Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I love this season's jersey :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Harry Redknapp admits he is "running out of midfielders". Central midfielders at that. So presumably he'll be in the market for one in the summer. Any suggestions for him? :confused: He likes bringing people back to the club who have moved on. :confused: Jaysus, I have a name on the tip of my tongue I just can't think of it right now. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

On sky news that there was a meeting in london today involving big financiers regarding putting together a bid for united. Interesting.

Also, I love Evra.
    681267469967.jpg
    From redcafe.

image not working

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Also, I love Evra.
    681267469967.jpg
    From redcafe.

Fixed. Saw it earlier, already have it as my new background ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Nothing to get excited about by the sounds of it.
    Sky's city editor Mark Kleinman, who broke the story, told Sky's Jeff Randall: "I should caveat all this by saying that the Red Knights campaign is at a very early stage, and while it has the support of influential fan bodies such as the Manchester United Supporters’ Trust (MUST), it’s possible that those involved may conclude it’s not ultimately viable."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,021 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

just listening to sky news there and the red knights are expected to send out a statement in the next few weeks to confirm the groups existence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Fair play to Evra for speaking out about the campaign on the side of the fans. Can definately see why he is high up on the lis of legends you have at the clubs currently. great player & seems like a top bloke too.

Archimedez wrote: »
    Fixed. Saw it earlier, already have it as my new background ;)

he is such a class act, I love Denis Irwin so much but me Evra has over taken him

love to see him as our full time captain from now on

I also like how he says that "we dont think that they're crazy". Kind of implies that the players are all too aware of how much trouble the club is in off the field, and that they care about it

Re: The Red Knights

Oliver Kay from the times says on his twitter that there was a meeting held by big-hitting City of London financiers today about prospect of bid to buy Man Utd from Glazers, that included big-hitters from Goldman Sachs (Jim O'Neill) and Freshfields (Mark Rawlinson).

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Fair play to Evra for speaking out about the campaign on the side of the fans. Can definately see why he is high up on the lis of legends you have at the clubs currently. great player & seems like a top bloke too.

He has really taken the club to heart and has become the best left full in the world in his time there, absolute legend and delighted to see him lift the trophy as captain yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Headshot wrote: »
    he is such a class act, I love Denis Irwin so much but me Evra has over taken him

love to see him as our full time captain from now on

Sorry but Dennis Irwin gave of us 12 years of nothing but exceptional service. As far as I'm concerned Paddy has 8 years before he can get ahead of Irwin.

Also if we had irwin now we would actually have someone capable of taking a set piece.

Jim O'Neill is head of global economic research at Goldman Sachs (since 2001). He is best known for coining the term BRICs to refer to the economies of Brazil, Russia, India and China.

O'Neill has particular interest and success in the foreign exchange market, Gavyn Davies describing O'Neill as "the top foreign-exchange economist anywhere in the world in the past decade" in 2005.

O'Neill sits on the QFINANCE Strategic Advisory Board.

O'Neill is a native of Manchester and is a lifelong fan of Manchester United F.C. and served as a non-executive director from 2004-05, before the club was returned to private ownership.

----
    A United fan who is an expert in finance. Not too shabby!

gotta say, i find it very hard to get excited about this "red knights" thing

i just cant see it happening? nice bit of hype and then it will fizzle out

am i alone in thinking this?

Mark Rawlinson is also a Man Utd fan, and helped them prolong their defence against the Glazer family bid when it first came about.

He is quoted as saying "Being born in Manchester in the days of George Best, Bobby Charlton and Denis Law, one of my career highlights was acting for Manchester United on the Glazer bid in 2005."

Sorry but Dennis Irwin gave of us 12 years of nothing but exceptional service. As far as I'm concerned Paddy has 8 years before he can get ahead of Irwin.

Also if we had irwin now we would actually have someone capable of taking a set piece.

your right

but he wont be giving us 8 more yrs thou, I do love Denis (his free kick were awesome) but what i love about Evra that he loves utd, every interview he gives, you just know by tone and his words that he really loves our club

I ****ing love stuff like that, Im not saying Denis didnt love our club .Excluding set pieces who would you think is better ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

kryogen wrote: »
    gotta say, i find it very hard to get excited about this "red knights" thing

i just cant see it happening? nice bit of hype and then it will fizzle out

am i alone in thinking this?

No you are not alone.

50 or whatever number it is potential investors sounds far too many and complicated to be honest. I can see major problems because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,574 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Sky News - Glazers say United is not for sale.

i would always expect them to say that, they can't show that they are actively trying to sell it cause it could cause them problems in refinancing at a later date if any bid fell through - however, it is still disheartening to actually see them (in a manner of speaking) say the club is not for sale.

Manchester Untied supporters will be offered a 'golden share' in the club so they can approve or veto future owners should a group of investors seeking to wrest control of the club from the Glazer family succeed.

The 'Love United Hate Glazer' green-and-yellow scarf protest is likely to confront the American owners at the Carling Cup final between United and Aston Villa at Wembley today, if they belatedly choose to attend, and the pressure on the Americans will increase with this carrot being dangled to fans.

Keith Harris, United fan and a stockbroker with Seymour Pierce, has been assembling a group of investors, along with other well-connected Old Trafford devotees Jim O'Neill, of Goldman Sachs, and Phillip Marshall, of Marshall Wace.
    Manchester United fans

Love United Hate Glazer: Manchester United fans unfurl an anti-Glazer banner

They say they have pledges of funds totalling £1billion to buy out the Glazers should they agree to sell.

The new group of owners would then negotiate with fans groups Independent Manchester United Supporters' Association and Manchester United Supporters' Trust to give them representation on the board and a 25.1 per cent shareholding.

'It will in effect be a golden share,' said a bid insider.

'It will mean that supporters will have a decisive say in the future on whether any possible new owners would be suitable or not.'

Harris, who brokered the deal for Roman Abramovich to take over Chelsea, and his group have had no indication from the Glazers that they are willing to deal but believe that, if dissent among fans escalates, the Florida-based family could relent.

As well as the scarf protest, more empty seats have appeared at Old Trafford as unrest grows.

Sounds promising if true.

Edit: Some more info on potential Red Knights from Bloomberg
    March 1 (Bloomberg) -- A bidding group that includes
    Goldman Sachs Group Inc. Chief Economist Jim O’Neill, Marshall
    Wace LLP’s founder Paul Marshall and Freshfields Bruckhaus
    Deringer LLP’s Mark Rawlinson is considering making an offer for
    U.K’s Manchester United Premier League soccer club, Sky News
    reported, without attribution. The Glazer family, the club’s
    owners, said the team is not for sale, according to Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

A prayer for United.

Our saviour, who art somewhere, Red knight be thy name.

Thou time will come and thoust deal be done,

In Manchester, as well as Hong Kong.

Give us back this day, our Glorious Red Devils,

and Lead us from the Glaziers.

As we will not forgive them, thine damage they have done.

lead us away from their debt and burden.

Bring us again to greater glory and deliver us from debt

amen.

your right

but he wont be giving us 8 more yrs thou, I do love Denis (his free kick were awesome) but what i love about Evra that he loves utd, every interview he gives, you just know by tone and his words that he really loves our club

I ****ing love stuff like that, Im not saying Denis didnt love our club .Excluding set pieces who would you think is better ?

two very different players

id have mr dependable on the right and Evra on the left if given the choice

cant compare them as like for like, they had different styles and played in different eras of the game

The attacking full back has not always been the norm for full backs

Denis was more then capable of contributing to the attack

push comes to shove

Irwin better defensively, Evra better attacking

so one on the left one on the right will do nicely!

More info from Sky News.
    Revealed: 'Red Knights' Hold Secret United Summit

Mark Kleinman March 01, 2010 7:16 PM

A group of leading City financiers who want to wrest control of the club from the Glazers met this morning for secret talks to galvanise support for their campaign, I have learned.

I understand that the Red Knights group – which involves the stockbroking supremo Keith Harris – convened this morning at the Fleet Street offices of the ‘Magic Circle’ law firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer.

Among those present at the meeting was Jim O’Neill, the chief economist at Goldman Sachs, who has been an outspoken critic of the level of debt taken on by United’s parent company. O'Neill, who is one of the world's most respected economists and is a lifelong United supporter, will help to lead the group during the coming months.

Mark Rawlinson, a partner in Freshfields’ corporate practice who advised United on its takeover by the Glazers in 2005, hosted the talks, I’m told. Other City figures, including Paul Marshall, a partner at the hedge fund Marshall Wace, are supporting the Red Knights, although it’s unclear whether he was also at today’s meeting; and others from outside the world of high finance, such as Richard Hytner, a leading executicve at the global advertising agency Saatchi & Saatchi, are also involved.

I should caveat all this by saying that the Red Knights campaign is at a very early stage, and while it has the support of influential fan bodies such as the Manchester United Supporters’ Trust (MUST), it’s possible that those involved may conclude it’s not ultimately viable.

Having said that, the summit – the first formal gathering under the Red Knights banner – is the most significant evidence so far of the seriousness of the campaign to win back control of United.

I understand that a statement is likely to be issued in the next couple of weeks that would confirm the Red Knights’ existence and ask for financial and other support from United fans.

Estimates vary about how much hard cash will be required to persuade the Glazers to sell United, but a sensible number would seem to be in the region of £1bn. Even then, if the Glazers refuse to budge, then there’s no deal, no matter how much pressure the Red Knights exert.

Finsbury, the leading City public relations firm, has been lined up to advise the Red Knights, although no formal appointment has yet been made.

The significance of the involvement of senior personnel from Freshfields and Finsbury is that both firms advised United on the club’s sale in 2005.

The Glazers’ recent £500m bond issue (to refinance existing debt) has crystallized opposition among fans to their continued ownership of the club.

On the playing side, supporters have also been restless about the quality of football on display at Old Trafford following the £80m sale of Cristiano Ronaldo to Real Madrid last summer.

Despite winning the Carling Cup at Wembley yesterday, many fans believe the club’s indebtedness is hampering the ability of manager Sir Alex Ferguson to add strength to his playing squad.

Nobody involved in today’s meeting was available for comment this evening.

I see burnley have won the tribunal

they only have to pay us 500,000 for Eckersley, we wanted 1 million +

I always like Eckersley, good little player, just a pity he couldn't wait for his opportunity.

well since there is talk of add ons then hopefully he will become a major success and we will make $$$

he was unlikely to make it at united in fairness

kryogen wrote: »

he was unlikely to make it at united in fairness

you serious ?

he always impressed me, thought himself and raf would be fighting for RB position in the years to come

you serious ?

he always impressed me, thought himself and raf would be fighting for RB position in the years to come

yeah, like yourself i was a fan of his, i just didnt see him pushing his way into the team

its not a bad reflection on him, plenty of quality players have been forced to ply their trade elsewhere

Glazers say club is not for sale...on SSN, big feature being done

Same as they said last time this was mooted

even if they are open to a sale, they cant say it publicly

Liam O wrote: »
    Glazers say club is not for sale...on SSN, big feature being done

Not unexpected tbh. They'll always say that in public.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

you serious ?

Is there any young lad at United you don't think will make it? You seem to think they will all make it. It just doesn't happen.

CHD wrote: »
    Is there any young lad at United you don't think will make it? You seem to think they will all make it. It just doesn't happen.

yawn

the lad didnt want to wait so he went off to burnley, i still rate him and im sure he'll go to to a bigger team in no time