Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being a frigid..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

"Wearing" is understandable. You wear something down. "Wear the face off/wearing the face off." Normal enough metaphor.

"Shifting," I'm not entirely sure where the comparison came in, but it's not THAT bad.. bit daft but it's not like anyone's going to get the wrong idea, really.

But "meeting?" Like.. what? So what are you supposed to say when you actually "meet" someone in the conventional sense? It's too commonly and innocently used a word in its original context, whoever came up with it to mean kissing deserves to be shot. I now cannot utter the sentence "I've met him before" without wondering if I'll need to affirm that I don't mean the romantic sense. Ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

liah wrote: »
    "Wearing" is understandable. You wear something down. "Wear the face off/wearing the face off." Normal enough metaphor.

Sound horrible, bloody boggers.
    "Shifting," I'm not entirely sure where the comparison came in, but it's not THAT bad.. bit daft but it's not like anyone's going to get the wrong idea, really.

Sounds horrible, bloody boggers.
    But "meeting?" Like.. what? So what are you supposed to say when you actually "meet" someone in the conventional sense? It's too commonly and innocently used a word in its original context, whoever came up with it to mean kissing deserves to be shot. I now cannot utter the sentence "I've met him before" without wondering if I'll need to affirm that I don't mean the romantic sense. Ridiculous!

This is grand, every one will know the difference. If they laugh it's because they're immature twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Means something completely different when my friends say that to me actually!! :eek::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,767 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Full tongue and first pregnancy scare on the same day. Needless to say, I didn't fully appreciate the mechanics of baby manufacure at the time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

It was a pleasure to meet liah :pac:

I used to think scoring was sex...I thought people were awful hooers when I went to NUIG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

It was a pleasure to meet liah :pac:

I used to think scoring was sex...I thought people were awful hooers when I went to NUIG

It is isn't it?:confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

baz2009 wrote: »
    It is isn't it?:confused:

See that's what i thought...everybody else called it kissing, was always sex to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

See that's what i thought...everybody else called it kissing, was always sex to me.
    hehe, I had the same misunderstanding. Scoring can just mean that you met someone. (Sorry Liah)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    hehe, I had the same misunderstanding. Scoring can just mean that you met someone. (Sorry Liah)

JUST CALL IT KISSING!

*head explodes.*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

I was 10 or 11 and twas in a tent when we were on a trip with scouts :D

JUST CALL IT KISSING!

*head explodes.*

We do, when they're is no tounges involved:p, when they're is tounges involved:
    Meeting, shifting, scoring(apparently), being with her, wearing, gettin' the bit, probably loads more.:D

JUST CALL IT KISSING!

*head explodes.*

Next getting locked off our trolleys will be getting drunk...the boat for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Her name was Roisin, and it was at a barn dance in Eniskerry. I touched her boob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

CianRyan wrote: »
    I was 15 and I thought that was pretty normal... Apparently not.
    I've never made out with some one ugly so that probably explains it why I was late, I'd rather be late than have went there though... Uughh.

*coughspinthebottlecough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭BrokenHeels_Ox

baz2009 wrote: »
    We do, when they're is no tounges involved:p, when they're is tounges involved:
    Meeting, shifting, scoring(apparently), being with her, wearing, gettin' the bit, probably loads more.:D

since when does gettin the bit mean kissing? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

When I was five/six and she was eight , bit odd at the time as never really thought about .
    It was quite funny, as I went to a culchie national school and was a bit quiet .
    But kept getting asked whether I was a frigid ,I was like what's that? Then they asked had I ever shifted. I thought it meant had I ever had sex :o
    Seriously, where the hell did that expression come from??

since when does gettin the bit mean kissing? lol

I've been hearing it a lot lately, I don't like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Seloth wrote: »
    I was 10 or 11 and twas in a tent when we were on a trip with scouts :D
    0_o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

0_o
    O_o +1

Teutorix wrote: »
    O_o +1
    I never remember scouts being that much fun!

/bats eyelids :pac:

I never remember scouts being that much fun!

/bats eyelids :pac:

/shudders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I was 13 which was kind of late around my friends, I just couldnt do it prior to that I was just so frightened that I'd do it wrong!!

Teenage disco, "Will you shift my friend". I say no, his female friend comes over and annouces "Aww come on, he'll think theres something wrong with him!!".

So I did and his female friend stood beside us timing the whole thing. 30 seconds worth of kissing. I was mortified for days. I'm really good friends with her now and she can't stop apologise enough about it.

Jesus I wish things were as simple as back then though, you'd be "shifting" some one insted of going out with them etc.

Soon lost my fear of kissing and spent most of my mid teens with my tonge in someones mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,479 ✭✭✭highlydebased

When I was 12 or 13 people used to say "going away with xyz..."

i.e (knacker shouts from otherside of street)
    "hi you! will you go away with my friend!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

This thread is Paedo **** Bank gold :D

/bookmarked

Teutorix wrote: »
    /shudders
    Getting over-excited there, dude? :P

ah for fúcks sake, how could that possibly have any innuendo for you to get at?

I hate you so much randy :p

My job here is done!! :cool:

/saddles up and exits into the sunset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

My mate and I set up a love club when we were like 11 and had it in a fort we built, we only managed to attract two girls to it (i am guessing they didnt know it was our love club) one for each of us.

Got to feel down south :eek: but hadnt a clue what to do at that age, although some older lads around the corner had given us some durty mags!

Damn - i wish i was a kid again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Adhamh

Everyones had a pretty adventurous twelftish year from what I've been reading so far! I didn't lick a girl's tounge 'till I was in the Gaeltacht at 14 (and she was an absolute babe) and didn't have a proper snog then 'till I was 19. Fuppin' ****e man...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 961 ✭✭✭TEMPLAR KNIGHT

Mc Love wrote: »
    My mate and I set up a love club when we were like 11 and had it in a fort we built, we only managed to attract two girls to it (i am guessing they didnt know it was our love club) one for each of us.

love club? sounds a bit like a brothel haha nice....

I was at a revision course when the teacher told a girl in front of me to press the shift key, i burst out laughing(yes im very immature:D) and then everyone turned around an staired at me, went on the biggest redner of my life i think! haha good times