Why are most straight men seemingly repulsed with the thought of kissing another man?

• 29-12-2009 11:15PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭

I was reading the thread about transsexuals in AH, and there were a few responses by men expressing the complete and utter repulsion at the idea of bringing home a "woman" and discovering that they had a penis.

I get the impression that in such a situation, many would be completely supportive of the man beating the living daylights out of the transsexual.

Even in a less extreme situation, like a gay man coming on to a straight man, I get the impression that even if violence would be frowned upon, many would be hugely disgusted at the idea.

Personally, I can't see why it would be such a big deal. Not being interested in homosexual relations I can understand, but what is it about fear of sexual relations with another man that makes is so pervasive amongst men?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Because first off, if you brought home a women, you expect that they have female genitles, if I bring home a cake...I expect it to be edible. If I brought home a women who said she was a caring soul and loved children, but turned out to be a murdering child molester...I would be enraged too... If they didnt mention the whole penis thing earlier in the night, who knows what else they failed to mention

As for being repulsed by gay people, I would have to agree, it would probally end in violence but you have to look at the type of approach. If a gay guy came up to me in a bar and said in my ear "Hi im Bruno etcetc" I would softly say no thanks im not interested, as would any of my friends. If he came up on the dance floor and started to bump and grind against me...yes it would end in violence. I dont think its so much about the sexuality, but more the personal space that the person has chosen to invade.

I often see women hit men on the dance floor for similar stunts and its greated by a jolly oul laugh by the lad and his friends and socially acceptable nearly (actions by both parties). If a man was to do this to another man and it ended in violence we would get the onlookers talking about our homophobic society blah blah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

I suppose what I'm getting at is more the feeling of repulsion and perhaps fear rather than just simply not wanting to engage in homosexual relations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

I'd wager that most of us would shake our heads at the thought of kissing another bloke because it's not natural for a straight bloke to do so. I wouldn't bat an eyelid if two women were to kiss each other, double standards perhaps or just that it's socially acceptable for two women to be seen kissing each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Ah here, I wouldn't be happy at all if I 'scored' a girl, to find out she had a penis. It's not what I'm interested in, plain and simple. Now, while I wouldn't be violent, I would leave the situation asap.

I've not read the AH thread, and don't really want to at this point tbh.

I don't think it's a fear of homosexual sexual relationships, it's something a lot of men have never dealt with, and don't comfortably know how. I've have a few very close friends (And ex-housemates) that either go the other way, or go both ways. I don't have a problem with it. Some people don't - Tbh, if that's how they feel, fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Im all for gay rights and all but I cant help being repulsed by the sight of 2 men kissing- its not a conscious decision its just a gut reaction.

I find it absolutely rank, totally support their right to do it but still cant watch it, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Question out of interest, of the people who would be repulsed at 2 men kissing how many of you would be comfortable kissing your father on the cheek to say hello or goodbye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

It's hard to know how i would react but i think if the transexual ( assuming we are talking about transexuals rather than actual tranvestites ) was attractive enough for me to kiss in the first place then i wouldn't be repulsed enough to get violent. I'd be far more repulsed if i woke up next to KD Lang.

To a large extent, it's an asthetics thing with me.

Ebbs wrote: »

I often see women hit men on the dance floor for similar stunts and its greated by a jolly oul laugh by the lad and his friends and socially acceptable nearly (actions by both parties). If a man was to do this to another man and it ended in violence we would get the onlookers talking about our homophobic society blah blah.

I rarely see other women hitting men on nights out.
    However, the relative force with which your average woman can deliver a slap. Doesnt compare to the violence of a beating.
    It is a physical statement rather than an attempt to cause pain.

Although I dont see anything wrong a guy physically repelling a douchebag who is molesting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

L31mr0d wrote: »
    Question out of interest, of the people who would be repulsed at 2 men kissing how many of you would be comfortable kissing your father on the cheek to say hello or goodbye?

Id be fine with the latter, but id be repulsed by the former.

I am however repulsed by men-women kissing in public a little provocativly, especially when its on public transport like the luas and they are wedged against you. However, yes I do find a normal kiss from a gay couple a little weirder.
    I rarely see other women hitting men on nights out.
    However, the relative force with which your average woman can deliver a slap. Doesnt compare to the violence of a beating.
    It is a physical statement rather than an attempt to cause

I see it very often, I dont mean full force slaps but merely "acceptable slaps" or kinda punches to the chest.

And yes, they are different levels of violence, but neither should be acceptable, it is after all violence.Though the behaviour of the guy is sometimes unacceptable alot of the time too and deserves it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I'm repulsed at the idea of kissing another man, I'm also repulsed at the thought of kissing a large proportion of women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

It's drummed into them from a young age to be repulsed by it all.
    All thanks to the adults around them.

The amount of times in national school you hear a kid shouting "uuuggghh you're GAY", like it's the most disgusting thing in the world.
    They don't even know what he means half the time! They just see their parents reactions towards the subject and end up repeating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    It's hard to know how i would react but i think if the transexual ( assuming we are talking about transexuals rather than actual tranvestites ) was attractive enough for me to kiss in the first place then i wouldn't be repulsed enough to get violent. I'd be far more repulsed if i woke up next to KD Lang.

To a large extent, it's an asthetics thing with me.

I agree, for me a transsexual would be a totally different thing because i thought it was a woman.
    But a man kissing a man i dont like seeing. I dont get repulsed by it, it just makes me feel uncomfortable. I dont know why, as ToniTuddle said, it probably stems from an early age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Kazuma

Not actually repulsed in the slightest, just don't see any appeal at all...why would I want to kiss a man? :confused:
    No problem with guys kissing, either, been hit on by guys, it's a little off putting at first, but once you get the message through you're fine...
    Violence = bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

I think it depends on the circles that you hang around in though. Most of the lads I know would have kissed other lads just for the craic when we were all around the 16-18 mark and everyone in the mixed friendship group was kissing everyone else. All are totally straight and completely comfortable with their sexuality.

A lot of lads I have met over the last few years as well from outside my main circle of friends would have done the same thing.

Weirdly, I was talking to my friend about her new boyfriend a while ago, who went to boarding school, where it was totally normal for lads to be experimenting with each other during the young teen years and none of them thought anything of it. He even thought that it was much more socially acceptable for guys to be experimenting with the opposite sex rather than for girls to be doing it - which is the opposite of what mainstream society seems to portray these days.

So really I just think people's opinions about what it is okay to be comfortable with are very much shaped by their peers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I'm a straight man who's kissed men before. I always figured I should support my beliefs and so, in supporting homosexuality, made the choice to experience it to quash any remnants of the homophobia that's been embedded in my subconscious by a predominantly homophobic society (particularly living in Ireland) since I was young. The world is moving in the right direction now and so I forced myself in that direction as well. I'd never be interested in a sexual relationship with another man or anything like that cos, well I really love bewbs and feefees.... But I'm certainly not afraid or repulsed by 'dem bleedin gayz'..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭axer

It is very possible that being repulsed by two men kissing is a product of evolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Dilynnio

Yeah I have to agree Monkey61, I know lots of guys who have snogged other guys and are totally straight!I also know that girls kiss their own mates too!

Sure why not......its something everyone thinks about at some stage in their lives although they wont admit it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Zainal

axer wrote: »
    It is very possible that being repulsed by two men kissing is a product of evolution.

That doesn't make much sense. If two males choose to take themselves out of the running for mates then there is more for the rest of the population. If you want to try and bring natural instincts into it it should cause us to be more accepting of them since they would no longer be rivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

axer wrote: »

I believe there is still no conclusive evidence to say that kissing is instinctual rather than learned.

I would personally disagree with the idea that being repulsed by two men kissing is a product of evolution on the basis that you can learn to not be repulsed by it, a person can be taught from childhood to not find a relationship between two men repulsive. A matter which is instinctual, such as my attraction to females, is something I could never of been taught to not have.

The correlation between kissing and sex is also learned imo. You can be thought to see a kiss as nothing more than a display of affection, such as a hug, or holding hands, all of which don't have to intimate sex.

Two men kissing symbolizes nothing more for me than a reassuring action to confirm affection between two people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭axer

Zainal wrote: »
    That doesn't make much sense. If two males choose to take themselves out of the running for mates then there is more for the rest of the population. If you want to try and bring natural instincts into it it should cause us to be more accepting of them since they would no longer be rivals.
    My point is being repulsed somehow linked to evolution in that maybe those that are repulsed are possibly more likely to have relations only with females thus possibly their genes spreading further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Mostly because of sexual peruasion, it is the same with many gay men, straight women and gay women finding the idea of kissing outside of their preference distasteful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I was reading the thread about transsexuals in AH, and there were a few responses by men expressing the complete and utter repulsion at the idea of bringing home a "woman" and discovering that they had a penis.

I get the impression that in such a situation, many would be completely supportive of the man beating the living daylights out of the transsexual.

Even in a less extreme situation, like a gay man coming on to a straight man, I get the impression that even if violence would be frowned upon, many would be hugely disgusted at the idea.

Personally, I can't see why it would be such a big deal. Not being interested in homosexual relations I can understand, but what is it about fear of sexual relations with another man that makes is so pervasive amongst men?

To be honest, the whole post is kind of stupid. If you are sexually orientated or attracted a certain way, the idea of the contrary is never going to appeal.

Ask any one to pick out the least attractive person they can see, and ask them would they kiss them. Largely the same response as you would get asking some to eat there own poo. One of distaste.

It has **** all the do with being a bloke, and a lot more to do with it being okay to point out **** and apply it to straight blokes with a trowel while ignoring the fact that all sexes and orientations will act in a variety of ways, many of them less that stellar.

What a silly thread.

Monkey61 wrote: »
    I think it depends on the circles that you hang around in though. Most of the lads I know would have kissed other lads just for the craic when we were all around the 16-18 mark and everyone in the mixed friendship group was kissing everyone else. All are totally straight and completely comfortable with their sexuality.

A lot of lads I have met over the last few years as well from outside my main circle of friends would have done the same thing.

Weirdly, I was talking to my friend about her new boyfriend a while ago, who went to boarding school, where it was totally normal for lads to be experimenting with each other during the young teen years and none of them thought anything of it. He even thought that it was much more socially acceptable for guys to be experimenting with the opposite sex rather than for girls to be doing it - which is the opposite of what mainstream society seems to portray these days.

So really I just think people's opinions about what it is okay to be comfortable with are very much shaped by their peers.

Where do you live? :eek:

Round these parts I've never heard of straight lads experimenting with other straight lads. Any who have are openly gay now!

There is one dude I know who is straight but doesn't have a problem snogging the face off some lad.
    Only thing is he mostly does it without the other lads permission and for attention which does lead to violence/near violence...but he has issues and needs to cop himself on.

Two other straight lads I know went on stage in the pub and snogged the faces off each other as part of a challenge to get free shots!! They didn't think anything off it. They wanted free booze!
    Most of the people in the pub were cheering them on but I could see alot of looks of disgust.

I've no problem seeing two girls kissing, I've few lesbian friends, it's no big deal. But other female friends of mine are utterly replused by it. Nothing I can say will make them change their views on the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    There is one dude I know who is straight but doesn't have a problem snogging the face off some lad.
    Only thing is he mostly does it without the other lads permission and for attention which does lead to violence/near violence...but he has issues and needs to cop himself on.

This is just plain old sexual assault surely???

On topic, the below statement sums it up for me.
    Dragan: If you are sexually orientated or attracted a certain way, the idea of the contrary is never going to appeal.

Ask any one to pick out the least attractive person they can see, and ask them would they kiss them. Largely the same response as you would get asking some to eat there own poo. One of distaste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,645 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I fervently hope that I'm not in a minority here when I say that seeing same sex couples is perfectly acceptable to me.
    And I also hope that I'm not alone in being repulsed at the amount of violence that is being bandied around in this thread. Threatening violence because two people kiss - who's the misfit there?

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

This is just plain old sexual assault surely???

I have no time for him anymore.
    If you have issues go and bloody sort them out and stop carrying on in ways where you will endanger your mates lives!

OldGoat wrote: »
    I fervently hope that I'm not in a minority here when I say that seeing same sex couples is perfectly acceptable to me.
    And I also hope that I'm not alone in being repulsed at the amount of violence that is being bandied around in this thread. Threatening violence because two people kiss - who's the misfit there?

I have no trouble seeing same sex couples-though you don't see many openly round here, not in public anyway which is shocking in this day and age.

The only reason I feel uncomfortable is because I know if some local knuckle head sees them, they will start trouble and it can end badly.
    So I end up worrying about them! Even if I don't know them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

OldGoat wrote: »

This isn't about same sex couples though.

This is basically a thread telling us we are wrong because we feel distaste at the idea of physical intimacy with someone we are in no way attracted to.

Which is, frankly, bollix.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Dragan wrote: »
    This isn't about same sex couples though.

This is basically a thread telling us we are wrong because we feel distaste at the idea of physical intimacy with someone we are in no way attracted to.

Which is, frankly, bollix.
    QFT. It's up there with the notion that if you have an issue with this you must be somehow latent etc. Equally a load of bollix.

Dragan summed it up right on the money earlier. It's simply what you're attracted to. I dont want to snog an 80 year old granny either and would be repulsed by the thought. Does this mean I'm anti granny? Nope, except as a personal sexual preference*. Ditto for men, though the addition of a penis would amplify it.

To be frank the thought of intimately kissing another guy makes me nauseous. I'll not apologise for it either. Nor have I any issue if that is your bag. It's what the majority of women like and I could hardly have any problem with them or that. Ditto for gay guys.

Would I get physically heavy if such was forced upon me? Unlikely. Chances are I would get out of it far easier than that, unless the man in question pressed the issue. In which case it's an example of unfortunate extreme intrusion to be responded to with equally unfortunate extreme measures.

*nobody pull the ageist card either. The vast majority of 15 yr olds wouldnt want to snog perfectly attractive 35 yr olds, so thats a non starter.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

Would you not have any curiousity as to why it makes you nauseous? Is it the product of societal conditioning or is it biological? Why don't women seem to share this repulsion of kissing another of their sex?

No apology is required. I'm not preaching from a high horse with this thread. I'm not saying it's necessarily wrong to feel this way. If I've written in a provocative manner, I apolgise, but I feel some of the responses here have been very unnecessarily defensive.

@Dragan
    You draw a parallel with eating one's one poo. The point of this thread is to explore why this is a valid parallel in the minds of many men. Why would a member of the opposite sex coming on to you be as bad as eating poo, as opposed to, I dunno, eating some food you kinda disliked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Would you not have any curiousity as to why it makes you nauseous? Is it the product of societal conditioning or is it biological? Why don't women seem to share this repulsion of kissing another of their sex?

I know women who shudder at the thought of lesbianism.

I cant stand Christmas cake, makes me want to vomit- its not biological and society didnt tell me to dislike it- I just dont like it, sometimes its thats simple mate.

It doesnt mean I have a problem with other people eating Christmas cake though, as long as I dont have to watch it.