Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scone or Scon?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

I would associate scon with boggers.

Shhhkooone actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Anthony Walsh

I have only heard one person say scon but that was used in the context of 'Look at the scon on the wan'. The accent was put on btw.

Oh and its definitely Scone, that is why it is spelt that way:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

Scone.

I was in Subway getting lunch earlier today, and the D4 guy beside me pronounced lettuce in the weirdest way I've ever heard.

"And some letch-ice."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

eightyfish wrote: »
    Scone.

I was in Subway getting lunch earlier today, and the D4 guy beside me pronounced lettuce in the weirdest way I've ever heard.

"And some letch-ice."

I pronounced out loud, then laughed :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

i hate the word scon, its so posh. its called a scone!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,066 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Kormeera X wrote: »
    i hate the word scon, its so posh. its called a scone!

Ah, underscores. That settles that then.

We briefly touched on 'yoghurt' earlier. Are there any insufferably barbarians out there who wish to admit to pronouncing it yogg-ert/yoag-ert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,142 ✭✭✭✭bnt

seamus wrote: »
    Interestingly in Scotland, "Scone" is almost unheard of and almost everyone prefers "Scon".
    Correct - and who invented the scone? Hint: it wasn't the Irish or the English. The word comes from the Lowland Scots "scon", meaning to strike with the flat of the hand - as you do when making scones by hand. So, you folks may all pronounce it to rhyme with "cone", but ... you're all wrong. :p

Just to confuse matters, there's a place in Scotland called Scone, but pronounced "Scoon". It's famous for the Stone of Scone, which formed part of the coronation rituals of Scottish kings, but taken to England by Edward I.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Scone rhymes with gone, you bunch of oiks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

We briefly touched on 'yoghurt' earlier. Are there any insufferably barbarians out there who wish to admit to pronouncing it yogg-ert/yoag-ert?

As I said it's Yo-ghurt, poshos like my gf say Yog-hurt.

• It's hilarious that in Ireland people think 'scon' is posh. It's the opposite in England. You would have got the sh*t kicked out of you for saying 'scone' at my school in Manchester. It's 'scon' in Northern Ireland as well for the same reason. And 'Yoghurt' with a long 'o' is just considered American.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Ah, underscores. That settles that then.

:confused: Aren't those the two valid (well, one valid plus the poncey "yogg-ert" abomination) pronunciations ?

http://www.howjsay.com/index.php?word=yoghurt

Mind you, that site does like hedging its bets :

http://www.howjsay.com/index.php?word=scone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

Scone as in I'm s'goin mad readin this tread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,267 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

[quote=[Deleted User];66796656]It's hilarious that in Ireland people think 'scon' is posh. It's the opposite in England. You would have got the sh*t kicked out of you for saying 'scone' at my school in Manchester. It's 'scon' in Northern Ireland as well for the same reason. And 'Yoghurt' with a long 'o' is just considered American.[/QUOTE]

...and also, don't forget those French cars that only exist in Ireland, Pewjoe and Rennolt.:pac:
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Everyday i thank my God that I have a job. That is all I will be gon now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭CrazySnakeLady

The word comes from the Stone of Scone the stone that Scottish kings were crowned on in the City Scone, considering that it was originally a Scottish word both pronouncations may be wrong because Scottish people roll their vowels and replace "o" with "u" while speaking so the original pronounciation would have been more like "Scuun" in the same way that they pronounce Scottish as "Scuttish" and Look as "Luuk"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,142 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The word comes from the Stone of Scone
    Please see my post above and/or Wikipedia. "Scone" - the cake - is derived from the Lowland Scots "scon". Scone ("skoon"), the name of the place (and stone), is derived from Gaelic. They may look the same in the English alphabet, but they have totally different origins.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

According to this authority http://www.macmillandictionary.com/pronunciation/american/scone

Rhymes with gone is American

Rhymes with bone is English

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

its pronounced scone.

unless you are 50+ or from the west, in which case scon is the usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

Its Scone!
    definately Scone!

Scon is not a real word :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Ah, tomato tomato :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

It's scone, the e isn't silent.

Young Biff: Why don't you make like a tree and get out of here?
    Old Biff: It's *leave*, you idiot! "Make like a tree, and leave." You sound like a damn fool when you say it wrong.
    Young Biff: All right then, LEAVE! And take your book with you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭CrazySnakeLady

bnt wrote: »
    Please see my post above and/or Wikipedia. "Scone" - the cake - is derived from the Lowland Scots "scon". Scone ("skoon"), the name of the place (and stone), is derived from Gaelic. They may look the same in the English alphabet, but they have totally different origins.

Is Wikipedia the be all and end all of every question on the internet? I mean seriously if the answer to every question is on the almighty wiki why bother asking the question then? my reply gave an alternative whereas your reply is the result of a wikipedia search, if that was what the OP was looking for I'm pretty sure he could have just done that search himself. I honestly believe the phrase "Where's your source on that?" is the scourge of every forum on the internet because no one thinks for themselves anymore, you ask a question and straight away 20 people reply with a link to a wiki page and another 20 post a links to random pages that totaly contradict wiki so whats the point? if 20 + pages all contradict each other then no one is right, there's just as much chance at this point that I am right as there is that your are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Snow Leopard

it's shcone. "Throw us over an aul' shcone and a cup of tae there and sher that'll be grand"

I'm a bogger :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

SCONE... definitely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Anthony Walsh

I'm from the west and i say Scone but to be fair I am no bogger. It's not scon, I agree schone is more acceptable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

in our house its scone.. but we don't eat them anyway

but another interesting thing is the book buck discussion that will have daggers at dawn in my house
    I say book my husband says buck fo book
    and cook is cuck
    and i ask is look luke too??
    what about vehicle and veh-hickle.. bloody guards and what hell are GORDY as that bloody woman on the rté news says
    what the feck is wrong with people who can't speak properly
    it's all wrong *shakes head*:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭steel_spine

In Scotland it's pronounced 'Scon' and 'Scone' is for posh people. My Cork gf however, assures me that in Ireland it's the other way around.

Also, why can't you get cheese scones anywhere in Ireland? I miss them :(

• Hank_Jones wrote: »
    It's scone, the e isn't silent.

Eh, yes it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Scone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

In Scotland it's pronounced 'Scon' and 'Scone' is for posh people. ...
    Of course it is, despite what mods would have you believe. :) Them posh people know what the score is. They can remember all the armies being bet into shape by Mel Gibson and Liam Neeson to fight perfidious Albion and all comers.