Which is the tastier? Tayto or King Crisps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Jammyc wrote: »
    Oh you poor thing! Who doesnt know the joy of a packet of crisps?:pac:

i was out drinking on saturday came home had 3 packets of crisps urtter joy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Ah sure
    I just take one salt and vinegar crisp, and one cheese and onion crisp, and I eat them both at the same time!

Or open up a packet of Cheese & Onion and sprinkle some Worcester sauce on them...

Tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Sam Spudz crinkled smokey bacon with Cavan Cola, Wham bar, Refreshers sweets, Rowntree Macintosh Smarties and my toy Coca Cola truck with Shakin' Stevens singing 'This Old House' in the background. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Tayto, defo!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

In King Cheese and Onion vs. Tayto Cheese and Onion; King every time.

In terms of nicest crisps going at the minute: try Pringles Extreme Fiery Wasabi flavour!!! F'ing gorgeous!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

If anybody is a serious crisp head, you can call into the Perri/Hunky Dory/Tayto/King/Sam Spudz factory in Kilbrew near Ratoath and buy your crisps directly - e.g. 60 packs for €20 cash, which is a 33% increase in the price it was 6 months ago (€15). Still way cheaper than buying it in any shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

ah now....perfect late night snack...

hovis brown bread
    avenmore red cheddar cheese
    cured ham slices
    butter
    ketchup
    Tayto Crisps (Cheese & Onion)

Toast the bread, butter it, insert ham and cheese CUT INTO TRIANGLES, dip in ketchup and enjoy each bite with an additional bite of the crisps.

washed down with ice cold milk.....

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Hunky Dorys are better than both, I'd prefer King to Tayto though

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ferdyfish

cant believe king are winning. maybe because the only time i see them is the king pub crisps and your after beer when you eat them so thats why!?
    does anyone remember ma reillys chesse and onion in a red multipack. think you could buy them for 10p too. a red bag , havnt seen them since around '99 id say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

DazMarz wrote: »
    I Pringles Extreme Fiery Wasabi flavour!!!
    Pfft. Newfangled, pretentious shite. What's wrong with normal flavours that come in a plastic bag, ffs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Pfft. Newfangled, pretentious shite. What's wrong with normal flavours that come in a plastic bag, ffs?

:confused: what bags of crisps you get?????

Foil ftw :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

king by a bogmans mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Remember Smith's crisps with the little salt sachets. At the time, it felt like there was something luxurious about salting your own crisps. Smith's also make Bacon Fries and Scampi Fries, both a pub necessity.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Remember Smith's crisps with the little salt sachets. At the time, it felt like there was something luxurious about salting your own crisps.
    Wouldn't mind that now, most salt and vinegar crisps I get these days have **** all flavour in them, apart form a bit at the end. Back in the day they'd burn your mouth off :D

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Lollymcd

In North Inner City Dublin the only option is a patchet of King crips :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

King Crisps. The staple of the Irish pub owner. Cant remember at how many lock-ins me mother n father kept me stuffed with them in order to stave off the boredom. :D

I love them to this day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

All this talk of King crisps is making me hungry.

Gonna make a King crisp sambo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

King with a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I have it on good autority (grandmother worked at Tayto for 20 years) that they are the same crisps in different bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

a package of king crips is a part of a northsiders heritage. Tayto lost the taste war ages ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I always preferred King when i was younger,

Then i could have sworn they must have changed the receipe!

I like Tayto too, but prefer old king,

but in saying that the consistency isn't great among packets of either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

bistro_co.jpg

These are godly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭maryjane007

depends on the situation if your having a crisp sambo its king all the way but eating crisps straight from the bag im a tayto lady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

This thread caused me to go out and buy crisps. That's how fickle I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

King Crisps and chocolate, you'll hardly believe me, but it tastes f#*kn nice!!

Crisp sangiches w/ cheese, awwwwwwwwwww would ye quittt :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

McChubbin wrote: »
    I have it on good autority (grandmother worked at Tayto for 20 years) that they are the same crisps in different bags.

What about Nordie Tayto and Southie Tayto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

I haven't had a bag of King crisps in years...as a child my granny from Cavan used to bring us these, I was never that keen on them, there were always burnt edges on them.
    Fresh Tayto c&o crisps when you're starving are just delicious... Love them added to tomato sandwiches just before you pop them in your mouth before they go soggy...or with toasted chicken sandwiches...or with ham, cheese and tomato sandwiches or with a bar of chocolate, someone mentioned Twirl...a good choice. How the feck is that, that chocolate goes so well with crisps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

m@cc@ wrote: »
    What about Nordie Tayto and Southie Tayto?
    Nordie Tayto just taste like any old brand...like Walkers or Kings or whatever...Southern Tayto have a unique quality no other crisp brand has.
    If there was a challenge where you'd to identify the brands of cheese and onion crisps from a loads of different bowls, guaranteed Tayto would be the one everyone would recognise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Tayto has a book out.

Meh!

King pub crisps beats a book hands down.

/they taste much nicer when bought in a pub.

Why is that?

Even if you just pop in to buy them because you like the taste, and no drink involved.

Pub crisps are far nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Jammyc

Just realised theres a big ole box o' king downstairs. Ahh, christmas has finally found it purpose!