Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Higgins match fixing claims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭SD7792

you still would take the bookies money even though its not a fair playing pitch as you know the result of an event (which is a cheating of sorts).....im not saying that you encourage cheating in sport ...... i just think that there is alot of 'goody good two shoes' on boards , but they would take an unfair advantage of something or someone and think its wrong for someone else to do it....
    Yeah i'm not trying to make myself out as somebody who's never done anything wrong or anything. Coz i have. But if I put money on something I know the outcome of i'm not putting my family, my career and my industry into jeopardy and i'm not definitely not getting a quarter of a million for it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

and this is just one incident that was actually caught on camera,

I imagine the sport is riddled with it to be honest....sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I think he has committed no wrong doing... He makes a living out of playing snooker and he just decided to do a little nixer on the side to make a few extra quid , The bookies get a little hit but they have the country ruined and also give **** odds and deserve to get punished.
    Bookies never lose, it was other punters being screwed in this, not BIG BAD BOOKIES.

Anyway, Higgins can **** right off now.
    I hope Hearn doesn't go, I have a feeling if anyone was going to clean up the sport he's likely to be the one. God knows who else has taken money for what now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Anybody know what Virgo was saying on Newstalk? Whats been the general reaction from (ex) players?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭terlywerly

A very, very sad day for snooker.
    I feel bad for Neil and Graeme today, having to play and be overshadowed by this news.
    Fair play to Barry Hearn, he's handling it well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭fatherbuzcagney

amacachi wrote: »
    Bookies never lose, it was other punters being screwed in this, not BIG BAD BOOKIES.

Anyway, Higgins can **** right off now.
    I hope Hearn doesn't go, I have a feeling if anyone was going to clean up the sport he's likely to be the one. God knows who else has taken money for what now.

on betfair? i taught the bookies would have taking some of the hit or hits as it is deffo not the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Very interesting to see wht the beeb say about it now at 2 o clock

Pat Mooney on Sky News

Lying through his teeth, its so feckin obvious... Crocodile tears

BBC not ignoring it anyway, started the show today with it...Will be
    interesting to see how the day pans out

Higgins statement states that he was scared and went along with the conversation
    out of fear and that he just wanted to get out of there. Come on John, the game is
    up, anyone and everyone who saw the footage and who has an ounce of sense can
    see that you are just digging a bigger hole for yourself..

Pityful imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭userod

yermandan wrote: »
    Higgins statement states that he was scared and went along with the conversation
    out of fear and that he just wanted to get out of there. Come on John, the game is

Pityful imo

You're probably right, but I'm hoping you're wrong... I would love if there was some sort of reasoning behind him asking "any cameras?".

He was my favourite player and seemed like a true gentleman. Fooled I was...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 openviews

So was John kidnapped and taken to Kiev?..otherwise why else was he there?

The fact that this took place on Friday also leads to questions of whether being knocked out of the World Championship before the final was arranged to allow him the opportunity to travel there.

Watching Davis before the match he looked really peeved and like he wanted to say alot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭userod

On Sky News, John Higgins "I would never do anything to damage integrity of the sport I love, my conscience is 100% clear"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

Wow just after hearing about all this now...

And there was me thinking snooker was a sport different to most others. A gentlemans sport I think my dad described it to me as once and thats all I ever seen playing it.

I personally wouldnt put any money on it wether these allegations are true. Just feels like something isnt adding up. With a bitta luck ill be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

this is when the news of the world went to his house to tell him

2higgins-house_111043a.jpg

look at the panic on his face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭IrishKev

yermandan wrote: »

Pityful imo

Link to his statement? Wouldn't mind seeing what he has to say about it, I hope I'm wrong but it looks like he's backed himself into a corner here that he won't be able to get out easily. The snooker community is full of unwritten rules that everyone follows, for example players usually call a foul on themselves in a game or things like that, so this will shock the snooker world to the core. Really disappointed seeing Higgins of all people doing this, wouldn't have thought in a million years he would have.

Although, I can see the temptation to commit such a crime, despite all the risks. Even though it is really wrong and should never be done, I would be tempted myself if I was in his position. But having said, that a man of his experience in the game should have more sense and more cop on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

lol, he looks like a right chav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Penisland

Roar wrote: »

"O ****!"

Were did you get this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Penisland wrote: »
    "O ****!"

Were did you get this?

sorry, should have included the link

http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/news/801883/John-Higgins-snooker-match-fixing-scandal.html?OTC-RSS&ATTR=News

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

on betfair? i taught the bookies would have taking some of the hit or hits as it is deffo not the first time.

Have you any idea how bookies set their odds? For a frame win they'll have it very sensitive, so that any large bet will instantly update the odds. The odds make sure they make a percentage no matter what the result is. It's very, very rare a bookies will lose out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Roar wrote: »

State of that hoodie.

Sorry guys,

Here's the link to the Rte story. Nothing on BBC yet, although thats where I read it first,
    when they showed it before the final began.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/snooker/2010/0502/higginsj1.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭fatherbuzcagney

amacachi wrote: »
    Have you any idea how bookies set their odds? For a frame win they'll have it very sensitive, so that any large bet will instantly update the odds. The odds make sure they make a percentage no matter what the result is. It's very, very rare a bookies will lose out.

so the scam was done on betfair, is that what you are saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

Wait a second, there's one thing that no one seems to have questioned yet.

Did the News of the World just set up a fake meeting to catch him out?

Is that not entrapment?

And how can they suspend him if there's no proof that he's ever thrown a frame for cash? All they have is a video of him agreeing to do something in the future, i.e. something he hasn't in fact done.

I mean it looks pretty bad, and I'm not necessarily defending Higgins, but I find the manner in which this whole situation has arisen to be highly questionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭davocesque

devastated to hear this, only wrote last week that higgins was my favourite player on the other thread.

but when you think about it, it must be a very simple scam, and if any players were up for increasing their modest earning compared to other sports, it wudnt be as difficult to do. it was only recently when allegations surrounded stephen maguire.

hope im wrong cuz i love the game!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

to win a given frame on paddy power, between the top players is usually 5/6 for both of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    and this is just one incident that was actually caught on camera,

I imagine the sport is riddled with it to be honest....sad
    What was caught on camera?????????????:confused: