Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Lads wearing make-up...

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

i think its a bit weard. fella's wearing make up for no reason...

the only time it wouldnt be weard is if they were in a show or

something....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭sexdwarf

It's only CURRENTLY not the done thing, as per the rules of our oh so tolerant society, it was all the rage before and it'll be all the rage again. Who's to say that people won't be back to the auld powdered wigs in 200 or so years. Fashions are cyclical. I say wear whatever makes you feel good, feck the begrudgers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

fair enough :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭3qsmavrod5twfe

It's wrong I tells you!

Case in point

Now that's attractive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭newmember2

I wore eyeliner the odd time when I was aged around 15 in the early 80s.

I used to go to 'Faces' in town, that'd be full of punks and 'alternative' types and this was 'the look'. I remember going into school on a Monday one time and this girl noticing that I still had traces of eyeliner on. She was OK with it though as at that age everything is experimental and there was loads of it about in music, eg, Adam Ant, New Romantics, etc.

Haven't worn it since then though and wouldn't be into it now and I also prefer the natural look on women (or very little make-up).

It's the same now again for those emo young guys - doesn't make them gay - they're just experimenting with a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Where's the option for apathy?You all seem to be forgetting that some aspects of gender are socio culturally relative. I.E. the Celts wore make up and skirts,the Romans wore skirts and the Samurai wore split skirts and blush(in battle they did'nt want to look unhealthy if they died).

About a hundred years ago it would have been taboo for a woman to wear trousers. It's all changed now. I don't care if a guy chooses to wear make up or not. It's seen as positive for a woman to embrace certain amounts of masculinity,not so with males embracing certain aspects of femininity. Trivial social conventions which don't affect me don't bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    That's generally because I've never seen a guy wearing make up, at least not to the best of my knowledge.
    You never saw Bertie "The Queen of Drumcondra".
    http://www.indymedia.ie/attachments/sep2006/bertie_in_communion_dress.jpg

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/fairy-queen-of-drumcondra-has-his-wings-clipped-130503.html
    The finest example of an 'Irish solution to an Irish problem' since Mr Haughey's famous decision to allow married couples to purchase contraceptives was followed by a uniquely-modern issue as poor Bertie was roasted over his growing metrosexual tendencies by the ascetic John Gormley. The wails about how 'tax-payers lying on trolleys' would be 'appalled by the exorbitant sum' of €500 a week spent by Ahern on make-up was bad enough. However, Gormley's scathing denunciation of our foppish ward boss who is now prancing around 'like the Queen of Drumcondra' really cut to the bone when Gormley wondered 'what de Valera would make of it all'. We suspect poor old Dev would be less-than-impressed by a Taoiseach who uses more make-up than an habitue of The George. Still, at least one thing is clear. We've certainly moved on a long way from the good old days of dancing at the crossroads.

DazMarz wrote: »
    The only men who should wear make up:

-actors
    -clowns
    -Glam Metal artists
    -dead people
    And mingers -male or female thats the main function of it. "I wear it to look nice" -i.e. you wear it to mask your vileness. (I do look quite fetching with some rouge all the same)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Think their called 'gays'.