Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Half Marathon support Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Well i did it last night 13.1 miles in 2:19

It was hard after 9 miles and i made my own energy drink which back fired and gave me a sickish stomach towards the end.

I had water stashed at about 5 miles and then the energy drink at 9 so i was well hydrated.

The route i took had a few steep hills and some of these were in the last 3 miles which really tested me. My pace really dropped after 9 miles but i kept going.

Its taken since last Oct to get here with injuries and sickness but i made it and in the process have ran almost 400 miles in training.

I was on my knees by the end but it was worth it..............roll on july 4:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

^ Look after yourself now for the next week, you'll be grand on the day :)

Yeah its a flat course next week and i would have to deal with my homemade energy drink:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭iceage

Was just thinking, what do people generally do after they run? How do people feel about recovery runs? Any particular hints or tips that might be helpful to sort out the aches and pains.

Generally I try and get a good soak in a bath with lots of Radox, legs elevated for a bit. Not a big fan of stretches after a run but find a short walk does the trick for me directly after a longish run and I spend the next day drinking plenty of water but water only. Not a big fan of energy drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'm not very good at doing beneficial stuff after a run, but I like to swim the day after a long run if my legs are stiff.

A few others will recommend drinking chocolate milk or the Mars milk drink as a good mix of carbs and protein after a long run, but I'm not personally a fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

iceage wrote: »
    Was just thinking, what do people generally do after they run? How do people feel about recovery runs? Any particular hints or tips that might be helpful to sort out the aches and pains.

Generally I try and get a good soak in a bath with lots of Radox, legs elevated for a bit. Not a big fan of stretches after a run but find a short walk does the trick for me directly after a longish run and I spend the next day drinking plenty of water but water only. Not a big fan of energy drinks.

Last year after long runs once i got home i'd eat and then get to bed for an couple of hours legs up and take it easy. Next day a nice easy revocery run.
    I find that i need to run the day after a long run or i'll feel it in my legs for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭shanagarry

I'm a fan of stretching. I never feel like doing it, I just want to get home, but I do feel better for it.

My legs usually aren't too bad actually, it's more around food and drink that my issues are. I'm bad to drink when I'm running, so I have to make sure that I hydrate very well before and after. I don't really like the sugar high of energy drinks either, so sometimes I will have a dioralyte (sp? the stuff you take for tummy upsets) in water, and then make sure I have some complex carbs within a fairly short space of time, otherwise I feel quite queasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

How do people feel about recovery runs? Any particular hints or tips that might be helpful to sort out the aches and pains.

I usually take a cold bath before my shower and I find this relives the aches. I can't quote you the scientific evidence but I was always under the impression that the hot bath was not the thing to do. All the other things you are doing are spot on. The important thing is to focus on getting the legs back into running mode again so that you can continue to keep to your training plan.

Anyway with a name like Iceage I'm sure it's a cold bath will be no problem to you!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

dolliemix wrote: »

I feel like such a slob sitting around the whole time.

Hopefully everything will be back to normal for both of us by the weekend. Not a great start to the Half-Marathon Plan. But I guess its better now than a week or two before perhaps :)

How are u feeling now Dolliemix?

Im still not fully better, so I probably will leave my schedule until next week so I dont set myself back again. I may go for a walk over the weekend, but nothing strenuous as I am more than fed up with being sick at this point!!

I will have taken 2 weeks break at that point and havent really got into the swing of things properly since the Mini marathon which is dissapointing but head up! We will spur each other on from next week. I am going to start again I think but skip week one and hopefully I will get there in the end as I am a week or two short now for the Galway half.

Really disapointed as I wont be able o do my Galway mini marathon this Sunday after all. I just wont be better for it and I havent had time to prepare for it. :( Damn you chest infection!!
    GEt better soon!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

peanuthead wrote: »
    I did my 3m today instead of yesterday and after not getting anything in since last thurs on account of a dog bite :(

On thurs I was over the moon at doing 3m in 48mins.

Tonight I did it in 40. I'm delighted with that. The main thing for me is that I can see progress!! :)

Dogbite???:eek::eek::eek:

Thats my biggest nightmare!

Only reading back over your post now. Did you get tetnis in the end?

Well done with your hugely improved time!

All great tips, thanks guys. Heard some guys swear by milk after a race.

Keep up the good work Yungwan, a walk will hopefully clear your head and if nothing else get you some fresh air and a bit of sun. Before my last 10k I caught a Flu, felt like sh*t for a whole week before it and seriously considered not running. Wasn't in top form but glad I decided to give it a lash.

Chin up, :)

yungwan wrote: »
    How are u feeling now Dolliemix?

Im still not fully better, so I probably will leave my schedule until next week so I dont set myself back again. I may go for a walk over the weekend, but nothing strenuous as I am more than fed up with being sick at this point!!

I will have taken 2 weeks break at that point and havent really got into the swing of things properly since the Mini marathon which is dissapointing but head up! We will spur each other on from next week. I am going to start again I think but skip week one and hopefully I will get there in the end as I am a week or two short now for the Galway half.

Really disapointed as I wont be able o do my Galway mini marathon this Sunday after all. I just wont be better for it and I havent had time to prepare for it. :( Damn you chest infection!!
    GEt better soon!!

I'm feeling much better today and I'm going to try and head out for a 20 min run this evening, do a yoga class tomorrow, and a 5k on Saturday. I just can't stand this sitting around so I was so relieved when I woke up this morning and the 'chest' had gone from my cough and I actually felt human again! Because I'm going on holidays in two weeks, I'm going to try and get out 6/7 times and do 4 miles at the end of this week and 5 miles just before I go away. I'll be back at the end of July and I'll be starting the Hal Novice program from scratch again. I'll work out at that stage what race to aim for. Rainbow Kirby already suggested some, one in Waterford end of Octoberish.

Its a pity your plan is going a bit awol but the c25k and the build up to the 10k should have given you a basic fitness so when you get back, just take it easy the first few days. Hope its soon for you. Im sure its incredibly frustrating when you have a specific goal. You'll certainly be able for the Addidas 5k and 10k though so just work from there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

You'll certainly be able for the Addidas 5k and 10k though so just work from there!

Probably only a typo, but just in case......the race series are 5 and 10 miles, not km, so quite a bit longer.

Apologies!! I'm totally out of the zone as I will be drinking sake in Japan when you lot will be racing around Dublin in your fancy t-shirts from the goodie bag!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

I put these on the Adidas Run Series thread but thought I would pop them up here as well.

Attached are the routes from the 5, 10 and half-marathon run series races last year.

DISCLAIMER...do not kill me if any of the routes change this year as I do not have any insider knowledge :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

ohhh i got nervous looking at the half map!!!

When is everyone putting in there entries for the dublin half? will there still be places there late august?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Entries are open until the first of September at the latest. There is a limited number of places, so entries might close earlier. They didn't last year, I think, but you never know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Dogbite???:eek::eek::eek:

Thats my biggest nightmare!

Only reading back over your post now. Did you get tetnis in the end?

Well done with your hugely improved time!

Em, no I didn't get the tetanus after all, everyone was telling me it wasn't necessary and although I know that I should have gotten one it has actually healed fine - the skin did break but it was only very small.

However I am returning to the park this weekend in the hope of finding her because I want to talk to her about taking better measures to ensure her dog doesn't do that to, say, a child next time!!

Thanks, I'm delighted about the increase in time. I was fit enough last year and had to break for a year due to college (was totally worth it got a 1.1 today!!!!!!!)

Did 2m jog today in 26mins so that works out around right.

Not sure whether to take a rest tomorrow or not as I technically used up my rest day on tuesday when I did nothing.

Might try for 3m again tomorrow, but will be 3 days in a row. Don't know if my calves will take it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭fungirl1

10m frightened me...the hills at the back of the park TWICE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭fungirl1

peanuthead wrote: »
    Em, no I didn't get the tetanus after all, everyone was telling me it wasn't necessary and although I know that I should have gotten one it has actually healed fine - the skin did break but it was only very small.

However I am returning to the park this weekend in the hope of finding her because I want to talk to her about taking better measures to ensure her dog doesn't do that to, say, a child next time!!

Thanks, I'm delighted about the increase in time. I was fit enough last year and had to break for a year due to college (was totally worth it got a 1.1 today!!!!!!!)

Did 2m jog today in 26mins so that works out around right.

Not sure whether to take a rest tomorrow or not as I technically used up my rest day on tuesday when I did nothing.

Might try for 3m again tomorrow, but will be 3 days in a row. Don't know if my calves will take it!!!!

PH passed 3 dogs during my run in the park tonight...gave them all the evil eye on your behalf!! ;);)

BTW well done on the 1H!!

Way to go on the 1.1 congratulations.

well i just signed up for the dublin 10 mile and half marathon!!!!

no turning back now!!!

Did a recovery run this afternoon, just 3 miles to get a bit feeling back into my legs. It took a gentle 29 min and i really feel good after it.

I'll do six sunday, 3 tues, 3 thurs and then the big one next sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

fungirl1 wrote: »
    PH passed 3 dogs during my run in the park tonight...gave them all the evil eye on your behalf!! ;);)

BTW well done on the 1H!!

Lol, thanks!! I'm heading back to park this weekend to find yer one and her mutt anyway!!
    Way to go on the 1.1 congratulations.

Thanks!! :)
    well i just signed up for the dublin 10 mile and half marathon!!!!

no turning back now!!!

Me too!!

I decided not to do anything today. Although tues was my rest day really, I think it would be too much for me to do 3m, 2m, 3m 30mins cross and 4m altogether.

So I'm going to do 30min cross today, and then do a 3m on sat and a 4m on sunday.

Did 2m and weights yesterday.

Took yesterday and today off. Ran long the other day, and a late night last night....will get back to it probably tomorrow evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Short article on Active regarding moving up from 10k's to HM's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Decent article which highlights two of what i feel are really important parts to any HM training plan (Long runs and hills). Though 18-20 miles can be a bit excess i feel HM runners can get away with 14m-16m long runs

ecoli wrote: »
    Decent article which highlights two of what i feel are really important parts to any HM training plan (Long runs and hills). Though 18-20 miles can be a bit excess i feel HM runners can get away with 14m-16m long runs

Thank fook for that! I'm trying to break the 10-15 mile thingy at the minute. In my head if I can run a decent 10 mile, then if necessary I'll drag my ass the other 3 or so miles. By no means ideal I'm sure but I reckon a lot of us 10K bods are thinking this way.

If I can comfortably do a 13-15 miler or even an 18-20 (I wish) than on the day I should be fine. pending of course the weather, the pace, if I don't tear off, or tweak/break something essential along the way etc.