Teastas Sóisearach 2010: Gaeilge páipéar dó

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭fiestapower

i mistook "cathrach" for countryside and then wrote about the gaeltacht and all..
    i shuda used faoin tuath.
    oh well, theres goes my chances of getting a b :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Paper 2 really annoyed me! D:
    Why couldn't they just use normal themes D:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

I hate paper 2's....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭fiestapower

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Paper 2 really annoyed me! D:
    Why couldn't they just use normal themes D:

agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

Studied stuff went great...especially the letter :) unseen was ok got the poetry qs grand...only answered on one poem didn't get the second poem at all :P the comprehension? BSed my way through it...the ending was interesting and dramatic blah blah blah :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Worst paper ever I feel like crying... The one poem I knew couldn't be used cause all the options were on a duine like wtf?

The seen fiction was even worse the novel we done( Aililiu Bop Siuaidi) didn't fit a single one of the headings and I had nothing as back up!

Poetry was hard the fiction was hard and the letter was the only okay bit but still...

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭mista_2k10

Do you know the part A on the studied pros?, is it true that you can use any theme for that part?:confused: , because thats what i did because the themes for part B were absolute S****e i thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

My sister came out of the paper 2 exam crying. :(:( </3

*loads shotgun*
    Where's the chief examiner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

*loads shotgun*

I thought it was a horrible paper...
    I didn't have anything to fit the themes in the Pro, so I just wrote about An Corp as "life in the country side"...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Unseen Pros: not too hard, I understood most of it
    Studied Pros: none of the fit "an craiceann agus a luach very well", ended up going with life in the city and combining my two answers of grá and bochtaineacht.
    Unseen Poetry: Brilliant all my worrying for nothing, understood most of the 2 poems
    Studid poetry: fearg with an t-ozón, I was tempted to go for an Tigh Nua and lonleiness
    Letter: Grand.

When I have it all analysed like that it seems to have gone better than I thought it did.:)

*loads shotgun*

You're poor sister:(! Tbh I felt like crying too! It was unfair they've changed the paper enough and then they start messing around with stuff that you're pretty much sure would stay the same!
    :( I was hoping to do well in Irish and all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭mista_2k10

I was actually kinda excited about paper 2 :o, but feck me that paper 2 was just nonsense :mad:. They better not mark us hard

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I did In Ifreann Glas for the pro thing. Its about 10 guys working in Venezuela in a mine and the natives are killing them and stuff..
    I used nature as the theme (absolute nothing else!) It was ridiculous I wrote the account then at the end, there was a lot of people natives and foreigners but all these people are part of nature :L Then some were killed but other died of natural(NATURE) causes..

My correcting persons gonna think Im a pleb...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

Unseen prose: went ok
    studied prose: country life and díoltas an mhada rua
    unseen poetry: understood the poodle
    one not the other one
    studied poetry: subh milis and fearg
    letter: the one with the new principal. Brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Ally7

one not the other one

For the one where you did country life, did you just give a short summary of the story or mention where the countryside was n the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭markytowny94

one not the other one

basically the same for me exept i did an'tadh for the countryside. the headings for the prose did cause difficulties. Oh, and kevin12345, you were on the ball about the letter just before the exam ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

Ally7 wrote: »
    For the one where you did country life, did you just give a short summary of the story or mention where the countryside was n the story?

I gave a summary & then said where country life was briefly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Guys, doing a post mortem on the exam is not good for ye!:p Ye aren't the only ones who thought the exam was hard-hundreds, maybe thousands of other JCers around the country are probably really, really diappointed with it, and from what I've read, it sounds like it was really hard:(

You need to have a good PMA-positive mental attitude!:) These are the positives ye can take now:
    -Ye were able to write something for each question, even if you didn't exactly answer the question, ye will get marks for it
    -There are plenty of people just like you all around the country, who found the exam very difficult
    -Ye have now finished 4 of your exams!
    -It's Friday tomorrow and ye have the whole weekend ahead of ye!

Guys, I'm gonna sound like a hippy saying this but.....BE HAPPY!!:D:);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Smiley Laura

Ew ew ew. That Paper 2 was really horrible. The only scéal I knew was "An tAdh", and none of the themes really worked well with that. A lot of people did nature, and talked about the sea, but I did life in the country side...it was a long shot though!

The poetry was impossible! The themes, well they were hardly themes! Did anyone have anything prepared to write about a person...?

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

That was grand. The themes weren't great on the first look, but I still managed to write a good 3/4 pages.
    Letter was really nice, I chose B.
    The unseen prós and unseen poetry were tricky, but still managable.

Overall, I'd say I got a B in Irish, which is what I was aiming for.

Yea I agree with Mayoegian :) Now off to furnace with ye. About time, ye burnt those jc irish books... for good!! (a definite positive) :D

Ew ew ew. That Paper 2 was really horrible. The only scéal I knew was "An tAdh", and none of the themes really worked well with that. A lot of people did nature, and talked about the sea, but I did life in the country side...it was a long shot though!

The poetry was impossible! The themes, well they were hardly themes! Did anyone have anything prepared to write about a person...?

:(

"An tÁdh" & "Saol faoin tuath" was fine? It's about three young boys who live faoin tuath? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

basically the same for me exept i did an'tadh for the countryside. the headings for the prose did cause difficulties. Oh, and kevin12345, you were on the ball about the letter just before the exam ;)

M&S* wrote: »
    Worst paper ever I feel like crying... The one poem I knew couldn't be used cause all the options were on a duine like wtf?

The seen fiction was even worse the novel we done( Aililiu Bop Siuaidi) didn't fit a single one of the headings and I had nothing as back up!

Poetry was hard the fiction was hard and the letter was the only okay bit but still...

:mad:

"An tÓzon" will be accepted under "Duine Feargach" if that's the one you're talking about because the poet uses personification in the poem.

Yea I agree with Mayoegian :) Now off to furnace with ye. About time, ye burnt those jc irish books... for good!! (a definite positive) :D
    What about recycling soccy?

I'm off to dump the sheets from my folder into the recycling bin now.

I love my post-mortem . I made me feel happier.:)

DKZ wrote: »
    "An tÓzon" will be accepted under "Duine Feargach" if that's the one you're talking about because the poet uses personification in the poem.
    I used "An tÓzon". That was exactly my thinking.

DKZ wrote: »

:) Hopefully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Blue_Seas

That sucked. I doubt I got half marks in the unseen pros and poems and my studied pros didn't fit in at all! An Punk!
    I just said 'School Life' and had to make up that it's a poem about school life because she attends school (I actually don't know if she does ._.) and at the end I changed my summary to say that she was crying in the evening AND in school the next week :D

If that paper was honestly not just hard for me then the teachers will be raging. First they change paper 1 suddenly and then paper 2 has this new format for studied themes?

I think I fit "duine athas" or whatever it was with Teilifis and I did alright in the letter though... at least I put something down :rolleyes:

My sister used Subh milis in duine feargach. Even though the file is only angry for like to lines of the poem.

And guys, I remember last year, I completly misunderstood all my unseen stuff (i'll find quotes later on it which'll probably make you laugh at my stupidity :P) and was freaking out but i still got an honour :) So chillax and concentrate on aceing (sp?) maths and geography..

What about recycling soccy?

I'm off to dump the sheets from my folder into the recycling bin now.

I love my post-mortem . I made me feel happier.:)

or you could be like bluejay and help the environment :) well I actually sold mine off for $$$$$$ *chi-ching*