Political correctness gone mad!

• 04-12-2009 03:46PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

just listening to the joe duffy show several callers complaining that a christmas concert in dublin cant have christmas music or carrols for fear of offending the lovely people who populate in their droves ,the housing estates of west dublin : you know the type they all drive crap micras or other jap crap cars that the social bought them to drive to dole office.
    Any one left here at all with any cop on?
    probably get banned for this but what the hell its christmas!---OOPS so sorry shudnt have said the c word might offend them
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Presume you can back all these allegations up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

glynn888 wrote: »
    you know the type they all drive crap micras or other jap crap cars that the social bought them to drive to dole office.

Of course they did.

Sure they buy them gold shoes too and little hats with feathers on top and they all live in a magical estate filled with gumdrop houses and fairytale princesses and you pay for it all OP. Your taxes pay for this imaginary highly offensive land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Presume you can back all these allegations up?

He's full of crap, I'm fairly certain Kia are Korean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I live in France, and yesterday a shopkeeper wished me a "bonne fete de la fin de l'année". That is political correctness gone mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

OP you are making about as much sense as your typical Liveline caller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Roadend wrote: »
    He's full of crap, I'm fairly certain Kia are Korean

That's the doggone truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

just listening to the joe duffy show several callers complaining that a christmas concert in dublin cant have christmas music or carrols for fear of offending the lovely people who populate in their droves ,
    Fair play to them, send on my thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭funk-you

just listening to the joe duffy show

There's your first mistake.
    several callers complaining that a christmas concert in dublin cant have christmas music or carrols

I call shenanigans. Reputable source?
    for fear of offending the lovely people who populate in their droves ,the housing estates of west dublin : you know the type they all drive crap micras or other jap crap cars

Young men age 17-25?
    that the social bought them to drive to dole office.

Bollocks. Source?

Obviously not. Bad troll is bad.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

We live in a secular society so f.ck all religious festivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

The OP has a point, although it wasnt that well articulated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Toulousain wrote: »
    I live in France, and yesterday a shopkeeper wished me a "bonne fete de la fin de l'année". That is political correctness gone mad.

In fairness that's just how they've always done things. Like French people generally don't send Christmas cards, they send cards for the new year. It's not really the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Oh my god, what a prick :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Of course Joe Duffy listeners never get the wrong end of the stick on anything. They never exaggerate, are never racist, homophobic or just generally ignorant. They always have a fine understanding of how politics, economics and the environment work and they never ever ever overreact about anything, ever.

I'm surprised you were listening to the show OP, you don't strike me as the rock-solid sensible sort that Joe normally pulls in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

just listening to the joe duffy show several callers complaining that a christmas concert in dublin cant have christmas music or carrols for fear of offending the lovely people who populate in their droves ,the housing estates of west dublin : you know the type they all drive crap micras or other jap crap cars that the social bought them to drive to dole office.
    probably get banned for this but what the hell its christmas!---OOPS so sorry shudnt have said the c word might offend them

Yeah if they dont like it feck off out,not changing our country and traditions:mad:
    I personally have never heard any other religious group who live here complain about Christmas.If they did however they shouldn't be living here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Ziggurat

shqipshume wrote: »
    Yeah if they dont like it feck off out,not changing our country and Christian traditions:mad:

Don't presume to speak for all Irish people, thanks.

And if these people don't want to offend their neighbours, what of it? Aren't they free to not put on a concert? Nowhere does it say they're being forced, after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭!_Brian_!

Political correctness went out the window since the day they renamed The Fat Controller in Thomas the Tank Engine to "The Controller." :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Happy Holidays! :pac:

Edit: On a serious note how about we all just shut the fcuk up and maybe for the first time in years not get some sand in our vaginas and start moaning about somebody elses traditions of celebrating their faith and Santa Clause also (Yes I am talking to all those people who bitch about Nativity scenes and still do the whole Christmas thing with Tree and all that other stuff).

Wow you don't do any of those things you still work, enjoy your day(s) off, on the 25th of December. Awesome more power to you people that is truely fantastic that you do that but hey how about leaving us silly little people that like to have our fun with our kids/families on the odd time every year when we all get together to celebrate the time of year in whatever way we see fit.

Oh you just saw an Nativity Scene in Jervis Shopping Centre and it has offended your non-beliefs? Well grow a little humility and keep on walking because you'll have forgotten about it in a few more steps moron.

[/rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Ziggurat wrote: »
    Don't presume to speak for all Irish people, thanks.

And if these people don't want to offend their neighbours, what of it? Aren't they free to not put on a concert? Nowhere does it say they're being forced, after all.

If people go to such lengths as to not offend the beliefs of their neighbours, then they're nothing but beaten PC cowards. If I was residing in a foreign country I'd be expected and willing to respect the cultures and traditions of that country whether I liked them or not. I'd certainly would not expect them to bend over backwards to appease me.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

And I say again, nowhere does it say they're being forced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

And I say again, nowhere does it say they're being forced.

No one is forced to attend, and/or be offended either.

I think you're missing my point. From the information we have, this community did this of their own volition.

Well sounds to me like a christmas carol concert was planned and somebody took offence and mouthed off about the offence they were taking... hence the organisers took this decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Which reiterates the fact that they are beaten, PC cowards. It seems they still go to these lengths regardless of whether the foreign residents asked for it or not.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

there's a mosque three doors down from my house, they arrive in droves every sunday, and AT LEAST three of them drive micras. FACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

prinz wrote: »
    Well sounds to me like a christmas carol concert was planned and somebody took offence and mouthed off about the offence they were taking... hence the organisers took this decision.

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

And premature.
    whycliff wrote: »
    The OP has a point, although it wasnt that well articulated.

No it wasn't. Can anyone explain to me what this thread is about?:confused:

Otacon wrote: »
    Link?

Ye what? Read the OP, Christmas concert can't have christmas songs.

Which reiterates the fact that they are beaten, PC cowards.

Yes, yes, heaven forfend they might be accommodating of other people.
    It seems they still go to these lengths regardless of whether the foreign residents asked for it or not.

And? What's the probem?

Yes, yes, heaven forfend they might be accommodating of other people.

Why should they "accommodate" someone who isn't forced to attend? :confused:

Presumably because they want to.