Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Computer Applications

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Mr.S wrote: »
    Not so good when basically the whole year are long haired & greasy:D

There was one lecture where there was someone with the smoothest hair ever a bit down from us, we debated if it was a guy or girl for a while.

True to the nature of CA, it was of course a guy.

But yeah, the maths isn't that hard, if you have a bit of cop on, and do the work, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭Nanaki

Tiroskan wrote: »
    Pfft. Everybody knows all the gays are in arts. Duh.

a spy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

I graduated from CA last year and I can honestly tell you that it was the most stressful 4 years of my life. CA is extremely broad in what it covers and whilst there are aspects of computing I love, there were modules I absolutely loathed. This is just something you have to deal with but be aware that some guys will excel at computer programming but still fail CA simply because they can't pass the more business orientated courses.

The standard of lecturing in CA can also be a bit iffy. Some of the professors are very experienced, very intelligent guys who know how to teach. Others are academics through and though and often have no idea what they're on about. There is also one math lecturer (I won't name names) who despite being a genius is without a doubt the most unsuitable man I have ever seen lecturing. Anyone who did CA will know who I'm talking about (the one with the jumpers and the beard....)

Also, and this is a bit controversial but it has to be mentioned, CA attracts some very socially bizarre people. When I was there I, I always left my mp3 play on before lectures so I wouldn't have to listen to the red brick bell ends at the back of the class talking out their back sides about everything and nothing. These people are always there and they are utterly irritating but learn to ignore them, focus on your studies (and not on world of warcraft) and CA will set you up nicely.

Good luck with your choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

RichardAnd wrote: »
    When I was there I, I always left my mp3 play on before lectures so I wouldn't have to listen to the red brick bell ends at the back of the class talking out their back sides about everything and nothing.

Em, you went to lectures, and then listened to your mp3 player? o_Ó

gg you

RichardAnd wrote: »
    Also, and this is a bit controversial but it has to be mentioned, CA attracts some very socially bizarre people. When I was there I, I always left my mp3 play on before lectures so I wouldn't have to listen to the red brick bell ends at the back of the class talking out their back sides about everything and nothing. These people are always there and they are utterly irritating but learn to ignore them, focus on your studies (and not on world of warcraft) and CA will set you up nicely.

Of course CA attracts socially bizarre people. That's hardly a controversial statement. In the world of science, the socially adept are the socially retarded and vice-versa.

I must say though I am surprised by your claim as a whole, mostly because it's ironic. I was in your year for a while, and the vast majority of the loud bell-ends who wouldn't ever shut up were not the RedBrick members (I have no love for RedBrick), but the knobs who clearly had no passion for what they were doing and wanted to become code monkeys for its financial rewards, and in fact hated RedBrick.

I remember that these people instantly made themselves the most hated shower of twats in L125 one Christmas as they were throwing presents at each other and screaming their lungs out, while everyone else in the lab was struggling to get assignments and functional specifications done.

I'm not sure why you mentioned World of Warcraft (which I've never seen being played in the School of Computing), especially because the same were constantly making noise in the labs while playing on SNES emulators and talking about Bomberman. :pac::pac::pac::pac: Funny how polar opposites are so alike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Creadak

Pfft. Everybody knows all the gays are in arts. Duh.

Wouldn't wanna be cruising by the computer building :P

*points at himself, undermining your absolute. ;)

And yeah, the Computing Building is not for cruising. *Stalks to the business building, humanities building, and the sports fields :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭binncheol

Mr.S wrote: »
    Also no girls;)

this is not completley true! >.>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Tiroskan

Creadak wrote: »
    *points at himself, undermining your absolute. ;)

And yeah, the Computing Building is not for cruising. *Stalks to the business building, humanities building, and the sports fields :pac:

I knew one of ye would pop up EVENTUALLY to prove me wrong. :p

Although, really, would you want to pick up anyone from humanities or business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭stainluss

Although, really, would you want to pick up anyone from humanities or business?
    Is there many nice girlies in the place?:o

Heard its good for nursing...that must be something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭irish_boy90

stainluss wrote: »
    Is there many nice girlies in the place?:o

Heard its good for nursing...that must be something

If you want to go nursing go ahead.
    Believe business is 1:1 girl/boy
    and well you can guess what science and computers would be like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

Put in an effort with maths. You';; pick everything else up as you go along. I never found any of this overly hard; other than maths and Z notation.

JoePie wrote: »
    Put in an effort with maths. You';; pick everything else up as you go along. I never found any of this overly hard; other than maths and Z notation.

That's not relevant now because you did Information Systems which doesn't exist anymore, and the OP is doing CA, not Enterprise Computing.

You don't pick up anything as you go along in CA. It's seriously hard work. Z notation is one of the easiest things you need to learn and understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

Yeah, I still need to do Z tomorrow.

You can't just sail through this course. No way HOSE-AY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭trellheim

db100513.gif

"In other news, business student chlamydia rates hit an all-time high this year..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭simonw

That's not relevant now because you did Information Systems which doesn't exist anymore, and the OP is doing CA, not Enterprise Computing.

You don't pick up anything as you go along in CA. It's seriously hard work. Z notation is one of the easiest things you need to learn and understand.

I don't know about that, I did SE and picked up most stuff as I went along, and found Z to be a pain in the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

What's the INTRA work experience like?

and what's the general outlook on getting work from this course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

INTRA can be anything, it depends entirely on what job placement you get. Most people seem to get a good experience out of it, but others end up working in tech support or doing stuff that's not really relevant to the degree. Mine was great.

When I had INTRA, I'm pretty sure everyone in my course found a job, but I know of a few people this year who still haven't got any work and it's supposed to start in April. A lot of the prospective employers do look at your results from previous years, so generally speaking, if you work hard and get good grades in first and second year you'll have a great shot at being employed somewhere decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

is it possible to get INTRA having had to repeat subjects in both 1st and 2nd year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

Yep. I repeated a rake of them and still got a job. Wasn't a programming job, but it was money for the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

UCD CS or DCU Computer Apps

I'm probably gonna get a biased answer but what is better in the long run does anyone know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭H2G2

is it possible to get INTRA having had to repeat subjects in both 1st and 2nd year?

Yes it is.

CA is computer science and software engineering.