Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Chit chat / Randomness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

RoverJames wrote: »
    Looking forward to being back tomorrow :)
    Re the cold, how are the homeless people managing in this weather ?
    That's true...I don't see how one could survive in this. Having a house and shelter isn't enough, we have to keep the heating on full belt here all day every day.

Best luck on the drive down. What are you driving?

Webmonkey wrote: »
    Best luck on the drive down. What are you driving?

An small old Rover, a 1997 216 Coupe. No ABS, traction control or any such technological advances. Roads were fine when I drove Cork to Galway on Wednesday afternoon, will be leaving here at 1 ish hopefully so should be fine all going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

brrr.

4256445736_287c30c49d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

Nice pic DeRanged. The city was beautiful this morning. Took the dog for a walk before work and she was so excited!

RE homeless: Really sad actually, I saw a man on the bridge between Instinct and the Grand Parade on my way back from work yesterday and he was trying to sleep there. He was wearing nothing but a pair of jeans, a shirt and cotton jumper. He didn't have a blanket or anything. I felt so sorry for him .

Aren't SVP supplying them with blankets/hot drinks? They did this last year, correct me if I'm wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

its horrible to see :(

I give money to the ones who look genuine and people always look at me as if im a weirdo.

I'll be honest, I think I've only given a homeless person money once. He was on a bridge also, young fella with his hood pulled up and a blanket over his knees holding a cup. It was Christmas. So sad.

I've many times paid for a sandwich and a cup of tea and lately I've started just giving the one or two I see alot cigarettes and have a quick chat. IMO it just seems a bit more worthwhile but I may be wrong.

One fella I see alot has gotten a "job" selling the Big Issue. Does anyone actually know how they do this and what it involves? Not that I'm interested in doing so myself :) just always wondered what it is, where they get it and if they're getting paid to sell it?

shakencat wrote: »
    its horrible to see :(

I give money to the ones who look genuine and people always look at me as if im a weirdo.

Fair play to you, I don't give anything to the pro beggars (we all know them, they get dropped off in a green Vectra for their shift) but I would give a few euro to a genuine looking sort. A year or two back I was using the ATM near Waterstones and there was a chap there, it was unreal cold that night, I just saluted him and asked him how were things, he replied not bad at all. I found his attitude fairly impressive, he didn't ask me for any cash either. I went into MacDonalds as intended, got him a cup of tea and gave him a fiver. I also give the guy who is outside the Centra in Oliver Plunkett street a few euro every now and then, he used to sell flowers and neon bracelets and stuff on the street years back when folk from pubs and clubs spilled out.

I reckon VDP and Simon are doing all they possibly can with the available resources.

I reckon anyone who is single with their parents deceased and without siblings could find themselves homeless all too easily the way the country is going. If someone was fond of the drink and lost their job, had a few too many financial liabilities, it's not incomprehendable.

Fair play to you, I don't give anything to the pro beggars (we all know them, they get dropped off in a green Vectra for their shift) but I would give a few euro to a genuine looking sort. A year or two back I was using the ATM near Waterstones and there was a chap there, it was unreal cold that night, I just saluted him and asked him how were things, he replied not bad at all. I found his attitude fairly impressive, he didn't ask me for any cash either. I went into MacDonalds as intended, got him a cup of tea and gave him a fiver. I also give the guy who is outside the Centra in Oliver Plunkett street a few euro every now and then, he used to sell flowers and neon bracelets and stuff on the street years back when folk from pubs and clubs spilled out.

I reckon VDP and Simon are doing all they possibly can with the available resources.

I reckon anyone who is single with their parents deceased and without siblings could find themselves homeless all too easily the way the country is going. If someone was fond of the drink and lost their job, had a few too many financial liabilities, it's not incomprehendable.

As ridiculous as this sounds,
    I give it to ones with dogs in there laps,
    I hate seeing it.
    I once gave bag of dog treats to a homeless man with a puppy on his lap in temple bar square..
    he looked up at me and said thanks.. in the most sincere way.

I felt bad on not handing him something.
    But was happy at the same time.

Dosen't make sense i know. haha

God that's a frightening thought. We have it so lucky. I was talking to a taxi driver a while back who said she always collects a kid in his late teens who is homeless and he always insists on paying. She said he is the nicest young fella and so well mannered but he siad he just got into that way of living and got used to it. She was explaining how he was saying that he regrets it now but once you start going that way it's so so hard to get back out of it again.
    I went into MacDonalds as intended, got him a cup of tea and gave him a fiver.

Fair play. That's the best way IMO. I always go for a hot cuppa or something in case it's not a genuine case.

I once gave bag of dog treats to a homeless man with a puppy on his lap in temple bar square..
    he looked up at me and said thanks.. in the most sincere way.

Wow Shakencat that's really nice! Might start doing that. I always have treats in my bag for my own dog. Man, if anyone (just in case someone picks this up wrong, it's unrelated to the conversation about homeless people) ever stole my bag they'd find everything from sewing needles to dog treats!!! :D

NoDice wrote: »
    Wow Shakencat that's really nice! Might start doing that. I always have treats in my bag for my own dog. Man, if anyone (just in case someone picks this up wrong, it's unrelated to the conversation about homeless people) ever stole my bag they'd find everything from sewing needles to dog treats!!! :D

Haha! lets hope your bag never gets taken!!

When I was in Edinburgh last year with the Boyfriend... there was a homeless man playing with a little puppy and a pebble.

the dog was so excited after a pebble!

I wanted to give the man money or dog food..
    but my boyfriend flipped out saying the man would hit me, that it was cheeky.(I dont see how- but he's the sensible one!)

from then on.. I said F it. there hardly guna hit me! at worst they can eat dog food!

No I think you're completely right! And I'm mad about dogs, my little princess is spoiled rotten so I wish I had thought of that sooner. Good job! :D

That's a cute story about the pebble. Dogs are just so excited about everything in general though. For some reason my one goes to sniff everyone's ankles and pulls on the lead and nearly chokes herself! Poor thing!

There's actually some guy who sits sometimes outside Paul Street on the corner in front of Amicus and other times on patricks street between game and boots somewhere. Whenever I'm taking my dog for a walk he always goes to pet her and we have a quick chat.

I just wish there was something we could do. I've put my name down to volunteer but they said they have loads of volunteers which is weird.

No I think you're completely right! And I'm mad about dogs, my little princess is spoiled rotten so I wish I had thought of that sooner. Good job! :D

That's a cute story about the pebble. Dogs are just so excited about everything in general though. For some reason my one goes to sniff everyone's ankles and pulls on the lead and nearly chokes herself! Poor thing!

There's actually some guy who sits sometimes outside Paul Street on the corner in front of Amicus and other times on patricks street between game and boots somewhere. Whenever I'm taking my dog for a walk he always goes to pet her and we have a quick chat.

I just wish there was something we could do. I've put my name down to volunteer but they said they have loads of volunteers which is weird.

Didnt think you could ever have enough volunteers?

odd.

Yeah.. my dog.. she licks peoples elbows..
    if your lying on the couch.. and an elbow is on show.
    its bound to be licked.
    shes basically human.
    she tells you what she wants. its odd.
    love it though. wouldn change it for the world..

ive volunteered in shelters around my area..
    None have ever called me back :(

As ridiculous as this sounds,
    I give it to ones with dogs in there laps,
    I hate seeing it.

The chap I mentioned that used to sell flowers and bracelets usually has a dog with him when he is outside the Centra. My sister has a lovely Yorkshire Terrier that absolutely adores her grub, she runs around in circles as the dog bowl is being put down for her. I do feel for dogs owned by homeless folk as well as for the homeless folk themselves.

i thought id be slated for being silly :)

not once yet!

i thought id be slated for being silly :)

not once yet!

YOU'RE SILLY!!!!!! :p

My dog is exactly the same! She thinks she is a human! She has all these little routines too, like when I come home from work she will sit in front of the heater and look at me until I turn it on. After I have a cuppa she will go to the drawers where her lead is kept and sits there! We have to spell L.E.A.D. too when she's around cause she gets really excited when we say it put pissed off if we're not actually going for a walk. She also sulks. If we're eating dinner she will sit at our feet and stare at us. If she doesn't get any food she lie on her side and start swatting at my feet. She always gets some food though..... :o

She also sits on our windowsill too and watches people go by, waiting for a dog to pass so she can bark at it. My poor neighbours hate me! :o

YOU'RE SILLY!!!!!! :p

My dog is exactly the same! She thinks she is a human! She has all these little routines too, like when I come home from work she will sit in front of the heater and look at me until I turn it on. After I have a cuppa she will go to the drawers where her lead is kept and sits there! We have to spell L.E.A.D. too when she's around cause she gets really excited when we say it put pissed off if we're not actually going for a walk. She also sulks. If we're eating dinner she will sit at our feet and stare at us. If she doesn't get any food she lie on her side and start swatting at my feet. She always gets some food though..... :o

She also sits on our windowsill too and watches people go by, waiting for a dog to pass so she can bark at it. My poor neighbours hate me! :o

hahha mines the same on the lead thing..
    and we have to spell Bickie too..
    whenever someone comes home.. from work or whatever..
    she sits infront of the bisucit press.. hahah as if to say.. gwan. giv us one haha!

she could be dead the the world snoring upstairs..
    if you open a bar.. or sumit with a sweet wrapper..
    You'l hear a big bang..(her jumping off somones bed!)
    then a scatter of feet down the stairs.. and a skit into the kitchen..

shes gas.

one thing she hasnt started yet..
    is talking..
    like howling at us for somethiing,

our old dog.. (died recently)
    she used to howl..
    she wud speak if she was excited. franticallly!

cant wait til daisy gets the hang of it!!

look at me yapping!:pac:

Dogs are cool, the sisters one stays with my Dad during the day, she's great company for him. They are very human, she loves going for spins in the car and understands what "din dins", "walk" and "mind the house" means, she goes and sits on the stairs if we are going out without her once you say "mind the house". She knows me as "Uncle Jimmy" and Dad as "Grandad". In jest he often refers to her as his "granddaughter".

............ this is getting a bit sad now :o

I'm off home to Cork, all going well I'll be by the banks of the lovely Lee by 5 ish :D

is talking..

Fifi (the Yorkie) howls in tune with the Angelus some evenings apparently, I have never witnessed it but Dad recorded it on his phone once. Very funny :D

haha its funny, i dont have a clue what the dog your talking bout looks like..

but i have a mental picture alright! haha!

enjoy your drive home..
    while i have to leave for work =[

I'm off home to Cork, all going well I'll be by the banks of the lovely Lee by 5 ish :D

Safe drive home RoverJames! Have a great weekend! Don a hat and gloves too, it's like a sunny freezer down here!
    she could be dead the the world snoring upstairs..
    if you open a bar.. or sumit with a sweet wrapper..
    You'l hear a big bang..(her jumping off somones bed!)
    then a scatter of feet down the stairs.. and a skit into the kitchen..

shes gas.

is talking..

Sorry to hear about your old dog. Daisy sounds like so much fun and just like my Leela. Leela sleeps under the blankets in my bed.. :o I could be making the bed in the morning and she'll want to go back for a lie in!

She also does the exact same thing when she hears food! Best guard dog ever though! I was in the kitchen one day and she was barking like crazy! So I went down to the sitting room and there was a fella (sorry to sound like I'm stereotyping but painting a picture here!) with his hood up, filthy trackie on, hands cupped around his eyes to look through my sitting room window! I went right over to close the curtains and he got down off the fence thing and legged it down the road. Freaked!

Leela howls and stuff but does it with the cheekiest face. She has the funniest expressions! Everyone always says it when they see her!
    She doesn't scratch at doors neither. She will sit at the door and if you don't notice her she'll pee right on the carpet next to the door. Then she looks at you as if to say "What like I was TRYING to tell you!" :D

Man, I'm such a dog ranter. Sorry!

enjoy your drive home..
    while i have to leave for work =[

Try to enjoy work Shakencat!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭miss_shadow

We're getting a bearded dragon this evening :):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭kingtut

Is that a lizard? Sorry I'm clueless when it comes to anything other than cats or dogs! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

nice! you'll have to put a pic or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭miss_shadow

yeah sure!I think its a month old or so..

and yes it is a lizard, its a lazy type so it can lounge around the house when its older

Safe drive home RoverJames! Have a great weekend! Don a hat and gloves too, it's like a sunny freezer down here!

Sorry to hear about your old dog. Daisy sounds like so much fun and just like my Leela. Leela sleeps under the blankets in my bed.. :o I could be making the bed in the morning and she'll want to go back for a lie in!

She also does the exact same thing when she hears food! Best guard dog ever though! I was in the kitchen one day and she was barking like crazy! So I went down to the sitting room and there was a fella (sorry to sound like I'm stereotyping but painting a picture here!) with his hood up, filthy trackie on, hands cupped around his eyes to look through my sitting room window! I went right over to close the curtains and he got down off the fence thing and legged it down the road. Freaked!

Leela howls and stuff but does it with the cheekiest face. She has the funniest expressions! Everyone always says it when they see her!
    She doesn't scratch at doors neither. She will sit at the door and if you don't notice her she'll pee right on the carpet next to the door. Then she looks at you as if to say "What like I was TRYING to tell you!" :D

Man, I'm such a dog ranter. Sorry!

Try to enjoy work Shakencat!!!

im here now :(
    Joys!

Wow! Delighted for you! Reptiles are such beautiful pets! I had a pet snake until recently. Called her Fluffy. :)

haha its funny, i dont have a clue what the dog your talking bout looks like..

This is a poor picture of Fifi, she wouldn't smile for the camera :)

2009_0319Prelude_clean0009.jpg

Freezer indeed, in the pic above, the Fi is standing on the frozen Lough :eek:

This is a poor picture of Fifi, she wouldn't smile for the camera :)

2009_0319Prelude_clean0009.jpg

chattiest dog ever im sure!!

il get one of daisy tomoro =]

stil in work :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

Soooo cold!!! The paths outside my house are lethal :(