Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft Doesn't Sleep (Off-topic MADNESS!!) Mod warning in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Apart from the connection issues recently, it's epic.

I've been getting headshots on lads flying helicopters.
    Might Trade in COD tomorrow and get the PC version too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I was going to get Bad Company today but I didn't bother. I took one look at the box and saw "arcade" written all over it. Same reason I didn't bother with MW2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I've played a relatively small amount of both, but I'd definitely go for BC2. COD5 and 6 are shockingly useless.

Just installed Opposing Fronts the other day, my leaving really is fúcked:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Is the release version as jumpy and "PS2" looking as it was in the demo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭mayotobo

personally ii think the graphics are epic once you adjust to them.

it looks pretty good here in the online vid, (double click and watch in HD,) but ya never really know with these promo releases. it seems to take a few rounds to put someone down too doesn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Yeah, you're a little too resistant but thats balanced out by significant firepower. Headshots still do the trick so it makes you actually aim rather than just take a 249 and spray like in COD.

That's the other thing. I can't justify buying games like this anymore when 75% of the content is based around online gaming.
    I don't play consoles online for an innumerate amount of reasons, chief among which are the woeful controls, awful lag and hyperactive teenagers. Why the hell can't a game stand upon it's single player anymore? I just finished Bayonetta which is as close to a story driven game as I've come across in months, but there was still only nine hours of play in that. Is it just me and Ben Croshaw that think like this anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

heard they added some levels where your main mission is to survive hyperthermia and stuff rather than run and gun from the usual games

Bayonetta fairly decent game Dex

that heavy rain on ps3 looks and sounds intresting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭.22 Lover

The demo's were always s##e with all that lag and game glitches the real thing nearly made me wet myself!!!!:D

Gatling wrote: »
    heard they added some levels where your main mission is to survive hyperthermia and stuff rather than run and gun from the usual games

Bayonetta fairly decent game Dex

that heavy rain on ps3 looks and sounds intresting

Yeah Bayonetta is good. Good story with a nice, simple fighting system that makes the game elegant enough to play. It's closer to Dante's Inferno (the poem) than Dante's Inferno (the game) is, with it's references to Paradiso and Inferno as Heaven and Hell. I love how obscure the envisionings of each of the angels and angelic creatures are portrayed, sort of makes the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

If your looking for a good 1plr game dload the just cause 2 demo on xbl and psn, 1st one was ace and the second it excellent. Think GTA with the fun injected back into it...... and eh.... beaches.

been playing the 30min demo of Just Cause 2 on xbox its got some cool stuff plenty to explore nothing new though , based jumped cranes ,helicopters and a fairly tall mast in the opening part of the demo,

One of the other reasons I don't play consoles online is that I don't want to pay for that ridiculous Live system on my Xbox (and I wouldn't touch a PS3 with a barge pole) as I have no intention of running 30ft of Cat5 cable, or buying an overpriced wireless adaptor, just to slowly download pointless demos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

Good ones to do are to link a guard to a propane tank (long version) and puncture it! Watch that bad boy fly lol. or better yet grapple to the top of one of the fatter version tanks and as your crouched on it puncture that.... insta rocket powered lift..... oh the possibilities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

hightower1 wrote: »
    If your looking for a good 1plr game dload the just cause 2 demo on xbl and psn, 1st one was ace and the second it excellent. Think GTA with the fun injected back into it...... and eh.... beaches.

The first one was terrible I thought! Poor graphics and controls and very repetitive missions. I don't think I'll even download the demo due to seeing yer man flying around latching onto cars bumpers with a grapple and pulling pilots out of helicopters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

I didn't read the above Post's, but i can assume it's to do with COD V BF.

Here's a typical COD game for me.
    Start -> get annoyed -> get annoyed -> Get annoyed
    > Harrier -> ac130 -> nuke -> get abusive messages.

Where as with BF, every game, is different.
    The larger engagement distances just make it 3.4 x 10(43) times better than COD, it takes more patience, and 'skill', if there is any in games.

COD is made for people with short attention Spans, who are entertained by shiny graphics, and feel safe under a blanket or repetition.
    Which means BF doesn't have these people. Which makes me happy, very, very happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭T4RGET

I didn't read the above Post's, but i can assume it's to do with COD V BF.

Here's a typical COD game for me.
    Start -> get annoyed -> get annoyed -> Get annoyed
    > Harrier -> ac130 -> nuke -> get abusive messages.

Where as with BF, every game, is different.
    The larger engagement distances just make it 3.4 x 10(43) times better than COD, it takes more patience, and 'skill', if there is any in games.

COD is made for people with short attention Spans, who are entertained by shiny graphics, and feel safe under a blanket or repetition.
    Which means BF doesn't have these people. Which makes me happy, very, very happy.

hallelujah, thank you Sod:p, see what i did there :P, I'm getting so annoyed at COD, yesterday I couldn't stab anyone, I'missed' and it made a metallic sound , like what... did I magically hit their gun??:( I loved the first one and will prob get the second one next weekend:)

Cod is boring at this stage, but the banter in the lobby is the main attraction, anyone who's gamed with Moggy will know exactly what im talking about., :D

I watched a load of Battlefield videos in high def there on Youtube last night and it looks great. If its a bit more playable than the demo i'll defo be into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

The larger engagement distances just make it 3.4 x 10(43) times better than COD

A cursory examination of this reveals you are over stating the facts for effect.

3.4x10 amounts to only 34 times as good as COD - a much more accurate representation of how much of a let down the multiplayer COD is. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Masada wrote: »
    Cod is boring at this stage, but the banter in the lobby is the main attraction, anyone who's gamed with Moggy will know exactly what im talking about., :D

I watched a load of Battlefield videos in high def there on Youtube last night and it looks great. If its a bit more playable than the demo i'll defo be into it.

I love the concept of Battlefield, but you'd need to be playing with a few people you know in order to enjoy it I reckon. Its not something you can just switch on and jump into alone, in my (limited) experience, because you just get pissed off with the Rambo types who treat it as a straight up free-for-all shooter.

But yeah, COD is boring at this stage, unless you're playing with Moggy. But then, when you play with Moggy, you lose every game cos he's the weak link :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Flecktarn wrote: »

Jaysus, they're great graphics....what game is that ? :D

The squad regen is a nice touch in BC 2

Shiva wrote: »
    Jaysus, they're great graphics....what game is that ? :D

The new Modern Medal Of Honour?

Really really want to bet BC2. I was blown away by the demo and I always heard great things about the old Bad Company so eventually when I get the money I'll pick it up, its rather cheap on Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,294 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

What gets me most about COD is revenge killing, you knife someone in the back because they weren't paying attention to the area around them so they respawn and sprint after you with akimbo rangers, miss the shot because they're crap then you "pwn" them again and they follow you again...just let it go!!:pac:

Or the fact that people just cannot aim in the game, last night I was in a game, down to the Spas 12, had fired a few shots, 2 left in the gun, needed to reload, 2 guys run in the door, got each with the 2 shells left, third guy runs in door, proceeds to fire, he was so bad I actually had time to reload one shell and kill him. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭.22 Lover

FAL for the win!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Is BC 2 lake Battlefield 2. I played that on the PC years ago and I didn't like it at all. You have to riddle someone to kill them. I remember emptying a full mag of an MP5 into someone to kill them. I was like, right I've 180rds left, thats 3 kills if I don't miss too much.

So long as BC2 is not like that I might pick it up. MW2 is a spam fest but at least all the weapons are effective in it. Sometimes to much as you can kill someone across the map with quick SMG burst.

The good thing about BC2 though is that it will get rid of the rambo types and make people work as a team as you can have the best player on you team with the highest kills and your team can still lose if you don't all work with each other.

MW2 just lost the plot with the multiplayer killstreak and perk system. At least BC2 take a bit of skill to play well so you will generally find a better class of player after all the spammers get p'ed off that they can't nuke the level after 5mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I'm normally a more LOTRO RPG player and have only ever
    tried battlefield 2 a few times with some buddies at work.

Got Bad Company 2 Friday and finished the single player mode and loved it, It reminded me of Far Cry 1. (2 was pure sh1te)

A bunch of lads from work have a team so am hopeing to
    maybe play with them once a week.

Only problem is getting that Punk Buster PBinit failure
    message every time I try to join a multiplayer server.
    I did all the manual updates etc but nothing has worked.
    Got 3 kills on one map but every other attempt at joining a game I got booted out.

Looks like fun though.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭T4RGET

Shiva wrote: »
    I love the concept of Battlefield, but you'd need to be playing with a few people you know in order to enjoy it I reckon. Its not something you can just switch on and jump into alone, in my (limited) experience, because you just get pissed off with the Rambo types who treat it as a straight up free-for-all shooter.

But yeah, COD is boring at this stage, unless you're playing with Moggy. But then, when you play with Moggy, you lose every game cos he's the weak link :)

I got that too in number one, and if i understand fully what you mean, the second one you will like better, friendly fire doesn't exist:) the way I read your post T is that in the first one people used to go blue on blue, so annoying but you can't do that in BF:BC 2:D