Best Beach in Ireland?

• 22-03-2010 04:09PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭

I arrived in Barleycove Beach in Cork last Summer on a recommendation from a Local and was absolutely stunned on arrival.

I think its my favourite yet in Ireland, there's something so different about it from the moment you head across that Pontoon Bridge to get there, to the feeling of being of a kind of Beach Island in the Bay.

- So what do ye think, is there nicer ones in Ireland because if there is I want to find out where exactly and then visit them soon!!!

Barley Cove Photo 1
    Barley Cove Photo 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Only problem with that beach is it is VERY VERY dangerous to swim there, very strong currents along one side of it.

I camped there for a year or so ago with a friend, it's a good place.

Good surfing there, if the surf is on.

That said...I love Roberts Cove, it's nice and covered, great on a sunny day.

Banna beach would be my favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭poisonated

I like Stradbally in Waterford and Brittas bay in Wicklow.There is also one very near Arklow which is nice!

My favourite used to be Brittas bay because you could get a nice chipper there.I don't think they have it anymore though. My favourite now is probably Stradbally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Battleflag

Lahinch in County Clare.... great for surfing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Rossnowlagh and Enniscrone spring to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Keem bay on Achill island is the nicest that I've seen

Keem Bay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 ljohnson

Kilmuckeridge Co Wexford abotu 20 mins from Gorey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

I'd say Inchydoney would be a nice one, although Barley Cove is lovely...

Roberts Cove wouldn't do much for me but if you enjoy a light hill walk aswell the views from the hills are quite nice!
    Some pics I took when I was down there last summer here & here Last one

Enniscrone is nice aswell!

Any sandy beach usually does the trick for me though, shame we don't get the weather to get the maximum enjoyment out of the beaches!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,614 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Keem Bay

Keem Beach - By far the best/nicest in the country.
    Keel Beach
    Rosknowlagh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Sandycove, the proper one that is, not the dodgy looking place in Cork.

Sandycove is actually the main mating ground for the not so rare and ever increasing "Greater Spotted Knacker" and warm summer weather brings with it the unmistakable mating calls of "****in hell Anto ya bleedin bollox yiz spilt the babies milk allover me bleedin smokes"

To which the response of "fcuk off Siobhan ya bleedin kunt" usually leads to the young couple making their ninth baby before stealing a car and heading off home to the Noggin to do their homework.

Such a romantic spot.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Dollymount

Oh, best beach, sorry

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

As a setting the Trá Bhán on the Blasket is fantastic, but not safe for swimming. Ventry beach is good for long walks and on a warm day, likewise Inch. I love Winstrand on the Dingle pennisula for swimming and sunning. Stradbally in Waterford was where I spent my summer holidays, but the river that flows into the cove is no longer as clean as it once was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I camped there for a year or so ago with a friend, it's a good place.

Lost ya with that one. You camped there for a year?

Have to give my vote for Bull Island. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Kells Bay

Kells Bay 2

Totally a matter of preference. Mine is Kells Bay on the ring of Kerry. Beautiful small beach which is nearly always calm. It has a little pier running out the middle and when the tide is in you can jump off the pier into 10feet of crystal clear water. Dolphins and Basking sharks often come in close and when evening comes you can take a stroll out the point and catch a bucket of mackerel for the BBQ.

Gorgeous :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

msg11 wrote: »
    Lost ya with that one. You camped there for a year?

Have to give my vote for Bull Island. :cool:

Damn, camped there for a night a year or so ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Portmarnock.

I love it there, even in the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

C **** T ****

ye have just fecked some of the best beaches in Ireland by opening thine gobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Keem Bay

I've been here before, it's absolutely gorgeous. Water was freezing though even on a scorching hot summers day. I'd love to go back and see it in the depths of winter. The cliffs above are spectacular as well. I've been told they're the tallest cliffs in europe, but i'm not certain.

The beach in killmuckridge (morriscastle beach) is also amazing, goes for miles in each direction, practically deserted sometimes, which is always a bonus if you ask me.

Jesus, i love beaches!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Sleigh Head on the Dingle peninsula.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,614 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I've been here before, it's absolutely gorgeous. Water was freezing though even on a scorching hot summers day. I'd love to go back and see it in the depths of winter. The cliffs above are spectacular as well. I've been told they're the tallest cliffs in europe, but i'm not certain.

The beach in killmuckridge (morriscastle beach) is also amazing, goes for miles in each direction, practically deserted sometimes, which is always a bonus if you ask me.

Jesus, i love beaches!!
    Indeed, the cliffs around the point from the beech (you cant see them from the beach) are the highest sea cliffs in Europe.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Croaghaun
    Theres so much history attached to Keem beach, the buildings there and right above the beach on the mountain.
    http://www.visitachill.com/en/keembay.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

A tiny beach at Duneen Bay in West Cork gets my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

inch in kerry

Brandon bay is one continous beach in kerry

Derrynane strand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 onahealthkick

Tramore its fab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

eh no,full of sewage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

kippy wrote: »

That says highest in ireland, third highest in europe. They're spectacular anyway whether they're the third or thirty third! Achill is a beautiful part of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 ljohnson

kilmuckeridge wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Barleycove. Very dangerous, but the middle is fine- between the flags. There's also Chimney Cove right beside the river, very sheltered. I love that river :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

Nuns beach, Ballybunion. You have to abseil a bit to get to it. Which just make it even better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I'm going to vote for Barleycove too :)
    Lovely during the summer!

The waves can be great for surfing / body boarding there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭LD 50

exioot wrote: »
    Lahinch in County Clare.... great for surfing

I was there for the surfing a couple of years ago. Absolutely brilliant. I'm dying to go back there now because you mentioned it