
    - Swords cycle race

Thurs - Group ride
    - Run speed

Fri - Coached swim
    - OW

Sat - Long cycle TT bike

Week 5 (Rest/Easy)

Mon - Coached swim

Tues - Tempo run

Weds - Bray Aqua

Thurs - 30/40k easy TT spin

Fri - rest day

Sat - short brick

Sun - [COLOR="rgb(255, 0, 255)"]Groomsport HalfIre(NS+NC) (C)[/COLOR]

Week 6

Weds - Swords race

Thurs - Bike tempo
    - Run speed

Fri - Coached swim (back to school :rolleyes:)
    - OW

Sat - Short brick on DCT course in park

Sun -[COLOR="rgb(255, 0, 255)"] DCT (NS+NC) (B)[/COLOR]

Week 7

Mon - Coached swim

Tues - Bike speed
    - Tempo run

Weds - coached swim
    - Last LSR

Thurs - Bike tempo
    - Run speed

Fri - Rest

Sat - short brick

Sun - [COLOR="rgb(255, 0, 255)"]Lough Kee tri (NS+NC)[/COLOR]

Week 8 (Taper)

Sleeping well this week, getting to bed by 9:30 in prep for Budapest

Mon - Easy coached swim

Tues - Tempo run

Weds - Coached swim

Thurs - Fly to Buda

FRi/Sat - We'll see later.

Sun - World Champs Budapest 2010

SO I know a lot of this can and will change. I will miss sessions if I feel at the time that it is the right thing to do. So 3/4 weeks base then adding the speed.

Hills Intervals

Met up with Bambaata for the first time this morning. Did 3 laps of the figure of 8 circuit in, and just outside the park in the early morn. Good session and chat to meet Bambaata. I struggled going up the steep hill, HR 175. So impressive was Bambaata leavig me for dust here! Also at some of the fast bends he effortlessly opened up a 10 - 15m gap, they all add up over the course of a race. Hope he won't mind me trying out his techniques!

Always a good idea to get a few sessions with someone better than you, this is how we learn!

Weds 21st

Did 800m in the pool easy in the am

Bray Aqua in the evening. Wasn't looking forward to it but I surprised myself. There were less doing it this time round, I was 2 mins slower but that can be put down to a currant, everybodies times were down. 26th last month, 24th last night. 23rd male out of the water and 19:13 run (thanks to a mate for those stats!) Time 35:30.

Thurs 22nd

85k spin with Swords CC. No Garmin as it was dead, but we were tipping along at I'd say 33km/h. Most enjoyable although for 2k near the end I thought I was done, luckily I stuck in there and was fine.

An hour later did 7.5k in 29:45, a bit faster than I expected but good to know I can do that after a long bike.

Wedding now so rest tomor and then training weekend in Donegal, should be great and well needed!

Thats me up to date now. Sorry just haven't had time to catch up on others logs, it will be next week now. I am sure ye are all working hard and doing very well ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Hey ElD if you were only losing 10-15m on Bambaata on the technical bits then you were doing pretty well. He doesn't give himself enough credit but he is a natural on the bike. Good training partner to have!

Your easy/rest week ends with :P a half IM as do the 3 weeks preceding the Worlds. Are you doing the sprint or OD over there? Whats your recovery strategy over the next 8 weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

There seems to be a lot of races in there in the lead up to Budapest. I know you said previously that you can get away with this approach so you might be alright. Be warned though, a HIM will take a fair toll on the body.

I'll be seeing you at the SoG. It's a great event. :cool:

Well done in Athlone. The report is a very good read. SOunds liek the hols went well too.

Hey ElD if you were only losing 10-15m on Bambaata on the technical bits then you were doing pretty well. He doesn't give himself enough credit but he is a natural on the bike. Good training partner to have!

Your easy/rest week ends with :P a half IM as do the 3 weeks preceding the Worlds. Are you doing the sprint or OD over there? Whats your recovery strategy over the next 8 weeks?

Well you see I had entered these races before I got my Budapest spot, and these are 3 important races as all 3 are NS and NC which means bonus points. Bad planning on TI's behalf rather than mine (me thinks anyway!:rolleyes:) So I have only done 3 NS races thus far this year so they are needed.

Well I will be taking the two days after the HIM off to recover and I will be having more rest days if I feel the need. Apart from that I take my protein and I have the tights! So I am aware that the schedule may be a little too much but if I feel that, I will ease off. Very much take it and the races as they come, I hope this will see me through.

I am doing Olympic this time round :o

pgibbo wrote: »
    There seems to be a lot of races in there in the lead up to Budapest. I know you said previously that you can get away with this approach so you might be alright. Be warned though, a HIM will take a fair toll on the body.

I'll be seeing you at the SoG. It's a great event. :cool:

Well done in Athlone. The report is a very good read. SOunds liek the hols went well too.

Thanks P, really enjoyed Athlone and the holidays. The SoG is a great event and I can't wait! I will be trying for the elusive sub 30 myself :rolleyes: what about you P?

Saturday 24th July

Swim

2.5k sea swim, around 2 islands, beautiful clear waters and felt pretty good. Really nice start to the day.

Bike

100k bike ride in Donegal. On my way up to my mates house I noticed that it was exactly flat in north Donegal! So whatever route we took it would be tough. It was. Hill after hill after hill. Some dangerous but exhilarating descends, some long tough climbs.

Used the TT bike, need to get used of being on it for a long time and running off it for Ireman. Thought the very uncomfortable saddle would be a problem but it was sound. Felt great up to about 60k, then we headed into a strong head wind and still the toughest climb to come. That climb really took it out of me, would love to have a power measuring device as I'd say my power output dropped big time for the last 30k. The head wind was considerable. With 10k to go I hit a hill that followed a 90 degree bend so no mometum, half way up it my whole left leg cramped! Stopped for a minute to stretch, but got back in the saddle and was very determined, gritting my teeth I actually finished strong. What a beautiful area of the world, thinking it could be a great spot for a training weekend in Feb/Mar next year, I will post if I am organising it and anybody here will be more than welcome to join. Here is some of the data and a link for anybody interested:

Time 3:31:32; Distance 101k (95.78k on garmin as I forgot to restart at one point); Ave speed 27.6km/h//Max 58km/h; Ave HR/Max HR 147(79%)/179(94%)

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/41892015

Run

Lovely 4.5k run off the bike. Starting on a beautiful beach, then up and around sand dunnes and some nasty climbs then back to tarmac and finish. Felt strange at first but was geting my running legs after 3k, felt I could have pushed on but didn't as I was running on empty.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/41892004

Practiced my nutrition for the half ironman, went well but will need to be careful as I was getting hungry on the run.

Very enjoyable day, was shattered by the end of it. Never been active for the guts of 5 hours before. A quick 600m swim the next mrning and then long long drive back to Dublin.

Taking it easy today, still very stiff and achilles heel is sore, best rest up today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Good spin EL D, hope the achilles is okay. You defo got to switch the auto laps to 5/10km for the bike. had to the laugh at the 100*1km splits. id say your battery was toast after that

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Good spin EL D, hope the achilles is okay. You defo got to switch the auto laps to 5/10km for the bike. had to the laugh at the 100*1km splits. id say your battery was toast after that

Lol ya you are right Kenny! I forgot that one can do that. The batt was fine actually. Are you racing on Weds evening?

Sounds like a great weekend El D. A friend is from up that kneck of the woods and has been on to us to go up for a weekend of training. Must pencil it in for next year.

As for the SoG, I'm not sure what I'll target. Earlier in the year I was hoping ofr sub 30. However, my running has gone to pot ove the last couple of months. I'll make a call the middle of next week. I might just shadow you and see how I go! :D

Lol ya you are right Kenny! I forgot that one can do that. The batt was fine actually. Are you racing on Weds evening?
    The plan is to alright, all dependant on getting out of work as usual. will be my last one before the hill TT, as marshalling next week and then away for 2. havent done the ardcath course yet, heard its a right b'itch but looking forward to that. going to race yourself?

I have a couple of niggles but I am hoping to do it for sure. Have only been able to do the 40k TT so this will be my second, really want to do it as I have never done a proper bike race. See you there man if I do.

Just seen on Macanri's log you were saying you a sore groin/hamstring, i had a similar thing a few weeks ago after some tough efforts on the bike. I put it down to pushing too high a gear on the bike particularly when I was already tired. Just thought id let you know as may help.

Hill Intervals

Time 2:04:01; Distance 53.9km; Speed Ave/Max 26.3/44.6km/h; HR Ave/Max 133(72%)/176(95%);

4 laps of the circuit this morning with Bamaata. Good session. Thanks Kenny for the heads up, I think it was just one hill too many that day but it seems to have cleared up now after some stretching. However my achilles tendon is killing me now, it is on ice now as is the rest of my weeks' training sessions.

The tendon hurt most when out of the seat climbing, as it happened I managed the steep hill much better in the seated position and it seemed to take less out of me.

Need to make that race at the weekend as I need some NS races so I will just continue with my swim sessions and core sessions. So I'm afraid the Raheny 2 mile this evening and Swords race tomorrow evening are out :(

Yep thats where I find myself...again. Since coming back from holidays I just haven't been able to kick on from where I left in Athlone. Last week it was a mixture of tiredness from traveling and catching up on sleep and a lack of motivation. This week after my training weekend the hunger and motivation are back but my achilles is still killing me (also because of training weekend in Donegal). Ok but need to keep positve, although the running training is suffering big time here are some positives:

1) Actually feeling stronger on the bike and got in 240km in the last 6 days
    2) Back in the pool today for my first structured session in ages and actually my swimming seems to be unaffected, feels really good actually!
    3) I've been here before (Athlone), no need to panic :rolleyes:

Weds Morn Coached Swim Session

Warm Up 300m FS
    Kick set 6 x 50m
    Pull/FS 16 x 50m; 8 pull;8 FS; off 1:15;
    Was coming in on 49 secs for first 12 and 50 sec for last 4
    FS 4 x 100m off 2 min, coming in 1:45ish for each
    FS 3 x 200m off 4 min, coming in 3:44ish for each

So the RT's were generous as it has been a while since I did a structured session.

Core/Stretch My usual routine here

As I am having achilles problems I will do swim/core sessions everyday until I can bike/run again.

Thurs 29 July

Warm Up 300m

40 x 50m 80% PE

1st Ten: FS off 1:15; coming in at 47-49sec
    2nd Ten: Kick off 1:30; coming in at 1:04-1:12
    3rd Ten: Pull off 1:15; coming in at 46-50sec
    4th Ten: FS of 1:15; coming in at 46-48sec

Cool Down 300m

Total 2,600m.

Starting tomorrow I will bring down those RT's. Feeling good once again. There will be no coached session between now and Sept, so coach is e mailing me sessions I can do.

Core Training These core sessions have must certainly strengthened me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Thats a good session there. Top form.

Jaysus thats some swim session!

Friday 30th July

After 200m in the pool this morning I decided to leave it, arms, triceps were very stiff and sore so thought it best to give myself every chance for tomorrow.

Core/Stretching session

Well I feel I am fighting a losing battle against time here. I am giving myself every chance by leaving the decision until the last moment. Going to get up at 6am for a little test on the achilles. Two choices here, with very different outcomes:

1) Do it - It works out and I gain valuable NS points
    - It makes the achilles worse and I have another week like this, only able to do swimming and core work

2) Don't do it - And next week I will be able to go back to full time training.
    - Means I will only get 6 NS races this year (provided no more injuries/illness), this would including the half Iron race which god knows what might happen. I had intended doing 8/9 so the best 6 could be counted.

I am very aware of the dangers of the achilles injury so I know when it comes to it I will err on the side of caution and listen to my head, as hard as that will be.

Is the AAA goal budapest or NS?

I know you set your sights on the NS first but then Budapest came along!

What does the NS mean to you, what are you expecting from 650 points?

Is the AAA goal budapest or NS?

I know you set your sights on the NS first but then Budapest came along!

What does the NS mean to you, what are you expecting from 650 points?

I guess I just want to be pretty high up the standings so as I will be selected again for next year. Thinking about it more I suppose you are right, I should be fine for selection. So i need to get priorities right and Budapest is most definitely AAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Bambaata

to be honest you shouldn't have any issue getting selection for next year, particularly if you are thinking of Beijing. This years Budapest hasn't even filled up so if i were you i'd give the injury a break. It might not have helped having a bit of a lay-off and then doing a mammoth weekend etc so its not going to clear unless given a chance.

i ll +2 all this. if you even have to check the achilles in the morning you shouldnt be racing. its not worth risking missing a month or more. Go to the physio instead and get it sorted.

I hear ye guys. The reason I train is to race...I love the races, so much so it can cloud my vision. And it's funny if a mate of mine had the same issue I'm having I'd say it's a "no brainer" and you just don't race, that's it, easy. I'd say exactly what ye are saying. It's just hard when it's your self in this position.

Ye are right of course and that's one of the best reasons for having this log, the non biased, impartial advice. Thanks guys.....I'm out. The best of luck to the other lads doing it, especially Mac in his first. Looking forward to the reports.

Tues 3rd Aug

Rested completely over the weekend and decided to test the achilles this morning. I was hopeful as I wasn't feeling any pain in the area but after 10k on the bike it started to hurt. The more I went on the more it hurt. So I took a short cut home. 21.5km in 45 mins. There was no point in doing the planned run so called it a day.

Physio appointment now made for tomorrow morning and it is back to swimming and core work again. Annoying to say the least, patients really being tested now. Just feel the need to reassess, 6 weeks from Budapest were do I stand?

Well my goals were:

Swim 26 min
    Cycle 63 min
    Run 42 min

Total 1hr 15min (incl trans) is this still a possibility? Actually I think yes, it is. So long as I get a clear run of 4 weeks at least, this will mean running into the planned taper, or as some might say 'taper' when it comes to me :rolleyes:

On the plus side I am now going to really hit the pool and OW so my swim should be in great shape!

Chin up El D. You've been here before and came out the right side even stronger. I have no doubt the same will be the case here. At least you are planning to make the most of a bad situation and hammer the swim times for a while. Good luck with the physio tomorrow

pgibbo wrote: »
    Chin up El D. You've been here before and came out the right side even stronger. I have no doubt the same will be the case here. At least you are planning to make the most of a bad situation and hammer the swim times for a while. Good luck with the physio tomorrow

Thanks P, not actually that down about it, I know I'll be fine. Another plus is my girlfriend is loving coming home to a new meal everyday on the table! Today I'm trying a new chicken casserole recipe yum! My culinary skills are more impressive than my bike handling skills right now ;)

Good stuff. Always nice to learn a few neew recipes! :cool:

Have you tried aqua-running? I know a few people that have done it when injured and they swear by it? Something different to the core and swimming perhaps.

I assumes the Streets is out for you this weekend.