Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CAP2 Exams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭SL10

Oh and also there was nothing on the desks today about giving feedback- i was surprised by that and a bit annoyed as I expected it.

Also did anyone else think there was a mis-print/confusing error in Q4. As in they had done a diagram of the group structure in the schedule at 31 December 2009 and in it they included Minerva as a subsidiary. But then in the question they talk about how they had sold Minerva in July 2009. So technically Minerva shouldn't have been a subsidiary at the year end! Did this annoy/confuse anyone else? Maybe i mis-read it but i was really confused by it in the exam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Altaglusgan Lad

TESTS ARE OVER..... ITS TIME TO FORGET ABOUT THEM (untill October) AND PARTY!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 crabcreature

I failed all four exams. Will have to repeat all 4. I am too depressed to go out... Is it just me with this mindset? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 PGavaghan

SL10 wrote: »
    Oh and also there was nothing on the desks today about giving feedback- i was surprised by that and a bit annoyed as I expected it.

Hi Everyone, appologies for the issue with the leaflets, you should be getting a text with the e-mail address, but just in case, please send all feedback to the following address:

cassdinfo@gmail.com

Please have all feedback submitted by 1:00 on Monday to allow us to combine the Dublin report with all the other regional feedback into the combined report to be submitted on tuesday!

Enjoy the weekend everyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭R0N BURGUNDY

yeah, i gave tax a fair bash today. sheer exhaustion is right. it would be some sort of consolation to have passed one exam i suppose.

im pretty depressed too. i dont know whether its worth pretending to myself that i might not have failed the other ones when its just going to **** me off more when the results come out. its just too unfair for me to comprehend.

i did the work and i knew the **** inside out for audit, sfma & fr. and maybe u can be unlucky and fail one exam and take it on the chin. but all 3 = too painful. the ironic thing is i put least effort into tax (ni) and gave it a far better bash than the other 3. go figure.

im going to throw an email together and get it sent in. may as well. fcuk it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

johns123 wrote: »
    have to agree with r dunne there. Cashflows a lot easier than income and balance sheet and they were tipped as hadnt been on in ages. EPS was fine too. If you get through q1 you are practically there. q2 was also very easy to be honest.

Hadn't been on in aaaaaaages, like all two official CAP2 papers so far :rolleyes:. btw they weren't 'tipped' to everyone, which is kind of the point people are making.
    Fair tax exam today. Made a complete hames of it and will be very lucky to pass but that was more through sheer exhaustion and cumulative brain-meltage from previous 3 days. No complaints about the paper.

Yeah in completely the same boat. Exam itself was alright but I was struggling to keep my head together to actually make sense of it. No issues with that paper, mind just went blank a couple of times which will probably cost the credit in Tax tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 r.dunne7

will u stop moaning prinz ur starting to depress me with your contant moaning about this and that

All in all 3 papers were quite fair with the only one that was hard SFMA that the general consensus..

Most of yous will have done better than you think, as if u attempted most questions u will be getting at least 3 or 4 out of 10. Do a good question and u can pick 6 or 7 out of 10.

There just a culture of people moaning and stuff that amkes everyone else think they did bad, so waht if u left out a 5 mark question or got some calcualtion wrong, no one is expecting you to achieve a 100% the pass mark is set at 50 and its done for a reason!

Get over yourselves people stop thinking negative and go out and enjoy yourself!

r.dunne7 wrote: »
    will u stop moaning prinz ur starting to depress me with your contant moaning about this and that

Feel free not to revisit the thread. Did you just sit CAP2? If not then why are you posting here?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Rickyroma

SL10 wrote: »

Sigh, the same thing happened after the CAP 1 exam apparently. We'll try to figure out why there was another screw up.

All I can say is sorry - I was told it was sorted and if you have feedback - such as the email about the diagram - please email it to cassdinfo@gmail.com.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 johns123

prinz wrote: »
    Hadn't been on in aaaaaaages, like all two official CAP2 papers so far :rolleyes:. btw they weren't 'tipped' to everyone, which is kind of the point people are making.

q1 - 64% of the paper - cashflows and eps which are on the syllabus. wats the big deal that these were examined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭aca101

If we have to repeat sfma or auditing are we given the option of re-doing the assessments or do we have to carry our marks from the originals earlier in the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭gerrymadden1

Think the repeats are 100%, so you loose the case study!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

Think the repeats are 100%, so you loose the case study!

I'm not sure if this is correct.

There was some ambiguity about this last year.

I think that you carry it forward to October and then if you fail again you can do the continuous assessment again next year OR carry your 2010 result forward.

I could be wrong but I think that's how it works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Jamesw2

Havent got anything good to say about the FR paper.... so will say nothing....body went into shock seeing the paper... still waking up at night with after shock tremors... have developed nervous twitch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Hackysack

I'm not sure if this is correct.

There was some ambiguity about this last year.

I think that you carry it forward to October and then if you fail again you can do the continuous assessment again next year OR carry your 2010 result forward.

I could be wrong but I think that's how it works.

No, they have another Continuous Assessment that you can choose to sit. If you're happy with your results you can choose to not sit it, but if you scored pretty badly, you can do it again.

But whatever happens, if you choose to sit it, you lose your previous result. So even if you do worse in the 2nd CA you can't go back and claim your previous result.

There's obviously another disadvantage to this as well, as it takes time out from your studying as you'd need to prepare for it as well. And I think it's held reasonably close to the repeat exam as well (like 1-2 weeks before it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭R0N BURGUNDY

Jamesw2 wrote: »
    Havent got anything good to say about the FR paper.... so will say nothing....body went into shock seeing the paper... still waking up at night with after shock tremors... have developed nervous twitch...

i dont think il ever recover. its soul destroying. maybe if i bought myself a puppy, i would be able to enjoy life again..

ok -im joking about the puppy but serious about the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

Lads I'm new to this forum.Dont think I've ever been so depressed in all my life.I actually feel cheated.To prepare so long and hard and then material to come up that was never covered or referenced in notes,exam papers etc is ridiculous.In work today but the life energy has been sucked out of me.I'm mentally,emotionally and physically on my last legs, and have lost all will and motivation to do anything.Think I could have possibly failed all four.It wouldn't surprise me.boss wants to have a few words with me about them in a few mins.Probably should just tell him it was carnage and be done with it.Anyone know if the guards are recruiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭RT2010

Have to agree with Ron. Disappionted the way the exams went, especially as i actually felt well prepared for them. No point worrying for the 6/7 weeks or so till results as dont feel I could have done anything more to pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Prezatch

Gosh, another train wreck of a thread for CAP2 again this year. I sat them last year and scraped through on the repeats and I have to say, reading these posts just brings back awful memories of last years fcuk ups.

CAP2 is very difficult but I think the worst part of it for me was the mental torture and frustration of seeing so many mistakes in books/solutions all the time, sample papers not aligned to actual papers and general feeling of incompetence in the ICAI.

On the topic of re-sitting continuous assessment, I know myself i got a 9/15 fist time round for audit. Looking back on the paper and sample papers for it and after doing loads of work in audit for the repeats I decided to re-sit it as I felt a lot more comfortable with the subject than I did way back in March or something. In my opinion the audit continuous assessments are easy enough in hindsight. If you feel confident I'd recommend a re-sit. I went from 9 to 12 I think which can make the difference at the end of the day. The new result will over-rule the old as Hacksack said.

Best of luck anyway guys, no doubt there will be a similar thread for the new FAE course in September...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Rickyroma

Hackysack wrote: »
    No, they have another Continuous Assessment that you can choose to sit. If you're happy with your results you can choose to not sit it, but if you scored pretty badly, you can do it again.

But whatever happens, if you choose to sit it, you lose your previous result. So even if you do worse in the 2nd CA you can't go back and claim your previous result.

There's obviously another disadvantage to this as well, as it takes time out from your studying as you'd need to prepare for it as well. And I think it's held reasonably close to the repeat exam as well (like 1-2 weeks before it).

Exactly correct Hackysack - got this confirmation from the Institute today -

"If you have to repeat CAP2 SFMA you can carry the assessment mark into the main sfma examination (repeat) in October or you can repeat the sfma assessment in September."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Mark1916

Best of Luck to everyone tomorrow, I know everyone is expecting widespread failure mainly due to the incompetent institute that we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭so_bored.com

Can't believe they are out 2morrow. not looking forward to it

The only word I can muster up is MEH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Colts

Not looking forward to it now either, I wonder how many will be out of the job next week after the results tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

Think I'll probably lose my job tomorrow.Hard to motivate myself here with the inpending fail thats on the way.Wouldn't be at all surprised if my boss knows my results already given the reception I got this morning.Anyway best of luck to everyone concerned.

Surely ye will be given the chance to do the repeats no? I just want to know now!!!!! The waiting is killing me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Dick Turnip

Does anyone know if we will receive the results tomorrow by post aswell?

i know i failed financial reporting, so looking up the website only to find my name on the list of credits (i'm pretty sure i passed tax at least!) isn't going to help me one way or the other. the institute are hard enough to get a hold of at the best of times never mind on the day of results.

I have the day booked off work anyway - couldn't face coming in here no matter what way they go tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Colts

Same here I have the day booked off, I couldn't handle work tomorrow.

Financial reporting is a disaster, having any exam with a pass % so low is ridiculous!

Hope we receive them by post tomorrow, but just incase the number's up on the CA website for checking results...it's 01-5233993

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 John Cincinnati

Anyone got access to the results yet? What's the URL address? The results are normally up earlier than 8am!