Why do Irish men find Irish women so unattractive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭megadodge

Unlike a lot of posters here, I don't find Irish girls' personalities any better or worse than anywhere else, in fact they're probably better craic in general.

However, I have major problems with their bodies.

Fat is very unattractive !!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I have to agree with AmazingMan re the drinking. It is defo looked down upon among women from other countries. They simply dont get as bollexed drunk. With the notable exception Ive found of the swedish. They seem to get rip roaring drunk. Both sexes. It's one of the most common comments Ive heard from foreign men about the irish and irish women in particular. That and they think of them as generally bigger figure wise. Not always in a bad way either BTW.

As far as bigger women in Slovakia goes, it must be the much older women as I saw little of it among the younger.

Other countries will catch up there though. Currently the spanish have the biggest problem in the eu with childhood obesity. The current crop of 20 to 35 year olds may well be the last who are generally slim.

The looking after yourself thing is defo less here. Yes IMHO but it would take much to convince me otherwise. As I said not so much if at all with younger irish women, but beyond a certain age, yes.

Like Latchy said every culture will have a mix of looks and it is subjective. very much so. We are also a small population with little outside mixing by comparison so that must have an effect.

Then again if you asked an average american to name Irish sex symbols, they would all be male. Try naming an internationally commonly known female Irish sex symbol. Its harder. A lot harder. Dunno why that is though as we do have very good looking irish women out there.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Latchy wrote: »
    I will ? :D Thanks Shqipshume ;)

Abi has all the attributes mentioned and a very special girl :)
    Lickarse:p:p:D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

*evaporates*

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Going over old ground again, but as a historic generality a lot of Irish wimmins have always neglected their nails and hair and Irish mens have always neglected their...well, what ever you're having yourself on that one.

I think both sexes have been coping on of late.

Yes we are Irish, yes we do have the celtic self-destruction-in-search-pleasure gene toggled firmly in the 'on' position and personally, I wouldn't have it any other way.

shqipshume wrote: »
    Where are you from Lawrence Hissing Senselessness? :rolleyes:

Why does it matter? Oh right yeah, so you can use something about my ethnic background against me because I disagree with you. :rolleyes: I'm Irish by nationality actually (among other things) but spent most of my life outside Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

Latchy wrote: »
    I will ? :D Thanks Shqipshume ;)

Abi has all the attributes mentioned and a very special girl :)

Yes you will :D You are welcome Latchy :)

Aww I knew it from minute one remember :p

[quote=[Deleted User];62979840]Why does it matter? Oh right yeah, so you can use something about my ethnic background against me because I disagree with you. :rolleyes: I'm Irish by nationality actually (among other things) but spent most of my life outside Ireland.[/quote]

No was just curious how pasty and ugly you are :D
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

This is the groundhog day thread.

Damn those gorgeous foreign women stealing the affections of our herculean Irish men.
    Seriously look at the average Irish man and most of us would probably prefer the average European man based on physical appearance alone.

But there is much more to attraction than the physical of course and most Irish men and women are clannish and stick to "their own".

I'm neither one thanks! Didn't seem to get any Irish genes except being able to hold my drink :D

Alessandra wrote: »
    This is the groundhog day thread.

Damn those gorgeous foreign women stealing the affections of our herculean Irish men.
    Seriously look at the average Irish man and most of us would probably prefer the average European man based on physical appearance alone.

But there is much more to attraction than the physical of course and most Irish men and women are clannish and stick to "their own".

Ok is that sarcasm or are you serious in saying Irish women care :eek: If sarcasm sorry :o

[quote=[Deleted User];62979937]I'm neither one thanks! Didn't seem to get any Irish genes except being able to hold my drink :D[/quote]

Wow you really hate Irish girls dont you :confused:

Its always typical to find the worse points around you then the better ones.Irish love a good bitch and attack on another to make themselves feel better.Seems though in this country alot of the men seem to be the biatches :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭givyjoe81

Wow you really hate Irish girls dont you :confused:

Its always typical to find the worse points around you then the better ones.Irish love a good bitch and attack on another to make themselves feel better.Seems though in this country alot of the men seem to be the biatches :D

Im sorry, what???!.. are you drunk?!

Particularly confused by the first half of your 'point'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,448 ✭✭✭✭joes girls

AmazingMan wrote: »
    Unfortunately the truth is an awful lot of them have that mindset. The number of times I have had the debate with them is unreal, trying to tell them that they are wrong and we have the best mix here of attraciveness and personality (only for bunch of Wexford girls to wander in completely drunk on a hen night right in the middle of my rant in defense of Irish women to a bunch of French guys).

Wexford women are lovely, and if a bunch of french guys looked down their nose at a bit of fun, well im glad i prefer to buy irish!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Aww I knew it from minute one remember :p
    Eh ...no :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Irish women are delightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Irish love a good bitch and attack on another to make themselves feel better.

Ya what now? :confused: Feel better?

[quote=[Deleted User];62979840]Why does it matter? Oh right yeah, so you can use something about my ethnic background against me because I disagree with you..[/quote]

Do you not remember when we passed that Homogenous Law, anyone with a different opinion automatically loses their citizenship...
    And again prinz with all due respect he is not mistaken as he lived there all over Europe with work,and he has told me what these such good girls carry on like :rolleyes:

He's telling porkies if he has said that French, or German or Belgian girls behave the same as Irish girls of a similar age, when it comes to drinking and slutting around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

Yes, very hard to find a size 10 in most of the shops here, but I took that to mean that it was the most popular size and they'd all been snapped up by the size 10 Irish women?

Yes they also kill each other over size 6 or 8, that's why you can't get them.
    I've been jumped at in another thread when I mentioned my size 14 sister and I was lectured that "healthy size 14 if the norm in Ireland" so what can I say... you can't have both!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Bernie_Bernbaum

herya wrote: »
    Yes they also kill each other over size 6 or 8, that's why you can't get them.
    I've been jumped at in another thread when I mentioned my size 14 sister and I was lectured that "healthy size 14 if the norm in Ireland" so what can I say... you can't have both!

I'm not sure what your point is.... :confused::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I have not read any of this thread. Won't try to pretend otherwise. Some Irish women are hallions are beasts and some are the most beautiful things you could ever lay your eyes on. Just as with every nationality and race. I can't help but feel this is sh1te thread. The majority of Irish men marry Irish women. I mean, wtf.

Now where's my whisky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,877 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

To put it very bluntly:

On average:
    Irish women are overweight and have been spoiled rotten by their fathers so now have delusions of being princesses...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Pace2008 wrote: »

No idea where the hell they got that figure from, I was over there a few months back and I think I saw one over weight woman.. :confused:

Maybe they hide them away or something, or maybe they class a size 8 or 10 as obese.. cause they are far from it over there.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Pace2008 wrote: »

*titters*

They're weighted averages...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

And Irish women are not the only drunks in the world. All of the English speaking countries in the world are as bad as us. Aussie girls are total pissheads, same with Kiwis. I had some girls from New York visit me here in the summer and they got twisted the whole time they were here. My friends in the UK are all pissheads. My ex was Canadian and drank as much as me.
    Who cares if we drink too much and aren't as bloody "sophisticated" as French people or whatever? I like getting drunk sometimes and I like a girl who likes to get wasted for no reason every now and again. Vive la binge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I think Irish women are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

"Of course, they all have lovely bottoms"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I like Irish women...
    they just don't seem to like me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

Ok, I'm a lady and I have to say, yes, there are plenty of Irish women who are thunderin bitches, and I have to say, any eastern european girls I've met (and I know a few) have been all lovely girls - I think a lot of Irish girls are very insecure?! I have my moments myself :D

BUT, these girls who you talk of, that are complete snobs, and refuse to talk to you - I can bet that they're the ones frequenting haunts such as Krystle, Lillies, Howl At The Moon, etc (now I like HATM - but I have witnessed quite a few of these situations going on there!) They're the ones that are plastered in fake tan, hair extensions, and a face full of war paint - the ones that think they are better than anyone else in the room.

Maybe lads, try going to "normal" pubs/clubs (Club Nassau - i DARE ya! ;)) where there isn't such a pretentious clientele, and people just wanna have a bit of craic, not standing there posing for photos that they're gonna upload on their facebook the second they get home.

Don't tar us all with the same brush either - I'm really pale so I have the sense not to wear fake tan, as I know I'll look ridiculous (pale is in now, don't ya know!), I don't skip queues, or embarrass a fella if he's trying to chat me up NICELY (ie. NOT slapping my ass, or trying to grope me anywhere else, or slurring so much I can't understand him - if ye do any of these things, ye deserve a slap)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Irish women are great to look at.

Not sure about them personality wise, they don't talk to me. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Apolloyon

Well firstly just to answer Liah's OP. I think there are a lot of irish women that are physically attractive. I think if you go to anywhere in Ireland, you will find fabulous looking women there. Without question. However for me personally, physical attraction is only part of the package and I find that personality wise, there are a lot of women who seem to be letting the side down. And yes, I'm sure there are a lot of men who do that too. But that needs it's own separate thread! :)

I think however one of the problems is that many irish women believe that every man that approaches them has an agenda and is to be treated suspiciously at best and vilified at worst. I think this is sad because when I've lived and travelled abroad, the women I've encountered have been more relaxed and more open to having a conversation with you. I'm not saying that you can't get that here too but in my own experience it's just incredibly rare.

Irish women have a lot of potential in my opinion. They're gorgeous, they can be incredibly funny, interesting and fun to be with. But many of the ones I've met seem to have an entirely negative mindset. And if you question that worldview you are told that you are just 'intimidated by a confident woman who knows what they wants' in a rather hostile manner.

Confidence is something that comes within in my opinion. It's not brash and it's not obnoxious. A woman reading a book alone in a pub or coffee shop is confident because she's not afraid to be on her own and she can do her own thing. Real confidence for me is not dogmatic or aggressive. So when I see real confidence, I'm not intimidated, I'm pleased for that person that they're living their own life.

But getting back on topic, I count many wonderful Irish women as my good friends but to be honest in my own experiences, I'm not sure I would date another one right now. Too much high maintenance and negativity in my encounters to be honest.

Obviously it goes without saying that these are just my own experiences. I'd be very happy to be proved wrong...or indeed right!;)