Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can anyone explain WHY the government has to save Anglo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

If Anglo aren't lending with their 35 billion worth of deposits (I reckon cos that money is thin air), why are they requesting extra deposits and who would be crazy to deposit there, the government guarantee is essentially YOU guaranteeing your own money!

It means you get your money no matter what happens, and the interest rates are good so why not get a higher rate with Anglo, when there is no risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

IrishTonyO wrote: »
    It means you get your money no matter what happens, and the interest rates are good so why not get a higher rate with Anglo, when there is no risk

So now Anglo is a risk-free bank?? If things went sour the government could never cover the guaranteed deposits of our banks and even if they could it is you that is guaranteeing your own money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

So now Anglo is a risk-free bank?? If things went sour the government could never cover the guaranteed deposits of our banks and even if they could it is you that is guaranteeing your own money

Yeah but the Guarantee prevents a bank run, preventing the whole thing going sour, similar to Northern Rock in the UK. Anglo at the moment offer the best deposit rates in the country I think.

i.e. Anglo offer 3.1% interest on their Premium Demand Deposit account. AIB offer 0.01% on the same Demand Deposit account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

I cannot wrap my head around this one. There are plenty of other financial institutions in Ireland and all bad debt are now being transferred to NAMA, so why does Anglo have to be saved? Why cant it just be allowed fail and all good and bad debt transferred to other banks.

It just seems like a hole at which the government is heedlessly throwing money with no chance of ever getting a return!

I understand why banks in general need to be saved, but why this particular bank?
    its because
    long long ago in a little tent in galway , ........................................

nesf wrote: »
    Yeah but the Guarantee prevents a bank run, preventing the whole thing going sour, similar to Northern Rock in the UK. Anglo at the moment offer the best deposit rates in the country I think.

i.e. Anglo offer 3.1% interest on their Premium Demand Deposit account. AIB offer 0.01% on the same Demand Deposit account.

:) It wouldn't matter if Anglo were offering free hand jobs, if I had my money on deposit there it would have been withdrawn long ago when the share price collapsed and the bank was nationalised. I, like Brian Lucey, seriously question the figure of 35 billion.

Yeah but the Guarantee prevents a bank run, preventing the whole thing going sour, similar to Northern Rock in the UK.

Actually I get it now. Me guaranteeing my own money means if I attempt to take out that money, I'll collapse the bank which has my money and I'll have to pay to reimburse myself.

Lovely little chinese finger trap they have set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

If Anglo aren't lending with their 35 billion worth of deposits (I reckon cos that money is thin air), why are they requesting extra deposits and who would be crazy to deposit there, the government guarantee is essentially YOU guaranteeing your own money!

No, it's actually a case of you, and a couple million other people guaranteeing your money, nicely spread out between everyone. Not a bad deal at all.
    :) It wouldn't matter if Anglo were offering free hand jobs, if I had my money on deposit there it would have been withdrawn long ago when the share price collapsed and the bank was nationalised. I, like Brian Lucey, seriously question the figure of 35 billion.

I love how you put yourself on the same level of Brian Lucey here. I believe that Brian has his own reasons for doubting the claim. Maybe he is privy to some information from his friends, high up in the financial sector. Couple this with his years of expertise on finance and his obvious high intelligence.

On what grounds are you seriously questioning this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭ifconfig

but why is Anglo able to offer 3.5%, while the other banks covered by the same guarantee are offering much lower deposit rates ?

ifconfig wrote: »
    but why is Anglo able to offer 3.5%, while the other banks covered by the same guarantee are offering much lower deposit rates ?

Because one bank is nationalised, and the others are not. In my view, the guarantee is meaningless, because if all banks collapsed, the country couldn't possibly afford it.

On what grounds are you seriously questioning this?

Based mostly on Brian Luceys arguments I have read or seen or listened to (like the one today on Newstalk). I dont need to be a professor of business to agree with the man. As well as that I just cant imagine anyone leaving money (35 billion) on deposit there, through all the stuff that has come out in the media. The large figure greatly strengthens the argument of the side which say we cannot let the bank fail, its odd that it is only these people who are making this argument that are privy to this figure. Brian Lucey himself has said he is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭ifconfig

Because one bank is nationalised, and the others are not. In my view, the guarantee is meaningless, because if all banks collapsed, the country couldn't possibly afford it.
    Ok. I realise that Anglo is nationalised.

Does that setup some kind of perverse logic whereby a nationalised bank can effectively set up products which have no commercial sense to them (eg, setting up relatively high yield, relative to low interest rate environment deposit accounts while no new lending is being done and while the institution is about to announce the largest corporate loss in Irish history)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭mallet head

I'm struggling to understand all this caper but I have to say there's more good info for the layman on this thread than i've seen anywhere, Cheer folks.

We are in a 16 billion hole with the banks now according to latest.

With the state share in the banks when the go back to profitability does anyone know roughly what the taxpayers annual return on shares will be? In normal times banks are reasonably profitable right?

Does that setup some kind of perverse logic whereby a nationalised bank can effectively set up products which have no commercial sense to them (eg, setting up relatively high yield, relative to low interest rate environment deposit accounts while no new lending is being done and while the institution is about to announce the largest corporate loss in Irish history)?

If you are suspicious, and I'm suspicious, and most everyone I've talked to is suspicious of Anglo, this makes me doubt the €35 billion deposits figure. I also doubt the wind-up figure they have put on the bank as its fluctuated from €65bn to €35bn to €25bn to €27bn. They are all wishy washy figures aimed to scare us into not even thinking of cutting out the cancer that is Anglo

Based mostly on Brian Luceys arguments I have read or seen or listened to (like the one today on Newstalk). I dont need to be a professor of business to agree with the man. As well as that I just cant imagine anyone leaving money (35 billion) on deposit there, through all the stuff that has come out in the media. The large figure greatly strengthens the argument of the side which say we cannot let the bank fail, its odd that it is only these people who are making this argument that are privy to this figure. Brian Lucey himself has said he is not.

Fair enough, but as esteemed an academic Brian Lucey is, do you not see any danger in drawing all your opinion from one source?

That said, for all I know he is completely correct. Then again, if they are offering the highest savings rates out there, with the fact that they are a nationalised bank... it wouldn't surprise me if I found that some people have transferred their savings there.

Yeah, pretty much. There is nothing to stop them, unless the Govt set a cap on rates.

Fair enough, but as esteemed an academic Brian Lucey is, do you not see any danger in drawing all your opinion from one source?

That said, for all I know he is completely correct. Then again, if they are offering the highest savings rates out there, with the fact that they are a nationalised bank... it wouldn't surprise me if I found that some people have transferred their savings there.

Have you? would you?
    I draw my opinions from (discussions I have on here as well as from many economics commentators) but on this issue its mostly from the fact that in answer to those questions I've asked you, my response is:
    I haven't and I wouldn't, even if they were giving out hand jobs

No and no. I don't save with Irish banks because I don't like to reward stupidity.

But just because you and I wouldn't, doesn't mean the other 2,000,000 would follow us.

No and no. I don't save with Irish banks because I don't like to reward stupidity.

But just because you and I wouldn't, doesn't mean the other 2,000,000 would follow us.

Maybe and obviously none of us know. But isn't this a reason why we, the owners of the bank, should be privy to this information?

My best guess is that not many people would put their money near that bank seeing as people are so infuriated they spit on people with Anglo umbrellas. Anything associated with Anglo is hated by the public hence I find the €35bn hard to believe

Maybe and obviously none of us know. But isn't this a reason why we, the owners of the bank, should be privy to this information?

My best guess is that not many people would put their money near that bank seeing as people are so infuriated they spit on people with Anglo umbrellas. Anything associated with Anglo is hated by the public hence I find the €35bn hard to believe

Sorry, but your reasoning is too spurious for me to believe you. My friend has a six-figure sum lodged with them, for example. I seriously doubt he knows much about any of the political stuff nor gives a damn. He said he asked around and people said that a nationalised bank is as safe as... well, anything else?

So if you had €10,000 to invest would you prefer to get €310 interest from Anglo or €1 from AIB? Especially when the government guarantees your money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

IrishTonyO wrote: »
    So if you had €10,000 to invest would you prefer to get €310 interest from Anglo or €1 from AIB? Especially when the government guarantees your money?

€1 from AIB. Or maybe €200 from Rabobank.

The €310 is costing us far more in the long run, and they'd use part of it to pay bonuses and pay increases that we can't afford.

People talk about boycotting companies that are unethical, with child labour etc (and the same arguments apply - decent standard employees, but a sickening ethos at top management).

But unfortunately most people are all talk, and lose their focus when they see the euro sign.

If there was a proper state bank where the profits benefitted the country, then I'd consider supporting that.

But a bank that was forced on us by the likes of Fitzpatrick and Lenihan, and that writes off €7 million loans on a whim can feck off.

If - for example - the Catholic Church promised they could make that €310 into €1,000 if you paid their child abuse legal bills, would you ?

It's called ethics and standards. We either apply them - even at our own expense - or we're merely paying lip service and being hypocrites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

I've long been pondering the answer to this question and while I believe I see the reason why the Government has shovelled our money to keep Anglo on the road, it was because of the decisions they themselves took.

The root of the Anglo bailout is, IMO, to be seen in the introduction of the banking guarantee that not only guaranteed depositors, but other bank creditors such as bondholders. This guarantee was hastily drawn up and signed but was premised on the assumption that the banks were facing a liquidity crisis following the collapse of Lehmans', but that their core business model was essentially sound. We now know, of course, that this is untrue and that moreover, the Government should also have known that this was untrue, had they bothered to read the relevant reports.

However, I digress.

Following this Guarantee and as the state of Anglo began to emerge, the Government faced a dilemma. To wind up Anglo would cost the state a huge amount of money in order to reimburse the depositors and bondholders. The premise of NAMA is to move the toxic assets off the balance sheets and wind the remains of the bank down in an orderly manner. Also, as has been discussed we also need to consider who would be burned in this approach. Pension funds and bond market players invested in these bonds, and the knock on effects could affect the Irish pension market and raise the cost of financing the additional debt we would have to take on as a result in the deterioration in our public finances.

At the moment therefore, letting Anglo go bang is a very expensive proposition. The answer should have been to not include this financial institution in the banking guarantee, but since it has, we (and by we I of course mean the Government, a thought that depresses me greatly) need to decide what to do with it next.

I would be very interested to see if Anglo Irish's toxic assets get transferred to NAMA before the banking guarantee expires in September. If it doesn't, some interesting possibilities emerge. The one I would be in favour of, and have been in favour of since this crisis emerged, is to wind Anglo Irish up. Depositors would certainly need to be refunded, however, I would not consider this money all lost, because these deposits can then be placed with other financial institutions, meaning we can partially offset the recapitalisation cost of these other banks with the increase in deposit base taken from Anglo. The senior bondholders get most of their money back and the subordinated bondholders and shareholders swing.

The main difficulty of this approach would be to contain it in such a way that the malaise does not spread to any of the other banks, and possibly risk a run on all the Irish banks. This could be done through an extension of the Guarantee for the two main clearing banks, AIB and BoI, only. Whether this would be enough to save other Irish institutions is unclear. What is also unclear is whether the bond market would seek to punish Ireland through pushing the cost of seeking additional borrowings up. If that is the case then we would need to take even more austere measures in relation to public spending.

I do think this would be a risky strategy. Unfortunately Government policy has meant that there are no non-risky strategies remaining. This suggestion just happens to be one of the less expensive ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

A lot of this thread seems to be about pros and cons of just letting Anglo collapse, screwing over the depositors and bond holders.

However going back to the OP:
    I cannot wrap my head around this one. There are plenty of other financial institutions in Ireland and all bad debt are now being transferred to NAMA, so why does Anglo have to be saved? Why cant it just be allowed fail and all good and bad debt transferred to other banks.

It just seems like a hole at which the government is heedlessly throwing money with no chance of ever getting a return!

I understand why banks in general need to be saved, but why this particular bank?
    You can see that the original query assumes the existence of NAMA. The question is whether or not, having transferred the bad assets into NAMA, that NAMA should then continue as an independent institution or should the remaining good parts be merged into other banks.

Given its history I think the best thing would be for it to merge with other banks. Unfortunately this will be bad news for existing staff but this is the price of failure and Anglo have certainly been a huge failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,581 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Because Anglo borrowed money from the same large International wholesale banks that lend the government money.

If the Irish Government allow Anglo to go to the wall and default, it would be a lot harder for them to borrow money internationally.

SkepticOne wrote: »
    However going back to the OP: You can see that the original query assumes the existence of NAMA. The question is whether or not, having transferred the bad assets into NAMA, that NAMA should then continue as an independent institution or should the remaining good parts be merged into other banks.

Alan Dukes last night was talking along the lines of merging the good parts left of Anglo with other banks to create a business bank for Ireland. Seems sensible to merge in this fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭goat2

KerranJast wrote: »
    The bank is guaranteed by the Government so technically is a solid place to deposit money (as is Northern Rock in the UK). They were also offering a good deposit rate. Every bank needs as much deposits as it can get.
    then these people cannot be seen as retards as the above poster said, it was tlhe safest place for that reason,

goat2 wrote: »
    then these people cannot be seen as retards as the above poster said, it was tlhe safest place for that reason,

Correct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,364 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

You're assuming there's no negative impact to screwing over depositors and senior debt holders. This is a rather large (and probably false) assumption.

what will they do?
    take to the streets and take down the government??
    no harm in that! (and probably the reason why guarantee will be extended)

in the UK the government made all the depositors 30% poorer, not many realized they got screwed ;)

how many people here realize that instead of measly 3.5% they could have been getting much higher interest directly from government skipping the dead horse, and the money could have been used to do some good like fund a stimulus program. The money going into Anglo will not be used to get credit going so is being effectively being sucked out of the system, think about that

/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,364 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

Alan Dukes last night was talking along the lines of merging the good parts left of Anglo with other banks to create a business bank for Ireland. Seems sensible to merge in this fashion.

banking is all about credibility and confidence since the banks never have enough money on hand to cover any sudden "demand"

the confidence in Anglo has been utterly shattered

now the question is,
    how many stupid people are out there that will put their money in Anglo for "safe-keeping"?

I can barely trust BOI to keep my day to day business account running (I transfer money to Rabo Business for "safe-keeping" asap)
    theres no way in hell I or any other business i know would touch Anglo with a long stick

their name is poisoned now

their survival depends on the stupidity of the government and the people :(

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    what will they do?
    take to the streets and take down the government??
    no harm in that! (and probably the reason why guarantee will be extended)

in the UK the government made all the depositors 30% poorer, not many realized they got screwed ;)

how many people here realize that instead of measly 3.5% they could have been getting much higher interest directly from government skipping the dead horse, and the money could have been used to do some good like fund a stimulus program. The money going into Anglo will not be used to get credit going so is being effectively being sucked out of the system, think about that

/

You miss my point. If pain has to be taken by the likes of funds and pensions then this will negatively affect people's private sector pensions which as you probably know have taken a rather large hit over the past few years already. We can't just screw over the bondholders and the pain isn't felt by people in this country!