Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bebo closing down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Willbbz

Why not go to facebook? at least there there isn't a million and one 12 year olds spamming profiles with their bebo groups.
    Bebo has been spam central since its founding in 2005. Surpirsed it lasted as long as it did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Willbbz

cmccarra wrote: »
    Facebook's average user age will drop to 12.

Too right

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

WilliamOC wrote: »
    Why not go to facebook? at least there there isn't a million and one 12 year olds spamming profiles with their bebo groups.
    Bebo has been spam central since its founding in 2005. Surpirsed it lasted as long as it did

Excuse me but have you been on bebo lately... its full of chavs and half naked teenagers.... i hate it... its for sluts!!! Facebook for me thank you its far more clean and there is no sluts in there... there cant be either they dont allow that type of stuff! The only problem is all the sluts will join facebook now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 tellingeye

owenc wrote: »
    Excuse me but have you been on bebo lately... its full of chavs and half naked teenagers.... i hate it... its for sluts!!! Facebook for me thank you its far more clean and there is no sluts in there... there cant be either they dont allow that type of stuff! The only problem is all the sluts will join facebook now!

he he he I was just thinking the same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭bob the bob

Just killed my Bebo account.

Presume many of my Bebo friends have, cos I used to have 30+ friend, now only had 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭SeanKev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

The reign of Zorpia has begun. Bow before its awesome power!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

I stopped using Bebo years ago, but a friend that passed has a page and I go on it every week or so, knowing that will be gone is what saddens me most.

I'm surprized it took them three years to cop on to the fact that no one uses it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,270 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Anna, you could save a copy of that page to your own machine before it goes. Obviously not as good as having one that people can still post to, but better than nothing maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

how long before it closes? dont wanna go rushin inta savin all me pics off it if we have about 2 months to go :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

You have 0 friend(s)

(Woot!! 1,000th post!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Anybody upto script a crawler to scrap all the photo to disc?
    The only reason I'd be sad to see Bebo go is that there's a lot of photos on it I have since lost. Better get saving to my computer i guess.

Other than that, I havent been on it in the last year so , meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Stinjy

I actually do kinda use bebo.. I go on to check stuff and play mario etc.. and all the Photos .. Facebook is jut not the same for Photos! :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

owenc wrote: »
    Excuse me but have you been on bebo lately... its full of chavs and half naked teenagers....

I need to get a bebo account!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭k100

Anybody upto script a crawler to scrap all the photo to disc?

I could write a script but just too lazy to do that tbh its only bebo and its full of knacker teenagers. once bebo dies facebook will be hit by them and myspace, and twitter ect!

ahh the memorys on bebo LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

That_Guy wrote: »
    Facebook next please.

Why? The likes of Facebook/ Bebo are an evoloution of email pretty much. These days relatively few people use email except for business communication. On Facebook you can ask all your mates if you are going to x y or z gig/ pub/ club at the weekend without having to text them all. Handy as! Its also the handiest way of getting photos off your mates. Id imagine anyone hating on it probably doesnt have anyone to add tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Bebo was big in 2006 and, to a lesser extent, 2007. Since about the first half of 2008, nobody has really used it.

What? :confused: I first joined Facebook in early 2008, my mate had just went to Australia and all his tagged photos were on that rather than Bebo (Oz has alot of English he would meet and tag him, Bebo went out in England way before here). I left Ireland myself in early 2009, and everyone on my Facebook list were people Id met abroad, foreign workmates living in Ireland or Irish living abroad- nobody in Ireland was using it. Its only in the last 6 months Ive noticed my mates back home have joined FB. Bebo eventually killed itself off by not clamping down on the porn spammers.

The funny thing is, Facebook was a woefulk archaic poorly laid out lump of sh1te when I first joined. Bebo was superior, but didnt control the spam in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

What? :confused: I first joined Facebook in early 2008, my mate had just went to Australia and all his tagged photos were on that rather than Bebo (Oz has alot of English he would meet and tag him, Bebo went out in England way before here). I left Ireland myself in early 2009, and everyone on my Facebook list were people Id met abroad, foreign workmates living in Ireland or Irish living abroad- nobody in Ireland was using it. Its only in the last 6 months Ive noticed my mates back home have joined FB. Bebo eventually killed itself off by not clamping down on the porn spammers.

The funny thing is, Facebook was a woefulk archaic poorly laid out lump of sh1te when I first joined. Bebo was superior, but didnt control the spam in the end.

Hi porn spammers have rights too you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 kiaraor

Bebo is gone, I won't miss it but hopefully facebook is safe... I admit I am a facebook addict :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Dannyboy1987

i think its going to be a bad thing where will all the chav's go and young kids ? facebook i have to say i use to be on facebook alot but since getting a job i don't tend to be on it as much . would anyone be crazy enough to actually pay for social networking ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

would anyone be crazy enough to actually pay for social networking ?

Yes they would. You have people paying money for Facebook poker chips as an example. It is lunacy.

i think its going to be a bad thing where will all the chav's go and young kids ? facebook i have to say i use to be on facebook alot but since getting a job i don't tend to be on it as much . would anyone be crazy enough to actually pay for social networking ?

I'm not sure they'd go to Facebook; a lot of them think it's too boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭k100

Karsini wrote: »

imo they probably would and it would b filled with them and we will have to go some where else!!!

but i hope they dont and your reason is their reason not to go on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

Karsini wrote: »

Ya,I'm 15 and much prefer Facebook!
    All my friends are giving out about how plain and boring it looks but it is better, IMO.
    There is a lot less spam on Facebook too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭bob the bob

Why? The likes of Facebook/ Bebo are an evoloution of email pretty much. These days relatively few people use email except for business communication. On Facebook you can ask all your mates if you are going to x y or z gig/ pub/ club at the weekend without having to text them all. Handy as! Its also the handiest way of getting photos off your mates. Id imagine anyone hating on it probably doesnt have anyone to add tbh.

What is your source for this? Yourself and a few of your friends no doubt. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭nehpets10

k100 wrote: »
    imo they probably would and it would b filled with them and we will have to go some where else!!!

but i hope they dont and your reason is their reason not to go on it

You won't even know they are on it, unless you add them. Facebook is already full of kids.
    What is your source for this? Yourself and a few of your friends no doubt. :confused:

Email is still the most popular communication device online, but it really sucks. I think it's rumored that we all will be getting our username@facebookmail.com sometime in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Josef Fritzl

How long until Facebook suffers the same fate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

nehpets10 wrote: »
    I think it's rumored that we all will be getting our username@facebookmail.com sometime in the future.

Why put all your eggs in one basket?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

How long until Facebook suffers the same fate?

There's still time to save Bebo. I propose we ALL set up accounts, and try to save those 40 jobs. It is our moral duty not to let a part of our shared pasts die.:mad: