Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

I take great offence to that comment! DCU is as real as UCDD...

Yeah, the transport's awful, that's why I live out here instead =) But if that's not an option I get what you mean. I know a few doing eng in trinity and UCD, they seem to enjoy it and the free laptops in trinity are a definite plus. I've head the civil eng dept in UCD is a bit behind the times and unco-operative though.

what's your sis doing? I wonder if I know her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭anothernight

Wow you stalked me well haha, it's bad enough living with maameeo, oh my...it's my kindest act... to treat them as people. /gets mobbed :D

I've been lurking on boards for about 3 years. It's hard to not notice your deep dislike of gingers! Though in fairness my sister is a redhead, not a ginger.
    Which engineering you wanna do?

I'm not sure yet, still a long time to decide. I'm seriously considering mechanical engineering but I wouldn't mind electronic. Still, I'm not overly concerned yet.

EDIT: Answering cocoa's question, my sister is doing Intellectual Disability Nursing. She's not mathsy at all lol

Then DCU's perfect for you! All we do is mechanical and electronic! =P

ah no, I don't know any nurses =( well, maybe I do and they're lying about their course to hide their shame...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

cocoa wrote: »
    I take great offence to that comment! DCU is as real as UCDD...

been in them all, they seem grand colleges. I can't really tell what faculties are better in each college though.

]
    've been lurking on boards for about 3 years. It's hard to not notice your deep dislike of gingers! Though in fairness my sister is a redhead, not a ginger.
    That's a lot of lurking, you know me better than I know me.
    The deep dislike hides the greater love..which hides the gargantuan hate :pac:

My beard goes gingery sometimes if I let me have facial hair stuff, the secret shame.

There are redheads that aren't gingers? i only know of dyed ones!
    I'm not sure yet, still a long time to decide. I'm seriously considering mechanical engineering but I wouldn't mind electronic. Still, I'm not overly concerned yet.
    Electronic and computer ftw, it seems you'd like it!

ah no, I don't know any nurses =( well, maybe I do and they're lying about their course to hide their shame...
    Nahh she's the type who likes to proclaim her love for nursing *shudders*
    There are redheads that aren't gingers? i only know of dyed ones!
    Yes. Hairdressers always think she dyes her hair. It's not orange, but dark red.
    Electronic and computer ftw, it seems you'd like it!
    Electronic, maybe. Computer, no.

been in them all, they seem grand colleges. I can't really tell what faculties are better in each college though.

ah yeah, can't say I'm well equipped to judge one against the other and they all seem to do the job pretty good =)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Yes. Hairdressers always think she dyes her hair. It's not orange, but dark red.
    oh me likes.

Electronic, maybe. Computer, no.

Ah they share a lot of the same subjects, cmputer just more eww programming I suppooooseee

Just think people that use linux usually big into computers etc

gotta love maths either way. learn to love transistors for electronic, harmonics for mechanical. Most electronic courses have a bit of programming too, but not as much as you'd get in comp.

I wouldnt say love transistors..I just wanna be friends :P

hah, I know the feeling. yay for no transistors this semester =) for the first time in three years... =(

What type of engineering did yous do anyway? And why?

I'm in third year of electronic eng in DCU. Went in through common entry, basically I knew I liked / was good at maths and wasn't sure of much beyond that, so engineering seemed like a safe bet.

Cool! If you were there on the open day, I might have seen you. Though you probably weren't. I really need to ask: that cool-looking lecturer guy for electronic engineering, black hair, he was wearing a black suit-type jacket... Is his right eyebrow permanently raised or was it just a temporary thing? I hope you know who I'm talking about! >_<

I was there, I was the mad juggler person :pac:I don't know which lecturers were there at the electronic eng stand, not aware of any with permanently raised eyebrows... I'll have to start paying more attention in lectures... :pac:

edit: wait... cool looking? You must've been in the wrong place =P

elec+comp here myself...am good at maths/science etc and would have prefeerrrred them..but I want a job.ssooo. :p

I was there, I was the mad juggler person :pac:I don't know which lecturers were there at the electronic eng stand, not aware of any with permanently raised eyebrows... I'll have to start paying more attention in lectures... :pac:

edit: wait... cool looking? You must've been in the wrong place =P

I can't remember you at all sorry! >_<
    And that guy wasn't at the engineering display. He was one of the two men giving the talk about engineering. He looked so cool with his jet black hair. I have a thing for blue/green/grey eyes and black hair :o

hmm... jerry murphy is the only black haired lecturer i can think of... cut quite short? hates the world?

I don't actually know his name. His hair wasn't very short. He might have hated the world, as he looked extremely sarcastic. I think that's what made him cool. He made two of my friends (aspiring chef and doctor) want to do engineering though.

EDIT: Conor Brennan? Yeah I think that's him. Doesn't have a raised eyebrow on his picture on the website though. Maybe it was just an act. Hmm

*Sigh* I can't believe I'd rather track down some random lecturer than do some study. I think I'll just go to bed and study tomorrow....

Yeah I'm sure you gonna tomorrow jsut like i am gonna :P

I don't actually know his name. His hair wasn't very short. He might have hated the world, as he looked extremely sarcastic. I think that's what made him cool. He made two of my friends (aspiring chef and doctor) want to do engineering though.

EDIT: Conor Brennan? Yeah I think that's him. Doesn't have a raised eyebrow on his picture on the website though. Maybe it was just an act. Hmm

*Sigh* I can't believe I'd rather track down some random lecturer than do some study. I think I'll just go to bed and study tomorrow....

hah, *anything* is way better than studying, scientific fact =) Yeah, he's actually pretty cool, I always thought his hair was brown though... =S

hah, *anything* is way better than studying, scientific fact =)
    No such think as fact in science. /anal :pac:

That must only be your theory then =P

I just used the axioms of annoyingness and came up with a reply really..

haha, I like that. Very important, the axioms of annoyingness, especially when used in conjunction with the primary principles of pedantry =P =D

to the grammar lab!

*na na na na na na na na batman music and zoomy motions*

Holy double negative grammar man!

me no grammar that's unpossible

/explodes

You can't tell anybody in the grammar forum I moderate...:eek:

hah, *anything* is way better than studying, scientific fact =) Yeah, he's actually pretty cool, I always thought his hair was brown though... =S

Screw studying.
    Might have been the light . My friends thought it looked dyed.

Screw studying.
    Might have been the light . My friends thought it looked dyed.

aww wow, I haven't seen him since last may, I hope it's dyed, would be so exciting =D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Citron vodka goes down way too easy...let this be a warning to ye all!! (yes i'm aware of all the innuendo that statement brings):p

But good 'ol Jaeger, my mistress of the night saved me with her deliciousness:D