Who has the best sense of humour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Mexicans, Colombians, Cubans and Brasilians are the funniest to me outside of the English language. Pretty similar to Irish humor.

There hilarious, chatting away to themselves in their funny languages! making no sense at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

@gonnaplayrugby One person from every country in world and see what happens.Big comedy brother :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,701 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

SAN FRANCISCO MAN BECOMES FIRST AMERICAN TO GRASP SIGNIFICANCE OF IRONY

Jay Fullmer, 38, yesterday became the first American to get to grips with the concept of irony. "It was weird," Fullmer said, "I was in London and, like, talking to this guy and it was raining and he pulled a face and said, "great weather, eh?" and I thought "wait a minute, no way is it great weather." Fullmer then realised that the other man's 'mistake' was in fact deliberate.
    Fullmer, who is 39 next month and married with two children, aged 8 and 3, plans to use irony himself in future. "I'm like using it all the time," he said. "Last weekend I was grilling steaks and I burned them to sh*t and I said, 'hey, great weather!'"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The Irish/British/Australian/Kiwi sense of humour is absolutely fantastic - dry, self-deprecating, sharp, surreal, sometimes downright silly, dark.
    Different type of humour from the States (generally speaking) but equally hilarious - Americans can do sarcasm superbly.
    does this include the anglophone world only btw? becoz somehow i doubt you lot watch much german/french any non english language comedy.
    Do you?
    and the irish get offended by everything. if there is an irish stereotype portrayed(like there was in eastenders years back) they get inindated with complaints.
    You rock my world, GPR, with your incessant whingeing about Irish people, yet strangely exempting yourself from said demographic. What a renegade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The poor ould Americans suffer from terrible generalisations. Some great sit coms, they can do sarcasm as good if not better than the Brits.

Dark humour? Some of us get it, some of us don't. The debates about what is humour and what's the line on AH, testify to that.

Overall, I think we praise ourselves too much and knock the Americans too much. Some of the best dark humour is in American films.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Personally I think that I have the best sense of humour and that all other senses of humour should use mine as a benchmark. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

People are likening Irish humour to British humour but they are both different if you ask me. British humour is far drier and can be much more deprecating than ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44,501 ✭✭✭✭Deki

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Personally I think that I have the best sense of humour and that all other senses of humour should use mine as a benchmark. :D
    I think this is true! So simplistic and yet here is the answer to all.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Deki wrote: »
    I think this is true! So simplistic and yet here is the answer to all.:cool:

That's one.
    Now I just have to convince the rest of the world that I am the funniest person ever and my plan for world domination can really start.

Muhahahaha...haha...haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dudess wrote: »
    The Irish/British/Australian/Kiwi sense of humour is absolutely fantastic - dry, self-deprecating, sharp, surreal, sometimes downright silly, dark.
    Different type of humour from the States (generally speaking) but equally hilarious - Americans can do sarcasm superbly.

Jay Fullmer, 38, yesterday became the first American to get to grips with the concept of irony.
    "It was weird" Fullmer said. "I was in London and like, talking to this guy and it was raining and he pulled a face and said, "Great weather eh?" and I thought - "Wait a minute, no way is it great weather".
    Fullmer then realised that the other man's 'mistake' was in fact deliberate.
    Fullmer, who is 39 next month and married with two children, aged 8 and 3, plans to use irony himself in future.

"I'm, like, using it all the time" he said. "Last weekend I was grilling steaks, and I burned them, and I said "Hey, great weather."

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Jay Fullmer, 38, yesterday became the first American to get to grips with the concept of irony.
    "It was weird" Fullmer said. "I was in London and like, talking to this guy and it was raining and he pulled a face and said, "Great weather eh?" and I thought - "Wait a minute, no way is it great weather".
    Fullmer then realised that the other man's 'mistake' was in fact deliberate.
    Fullmer, who is 39 next month and married with two children, aged 8 and 3, plans to use irony himself in future.

"I'm, like, using it all the time" he said. "Last weekend I was grilling steaks, and I burned them, and I said "Hey, great weather."

I'm sure I that seen that posted already today.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

The Irish have a good sense of humor because of our fucked up history, sometimes laughter is all you have

We also have a more advanced sense of humor on this side of the atlantic, I dont think americans get 'Jam' (Chris Morris)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

K-9 wrote: »
    I'm sure I that seen that posted already today.
    I can't remember where I read it, possibly in the humour forum here on boards, possibly not but at least a few weeks ago.

K-9 wrote: »

Dark humour? Some of us get it, some of us don't. The debates about what is humour and what's the line on AH, testify to that.

yes some people here think if they mention maddie or fritzel its dark humor, but it needs to be more intelligently put together than that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Aussie humour can be absolutely terrific. Anyone who's watched The Chaser's War On Everything can attest to that.

Also:

yes some people here think if they mention maddie or fritzel its dark humor, but it needs to be more intelligently put together than that

Again context and as you say, some thought goes into it. Maddie and Fritzel jokes can be funny.

Some good Wacko jokes going about straight after his death, but the amount of people who got outraged. I don't think we are as good at dark humour as we like to think we are!

Aussie humour can be absolutely terrific. Anyone who's watched The Chaser's War On Everything can attest to that.

Also:

Rory Bremner rip off and nowhere near as smart or clever.*

*Which was a Yes Minister rip off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I tend to like a bit off each. I like dry humour and absurdist humour (but not aggressively wacky).

http://www.theonion.com has always been a fave, so probs to the americans for that. Also for a boatload of animated humour (south park, aqua teen, etc.). Most of their live action sitcoms are pretty ****e though (barring a few - seinfeld, arrested development). I hate anything that tries to get dramatic or have a lesson (it bugs me in south park even, but I tolerate it there).

I grew up on monty python and fawlty towers is still my favourite of all time, so probs to the british for that. Ditto the office, spaced, peep show, black books. I hated Little Britain with an undying passion though.

blackbooks is overrated, its just slightly surreal slapstick, I could never warm to it

another overrated show is 'the IT crowd'

south park is king imo

tho they do have weak episodes sometimes

Shoot, I've totally forgotten the Canadians!

Kids in the Hall was always a favourite.

Plus, a fair number of "American" comedians (both good and bad) are actually Canadian (Mike Meyers, Jim Carrey, Dan Ackroyd, Tommy Chong, Will Arnet), so they got a lot of credit/blame there.

canadians have some great comedic performers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44,501 ✭✭✭✭Deki

I think humor hasn't so much to do with heritage as has to do with the individual. Some people are funny and some just think they're funny.:D

south park is king imo

tho they do have weak episodes sometimes

That they have, but to go as long as they have without become predictable or trite is pretty rare. I was in my first year of uni when I saw the "The Spirit of Christmas" on the net, and the show started my second year of uni. There's so many shows since then that I've loved initially and then faded, yet they can still catch me by surprise over 15 years later is amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Irish & English people seem to have the best sense of humor, imo

I fully agree.

But the English tend to portray it far better on the small/big screen imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

cafecolour wrote: »
    I tend to like a bit off each. I like dry humour and absurdist humour (but not aggressively wacky).

http://www.theonion.com has always been a fave, so probs to the americans for that. Also for a boatload of animated humour (south park, aqua teen, etc.). Most of their live action sitcoms are pretty ****e though (barring a few - seinfeld, arrested development). I hate anything that tries to get dramatic or have a lesson (it bugs me in south park even, but I tolerate it there).

For me the funniest stuff is always the understated, deadpan stuff- stuff where it's almost the case that you can't tell whether they're taking the pi$$ or not (and you can laugh if you want).
    The stuff that doesn't hit you over the head and tell you "here's the joke, laugh now".
    Incidentally this is part of the difference between the US and UK Office.

The Onion can do deadpan (it's not perfect but it's hard to find much better).
    I love their "individual non-story" stories (stuff like "mcdonalds worker locks up at the end of the night for the first time").
    The Youtube stuff can be good as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

IMO without a doubt the British are head and shoulders above anyone when it comes to a sense of humour and pure slap stick comedy.

Unfortunetly political correctness was the death of the best of British comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Feck im drunk.

Oh me poor head. Stay away from the port and brandy lads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

Religious peoples of all kinds have the best sense of humour :pac:

Seriously, go over to the Christianity forum and crack anything remotely humorous and you're post will be deleted and you may get banned. Is laughing a religious sin?