Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Ush1 wrote: »
    Doesn't make what Ferguson said any less idiotic.

What was it he said that you found so idiotic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

United players were surrounding the ref last weekend against Chelsea.

None of them brandishing imaginary yellow cards knowing the player had been already booked. I love football but its actions like that that shows me the lack of respect players have for each other and I for one am getting sick of it. It shows the calculated way players will cheat as there was no way the ref was going to book Rafael for two fairly soft incidents in the grand scheme of things.

And before anyone mentions the Valencia incident I was just as disgusted to see it and although not quite the same as it was that players first yellow card despite 4 reckless tackles on him and countless in Munich itself which the ref did point to when making the booking it still sucks when players do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Nice deflection on to other clubs.
    Doesn't make what Ferguson said any less idiotic.

But it does make one question why this incident is such of a focus of attention in some quarters while others receive no attention at all from the same people, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Boggles wrote: »
    What was it he said that you found so idiotic?

Can you not follow simple dialogue? I could use the term hypocritical if it made it easier for you.

None of them brandishing imaginary yellow cards knowing the player had been already booked. I love football but its actions like that that shows me the lack of respect players have for each other and I for one am getting sick of it. It shows the calculated way players will cheat as there was no way the ref was going to book Rafael for two fairly soft incidents in the grand scheme of things.

And before anyone mentions the Valencia incident I was just as disgusted to see it and although not quite the same as it was that players first yellow card despite 4 reckless tackles on him and countless in Munich itself which the ref did point to when making the booking it still sucks when players do it.

Well brandishing a yellow card is incidental. Attempting to intimidate the ref into a decision is what it is tbh. Surrounding, shouting, waving arms etc... All amounts to the same thing.

Can you not follow simple dialogue? I could use the term hypocritical if it made it easier for you.

Oh right your pointing out the fact a football manager is hypocritical at times and your upset by this?

Maybe football really isn't for you then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,321 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

well, i tried to steer the conversation away from financial arguments and tit for tat other player/managers do the same arguments. I failed, but I tried. SF is seriously going downhill at the moment. Definite decline...

The Muppet wrote: »
    But it does make one question why this incident is such of a focus of attention in some quarters while others receive no attention at all from the same people, no?

Well on here it only seems to be an issue as some people try to make excuses for the indefensible.

Somebody posted a pic of United players surrounding a ref to illustrate Fergusons hypocrisy and myopia when it comes to his own players. Someone retorted with saying that pic is from ages ago. I said something similar happened just last weekend with United players.

Or do you mean a big deal in the general media?

i reckon if Fergie had just moaned about the players trying to get Raf sent off not much would have been said (as everyone hates to see it).

The main problem I believe people have with what Fergie said is the 'Typical German' bit, which is xenophobic and totally out of line, he should not have said it. Can you imagine how Fergie would react if a Bayern official said something like "Mr. Ferguson is just bitter and showing himself to be xenophobic, typical Scot". Fergie would blow his top and be raging at him trying to give him a Glasgow Kiss (typical scot...:P)

Oh right your pointing out the fact a football manager is hypocritical at times and your upset by this?

Maybe football really isn't for you then.

What a pathetic attempt to deflect from Ferguson saying something utterly moronic.

Do actually support a football team?

No big deal if you don't, just wondering.

Well on here it only seems to be an issue as some people try to make excuses for the indefensible.

Somebody posted a pic of United players surrounding a ref to illustrate Fergusons hypocrisy and myopia when it comes to his own players. Someone retorted with saying that pic is from ages ago. I said something similar happened just last weekend with United players.

Or do you mean a big deal in the general media?

I mean a big deal in all quarters, This stuff happens week in week out but is really only commented on if one of the "top teams" is involved, it fills column inches I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

So can we get back to talking about the actual football again yet?

Story today that we turned down Villa for 40 million. Personally, I think even despite the debt situation, that its a good turn down for footballing reasons. We have a limited purse, everyone does, and we need to focus it on fixing the midfield. I'd love Villa up front with Rooney, but ultimately, we play 4-5-1 so much that it would be a bit of a waste.

I mean a big deal in all quarters, This stuff happens week in week out but is really only commented on if one of the "top teams" is involved, it fills column inches I suppose.

I don't think it has been made that big a deal of to be honest. Nothing is getting done to Ferguson for it anyway. I don't recall any other current top manager making slight on an entire race though.

It's not really that shocking from Ferguson, just makes him look stupid.

i reckon if Fergie had just moaned about the players trying to get Raf sent off not much would have been said (as everyone hates to see it).

The main problem I believe people have with what Fergie said is the 'Typical German' bit, which is xenophobic and totally out of line, he should not have said it. Can you imagine how Fergie would react if a Bayern official said something like "Mr. Ferguson is just bitter and showing himself to be xenophobic, typical Scot". Fergie would blow his top and be raging at him trying to give him a Glasgow Kiss (typical scot...:P)
    I don't think it has been made that big a deal of to be honest. Nothing is getting done to Ferguson for it anyway. I don't recall any other current top manager making slight on an entire race though.

It's not really that shocking from Ferguson, just makes him look stupid.

I'm afraid i'm of an age that that comment made on footballing terms is pretty harmless to me. Fergie was obvioiusly referring to a football team (made up of many nationalities) and not the German race. Just like theres a typical style of football played in England, (Pacey) Italy (defensive) Spain(technically good).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

was looking at the current squad with regards to this rule for next season.

Very interesting to see what happens with the squad for next season.

As far as I know (from playing football manager!!) we can have 25 registered players, 8 of which must be home grown (in england as opposed to United specifically) and any players under the age of 21 on January 1st 2010 don't have to be registed (for the 2010/2011 season). (Premierleague.com article) a maximum of 17 of those players can be both over 21 and not home grown. For me, that would leave the current squad similar to the following if we make no further additions and no one else leaves.

Goal Keepers

Van Der Sar
    Foster (home grown)
    Kuszczak

Defenders

Neville (home grown)
    Brown (home grown)
    O'Shea (home grown)
    Ferdinand (home grown)
    Vidic
    Evans (home grown)
    Evra
    De Laet (may qualify as home grown, not sure on the timing)

Midfield

Valencia
    Nani
    Park
    Carrick (home grown)
    Scholes (home grown)
    Fletcher (home grown)
    Gibson (home grown)
    Giggs (home grown)
    Scholes (home grown)
    Anderson
    Hargreaves
    Tosic

Forwards

Rooney (home grown)
    Owen (home grown)
    Diouf
    Berbatov
    Chicharito

The following players can be additions to the squad, but don't need to be registered - only listing the standout more likely ones

Fabio
    Rafael
    Smalling

Cleverly
    Matt James
    Obertan

Macheda
    Welbeck

Other players would be the likes of Petrucci, Eikrem, King, Evans, Gill etc - the younger reserve team players.

Looking at that list I have compiled, it ALREADY needs to be trimmed (and I could easily have forgotten somebody), without adding anyone to it. I count 28 players that would need to be registed from the current squad in order to play next season (with 14 of them classing as home grown).

Tosic, I imagine, is under the most threat. One of the keepers could be sold, with Ben Amos taking his place (not needing to be registered so doesn't take up a squad place). Not really sure what you can say beyond that. Looking at it like this, I reckon Diouf could be loaned out (to clear up the squad place) but I also reckon there is a chance Chicharito could be loaned out for a season too.

Any additions we make to the squad, unless they are young players, will require a senior player to be sold too.

I would also say that this could be a make/break season coming up for players like Obertan and Cleverley - players who don't have to be registeed this coming season, so are free additions in a way, but would need to be registered for the following season. I'm not saying they need to prove themselves as first team players, but it may be that they have to prove that they have the potential to be a season or so after - they need to show something this coming season I think.

I hadn't really looked to hard at the squad previously with regards to this issue, so I find it interesting how the age of the squad looks in terms of actual squad places and numbers.

That's a really interesting analysis. It does look like some trimming will need to be done, probably in the centre. Also up front with Owen going seems a pretty likely thing for me.

PHB wrote: »
    So can we get back to talking about the actual football again yet?

Story today that we turned down Villa for 40 million. Personally, I think even despite the debt situation, that its a good turn down for footballing reasons. We have a limited purse, everyone does, and we need to focus it on fixing the midfield. I'd love Villa up front with Rooney, but ultimately, we play 4-5-1 so much that it would be a bit of a waste.

Villa is 29 this year, his best years are behind him, he's not worth £40 million.

Jesus lads German RACE??

Tis all gone a bit shouting loudly and small mustache.

The Villa thing is a load of shíté, it's an artical about the mexican signing with a Villa headline.

Do actually support a football team?

No big deal if you don't, just wondering.

Yes, perhaps try lateral thinking to make Ferguson not seem idiotic.
    I suggest you take your own advice and log off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,802 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

is there any point of the ignore list ?

Headshot wrote: »

you could review, analyse and critique my post on the squad with regards to registrations for next season, come on, lets get some football talk going!:D

I'm afraid i'm of an age that that comment made on footballing terms is pretty harmless to me. Fergie was obvioiusly referring to a football team (made up of many nationalities) and not the German race.

All the more reason not to say it then.

From now on qouting everyone of the young fellas "posts". :pac:

I think Hargreaves fitness, will shape how Ferguson proceeds with midfield purchases.

As much as we need an Attacking midfielder, we also need someone in there to hold onto possession and make the midfield tick.

Too much panic in the midfield at the moment. I think it is good most of the time when we are attacking, but when the opposition press or have the ball there is an air of headless chicken at times.

Also re Hargreaves, I can't actually remember too many of his performances that vividly.

soccer forum, Help desk that way > :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

SF is seriously going downhill at the moment. Definite decline...

Seems to largely coincide with a ramp of in posting by one particular person - it's actually kind of impressive :D

you could review, analyse and critique my post on the squad with regards to registrations for next season, come on, lets get some football talk going!:D

Sorry Mitch I settled down to read it til I got to here.

"As far as I know (from playing football manager!!)"

Only joking, Everton use the Football Manager database in conjuction with there scouting network AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,696 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

not really.

much like Liverpool Mitch, trimming will have to be done IMO, and it will be interesting to see who goes, especially with the 6+5 stuff.

it may save Michael Carrick.

Cleverley may be given a chance next year in your Carling Cup run, and you never know, may play his way into a regular first-team squad place.

Tosic hasn't a hope i don't think; he's been fairly hit and miss in the Bundesliga. my mate's a big enough supporter of FC Koln, and he hasn't done an awful lot.

i don't know enough about the rest of your fringe players.

anyone still hold out big hope for Hargreaves?

Sorry Mitch I settled down to read it til I got to here.

"As far as I know (from playing football manager!!)"

Only joking, Everton use the Football Manager database in conjuction with there scouting network AFAIK.

:D - however it may be fore assessing players (still waiting for Kennedy Baikerklagou to be the best player ever!) it is usually very good for rules.

SlickRic wrote: »
    not really.

much like Liverpool Mitch, trimming will have to be done IMO, and it will be interesting to see who goes, especially with the 6+5 stuff.

it may save Michael Carrick.

Cleverley may be given a chance next year in your Carling Cup run, and you never know, may play his way into a regular first-team squad place.

Tosic hasn't a hope i don't think; he's been fairly hit and miss in the Bundesliga. my mate's a big enough supporter of FC Koln, and he hasn't done an awful lot.

i don't know enough about the rest of your fringe players.

Is the 6+5 thing actually happening? if so, when?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

SlickRic wrote: »

I've been thinking about it a good bit and I reckon the fact that we signed no central players last summer means the staff at OT were convinced he'd be back this season.

He's had setbacks obviously but I'm actually starting to think he'll get back in the end tbh.

Think we'll probably see him start next season.