Rapist Takes Court Action Against Media (RTE News)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Feeona

Yeah his eyes should be taped open so he can read the Daily Mail:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭reprazant

It would seem that AH is populated with the types of reactionary idiots who hang around outside court houses shouting "Hangings to good for em!" at any major trial!

He was caught, convicted and served his time. Once released, he should be allowed to live his life as normally as the Courts allow as long as he stays within the law.

If you it, petition your local elected representives to bring back corporal punishment and hangings. Maybe, bring in some sort of Sharia law to stop thieves and their like as well. Do something rather being pathetic keyboard warriors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

aDeener wrote: »
    no it doesn't, it doesn't even come close.

anyone who isnt a liberal is a ****wit now? come down off that horse of yours would ya :rolleyes:
    journalism on a par with scumbags for posting pictures of a convicted rapist?

anti-liberal ****wits?

me thinks you are trying to be inflammatory just to get a response

I said on a par with scumbags, not on a par with rapists. What we have here is a case of a bunch of low-lifes tryign to use other people for their own personal gains. Scumbags? Or jouralists? Because I guarantee you, neither has the slightest carefor society.

Nothing to do with a high horse or anything. I should explain as I wasn't very clear. I did NOT say anyone who is anti-liberal is a ****wit. Also, anti liberal and not a liberal are two completely different things. Anti-liberal, from experience, usually means labelling me a liberal as if it was something bad and presenting no counter-arguement in responce. Not a liberal usually comes up with a decent argument. Quiet happy to enguage in inteeligent debate.

Regarding Mr Murray, I quiet like the Rockall suggestion. He can live whatever life he likes out there, he won't be harming anyone. But this isn't about him, it's about criminals suing journalists.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Funny...

We give driving offenders a lot of 2nd chances.
    We give drug users/suppliers a 2nd chance.
    We give violent offenders a 2nd chance.
    We give murderers a 2nd chance.

But if your crime is any kind of sexually assault, then it's out with the torches and pitchforks! Kill Kill Kill!!!

The entire justice system of most countries is based around punishing people for their crimes and then giving them a 2nd chance to be a productive member of society. This is because it is accepted that people can and do change their behaviour. With the right post-prison support, recidivism rates can be extremely low.

If you take away everything from a criminal, and leave them no chance of re-integrating into society, then then have nothing to lose and are much much more likely to reoffend. Give them counseling, support, a safe home, a job, friends etc and they have a lot more reasons to be good.

The media's prolonged interest in this guy greatly increases the chance that he will reoffend.

Recidivism rates for Ireland
    • Violence (27%)
    • Motoring (22%)
    • Drugs (13%)
    • Property (13%)
    • Public order (10%)
    • Sex crime (2%)

Reference:
    (Source: http://www.coe.int/t/dg3/pompidou/Source/Activities/Justice/JohnnyConnollyspresentation_en.pdf )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I said on a par with scumbags, not on a par with rapists. What we have here is a case of a bunch of low-lifes tryign to use other people for their own personal gains. Scumbags? Or jouralists? Because I guarantee you, neither has the slightest carefor society.

Nothing to do with a high horse or anything. I should explain as I wasn't very clear. I did NOT say anyone who is anti-liberal is a ****wit. Also, anti liberal and not a liberal are two completely different things. Anti-liberal, from experience, usually means labelling me a liberal as if it was something bad and presenting no counter-arguement in responce. Not a liberal usually comes up with a decent argument. Quiet happy to enguage in inteeligent debate.

Regarding Mr Murray, I quiet like the Rockall suggestion. He can live whatever life he likes out there, he won't be harming anyone. But this isn't about him, it's about criminals suing journalists.

but rapists are scumbags.... or are they not in your eyes?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

he has a valid case, no doubt he'll win... this form of reporting is unethical and needs to be stamped out...I dont condone what he did, but coming from a photojournalist course in college, this sort of thing comes up, its a disgrace, red tops should be all banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

but rapists are scumbags.... or are they not in your eyes?

... but scumbags aren't nessecarily rapists. Again, stop implying that I said "rapists" when I cleary did not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,762 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

is it the case the hospital were not entitled to know he had a criminal record or was it a case of they knew and just believed in the concept of rehabilitation?
    if it's the latter i commend the hospital for employing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Greyfox

But if your crime is any kind of sexually assault, then it's out with the torches and pitchforks! Kill Kill Kill!!!

I don't care and I say fair play to the media for hounding this piece of sh*t, it's not their fault our legal system keeps giving lenient sentences for scum like this! Raping 4 women and sexually assaulting two more should of got him more then 13 years. He's does'nt belong in society yet and he's a massive danger to young women. I dont' give a fook about his rights as he has not been punished enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Stick him on Rockall.

We can't, Rockall isn't ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

he seems to be trying to get his life back on track tbh.

and before you all stride in on your high horses with "the victims can't get their life back on track etc" - what would you rather see? the man come out of prison, reoffend and be lobbed back in there or see him come out a changed man?

The court heard that during his 13-year prison sentence he attended counselling to deal with his offences and addiction problems.

After his release he joined a 'New Directions' programme for the rehabilitation of sex offenders.

The programmes had numerous conditions including a curfew and regular visits from probation officers and gardaí.

it seems he has been trying to reform.

he will win his case imo.

Greyfox wrote: »
    I don't care and I say fair play to the media for hounding this piece of sh*t, it's not their fault our legal system keeps giving lenient sentences for scum like this! Raping 4 women and sexually assaulting two more should of got him more then 13 years. He's does'nt belong in society yet and he's a massive danger to young women. I dont' give a fook about his rights as he has not been punished enough!

Yes, but nor is it their duty.

I agree completely with what you're saying but, as I said, there is no way that the journalists in question give the slightest **** about society.

Journalists, no matter who they're reporting, are NOT above the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

He moved into my apartment block a few months ago. Didn't last long here.

On one hand, I understand where he is coming from... But then I think he did rape a number of women. It is pretty difficult to expect people to give him another chance. Saying you're sorry and you won't do it again is all well and good when you've done something like eaten the last Rolo, but rape? Well tbph, I didn't feel safe with him as my neighbour.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Novella wrote: »
    He moved into my apartment block a few months ago. Didn't last long here.

On one hand, I understand where he is coming from... But then I think he did rape a number of women. It is pretty difficult to expect people to give him another chance. Saying you're sorry and you won't do it again is all well and good when you've done something like eaten the last Rolo, but rape? Well tbph, I didn't feel safe with him as my neighbour.

he has paid his debt, in the eyes of the legal system he is an innocent man and should be treated so. scumbag journos are the blame... and to a lesser extent the people who buy their papers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Arkmar wrote: »
    What I want to know is who is the Solicitor representing this rapist in the high court and are we paying for it. Do they not have a shred of moral fibre in their whole body that all they can see is €€€.
    AFAIK, solicitors for the state don't get to pick the people they defend. They are given a case and have to do their best.

Didn't Michael McDowell defend that Malcolm MacArthur fella at one point?

Money doesn't come into the equation. It's luck of the draw.

Also, I believe that the rapist in this case should be left along. The criminal system is built on the idea of rehabilitation. If someone serves time and is released, they should be allowed to go back and attempt to live a normal life, especially in this guy's case where he appears to be trying to get back to normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

He can move in beside me if he wants. There are probably plenty of rapists/ex-rapists/potential rapists living per square kilometre than I would like to know about. At least this one I can put a face and name to, and he's probably being kept a close watch on as it is. I say leave him be, he's paid his debt. He will never be as free as he was before he commited the crimes anyway. He will be paying for the rest of his life if that is any consolation to the victims. I can't see what pitchforking him from place to place is going to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

I'd like to see a system whereby there is a liability on the part of the justice system if a person like this reoffends on release. It could have a two pronged positive outcome. a) If the state are in any doubt of the risk factor on such a person being free, they'll keep them in prison or under serious surveillance. Thus, a higher level of protection for us, the common person. b) IF they offend again, it points at the failure of the state. The state will have to assess its position, and the victim can be compensated (Not that this is any real consolation).

Overall, Protection of the innocent should always be the priority of the justice system. ALL other 'rights' etc must only be considered AFTER this first principal of protection is satisfied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Martian Martin

He raped numerous women and exposed himself to kids and some people wanna help protect his Civil liberties? :confused:

Hang this **** from the nearest lamp post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

He raped numerous women and exposed himself to kids and some people wanna help protect his Civil liberties? :confused:

Hang this **** from the nearest lamp post.

Are you a card carrying KKK member?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Martian Martin

stepbar wrote: »
    Are you a card carrying KKK member?

You're clever, you should look to carve out a career being a clever internet poster person. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Greyfox wrote: »

Unless you have spent a few years in prison, I don't think you are in any position to say that 13 years in a prison cell isn't enough punishment. If I try to imagine spending the next 13 years of my life in prison, it scares the hell out of me. I'd rather die. And yes, I'm aware that rape is effectively a life sentence for victims, but this isn't about the victims.

Also, the media don't exist to punish individuals. That is the jurisdiction of our courts, judges and juries. The fact that the sentence may not be considered long enough by most people does not give the media, or anyone else the right to inflict their own vigilante brand of punishment. If we think sentences are too lenient, then we should lobby our politicians for tougher sentences.

Also, I do care about this guys rights, as I do for any persons rights. If you start to ignore 1 persons rights, it becomes a slippery slope and you end up in a very bad place.

Hate/despise this guy all you want, but the media have no business persecuting him. They are meant to report the news, nothing more and nothing less. For this reason, he will win his case, and this rapist that you hate so much will end up with a nice bank balance at the end of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

You're clever, you should look to carve out a career being a clever internet poster person. Well done.

I'd say it's about 100 times more clever than yours for sure....

Go ring Joe Duffy why don't you :rolleyes: FFS.... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I don't condone what he did, I don't consider him human for what he did, nor would I ever want to come acros him. It has to be said though, if he's left prison and is trying to rehabilitate into a normal life, then he is entitled to do so.

What I really hate about this type of reporting in tabloids is that they couldn't give a **** for the victims, they couldn't give a **** for alerting people in the area of where the criminal is living or anything of that kind. They're only following this man and writing these articles to stir up some **** and put out some more ****e into their tabloids.

As much as I'd hate to see a person of his standing to win such a large sum in court, I'd more so like him to win so I can see these tabloids having to pay up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    ... but scumbags aren't nessecarily rapists. Again, stop implying that I said "rapists" when I cleary did not.

i know that, but rapists are scumbags and you equated journalists to scumbags. how many time will i have to say that? you really should have made your point a lot clearer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Here I go, logging on, checking AH, only to find CrazyRabbit making the same argument I would have made. And better.

For the Media to harass this man after he's already been convicted and served his time stinks of Double Jeopardy. Obviously serially raping 5 women is deplorable but that time is served.

Justice is not all about Retribution. Many of you would do yourselves good to realize that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Either the guy has been rehabilitated and is no longer a danger to society
    or he has not and still is.

If the former he should be left in peace

If the latter he should still be in prison

End of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Andrew33

Fizman wrote: »
    You're right.

Actually we should let him continue to work in the hospital, so he can stay back late one night, lock several nurses into the canteen and rape them all until he's tired.

Is that better?
    You're portraying nurses as some helpless little bimbos who can put a cold facecloth on your forehead. They'd handle this twat, this evil (and I don't use that word lightly) monster preyed on weak individuals and should never have seen the light of day for what he did, and he did a huge amount more than he was EVER convicted for. This guy is Irelands Ripper, lets not be in any doubt about that, but Irelands legal system has seen justice done and says he has served his sentence so should be left to himself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

This should be the official After Hours anthem;

"Hang 'em high
    Come on boys, we're gonna hang 'em high
    Hang 'em high
    Round 'em up, we're gonna hang 'em high

Gonna hang 'em high, oh, oh yeah

Then we'll watch 'em dance where their feet don't touch the ground
    So string 'em up and lay that money down and hang 'em high
    Hang 'em high
    String 'em up, boys"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

In my opinion it is the justice system bending over for the culprits yet again.

It is also of my opinion that all rapists should be castrated.

*not all rapists are men but the majority are.

i know that, but rapists are scumbags and you equated journalists to scumbags. how many time will i have to say that? you really should have made your point a lot clearer

Sorry, but I really can't put it much more clearer than saying, and I quote "this kind of thing puts journalism almost on a par with scumbags". For heaven's sake, man, you highlighted it in your reply to me, how can you still be uncertain?

You can say it as often and as loud as you like, but it does not change the facts that YOU are the one who misread it, YOU are the one who brought about the direct rapist interpretation and you are the one who implied that I meant rapists. I really can not help you with that. Stop trying to blame other people for your mistakes.