Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Inception' Mega Thread *SPOILERS FROM POST 292 ONWARDS*

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,814 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

blue_steel wrote: »
    Je-Sus-Christ. People are allowed to criticise. Not everyone has to love the movie.
    I enjoyed it but it was a far from a classic. Anyone who thinks Inception is in the same ball park as 2001 is, well forgive me, an idiot. It was an entertaining movie but let me ask this: could you EVER imagine Kubrick or even Spielberg including the snow fortress scene in one of their films. It was a series of explosions and nothing else as far as I could see.
    Great entertainment but I won't be reading any theses on it :)

I agree to an extent, I thought it was a great movie an instant classic even, but at it's core it's still just a heist movie, all be it a very clever well made one. There's no doubting it's a smart movie but not in a cerebral way, no navel gazing, just an intricate plot and an original premise. It's not 2001 a space odyssey, but in fairness the snow scene was still better than anything in Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, shia labeouf tarzan bit? Spielberg ain't no saint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭blue_steel

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I agree to an extent, I thought it was a great movie an instant classic even, but at it's core it's still just a heist movie, all be it a very clever well made one. There's no doubting it's a smart movie but not in a cerebral way, no navel gazing, just an intricate plot and an original premise. It's not 2001 a space odyssey, but in fairness the snow scene was still better than anything in Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, shia labeouf tarzan bit? Spielberg ain't no saint.

Yeah Crystal Skull was bad. And Lebeouf is the most annoying twat working in cinema today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭radiospan

Did anyone notice something written on the wide shot looking over the city in one scene? It's immediately before the first time we see Miles (Michael Caine), I can't remember what was just before it though.

I looked like two words, "WIFE" was the second one. Or maybe it was just an advertisement on top of a building. Would like to see that bit again.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,814 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

plazzTT wrote: »
    Did anyone notice something written on the wide shot looking over the city in one scene? It's immediately before the first time we see Miles (Michael Caine), I can't remember what was just before it though.

I looked like two words, "WIFE" was the second one. Or maybe it was just an advertisement on top of a building. Would like to see that bit again.

I remember something jumping out at me on a billboard too,cant remember what though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,710 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I can't wait to see this again. I don't think it's a masterpiece by any means, but any film that gives you something to talk about afterwards is a good one. Nolan ain't Kubrick, he's not even Mann, but he is a consistently interesting filmmaker who has a fantastic grasp of plot.

The more I think about it the more I love the ending. Nolan did a brilliant job of preserving a certain essential mystery about Cobb's "reality". Even if the top does fall at the end (which I think it does), we can never be entirely certain of its reliability given its previous owner. There'll always be the tiny possibility that Mal was right. But hopefully, unlike Ridley Scott, Nolan will resist the urge to start blabbering about what it all means. Mystery is always good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

sprinkles wrote: »
    Fair point. Mal and Cobb were just using the normal drugs though, and not the sedative that was used in the Fischer heist so it wouldn't have been as strong, thus making it easier to wake up.[/quote[

It was said earlier in the film to go beyond level 2 a strong sedative was required to keep the dream stable. Considering Limbo is really really deep then Mal and Cobb were under a very strong sedative, probably not the same sedative but still a very strong one.

I think the upper level kick only works on levels that aren't limbo. You need to kill yourself in Limbo to move upwards. Ariadne jumps, not to initiate a kick but to actually kill herself, I'm basing this on the fact Cobb and Mal killed themselves in Limbo rather than jumping off a bridge.

There is alot of confusion how the kicks work. Kicks from above make no sense as Arthur wouold have been pulled from level 2 to level 1 when the van went over the bridge, kicks from below are debatable as there are a few points when people fall in lower levels (during the avalanche) and are not kicked to the level above.

The populer theory is a kick is needed on both the level above and below, but even that raises questions purely by no one ever states this during the film and they had no way to arrange a kick to reality to be in time with a kick from level 1 (in fact the issue is simply getting out of level 1 alltogether raises alot of questions.)

I personnally lean to a kick from below as aside from the avalanche segment it fits best.

He rigged them before Cobb and Ariadne went under iirc. That is a bit puzzling, not sure why he'd need to blow the place up unless he needed to initiate a kick - doesn't sit well with my theory at all :)

him rigging explosives matches kicks from below or synced kicks on two levels (2 and 3) But the film lacks clarification on which is the accurate process as there is conflict throughout the film on how the process works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Absolutely fantastic. This is the only film that I can see myself buying on release day, simply brilliant.

Saw it last night and after finishing reading all the posts I have to say I've changed my mind about the ending several times. When I left the cinema my initial reaction was he was still dreaming, after serious debate with the lads (all the points have been debated here) i switched a few times but again finished on he was dreaming.

After reading this I was sure he was dreaming the whole time which sounded like a great theory to me but :D I've finally settled on (for the time being) the ending being real. I don't really think I need to explain why, every detail has been pointed out throughout this thread.

One thing though for people talking about the wedding ring, I think they have a fair point for his earlier dreams however from when he finds Saito in Limbo to the end it makes sense that he wouldn't be wearing the wedding ring even if it was a dream since he finally let go of his wife.

Anyway great movie and looking forward to buying it

Also another thing.. Dom died in Limbo when Mal stabbed him so that could be a reason for him waking up in the water again.

But it questions how is it possible to get out of Limbo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Hi all, What a great film. I don't really have much answers but just some points after first viewing and reading through posts. At the moment I believe there is a reality during the film.

If the whole film was a dream then why does Mal not appear in "level 1" reality?

If it is a dream who is dreaming it, why is the subconsiese not trying to attack anyone and protect itself like all other levels?

On the totem discussion, Cobb told us that you need to protect your totem from everone, as its your only way to know if you are dreaming. We know he got his one from Mal. Is this only a decoy to protect his real one from others?

The discussion about Limbo. We know Saito ends up their first when he dies. Then Fischer ends up in limbo (Same or different to Saito). At this stage Cobb and Ariadne go into Fichers limbo (But they do not die to go there. They just plug into Fichers dream/head). This means they are not really in their own limbo and this allows Ariadne to exit by death. Fischer also exits, possible by the kick of the difib and fall which they know is needed when they see the lightning in limbo.

I think then cobb eventually enters limbo (At least the same as saito) when the car falls into the water and he drowns. This is how he ends up on the beach again for a second time.

Not sure if any of that makes sense....think i'll need to see it again:o

Great point ForestFire, forgot they connected to Fischer which would explain why Dom died and awoke in Limbo again..

I actually think Dom died when Mal stabbed him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭MJRS

Raekwon wrote: »
    I saw it earlier tonight and all I can say is WOW! :eek: But I must warn you, it will not be too everyones taste considering the sear complexity of the plot.........it is so easy to get lost then end up not "getting it" (like the dude in the cinema behind me who greeted the end credits with "What the f**k was that"? :D).
    The trailer totally gives away all the big action set pieces but doesn't spoil the plot that much (if at all) but I have to say that the mid-air fight scenes where the van is tumbling down the hill thus making the hotel corridor rotate is sheer cinematic brilliance!

Tip of the cap to you Christopher Nolan!
    The scene in your spoiler was absolutely majestic, it was like a ballet. Loved it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

plazzTT wrote: »

It was a large Galeries Lafayette sign in Paris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Saw it finally last night... Wow. Just wow.

I have never come out of a film and discussed it in so much depth after as I did with Inception, I have never come out of a film and wanted to see it again so badly, I have never had to think and concentrate as much in the cinema. I saw someone above say they thought Memento was much harder to follow, Memento was a breeze to follow compared to this imo! I thought it was absolutely brilliant. I can see why some people don't like the way it goes out of it's way to be confusing, but I just love the way it all ties with the confusion of dreams, and how real they can seem.

My current take on it is that it's all a dream, well from the market chase on anyway. I really just want to see it again before I make a real judgement on it though.

I'm no fanboy, but Nolan keeps on impressing (I don't think that can be realistically denied); and if this isn't his ceiling we could be in for something amazing a few years down the line!:)

Also, someone above was wondering why Michael Caine was at the airport. I think he was planning on heading home because Dom gives him gifts for the kids, when they meet in Paris...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭D-Generate

I am not sure if anyone has questioned this or answered it but wouldn't the spinning top fall over regardless of if Cobb was dreaming or in the real world? The point of the totem is so that you can tell if you are in someone else's dream and someone else is the architect. As such they won't know the mechanics of your totem and won't be able to replicate it. However if you are the dreamer yourself then you will know all about your totem, you will know how it should act and hence it will fall over.

The totem originally belonged to Mal and he had never felt it, hence when he gave it the spin in the limbo dream with Mal it continued spinning since he had no idea of its structure. However now that he owns the totem himself if he is in limbo or the real world it will fall over as he is not the subject.

Amazing film, I saw it in the BFI IMAX and was blown away. The visuals were spectacular but not as good as Hans Zimmer's fantastic soundtrack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,543 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Just got back from it. I am mentally exhausted, but in a very good way :D One of the best films I have probably ever seen.

I could see the "twist" that Cobb used the Inception on his wife first from a mile off, but it still didn't stop it from being a great scene.

It had it's jumpy moments (the train), some funny moments (Levitt being woken up by his "kick", Levitt - "Kiss me"....Page - "They're still looking" ....Levitt - "Eh, it was worth a shot"), and the scenes at the end with Cobb and his wife and later the closing scene with his kids made me a little teary :o

Great ending, by the way.

10/10, fantastic movie.

I *still* don't like Ellen Page, though. I just thought she looked annoyingly out of place in this movie, and was kind of peeved at the whole idea of a gifted architect student turning up, and very quickly understanding the whole concept, almost better than some of the people involved, in fact (although that isn't her fault)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

D-Generate wrote: »
    I am not sure if anyone has questioned this or answered it but wouldn't the spinning top fall over regardless of if Cobb was dreaming or in the real world? The point of the totem is so that you can tell if you are in someone else's dream and someone else is the architect. As such they won't know the mechanics of your totem and won't be able to replicate it. However if you are the dreamer yourself then you will know all about your totem, you will know how it should act and hence it will fall over.

The totem originally belonged to Mal and he had never felt it, hence when he gave it the spin in the limbo dream with Mal it continued spinning since he had no idea of its structure. However now that he owns the totem himself if he is in limbo or the real world it will fall over as he is not the subject.

Amazing film, I saw it in the BFI IMAX and was blown away. The visuals were spectacular but not as good as Hans Zimmer's fantastic soundtrack.
    Yah plus if one was dreaming anyway then the totem could be made to / believed to fall over if the dreamer was delusional so the totem is kind of defunct in that sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Saw it today for the 2nd time loved it even more.

One thing that I noticed is that (I think) his Dad was also wearing the same clothes at the airport as he was in Paris. But what also stuck out in my mind was in Mombassa when he met Eames he's sitting talking to him, next shot Eames is sitting arm on the ledge then hes sitting arms off the ledge again, dont' know if it was mistake in cutting or what but found it really obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

stop saying the kids were wearing the same clothes
    they were not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

razorblunt wrote: »
    Saw it today for the 2nd time loved it even more.

One thing that I noticed is that (I think) his Dad was also wearing the same clothes at the airport as he was in Paris. But what also stuck out in my mind was in Mombassa when he met Eames he's sitting talking to him, next shot Eames is sitting arm on the ledge then hes sitting arms off the ledge again, dont' know if it was mistake in cutting or what but found it really obvious.

Miles isn't Cobb's father, he's Mal's.

I'd imagine the Eames thing is just a continuity error. There are always continuity issues with pretty much everything, some more obviously than others. The reason it's such an issue with this film is that any unintentional mistake will be up for interpretation like the intentional things. But that one sounds fairly innocent :)

clived2 wrote: »
    stop saying the kids were wearing the same clothes
    they were not

Are you certain of this? If so fair enough. I've only seen the film once and the scene at the end looked to me to be the exact same as his earlier memory of leaving his children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Miles isn't Cobb's father, he's Mal's.

I'd imagine the Eames thing is just a continuity error. There are always continuity issues with pretty much everything, some more obviously than others. The reason it's such an issue with this film is that any unintentional mistake will be up for interpretation like the intentional things. But that one sounds fairly innocent :)

Cheers for that, seen it twice and missed the fact he was Mal's father both times!!

The continuity thing was just so glaring for me, never really notice those things, though I also did notice that Eames was spinning his totem through his fingers at one stage and then in other angles wasn't doing it all, that I had down as an error though.

Anyway just reiterating I think he was home for real, he should be able to recall how he got there so that woul rule out that it was a dream for me anyway...and I'm sticking with it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

Are you certain of this? If so fair enough. I've only seen the film once and the scene at the end looked to me to be the exact same as his earlier memory of leaving his children?

no i cant be certain of anything,

I believe they were wearing different shoes,

Also they used more than 2 actors to play the children`s roles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Epic movie!!

In the 2nd level(hotel) they were in low-gravity yes. So why then where they not in low-gravity in the 3rd level(the snow and castle environment)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,543 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Epic movie!!

In the 2nd level(hotel) they were in low-gravity yes. So why then where they not in low-gravity in the 3rd level(the snow and castle environment)?

I'm thinking because they never really felt it. They weren't being thrown around or anything, just gently floating.

It's kind f like if you are in a car. It's travelling at a steady speed, it starts accelerating and you feel the effects of that; but once the car continues to accelerate at a certain rate, you don't notice it; it becomes the new "steady rate".

Or something :pac:

clived2 wrote: »
    no i cant be certain of anything,

I believe they were wearing different shoes,

Also they used more than 2 actors to play the children`s roles

Different shoes? Fair play to your powers of observation!
    I still maintain the final scene was so similar to Cobb's earlier memories of leaving his children that it had to be deliberite on Nolan's part.
    Need to see it again but my feeling is that Cobb has contradicted his own advice about using real memories in the dream architecture. He's still in limbo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭C_Dawg

I think I must of seen a different film to the rest of ye. I felt the film was too long and was only ok. Too much hype about it including this thread. I am glad I've seen it but I wouldn't watch it again on dvd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

C_Dawg wrote: »
    I think I must of seen a different film to the rest of ye. I felt the film was too long and was only ok. Too much hype about it including this thread. I am glad I've seen it but I wouldn't watch it again on dvd.

I tried my best not to listen to any of the hype. In the end I thought it was a very good movie and I can't wait to buy it on BluRay....until then:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Different shoes? Fair play to your powers of observation!
    I still maintain the final scene was so similar to Cobb's earlier memories of leaving his children that it had to be deliberite on Nolan's part.
    Need to see it again but my feeling is that Cobb has contradicted his own advice about using real memories in the dream architecture. He's still in limbo.

Of course it was deliberate but it could signify a multitude of things. Could be that he's still in limbo or it could be that getting back to his kids was a dream come true.

As for my opinion, I think the final scene had two very strong messages.

1. That the philosophical question posed in the film about the reality or unreality of life, the validity of conscious thought in a universe that we don't understand, is a question that's older than any of us and won't ever be answered in our lifetimes. The spinning top wavers as if it's going to fall but we never see it.

and

2. That although the camera pans to the spinning top, Cobb has already lost interest in whether or not it falls. He concentrates on it just for a moment before seeing the faces of his kids and decides in an instant that being with them is ultimately more important than the question. He doesn't even cast a second glance on the spinner before running to be with his kids; next to them, it's immaterial.

Of course it was deliberate but it could signify a multitude of things. Could be that he's still in limbo or it could be that getting back to his kids was a dream come true.

I was responding to a poster who'd suggusted Cobb's kids wern't even played by the same actors at that point in the film. So its far from accepted that Nolan deliberately shot both scenes to look the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭mkahnisbent

Did anyone else notice the nod to Blade Runner when we were shown Tokyo at night?