Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Thanks! Mixing drinks ftw, I would hate to be a person that couldn't. I'm sure I'll get a hangover some day. Kopparberg is too sweet, soooo sweet. I would drink it but you can only have so much of it. When I'm drunk they fly into me though. My favourite cider is Rekorderlig. They have some interesting flavours, Strawberry and Lime etc and although it's sweet I could drink em all day. nom nom. Good cheap cider would be stonehouse inches. mm!

Still it's hard to get some of those when out and about unless I want to pay 7e, so it's better to spend it on whiskey and jager bombs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

It's just wine you can't mix though, well least me anyways. Rekorderlig is good too, it's still behind kopparberg. I can't drink those sweet "girl" drinks :P but I can drink cider. Dunno that Stonehouse one though, sounds like one that comes in a 2 litre plastic bottle :p

whiskey yes.
    jager, I may need some therapy before I can have that one again :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Just starting to like wine really, it keeps being thrown at me and then my friend made some...so just by copious amounts I am surely going to love it soon. They are not girl drinks...the girl drinks I enjoy are cosmos, pina coladas and such, thank you very much. :pac:

Yeah it's the cheap of the cheap ciders but I think it's quite nice. I think Devil's bit is the delicious one from a bottle. Me and it go way back, but then again so does getting sick in a field so maybe i'll leave the 2L bottles of devils bit as a nostalgic memory.

i drink the whisckey with oj, that is where people get freaked out. Didn't like jager but it;s all maameeo drinks, my housemate and she has converted me to her redbull jager ways mmm

sorry to offend you and your "girl" drinks Tar. I have to try whiskey with oj now :eek:, I have had hot whiskey and oj, when I'm "ill" that is. I still have nightmares if I even smell jager, also find it hard to drink diluted orange since after drinking that after over-dosing on jager and well you know where all of it ended up, not so nostalgic memory.

vegetables, soya, down with meat.......

(just throwing the scent off the AA meeting here)

--LOS-- wrote: »
    sorry to offend you and your "girl" drinks Tar. I have to try whiskey with oj now :eek:, I have had hot whiskey and oj, when I'm "ill" that is. I still have nightmares if I even smell jager, also find it hard to drink diluted orange since after drinking that after over-dosing on jager and well you know where all of it ended up, not so nostalgic memory.

vegetables, soya, down with meat.......

(just throwing the scent off the AA meeting here)

Apology accepted, i turned off my sarcometer for that one. Do, try it, be converted! Proper oj, you are right to stay away from diluted, mank stuff. So many cheap vodkas that I want to forget with unwatered miwadi crap. But if you redbull up the jager, you no smell it!

So how about the weather, I hear physics is great craic these days, dark matter and teh whole shebang, oh and did you hear about the volcano? Soya, yeahhhhhhhhhhh

but I can smell it now just reading the word! :(

the weather, space weather? Someone laughed at me before for mentioning space weather, haw there's no weather in space, ye there is!

the big bang I think they call it ;) (shebang :rolleyes:)

Fine fine, we can give you time. We can work it into your routine at meetups, here have a salad with jager and mango dressing etc.

you mean like solar winds and the lark? It seems mostly sunny up there really.

Here, less poking fun of the country termage there missus! I'll banjax ya! I don't even know what that means

ye solar winds and flares and shocks and the like, they make pretty pictures.

banjax, it aint good, I'm offended now, you never want anything to be banjaxed, it's a bit late for some though.

you have any exa...(bad word) tomorrow?

wanted to be an astronaut but I couldn't be, would have loved a bit of solar wind on the cheeks in the mornings like. Shocks sound exciting. Heaven forfend, what have I done, I was careless with my banjaxing, alas, please accept my reparations in the form of a kitty.

cute%20kitten(weee).jpg

Don't mention the war! No bad words until data communications on wednesday. wooooooo. One day of relaxing study

aw kitten, would have worked better if it was staring right at me though. I think most physicists wouldn't want to be astronauts tbh, it's always those pesky engineers.

But Tar, tomorrow IS Wednesday!!!

Maybe if you stand up a bit...no over there...back a bit...yeah, now! Guilty as charged, although I'd rather physics over engineering but I didn't know what i would work as as a physicist :p So lots of physicy engineering was grand.

That sentence made me hate you and love you. So I am apathetic for now until I decide which. Damn :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

Can I have that kitty? ^^

ah it's all the same in undergrad, you all do your fair share of programming, maths, physics, I'd probably prefer the subject choices in physics though. And I'll take the general populations view of physicists over engineers any day! I feel sorry for yiz.

Hi anothernight, the kitten was looking at you all along!

Can I have that kitty? ^^

These are for you <3

92717eab7511bcce670e803239838dc8.gif

1268414709166.jpg

ah it's all the same in undergrad, you all do your fair share of programming, maths, physics, I'd probably prefer the subject choices in physics though. And I'll take the general populations view of physicists over engineers any day! I feel sorry for yiz.

Hi anothernight, the kitten was looking at you all along!
    Yeah I suppose it is, we just have a lot more programming and hardware then, instead f delicious physics and maths. Mmmm eigenvalues. Surely people think engineers rock? Damn.

I think I rememebr from some course it was said that they used to be real cool, fonzie like, then some hackers film made it all nerdy, nooooo :D

--LOS--, what course are you doing exactly? On my CAO form I've all engineering options, but I keep thinking of putting back on it the theoretical physics that I took out a while ago.

I had theoretical physic and mathematical physics on mine, I was all swpapping over and back like you seem to be doing too. Also, aww you so ickle

Actually I haven't changed a single thing other than taking out TP. I'm very very sure that I want to do engineering. Though sometimes I do think about what art college would've been like >_<
    And shut up you! My bf could say that to you lol

I kept swapping it out and in and then what came first, i ended up with some weird match of engineering, physics, law and medical things, was a bit strange! Engineering <3
    oh dear, you must like em old so! And anyway I am domineering in presence, I'm sure he couldn't say it, not even for the lulz.

Yeah I suppose it is, we just have a lot more programming and hardware then, instead f delicious physics and maths. Mmmm eigenvalues. Surely people think engineers rock? Damn.

I think I rememebr from some course it was said that they used to be real cool, fonzie like, then some hackers film made it all nerdy, nooooo :D

Eh you haven't noticed that people think engineers are plumbers??! It's sickening how over-used the word is, should be a protected term (can't think of the right word) like architect, I met someone who called themselves a refrigeration engineer before, they fitted coke machines.
    --LOS--, what course are you doing exactly? On my CAO form I've all engineering options, but I keep thinking of putting back on it the theoretical physics that I took out a while ago.

Eh I do physics with astronomy but I'm not sure if I would have rather something like TP or just maths, sure in TCD the maths people nearly take more physics modules than the TP people?

Sometimes I just prefer the more fundamental stuff and despise all the labs etc that you have to do.

It's hard to get back into maths stuff afterwards, all the masters programs want you to have done pure maths.

You can say that on a forum. Just not irl!
    Old, most of the time yeah. Guy before him was slightly younger though which was weird. And here I am talking about my life... Ugh

How old is Tar anyway?

I honestly don't see them point in changing the choices all the time. Like you don't really know what you're getting yourself into until you start the course itself, so it's better to pick something you think you'll like and stick to it i think.

Should probably try to sleep soon meh

Edit: Yeah the title of "engineer" should definitely be more regulated in this country. Coming from Spain, I found it very very hard to get used to the way they use it here. Hopefully that will change in the coming years. Not that I'm planning on staying anyway.

Actually I haven't changed a single thing other than taking out TP. I'm very very sure that I want to do engineering. Though sometimes I do think about what art college would've been like >_<
    And shut up you! My bf could say that to you lol

omg I can't believe you mentioned art college, that is what I wanted to do too, but at the time coz of fuck ups in school with subjects, I had to take art practical with the year above one year and the year below another year, then art history on my own, coz I was one of those weird people that wanted to do art and physics for leaving. In the end never got time with all that mess for portfolios, you're making me sad now :(

Sorry. I didn't mean to make you sad :(
    For me it was just that everyone always expected me to do art, so I sort of convinced myself that I really wanted to do it (I can't live without art, but I don't think it's a career for me tbh). Then when the time came to actually think about it I dropped it. They wouldn't let me at school because they said I HAD to do it. I dropped it anyway. I still carry sketchpads in my bag and all that, but I'm much happier with the choice I made.

Don't be sad though! At least now you know you're not the only one who ditched art for maths! Everyone always seems so surprised at that.

You can say that on a forum. Just not irl!
    Old, most of the time yeah. Guy before him was slightly younger though which was weird. And here I am talking about my life... Ugh

How old is Tar anyway?

I honestly don't see them point in changing the choices all the time. Like you don't really know what you're getting yourself into until you start the course itself, so it's better to pick something you think you'll like and stick to it i think.

Should probably try to sleep soon meh

Edit: Yeah the title of "engineer" should definitely be more regulated in this country. Coming from Spain, I found it very very hard to get used to the way they use it here. Hopefully that will change in the coming years. Not that I'm planning on staying anyway.
    Sounds like you like oaps there! haha.
    I'm 24 in june.

I really didn't know what to do at all, I picked electronics cos I was crap at it and wanted to be better and I like computers so that too. Would love to do other courses like physics, law, medicine, arts, if only people lived longer!
    I never hear people say engineer unless they are talking about me and I start talking about networks and distributed systems and such and then they don't want to talk no more. :p

You're off eh? oh well! ;_: Not that we met so our relationship will be the same :D

Eh you haven't noticed that people think engineers are plumbers??! It's sickening how over-used the word is, should be a protected term (can't think of the right word) like architect, I met someone who called themselves a refrigeration engineer before, they fitted coke machines.
    never really noticed but i have heard it like that once or twice yeah. Without the BEng they are not, hmpf! /strokes BEng. Mmm so engineery

For me it was just that everyone always expected me to do art, so I sort of convinced myself that I really wanted to do it (I can't live without art, but I don't think it's a career for me tbh). Then when the time came to actually think about it I dropped it. They wouldn't let me at school because they said I HAD to do it. I dropped it anyway. I still carry sketchpads in my bag and all that, but I'm much happier with the choice I made.

Don't be sad though! At least now you know you're not the only one who ditched art for maths! Everyone always seems so surprised at that.

But maths is real art.

Also you should go to the Louvre and be one of the arty girls sitting around all day drawing, that looks fun tbh

Everyone expected me to too apart from family, even when I meet people I used to know they're always surprised I didn't do it. Ideally I would have taken a year off after LC but being very young at the time and having other people completely against it I didn't I just went with physics.

It's hard to regret it though, coz I would never have done physics if I did art so I try to hold onto the fact that I can do art anyways but it's not the same.

Right I'm off people. Up at 7 I think. Unless I don't bother >_<
    Night...

Edit.... The louvre. Been there done that. Hours of fun ^_^

>_< So I'm a baby and he's an oap. Great stuff lol

yeah great stuff /pedofail

nn ^_^

Sounds like you like oaps there! haha.
    I'm 24 in june.

I really didn't know what to do at all, I picked electronics cos I was crap at it and wanted to be better and I like computers so that too. Would love to do other courses like physics, law, medicine, arts, if only people lived longer!
    I never hear people say engineer unless they are talking about me and I start talking about networks and distributed systems and

sorry for some reason I stopped reading here :p
    But maths is real art.

and now you are making me wish I did maths :mad:

fractals anyone?

sorry for some reason I stopped reading here :p
    *Tar cat is not impressed*
    :p

I have never ever said what I do without the response being 'what?'
    and now you are making me wish I did maths :mad:

fractals anyone?

Yeah you should have, it's the best...bet you wish you did it now...yeah!
    I mean look at this fractal vegetable!

romanesque.jpg