Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow 200 - 13th June 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Blowfish wrote: »
    I realised that if I managed to do the last bit in an average speed of about 32kmh I could break the 7.30 mark

How did you manage to calculate that on a bike!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Raam A Belgian pro in San Marco kit who was expecting warmer weather and myself decided it was too cold and left down the N81. Got a nice little training spin in, wore my fred-tastic kit and still had enough in the legs after yesterday which suprised me.

Weather seems to be picking up now so hopefully all you guys get a good day. It was really miserable going over the Sally Gap, I'm very much a fair weather cyclist.

Looked like the organization jumped up a few notches after last year, more marshalls about, motorbikes, support vehicles (I think).

this is one is for you dirk !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭gimmeaminute

Good day, had a great Sally Gap, disastrous Slieve Mann, but found the legs again for Shay. 7'08 rolling.

I'd echo Blowfish about the lack of decent groups, I suppose we set off a little early, but given that the serious rain was starting as I arrived, it was probably all for the best.

Well done all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭buffalo

7h 21' excl. stoppages for 209km for me on the W200 - I only realised I was following the W100 course when I got to Roundwood, so I doubled back and up the east side of the Sallygap to rejoin. Really enjoyed it, despite losing my shades (Aldi's finest, now it's time to splash out!). 244km including getting home - longest I've ever cycled, and first proper century. :)

Various boardsies made my day much more pleasant - I counted six jersies I think - three at the start that I could only wave to, then caroline, blowfish and git101. Also found montak, Conor20 and NeedMoreGears undercover. :D Loved the scattered cheering crowds too, and the organisation seemed pretty good - I encountered a few super-nice marshalls, but the queue for food in Donard put me off.

Was today's spread the usual distribution? Didn't notice many bunches - seemed to be mostly pairs, or 3/4 in a small grouping. I spent most of the time solo, hanging out with some lovely randomers. Superb day altogether, barring the saturation on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

How did you manage to calculate that on a bike!!
    I've a bad habit of working out random maths/physics/logic problems in my head when out on the bike. I think it comes from College when if I was stuck on a particular programming assignment I'd be chewing it over in my head on the commute home and would more often than not come up with an answer.*

This particular problem was straightforward enough, all I needed was the number of minutes left until 7h 30 and the distance left to go, both of which my little Garmin friend gave me.

*Yes, I'm a nerd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Enjoyed that. Even the drizzle over Sally Gap didn't matter too much as I got in ahead of the very heavy rain. Started early and was well chuffed with a rolling time of 7.42. Much better than last year. Met a few boardsies including Buffalo - was riding in disguise (team Crivit from Aldi/Lidl as usual so can't wait for some "proper" ger when the new boards order arrives). Was very lucky to get into some great groups - even had a go at the front for a while but was very happy to be towed home from the a few km after the top of the hill at Avoca - well worth killing myself to get on.

Thought the organisation was much improved over last year but was at Donard fairly early and there was a bit of a queue when I was leaving. It looks like the organisers really listened to people after last year.

All in all great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭jimmyjacob

What a day! Never done a cycle like this before so had no idea what to expect.

Brilliant atmosphere all along the route with rabbits to hunt down all afternoon. And when the sun came out I felt I could cycle for days. That is until 170km when it started raining and, as Sean Kelly would put it, I started "suffering big time".

Thankfully managed to get into my first group of the day at that point to drag me home. Did a few turns on the front, but I was spent. Thank god I live around the corner from the Shoreline. Don't know how you lads cycled home after. Fair play.

7.05 total time including stops. Only a few 100k cycles under my belt until now, so pretty happy with that. As others have said: an epic experience. Really hope it's in Greystones again next year (for selfish reasons :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Definitely think the organisation has gone up a few notches. More marshals, cheering people, well marked and the fact that you didn't have to negotiate the Dublin traffic at the end was nice!!

Still very unimpressed with the food stops in Donard and at the end, I didn't bother with Rathdrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭leftism

What a day! First off i've just got to thank Mr. Highway_To_Hell for the entry and the oppertunity to take part in my first WW200. Even though my initial opinion is that this event should be banned under the Geneva convention, i enjoyed the whole thing no end.

Highlights were getting to chat to Sean Kelly for a bit after i joined up in a big group after Rathdrum. Low points/depths of dispair were halfway up Slieve Maan, and the final 20km after my sprockets came completely loose and left me riding one gear into horrible wind and rain all the way to Greystones.

Great day out though! Rolling time was 7.06.40.

Saw a good few boardsies out during the day! Fair play to everyone who finished!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

I ended up doing the WW200 at the last minute. I'm glad I did, I took it really handy as I did no hill training at all this year and hadn't been on the bike in 10 days.

I was also the furthest I 've ever cycled.

Exhausted. Think I did it in 7.5hrs or so, computer died at Sally Gap though so that's based on the people who I started and ended the day with. Had a pretty good day, followed some Lucan Cycling Club for a good bit after Donard 'til around Rathdangan, where the pace was just too much for me. Took it easy heading up SL & SE, refound my companions in Rathdrum. Saw Sean Kelly in Rathdrum too.

Basically I spent a good bit of the day wheel sucking, and wouldn't have gotten around as quick as I did without it. After dropping back in Rathdangan I was tired and couldn't take the lead for a good while, though around 15km out I had enough energy to push.

Horrible for the last few hours, just horrible. Glad I've done it, but most of the second half of it I just wanted to get it done which isn't the best way to use my time I think, so I'm still unsure if I want to do the WW200 again.

Saw a few boardsies out, not as many as last year though, lowest boardsie number I saw out was 2 (I was 5!).

Was very happy with the marshalling everywhere except for leaving Rathdrum, lots of confusion there again. Lack of any chocolates in any of the stops was annoying (went to the shop instead), and the giving of nutrigrain bars at the start made no sense to me, as my pockets were already full so I left them at the start but could have done with them later.

So a good day, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

My first sportive and went for the 200, it was tough enough particularly when we hit slieve mann. Very enjoyable day considering the weather at certain key spots (sally gap).

Astounded at the level of fitness and determination of some of the older guys (50+). Was tipping up slieve mann solo with sweat literally pouring from every pore and finally found some restitude behind some unsuspecting suckers. Two guys 50+ casually discussing gardening whilst I gasped for dear life!!

Great occassion and will back for more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

Forgot to mention that I did not recognise Daniel Day Lewis at the hippy cafe in Laragh when he was sitting just in front of me ... he later overtook us up Sally Gap as well.
    Ruari Quinn was there last time I was in. Not nearly as exciting as DDL I know.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,625 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

DSC00763_Medium.jpg

DSC00764_Medium.jpg

DSC00765_Medium.jpg

DSC00770_Medium.jpg

DSC00774_Medium.jpg

DSC00775_Medium.jpg

DSC00776_Medium.jpg

DSC00778_Medium.jpg

DSC00784_Medium.jpg

DSC00785_Medium.jpg

DSC00790_Medium.jpg

I was in Greenan for the day so I decided to take a spin up to the crossroads to see what I could see. Not long after I arrived Mr. Kelly passed and a while later I spotted only my second Boards jeresy of the day. I ended up hanging around Glenmalure for the afternoon with track pump in tow, directing traffic and explaining to tired riders which way is up. No-one needed air but I did assist one rider with a rear derailer which wasn't selecting first gear.
    When the steady stream of cyclists was eventually reduced to a trickle I decided to leave my post at the crossroads and drive as far as Rathdrum and just as well too as I encountered a couple of riders struggling with punctures which I can imagine aren't the easiest thing to deal with at the latter end of a 200km event and the rain is p!ssing down.
    Not the day I had planned but enjoyable nonetheless.
    Maybe I should get more involved in marshalling now that cycling is off the agenda.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

Started at 7.00 with a few guys from work who were doing the 100, stayed with them until the spilt and headed off on the 200. Sally Gap was a bit damp but OK. Stopped in Donard for 20 minutes for a quick cuppa, and Hang Sanger, and topped up a bottle at the top of Slievemann. Apart from that I kept moving for the rest of the day. Got in a decent group for the leg from Manor Kilbride almost to Slievemann which was great. Climbs all went fine, although not very fast ! Got together with a guy in all Italia gear for the last stretch from Ashford to the Finish, we were suffering a bit but kept up a decent pace. Got in at 14:50 thankfully missing out the heavy rain. 7:30 rolling, 7:50 total. Fair dues to the IVCA, everything was very well organised this year as far as I could see. Passed a boardsie stopped with someone else just coming out of Avoca and gave a shout - not sure who it was.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,625 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Hermy wrote: »
    I was in Greenan for the day so I decided to take a spin up to the crossroads to see what I could see. Not long after I arrived Mr. Kelly passed and a while later I spotted only my second Boards jeresy of the day. I ended up hanging around Glenmalure for the afternoon with track pump in tow, directing traffic and explaining to tired riders which way is up. No-one needed air but I did assist one rider with a rear derailer which wasn't selecting first gear.
    When the steady stream of cyclists was eventually reduced to a trickle I decided to leave my post at the crossroads and drive as far as Rathdrum and just as well too as I encountered a couple of riders struggling with punctures which I can imagine aren't the easiest thing to deal with at the latter end of a 200km event and the rain is p!ssing down.
    Not the day I had planned but enjoyable nonetheless.
    Maybe I should get more involved in marshalling now that cycling is off the agenda.
    Stooppid, stoopid, stoopid! Me, me, me!
    First thing I should have said was well done to all of ye who cycled this event today. I envy of you your suffering.
    Secondly I should add that everyone I spoke to at the crossroads was in good cheer despite what they had already endured and the fact that Shay Elliot climb was dead ahead. I also include here the motorists who showed great patience when confronted with my attempts at points duty.:o
    Finally I wonder does anyone know the plight of the cyclist who crashed on the way down Slievemann? Cyclists I spoke to at the time of the incident seemed very concerned but I later heard that it wasn't quite so serious. Hopefully she's okay.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

94E7407D167F401CA62D12A56DC258C1-800.jpg

8FFA68778F2046C6B34F18D369E38CAD-800.jpg

18365C8B008E4B6C9CE4AE46D70BE188-800.jpg

B584BE5D462641BB8DEEB66909EEA5E0-800.jpg

9B8116F1B8B74AC989D181DA81E580C5-800.jpg