If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Seen the Irish Daily Star today?

• 04-02-2010 06:41PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭

Ok before I start I would like to point out that I know the wife of this man. They have been seperated for over a year and he has moved out of the family home for approx the last 10 months but for some reason The Star decided to give his previous address where his wife and kids still live. They are currently going through divorce procedures. I'm not sure what the circumstances are surrounding their divorce but I wont speculate. You can all make your own mind up.

I think the fact The Star has named his previous address is disgusting and they done it merely because they were too useless to find his current address. They have put the beacon over his family's head now and the paper should be ashamed of themselves. My mother and her boss were speaking to her earlier and she's in bits after seeing the papers. This is the last thing she needed when she's trying to cast him from her life and start afresh.
    Headline reads. SICKO : This is the evil paedo who abused and took vile pictures of babies.

This is the vile paedo who took repulsive pictures of babies and toddlers and sent them to 150 other sickos on the internet.
    Evil Timothy Leahy (50), of insert address here (not his current address so why did they print it?) admitted abusing five kids - including a 1 year old baby.

SICKENING

The engineer traded sickening pics to paedos across the world including a series showing him sexually abusing a six-year-old girl. He also admitted going to swimming pools to touch off young children there (I know the names of both of these but not sure if I should post them)

PAEDO ABUSE SICKO IS HELD IN CUSTODY

Monster who filmed horror child porn awaits sentence.

An evil child abuser who distributed horriffic pornographic images he had taken of five young children to 150 fellow paedo's has been remanded in custody pending sentence.
    Engineer Timothy Leahy's images included one he took of a three year old girl exposing her genitals and holding a sign reading "I'm your little slut".

A number of other images the Balbriggan man distributed showed him sexually abusing a six year old girl. He also took a video of himself masturbating in front of a one year old baby and a semi-naked 2 year old girl.

TRADE

He would trade images he took, rather than charging for them. The recordings of the six year old girl bore her name and were referred to as a series, before Leahy distributed them internationally.

Leahy also downloaded vile images of girls as young as the ages of 4-15 being raped. Leahy pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal court to production of child pornography, sexual exploitation and sexual assaults on dates between January 1st 2005 - November 7th 2008. Max penalty for these is 14 years.

The gardaí were contacted by the FBI in the US in relation to mass distribution of child porn from an email address which was later traced back to Leahy. The images were found on numerous pc's, USB keys, external HDD's and DVD's
    There's a little bit more but I have typed all the above by hand because I couldn't find a source on the net. You all get the idea. I hope this sicko get's a full life sentence for each offence and he's locked up for the rest of his days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Ha, he won't get that much in jail, 4 or 5 years, 2 suspended and gets out after 18 months for good behaviour...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I say give him the chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Not much to say except Sick Fuck

He'll get a fine and be told not to be a naughty boy and sent on his way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

These f*cking rags don't care about facts or checking to see if someone still lives at a place before printing an address.

It's exactly what I'd expect from the bottom feeding idiots who write these things.

Ha, he won't get that much in jail, 4 or 5 years, 2 suspended and gets out after 18 months for good behaviour...
    Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Not much to say except Sick Fuck

He'll get a fine and be told not to be a naughty boy and sent on his way

Eh... I think all of ye are missing the point of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

AnonoBoy wrote: »

About how the Iris Daily star is a pillar of journalistic integrity? Thats obvious even before this thread was started.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Not referring to this case but it should be mentioned that sometimes, papers say where a person is from so that another person by the same name is NOT identified in the wrong as being another person by mistake.
    ...thats all but its an important point.

I'm neither justifying or not, the said paper case above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

The thread is about a sick paedo.

The giving of the wrong address may be part of that,
    but I don't see why people shouldn't be allowed to give opinions that relate to the piece as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

TBH Ive always thought that addresses get thrown about far too freely in newspapers (especially local) and indeed during actual court proceedings (not just the defendants either).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

I've always said the star is tripe and wouldn't wipe my arse with it TBH.

Also to Biggins I agree with that but his face is splashed in the front of the paper so an identity mix up wouldn't be at such a high chance in this particular case but, I do agree with what you say about giving addresses to make sure they don't mix someone's identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Addresses shouldnt be given in newspapers full stop.

Feel sorry for that woman and her children

The giving of the wrong address may be part of that, but I don't see why people shouldn't be allowed to give opinions that relate to the piece as a whole.

I never said you shouldn't be allowed give opinions. I just thought the most pertinent part of the OP was that the incorrect address had been given out leading to distress for his ex-wife.

Jeez.

I never said you shouldn't be allowed give opinions. I just thought the most pertinent part of the OP was that the incorrect address had been given out leading to distress for his ex-wife.

Jeez.
    Sorry if it's coming across like that but you have the right jist of it. He's being brought to justice so I did sort of focus a bit of attention to the newspaper giving the wrong address and causing massive distress to the family. All in all I gave the full background and gave my opinion on the sicko being put to justice but I couldn't care less about him. It's his family, the innocents in this, that are going to be dealt a raw end thanks to the fúckwits that decided to give out the family address and not his current address

In summary.

Leahy = Scum and hope he gets put down for as many years as the judge can serve him - although reality may differ.
    The Star = Tripe and had no right releasing an address that is not currently his! they'll get away with it too because they stated it's a previous address. Still, anything to put sales up I guess. Piece of rag with scribbles on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

More of an Irish Times man myself :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Is "sicko" even a word? God, I hate tabloids.

But, to stick to the topic, which I sort-of already am, this is one reason why I can't stand the yellow press. Is there any reason why they needed to print an address at all? What does it add to the piece? Since it is, as you say, not the right address, the only outcome of them printing it will be to bring hurt and stress to innocent people.

This may be his "correct" address, meaning he's probably still registered to it on the electoral register which is why the paper used it. However, printing it, even if it were correct, serves no good purpose. Then again, "even if you can, doesn't mean you should" in not exactly a maxim that tabloid papers tend to recognise.

Dunjohn wrote: »
    Is "sicko" even a word? God, I hate tabloids.

But, to stick to the topic, which I sort-of already am, this is one reason why I can't stand the yellow press. Is there any reason why they needed to print an address at all? What does it add to the piece? Since it is, as you say, not the right address, the only outcome of them printing it will be to bring hurt and stress to innocent people.

This may be his "correct" address, meaning he's probably still registered to it on the electoral register which is why the paper used it. However, printing it, even if it were correct, serves no good purpose. Then again, "even if you can, doesn't mean you should" in not exactly a maxim that tabloid papers tend to recognise.
    +1 Spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

<D4 accent> Im sorrrrrryyy, but Im more of an Irish Indow myself :rolleyes:
    The indo is basically a tabloid. Real D4s pick up the Irish Times, or the Guardian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Evil Timothy Leahy

What's worse than a paedo......... a peado with a double barrel name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

A few years ago, there was a political magazine in Dublin called The Slate. It was distribted free in cafes, etc, by budding journalism students. It covered current events, politics, etc in a not-too-serious and studenty type way.

During the Holly and Jessica story, they interviewed a previously-convicted peadophile. The next week, the Irish Star called it a 'child sex magazine' and explained in detail how it was a free mag for paedos. That's the Irish Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

God that's terrible, his poor family have been through enough.

Horrible rag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

banquo wrote: »
    A few years ago, there was a political magazine in Dublin called The Slate. It was distribted free in cafes, etc, by budding journalism students. It covered current events, politics, etc in a not-too-serious and studenty type way.

During the Holly and Jessica story, they interviewed a previously-convicted peadophile. The next week, the Irish Star called it a 'child sex magazine' and explained in detail how it was a free mag for paedos. That's the Irish Star.

I dont think thats true, I have that issue somewhere. they were showing how in different cultures around the world it was normal to have sex with kids. like having a 12yr old wife somewhere in Africa. cant recall exactly what was in it but I highly doubt they went and interviewed a real convicted child molester

cant recall exactly what was in it but I highly doubt they went and interviewed a real convicted child molester

Why not? Gaybo interviewed a paedophile on his radio show once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,065 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

he needs to suffer, chair be just too easy on him

EVENFLOW

They should have their bits dipped in sulfuric acid.

Why not? Gaybo interviewed a paedophile on his radio show once.

because it was 'The Slate'.

they had an issue called 'Blacks in the Jacks'

I can 99.9% guarantee they didnt interview any pedo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

In my opinion the only thing the Daily Irish Star is good for is putting your leftover food onto!:mad: I think it's awful that they put his old address in the article! Did they not think of the family of this man before doing so? As for the paedophile I hope he rots in jail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Chris1888

This paper like most tabloids are garbage

ye, maybe one of those kids camping fold out plastic things, theyre very uncomfortable to sit on and feel like they could brake at any moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,020 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Papers are also quite legally entitled to print the names and addresses of people accused of crimes. 'Trial by press' is for some reason allowed in this country.

Names should be withheld until after a conviction. And even then, there are times when names should be withheld permanently to protect the identity of victims.
    As for addresses, I don't see how publishing the address benefits anyone. It can only possibly lead to vigilante attacks or innocent family members/residents being harmed.