Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eastern europe, give us your poor.

• 08-03-2010 06:45PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭

From April 2011, immigrants from Poland, Estonia, Latvia, Hungary, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia and the Czech Republic - where income levels are 40% of the European average - will be allowed to claim Jobseekers' Allowance and other benefits after just three months. This is provided they can prove that they have been actively seeking work, undergone training or attended job interviews.

Read more: http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/news/article.html?in_article_id=500719&in_page_id=2#ixzz0hbm4mKAY

Ho, ho, ho. This should be fun. It will bring a new wave of tourists into the Irish state, unfortunately, they will be welfare tourists.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

yous can all thank the lisbon treaty for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Much hilairty ensues...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

In before the "as long as they're not African" comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

triple-M wrote: »
    yous can all thank the lisbon treaty for that

Ireland would rather be screwed. Oh what fun awaits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

pours a glass of wine and sits back to enjoy the posts on this thread, gunna be a good one i think :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Dek tok ur Dole!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Most former Soviet bloc countries pay lower unemployment benefits than Britain. In Latvia, the monthly unemployment allowance is £57.20 compared with the UK's £200-£256.

They never mentioned Ireland's monthly allowance of close to €800.

This thread is going to be a long one... I'm off to work now anyway, thank god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

This will also work the other way, when the dole resources runs out here how many Irish will want to travel abroad to claim foreign benefits?

This will also work the other way, when the dole resources runs out how many Irish will want to travel abroad to claim foreign benefits?

Good idea. Let us bankrupt our own country and then go abroad and repeat the cycle. Genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Will this mean i will actually be able to claim welfare now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Good auld Ireland, we lose all we have, then borrow some more so we can give that away too. We may not be cool, but we're sound as f*ck.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Quick; phone everyone in Bondi, Kilburn, Woodlawn and Southie.
    Just another thinly veiled attempt to remove blame from Irish people for the current clusterf**k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

"The Nice Treaty is essential for jobs"
    The Lisbon Treaty is essential for jobs"
    "Immigration will not be an issue"
    Now who, I wonder, said that? It wasn't our politicians for sure. They are too astute for that.:rolleyes:

Will this mean i will actually be able to claim welfare now?

I am not too sure about that, PirateShampoo. The article only mentions the new accession states citizens.

ART6 wrote: »
    "The Nice Treaty is essential for jobs"
    The Lisbon Treaty is essential for jobs"
    "Immigration will not be an issue"
    Now who, I wonder, said that? It wasn't our politicians for sure. They are too astute for that.:rolleyes:

You do know the Irish people leaving will be immigrants wherever they go?

fontanalis wrote: »
    Quick; phone everyone in Bondi, Kilburn, Woodlawn and Southie.
    Just another thinly veiled attempt to remove blame from Irish people for the current clusterf**k.

The games up.

The states borrowing over 500 million euro a week.

We have record levels of unemployment. Costing us billions each week.

Now the EU is attempting to foist more dole seekers upon us.

Shop local. Support the Irish exchequer. Its your patriotic duty. Remember to pay your carbon taxes.

Thanks a million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭SpodoKamodo

Sure it's grand lads, according to all the developers, estate agents, bankers and politicians, we're gonna be in recovery in 2011. We can well afford it...

The games up.

The states borrowing over 500 million euro a week.

We have record levels of unemployment. Costing us billions each week.

Now the EU is attempting to foist more dole seekers upon us.

Shop local. Support the Irish exchequer. Its your patriotic duty. Remember to pay your carbon taxes.

Thanks a million.

Yeah, that's it exactly. Revolution, get on the streets blah, blah.
    You're seriously over estimating Ireland.

Sure it's grand lads, according to all the developers, estate agents, bankers and politicians, we're gonna be in recovery in 2011. We can well afford it...

Our dole office will be at the heart of europe. Let the unemployed sing the "ode to joy" whilst they line up to collect their payments.

From the top.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Stop worrying the swans.

Yeah, that's it exactly. Revolution, get on the streets blah, blah.
    You're seriously over estimating Ireland.

I think we have had a breakdown in communications. Contact your ISP provider. I never mentioned revolution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Meh, you can't blame those who take advantage of it... They're not the ones who created it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Iolar wrote: »
    Um shouldnt you include Central Europe,as Hungary isnt East European:rolleyes:

Or Poland (apparently ?)

The article didn't mention ireland, it referred to Britain and said immigrants had to be there a year. Who knows Ryan Air might do package holidays.

Oh and OP are you sure you dont write for the Daily Mail ?

The usual suspects have arrived with the sole intention of mud slinging and closing down dissenting opinions. As to be expected. It took them a whole twelve minutes.:)

Um shouldnt you include Central Europe,as Hungary isnt East European:rolleyes:

But shur they're all the same. I guarantee after the Public Service hullaballoo dies down the next distraction for the greed and stupidity in the past will be immigants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Hang on, eh, is the piece the OP linked to just referring to Britain?

EDIT: Ah, my mistake! Damn foreigners coming over here and taking up space in the Dole queue........................I hate waiting longer :pac:

The article didn't mention ireland, it referred to Britain and said immigrants had to be there a year. Who knows Ryan Air might do package holidays.

Taxpayers face paying millions of pounds in extra benefits to Eastern European immigrants because of changes to EU regulations.