Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EASY DOES IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Today double session

5 mile race which i thought was a road race. I hate cross country and was avoiding a cross country in my local town.
    After the usual 3.5 hours sleep i set of to Dungarvan. 2 mile warm up at 8.20 pace with 4-5 strides that felt tough. I knew i wasnt in great shape but i wanted this race to motivate me for the nxt 6 weeks. Went through 2 miles in 11.40 tired but ok (heart rate 163 average for the two miles)
    Then we hit the muck ad dirt for 2 miles. Carrying poundage that i will lose over the winter i went to the bottom of every mucky part. Miles were taking me longer than it took me for the marathon. My heart rate went to 170 for 3rd mile and 176 for 4th mile. I thought i would pick up the pace on the road for mile 5. The legs were just empty. 177 heart rate for mile 5. Although i didnt run a great race or time my heart rate was up where i wanted it.

For the first week, I lost 3 ibs without to much hassle. The nxt 10ibs should be handy too. Talk is cheap. In the past i have put in the work but not on the nutritional side.

Later on in the day i done 5 miles warm down at 7.19 pace that was a little too hot. Found myself doing 6 min miole pace for hte last half mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

That Brickey run is a tough one VR,i did it last year,the canal is a killer and then you have to face that hill...i am not a fan of cross country myself and i did not realise it either until i ran it last year that it was not a road race.
    I see you won a prize...well done !

Sosa wrote: »
    That Brickey run is a tough one VR,i did it last year,the canal is a killer and then you have to face that hill...i am not a fan of cross country myself and i did not realise it either until i ran it last year that it was not a road race.
    I see you won a prize...well done !

The canal was a bog. The scales was al ittle of to be honest. They sue can organise races down there. 8 euros entry. Great soup. Deadly. Stayed away from the biccies. No shortage of sambos and the variety was unreal. I reckon 70 % of entrants got a prize. Whens your nxt race ?? Good 4 miler in cloneml stephens day at 12 i think.

7am 8 miles @ 7.19 pace on hte threadmill. After yesterdays race legs were a little stiff so i was happy with this session. 25 min weights after it. Had planned to get up at 5.30 but hte the rain was hit the windows a little too hard and hte gym was opened at 7. Wanted to do an hour on the spinning bike tonight but didnt get motivated.

Today i had a mix up with a few lads about time we were to go at.
    4 miles at 7.30 min miles
    Spinning class 45 min that was tough
    4 miles at 7.10 min miles.

10 miles at 7.50 at 6am this morning. In bed late so didnt sleep well. Will hit thr bed early tonight.
    15 min cycle and leg weights. early a 2 hour session. Made me chirpy for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,518 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Jaysus, you're a monster. That's some work you're putting in!

Had a fast one planned but the weather was crap. Decided to do it in the gym. 3 miles @ 8 min miles to warm up. 5 miles in 29.50 although its easy on the threadmill.2 miles warm down @ 7.25 miles. Was tired after a mile so i was happy to keep fighting the min away. Nxt week i will do 6 miles. One of my nipples bled which hasnt happened in a lon long time(sure sign i have put on a little weight which i have) Off the ciggies 16 days.

Tomorrow i have planned a slow long one. See how it goes and stop if i feel tired. I have never done a long one the day after a fast one before. 18 months ago i couldnt run the day after a race.

Jaysus, you're a monster. That's some work you're putting in!

Averaged 48 last marathon. Going to step it up. Sub 2.50 is a massive jump but if i can reach 70 a week(for 3 weeks) and a 50 the fourth week without having adverse effect on me i reckon i will improve. I want to break hour for 10 mile in few months(but i am way of that now). You thought i was mad doing 50 a week 20 odd weeks before a marathon so i was aftraid to tell you that by nxt month i will be doing 70. The 3.5 hours sleep is tough before long ones but i have now a different idea. Might try to leave work at 4pm on a friday anf get my long ones in then. then i can go out on hte bike sat am and leave sunday optional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Peckham

5 miles in 29.50 although its easy on the threadmill.

You must have stood out like a sore thumb in the gym doing a sub-30 5 mile on a treadmill. The people alongside you must have been giving you some looks as they happily went along at half that speed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Averaged 48 last marathon. Going to step it up. Sub 2.50 is a massive jump but if i can reach 70 a week(for 3 weeks) and a 50 the fourth week without having adverse effect on me i reckon i will improve. I want to break hour for 10 mile in few months(but i am way of that now). You thought i was mad doing 50 a week 20 odd weeks before a marathon so i was aftraid to tell you that by nxt month i will be doing 70. The 3.5 hours sleep is tough before long ones but i have now a different idea. Might try to leave work at 4pm on a friday anf get my long ones in then. then i can go out on hte bike sat am and leave sunday optional.

Good stuff VR, I think you'll find when you jump up to 70miles/week that a sub 1hr 10mile would be well within your reach.

15 miles today @ 7.35 a mile. Felt comfy. Felt really strong. 63 for the week. Wont run tomorrow. I felt i didnt want to jump from 50 to 70 so i left it at 15 today. Hope to do an 18 nxt week.
    Early morning runs are going ot get me 70 a week without it feeling like a chore. If it starts becoming a chore i will ease off.

50 min on hte spinning bike at home. I felt like i cheated today with no running but i will feel the beniefit of it mon/tuesday. Tomorrow is over 10 miles but what way i will do it is an other thing. Its either at 6.50 pace or intervals. With work tonight its hard to do a session on a sunday with a race harder but it never stops me.

Imagine i own a spinning bike yet i dont use it half as much as i should. I have enough dvds to watch so i have no excuses. Just fitting it all in while not effecting the running. One upon a time 24 hours was too much in a day now it aint half enough.

Today
    3 miles at 8.05
    7 miles at 7 min miles that felt tougher than it should. 1.25 miles loop htat has everything one would need.
    3 miles @ 8 min miles
    13 in total.
    10 min on the bike to loosen the legs.

Hope to hit 70 this week with a speed session thursday.
    Plan is to get up early for 10 in the morning.

sunday pm. Got a few dvds to watch so i done 1 hour on the spinning bike. Got a good sweat up and you cant eat for that hour eh............

Monday
    5.30am alarm went off and i just turned it off. #went at lunch time instead.
    2 miles @ 8 min miles
    3 miles @ 5.55 min miles
    3 miles @ 6.55
    1 mile @ 5.50
    1 mile @ 8 min
    10 miles in under 70 cant be a bad session.
    Was really tired before the start but the threadmill is a doddle. I can stay goig whereas outside i woulod slow down.

Tonight i hope to do 1 hour on hte spinning bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Nice one. You have to get with the Tunguska programme and set the incline way up ;)

Might try the incline on the threadmill but i wouldnt be used to the hills like you are. Mind you in races i am strog on the hills. People i pass tend going up pass me on the way down. Going out to do my first hill session on thursday. 12 x 1 min i was told.

Monday 9.30pm
    1 hour spinning. Effort level 5.

Had planned to do 20 but i got bored and was lucky to do 18. Done it in the gym so was very handy.
    18 miles @ 7.35
    A long run in 20 weeks before a marathon. Am i mad ? Time will tell. 41 so far since sunday so 70 shouldnt be a problem this week. Found myself finding this easy after a toughish session yesterday. I find my recovery alot better lately. 18 months ago i couldnt run a day after a race now i can do a long one. Easy recovery tomorrow. Might hit the road for 10 in 75 min odd.
    3 weeks off the ciggies and really feel the benifits now. Weight is coming down a little. If you cant lose the weight doing 70 miles a week its all a cod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Great going VR, did you get your mentor?

Well done on the fags...if running does nothing else but keep you off them - its doing a good job! keep up the good work.

asimonov wrote: »
    Great going VR, did you get your mentor?

Well done on the fags...if running does nothing else but keep you off them - its doing a good job! keep up the good work.

Best of luck sunday. Ease into it. But dont lose time early. 42.30 every 10km.
    Not really. I got a schedule though.
    70 miles a week, long run every week, race every 3-4 weeks.
    Fags they are a scurge. Its all about getting under 180ibs now. With that mileage with 4 hours a week on the spinning bike it shouldnt be a problem.

10 mile recovery run. 10 miles @ 7.30 pace. Felt easy although legs were tired. 51 miles in 4 days. Looking forward to my day off from running as it will be well deserved.

I might try and change a ten miler to a double day of 2 x 5 milers as a recovery run.
    I want to average 7.30 on my easy runs as it was brought to my attention i was running too slowly 8 min a mile.

First ever hill session tonight. 10.5 miles that included 12 x 70 seconds hills. Never done them on the road before. Jaysus they were tough. I could have managed more. I left the other lad dictate the pace as it was his session. I cranked up the pace for the last three with the last one a full 10 seconds faster that the slowest one. Might move it to 14 next week. But all in all a great session. The lad i went with has moved his sessions up a notch and its up tp me to join him.

Tomorrow its prob a day off or 45 min on the bike. 61.5 miles running this week.

Had planned a fartlek today. Just hadnt got it in hte legs. Moving it up to 70 miles a week is one thing but increasing the intensities of my runs as well. I had done a fast 5(sub 30) and a hill session this week so i didnt have it in my legs. I done one mile in 5.55 and after another minutes the key fell out of my back pocket. So i joined in a with a few chroonies i know. One of them is a good runner(sub 30 min 10km man in his day) but i just wind him up now saying he wont break the hour in Ballycotton, dungarvan, mallow. I wont break it myself in my current state(too heavy) but i have a good 6 weeks to put in.

Today 8.5 miles to make it 70 miles. Average 7.45 a mile. With 2 fast sessions it has been my best training week since august. Another one nxt week and an easy (50 miles the week after)
    Going to go back to 8 min mile for one of my runs(maybe the day after the long run)

20 miles today on the threadmill as the rain was bucketing down. Average 7.53 so not to bad. Got it done as i didnt enjoy much of it. Had planned to run it with a few lads. Plan is to run 22 nxt week.
    Hope to get an early night and go at 5.30 in hte morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Jaysus - 20 miles on the deathmill. You are a trooper. I physically could not make myself do that. The most i have done is 8 and at that i wanted to pluck my eyes out. Fair play.

Taking your advice re rotterdam. Ill do a nice 12 next weekend and 15 after. No harm.

And rain today? Must be the first time in history that it didnt bucket down in Limerick when it has elsewhere. Did a lovely 9 miles in the nice xmassy cool wintery weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

20 miles today on the threadmill as the rain was bucketing down. Average 7.53 so not to bad. Got it done as i didnt enjoy much of it. Had planned to run it with a few lads. Plan is to run 22 nxt week.
    Hope to get an early night and go at 5.30 in hte morning.

Bleedin' mental :rolleyes: Rain wasn't too bad once you got used to it i..e straight away :)

ULstudent wrote: »
    Jaysus - 20 miles on the deathmill. You are a trooper. I physically could not make myself do that. The most i have done is 8 and at that i wanted to pluck my eyes out. Fair play.

Taking your advice re rotterdam. Ill do a nice 12 next weekend and 15 after. No harm.

And rain today? Must be the first time in history that it didnt bucket down in Limerick when it has elsewhere. Did a lovely 9 miles in the nice xmassy cool wintery weather.

Have you anyone going to Rotterdam with you that aint doing it ? Would be nice to to hand you a drink and bar. Missed that last year. Dublin was class for gels and energy drinks.
    Get the long ones in early.

10 miles this morning at 5.30am. After an early night i felt ok. Cold but dry so ideal running conditions. 8 min mile pace so nice and easy for a monday morning.
    30 miles done this week at its only monday morning. Only 40 to go. will be easy enough to fit it in. Just hope the body stays intact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Have you anyone going to Rotterdam with you that aint doing it ? Would be nice to to hand you a drink and bar. Missed that last year. Dublin was class for gels and energy drinks.
    Get the long ones in early.

Tunguska? Get him to run back to mile 18 :D. Although your training looks pretty good there VR. You won't be far behind him.

1 hour on the spinning bike to lose up the legs watching the tv. Felt a little tired after yesterdays 20 miles and this mornings 10 miler.

Plan is to do a speed session tomorrow. What it wil be will depend on how i feel tomorrow.