Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft Doesn't Sleep (Off-topic MADNESS!!) Mod warning in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

Indeed. Take the items sitting beside each other, and take your post about a mount and ...
    Epic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Indeed. Take the items sitting beside each other, and take your post about a mount and ...
    Epic.

You need to drop over to the shop tomorrow night, about midnight. Come alone, and tell no-one where you're going.

Oh, and bring a few plastic bin bags - we're all out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Dread-Lock

Masada wrote: »
    I dont think its the kinda thing they do, im thinkin more a metal fab shop or something. might see if i can blag something off the welder around the corner tomorrah. :)

Lenehans on Capel Street might have what your looking for, but they'll seriously charge ya for it. Your best bet would be B&Q.

Shiva wrote: »
    You need to drop over to the shop tomorrow night, about midnight. Come alone, and tell no-one where you're going.

Oh, and bring a few plastic bin bags - we're all out.

Sure thing Tony - how are you fixed for powder actuated nail guns and lime - could bring that too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Sure thing Tony - how are you fixed for powder actuated nail guns and lime - could bring that too..

Good man...since you're being helpful, we'll make it quick :)

I note the lack of the word 'painless' in your post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

What do you know, and how do you know it....

Oooohhh, taticoool :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Edit: Maths is one of the best ones

I thoroughly recommend watching this and all of season one on youtube, its a comedy series that did the rounds on BBC and had two seasons, the first is best. It based on the sort of thing you got in science books at school, but in a surrealist humor.

There used to be loads of eejits commenting on the videos, "is this real" and all.

I just watched the above video again and it reminded me of how funny it is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭moggser

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

The iPad has a competitor already, The WePad. For some reason i really want one of these... it runs on linux and has a rake load of features the iPad doesnt have. plus its a little cheaper. :)
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1265713/Tablet-wars-German-WePad-takes-Apples-iPad.html?ITO=1490#ixzz0l0yf6zUu
    WePad-Tablet.jpg

article-1265713-091B49DB000005DC-651_468x333.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

The Wee Pad? Really?

They might uh, they might want to try emulating some of Apple's marketing panache while they're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

HP have the Slate almost ready, and it's looking a much better prospect than anything else, while also being reputedly cheaper. Dell have a secretive little 7in version in the works too, there's only been a few sightings/pictures of it but the ones I've seen look rather good.

I kind of want the iPad more for a couple of the apps they have available soley to it, but I'm nowhere near the stage where I'm willing to pay for one. My netbook does everything it does, and my iPhone does even more. And, for the price of the 3G one, I could just go ahead and get a MacBook anyway.

I have an iPad mini at the moment so not bothered with the apps thing. :)

for this kinda device i would imagine an SD card slot is essential, aswell as usb and multi tasking, one of the things i hate about the iphone. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Some stats from boards.ie

In terms of traffic, our most popular forums are:

1. After Hours
    2. Bargain Alerts
    3. Motors
    4. Soccer
    5. Personal Issues
    6. Relationship Issues
    7. Cycling
    8. Airsoft
    9. Athletics/Running/Triathlon
    10. Weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭T4RGET

The Master wrote: »

1. After Hours
    2. Bargain Alerts
    3. Motors
    4. Soccer
    5. Personal Issues
    6. Relationship Issues
    7. Cycling
    8. Airsoft
    10. Weather

surprised to see Weather in there....
    like honestly what would you talk about?
    'the weather here is really bad'
    'o yeah same down here' there thread closed:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

T4RGET wrote: »
    surprised to see Weather in there....
    like honestly what would you talk about?
    'the weather here is really bad'
    'o yeah same down here' there thread closed:P

Well what do you talk about when you've ran out of conversation?
    The weather, so, i can only assume it's the same on the internet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

The above stats are from Jan 1st this year.

All threads about the cold snap from all over boards were sent to the weather forum during the early part of the year hence the popularity boost :)

The above stats are from Jan 1st this year.

All threads about the cold snap from all over boards were sent to the weather forum during the early part of the year hence the popularity boost :)

o yeah, true, and now coms the warm 'snap' as the radio are calling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

T4RGET wrote: »
    o yeah, true, and now coms the warm 'snap' as the radio are calling it.

Then the moderate snap, 'why weren't the gudverment prepared for this snap of moderate weather', and so the news ticks over until the next bandwagon.

haha yup, and then the government where saying, we're going to sort the floods out as soon ass they're over, thety where all 'yeah c'mon let's do this! let's get active' and what have they done?

1. After Hours
    2. Bargain Alerts
    3. Motors
    4. Soccer
    5. Personal Issues
    6. Relationship Issues
    7. Cycling
    8. Airsoft
    10. Weather

What?!? Relationship Issues rates ahead of Airsoft?! Obviously there are people who have yet to be made aware that airsoft often resolves relationship issues.
    No relationship = No issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Decoy

Re: Take Aim, WTF is with all the game reviews, its not a gaming mag its an airsoft mag, there are plenty of gaming mags out there covering that topic already. Less fluffing please.

I took the above quote from the Airsoft News thread but thought it best to post it here as this is WAY off-topic.

I couldn't agree more with the comments from Lethal Bullet. I accept there is a significant overlap between the airsoft & gaming communities but I buy airsoft mags for airsoft, not gaming articles. I have bought Take Aim up to now because the articles are pretty good and in doing so I support an Irish mag. However, I won't be buying it from now on as I don't have the luxury of being able to pay for gaming articles I don't need or want!

Rant over.

I took the above quote from the Airsoft News thread but thought it best to post it here as this is WAY off-topic.

I couldn't agree more with the comments from Lethal Bullet. I accept there is a significant overlap between the airsoft & gaming communities but I buy airsoft mags for airsoft, not gaming articles. I have bought Take Aim up to now because the articles are pretty good and in doing so I support an Irish mag. However, I won't be buying it from now on as I don't have the luxury of being able to pay for gaming articles I don't need or want!

Rant over.

Have you made your point to the mag yet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Someone tried to make that exact point in the take aim thread and it was closed at their request.

I think last issue was the final straw for a lot of people, myself included. The content is okay, the reviews are good, but the video game **** and reviews of foreign sites mean it's not really an Irish airsoft mag any more.

it was closed from my memory because of chat of irish DPM, was it not?

As far as the mag goes though, If i know Ian i can tell you he will bend over backwards to supply what people want from the magazine. Simply letting him know what you think of the gaming reviews will go a long way towards shaping the future content of the mag.

Standing on a soap box though and saying im not buying because of this that and the other isnt exactly helping though, he'd be only too happy to take on peoples input.

Out of interest, who else has any Vegetato?

Or even seen someone with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

Seems to me, Ian and the lads can't win, on one tread people say fair play the lads have expanded into not only the English market but also the US market."which I might add is good for their advertising clients and the recognition of the Irish Airsoft scene and English players travelling for the summer to try Irish sites "

On another tread they are saying "not buying that mag anymore because the content is not purely Irish and there is a gaming section".

Lads, they have to expand the content with the expansion of the circulation, I've also seen another magazine launched as an Irish version but to be honest all I saw in the difference of content was "Irish edition" printed on the cover practically everything else was the same as the English format, but then no one has mentioned that yet.

I'd also like to make the point I don't play computer games but I understand a lot of Airsoft readers come from that type of background.

Out of interest, who else has any Vegetato?

Or even seen someone with it?

Theres a team of lads that played down in the Gtac outdoor site that wear it, im waiting on a set myself, i think helikon are doin it now aswell.,:)

Feck it, all well, still less common than mulitcam anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Decoy

I've no problem with a mag expanding & diversifying its content, I've no problem with non-Irish articles (even though I didn't enjoy the American pieces) as long as the core of the mag is Irish airsofting, but as much as I enjoy wasting time on various FPS games I have no interest in paying for gaming mags which is why I now see buying Take AIM as a waste of my money.

A fair point Richie, I will do so. As a matter of interest when Ian decided to add the gaming section I don't recall any feedback being sought from airsofters so how did he know it was what his readers wanted?

And to another point from another poster, I wouldn't buy the Irish version of AI because it offers me nothing Irish, I will keep buying the standard international edition if I can find it.